شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
أخبار
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

Noticias en EspaÑol

أخبار الأعلاف

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الأخبار »أمريكا الوسطى ومنطقة البحر الكاريبي

نهاية إخفاء الأسبانية من صفحة غير الأسبانية --->

دعم القادة الدينيين التطبيع مع كوبا 4 مايو، 2015

Catedral_exterior

رصيد الصور (انظر أدناه)

وقعت ثلاثون منظمة دينية أمريكية على خطاب إلى الكونجرس يحث على إنهاء الحظر المفروض منذ عقود مع كوبا. وقع ال [ريب.] وليام [أنتون] ، إقليم الولايات المتّحدة الأمريكيّة فوق ل ال مبشرة [أبليتس] [أوسب]. تشير الرسالة إلى العلاقات الطويلة التي تربط العديد من المنظمات الدينية بالهيئات الدينية في كوبا ، وتشير إلى دعوتها إلى تطبيع العلاقات وإنهاء الحظر.

اقرأ الرسالة هنا ...

رصيد الصورة: Krasivaja على ويكيبيديا باللغة الإنجليزية [GFDL (www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html) أو CC-BY-SA-3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/) ] ، عبر ويكيميديا ​​كومنز


الانخراط في التأثير مسيرة 2nd، 2015

لماذا يقوم المساهمون ذوو الإيمان بإشراك شركات التعدين؟

تمت مقابلة القس سيموس فين ، OMI في الآونة الأخيرة من قبل SUSTAIN ، وهو منشور لمؤسسة التمويل الدولية ، وهي الذراع المقرض للبنك الدولي الذي يركز حصرا على القطاع الخاص. تهتم مؤسسة التمويل الدولية بكيفية إشراك الكنيسة في السنوات الأخيرة في صناعة الاستخراج. الأب شارك الفنلندي بشكل مركزي في الاجتماعات رفيعة المستوى التي دعا إليها الفاتيكان ورئيس أساقفة كانتربري مع رؤساء تنفيذيين في مجال التعدين وممثلي ديانات لمناقشة سبل زيادة احترام حقوق عمليات التعدين وتقليل تأثيرها على المجتمعات المحلية. وهو مدير الاستثمار القائم على الإيمان لصندوق الاستثمار الدولي الراعي (OIP) ، والمدير التنفيذي لمجموعة الاستثمار الدولي بين الأديان (3iG)

بعض الأسئلة المطروحة في المقابلة هي: "لماذا تهتم الكنيسة بالمستخلصين؟" ، "لماذا العدالة الاجتماعية من خلال الاستثمار؟" ، و "هل هناك طريقة لتأمين العدالة المجتمعية؟ هل هي دائمًا ديناميكية أم أن هناك مكانًا مثاليًا؟ "

اقرأ المقال كاملا هنا…


أطفال المهاجرين المكسيكيين المنسيين عند الحدود يناير 22nd، 2015

دورية الحدود والسلطات المكسيكية تفشل في فحص وحماية الأطفال المهاجرين المكسيكيين

في العام الماضي ، تصدرت قضية أطفال أمريكا الوسطى الهاربين من العنف عناوين الصحف في الولايات المتحدة. لكن على خلاف القاصرين غير المصحوبين من غواتيمالا والسلفادور وهندوراس ، نادراً ما تتاح للأطفال المكسيكيين الفارين من العنف فرصة لرواية قصتهم أمام قاضي هجرة. أصدر مكتب واشنطن في أمريكا اللاتينية (WOLA) فيديو تحقيقيًا وتقريرًا عن معاملة الأطفال المهاجرين المكسيكيين غير المصحوبين والمحتجزين على الحدود بين الولايات المتحدة والمكسيك.

في كل عام ، تقوم دورية الحدود الأمريكية بإلقاء القبض على ما يقرب من الأطفال المكسيكيين غير المصحوبين. ووفقاً لتقرير 15,000 الذي أعدته وكالة الأمم المتحدة للاجئين ، فإن ما يقرب من 2014 بالمائة من القصر المكسيكي غير المصحوبين الذين شملهم الاستطلاع ذكروا العنف كسبب واحد لتركهم المنزل. ولكن في 60 ، تم نقل أقل من 2013 في المئة إلى مكتب الولايات المتحدة لإعادة توطين اللاجئين ليتم فحصه ومنح فيما بعد جلسة استماع حول الهجرة.

من خلال المقابلات مع الأطفال المهاجرين ، ومسؤولي حرس الحدود ، والسلطات المكسيكية ، والخبراء ، يُظهر شريط فيديو WOLA "Forgotten at the Border" محنة الأطفال المكسيكيين الذين يهاجرون إلى الولايات المتحدة في محاولة للهروب من العنف. ما لم يتمكن هؤلاء الأطفال من إثبات أن حراس الحدود قد واجهوا خطرًا حقيقيًا بالاضطهاد أو الإتجار ، يتم إرسالهم مباشرة إلى ديارهم.

يسلط الفيديو الخاص بالـ WOLA الضوء على قصص القُصَّر مثل Esteban ، وهو أحد أفراد 17 الذي يصف الفرار من كارتل محلي ، يعبر الحدود الأريزونية ، ويتم ترحيله من قبل دورية الحدود. يرافق الفيديو من قبل تقرير استقصائي، طالما توصيات للولايات المتحدة والحكومات المكسيكية لحماية أفضل وفحص الأطفال المكسيكيين غير المصحوبين.

أبلغ عن: نسي في لا فرونتيرا: الأطفال المكسيكيون يهربون من العنف نادراً ما يسمعون

التوصيات: كيف يمكن للحكومتين الأمريكية والمكسيكية تحسين حماية الأطفال المكسيكيين غير المصحوبين الذين يفرون من العنف

هل تهتم بمتابعة WOLA على مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي؟ يمكنك العثور عليها على تويتر WOLA_org أو الارتباط إلى الفيسبوك الصفحة.


التطورات الهامة في تطوير أدوية الإيدز للأطفال ديسمبر شنومكرد، شنومكس

moment_quoteشهد اليوم العالمي للإيدز إعلانين مهمين بشأن تطوير أدوية الإيدز للأطفال التي تمس الحاجة إليها. هذه هي القضية التي على Oblates وغيرهم من المستثمرين الدينيين في مركز الأديان حول مسؤولية الشركة (ICCR) ضغطت شركات الأدوية لسنوات. وبما أن معظم مرضى الإيدز من الأطفال في البلدان النامية الفقيرة ، فإن الحافز المعتاد للسوق لتطوير الأدوية غير موجود. كما أن تطوير أدوية الإيدز الخاصة بالأطفال ، خاصةً بالنسبة للرضع ، يشكل تحديًا كبيرًا. وقد شجع أعضاء ICCR بنشاط الشركات الصيدلانية الرئيسية للمشاركة في تجمع براءات الأدويةآلية أنشئت تحت رعاية الأمم المتحدة من أجل "تجميع" براءات الاختراع الخاصة بالمخدرات لجعل المستحضرات الموجودة متاحة بشكل أكثر سهولة للإنتاج النوعي ولتطوير مجموعات مدمجة من الجرعة الثابتة.

يوم الاثنين ، اليوم العالمي للإيدز ، Abbvie أعلنت اتفاقية ترخيص ل lopinavir (LPV) و ritonavir (r) ، أعلى الأدوية الموصى بها لمنظمة الصحة العالمية للأطفال. وسيمكِّن هذا الترخيص الشركات والمؤسسات الأخرى من إعادة صياغة وتصنيع معالجات الأطفال LPV / r و r المصممة خصيصا لتوزيعها في البلدان المنخفضة والمتوسطة الدخل حيث يعيش 99٪ من الأطفال المصابين بفيروس نقص المناعة البشرية في العالم النامي. [Abbvie هو مستلهم من مختبرات أبوت التي تحتوي على الأعمال الصيدلانية القائمة على الأبحاث.]

في نفس اليوم ، أعلن منتدى صناعة أبحاث أدوية فيروس نقص المناعة البشرية أن المنتدى ينضم PEPFARأطلقت حملة صندوق العالمي، و ال مبادرة علاج فيروس نقص المناعة البشرية للأطفال (PHTI) في مبادرة "الالتزام العالمي بمضادات الفيروسات القهقرية" (ARV) للحث على العمل "لتسريع الابتكار وإنقاذ حياة الأطفال. تم تصميم هذه المبادرة لتسريع تطوير تركيبات جديدة للعلاج المضاد للفيروسات الرجعية للأطفال ذات الأولوية العالية لعلاج الخط الأول والثاني بواسطة 2017.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


منظمات غير حكومية تثير انذار حول السد الكهرومائي في غواتيمالا أكتوبر 15th، 2014

في أغسطس من 2013 ، تعرض المجتمع لهجوم وقتل طفلين في الانتقام لشكاوى حقوق الإنسان المقدمة من المجتمع.

Iفي أغسطس من 2013 ، تعرض المجتمع لهجوم وقتل طفلين في انتقام لشكاوى حقوق الإنسان التي قدمها المجتمع.

انضم المكتب التبشيطي الممولي (JPIC) إلى منظمات دولية أخرى في رسالة تهم المقرر الخاص للأمم المتحدة المعني بحقوق الشعوب الأصلية بشأن إنشاء سد سانتا ريتا الكهرومائي في غواتيمالا. تم تسجيل السد كمشروع في إطار آلية التنمية النظيفة (CDM) - التي أنشئت بموجب بروتوكول كيوتو للأمم المتحدة - في يونيو 2014. ووفقًا للرسالة ، "تم الإبلاغ عن العديد من الانتهاكات ضد مجتمعات كيكيتشي وبوكومشي الأصلية قبل ومنذ الموافقة على المشروع ، وكان آخرها في أحداث العنف من 14 إلى 16 أغسطس 2014 مما أدى إلى وقوع العديد من الإصابات والوفيات".

وتلاحظ الرسالة أن مقرر لجنة حقوق الإنسان للدول الأمريكية لحقوق الإنسان قد اعترف "بأن التراخيص الحالية لمنشآت التعدين والطاقة الكهرومائية قد مُنحت دون أن تقوم الدولة بتنفيذ مشاورات مسبقة وحرة ومستنيرة مع المجتمعات الأصلية المتضررة ، وهي ملزمة بالعمل بموجب المعاهدات الدولية التي وقعتها غواتيمالا.

اقرأ الرسالة…

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace, and Integrity of Creation

A Ministry of the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate

United States Province

OMI logo

Noticias en EspaÑol

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » Central America & the Caribbean


Religious Leaders Support Normalization with Cuba May 4th, 2015

Catedral_exterior

Photo credit (see below)

Thirty U.S. religious organizations signed onto a letter to Congress urging an end to the decades-long embargo with Cuba. The Rev. William Antone, U.S. Provincial, signed on for the Missionary Oblates USP. The letter refers to the long-standing ties of many of the faith organizations to religious bodies in Cuba, and cite their call for normalization of relations and an end to the embargo.

Read the letter here…

 

Photo credit: Krasivaja at the English language Wikipedia [GFDL (www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html) or CC-BY-SA-3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/)], via Wikimedia Commons

 


Engaging for Impact March 2nd, 2015

Why Do Faith-based Shareholders Engage Mining Companies? 

The Rev. Seamus Finn, OMI was interviewed recently by SUSTAIN, a publication of the International Finance Corporation, a lending arm of the World Bank that focuses exclusively on the private sector. The IFC is interested in how the Church has engaged in recent years with the extractives industry. Fr. Finn has been centrally involved in high-level meetings called by the Vatican and the Archbishop of Canterbury with mining CEOs and faith-based representatives to discuss ways to increase respect for the rights of, and lessen the impact of mining operations, on local communities. He is Director of Faith-Based Investing for the Oblate International Pastoral (OIP) Investment Trust, and Executive Director of the International Interfaith Investment Group (3iG)

Some of the questions asked in the interview are: “Why should the church care about extractives?”, “Why social justice through investment?”, and “Is there a way to secure societal fairness? Is it always a dynamic or is there a sweet spot?”

Read the full article here…

 

 


Mexican Migrant Children Forgotten at the Border January 22nd, 2015

Border Patrol and Mexican Authorities Fail to Screen and Protect Mexican Migrant Children

Last year, the issue of Central American children fleeing violence made headlines in the United States. But unlike unaccompanied minors from Guatemala, El Salvador, and Honduras, Mexican children fleeing violence rarely get an opportunity to tell their story before an immigration judge. The Washington Office on Latin America (WOLA) has released an investigative video and report on the treatment of unaccompanied Mexican migrant children detained at the U.S.-Mexico border.

Every year, U.S. Border Patrol apprehends approximately 15,000 unaccompanied Mexican children. According to a 2014 report by the United Nations Refugee Agency, nearly 60 percent of unaccompanied Mexican minors surveyed mentioned violence as one reason for leaving home. But in 2013, less than 5 percent were transferred to the U.S. Office of Refugee Resettlement to be screened and later granted an immigration hearing.

Through interviews with migrant children, Border Patrol officials, Mexican authorities, and experts, WOLA’s video “Forgotten at the Border” demonstrates the plight of Mexican children who migrate to the United States in an attempt to escape violence. Unless these children can prove to a Border Patrol agent that they face a credible risk of persecution or trafficking, they are sent right back home.

WOLA’s video highlights the stories of minors like Esteban, a 17-year-old who describes fleeing from a local cartel, crossing the Arizona border, and being deported by Border Patrol. The video is accompanied by an investigative report, as well as recommendations for the U.S. and Mexican governments to better protect and screen unaccompanied Mexican children.

Report: Forgotten on La Frontera: Mexican Children Fleeing Violence Are Rarely Heard

Recommendations: How the U.S. and Mexican Governments Can Better Protect Unaccompanied Mexican Children Fleeing Violence​

Interested in following WOLA on social media? You can find them on Twitter @WOLA_org or link to their Facebook page.

 

 

 


Important Advances in Pediatric AIDS Drug Development December 3rd, 2014

moment_quoteWorld AIDS Day saw two important announcements regarding development of much-needed pediatric AIDS drugs. This is an issue on which the Oblates and other faith-based investors in the Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility (ICCR) have pressed pharmaceutical companies on for years. Since most pediatric AIDS patients are in poor, developing countries, the usual market incentive for drug development does not exist. And, the development of pediatric AIDS drugs, particularly for infants, is challenging. ICCR members have actively encouraged the major pharmaceutical companies to participate in the Medicines Patent Pool, a mechanism established under the auspices of the UN to ‘pool’ patents for drugs to make existing formulations more readily available for generic production and for innovative fixed dose combinations to be developed.

On Monday, World AIDS Day, Abbvie announced a licensing agreement for lopinavir (LPV) and ritonavir (r), top World Health Organization-recommended medicines for children. The license will enable other companies and organizations to re-formulate and manufacture specially designed LPV/r and r pediatric treatments for distribution in low- and middle-income countries where 99% of children with HIV in the developing world live. [Abbvie is a spinoff of Abbott Laboratories that contains the research-based pharmaceutical business.]

On the same day, the HIV Medicines Research Industry Forum announced that the forum is joining PEPFAR, the Global Fund, and the Pediatric HIV Treatment Initiative (PHTI) in the newly established “Global Pediatric Antiretroviral (ARV) Commitment-to-Action” to accelerate innovation and save children’s lives. The initiative is designed to accelerate the development of new, high-priority pediatric ARV co-formulations for first- and second-line treatment by 2017.

Click here to read more »


NGOs Raise Alarm About Hydroelectric Dam in Guatemala October 15th, 2014

In August of 2013, the community was attacked and two children were killed in retribution for human rights complaints filed by the community.

In August of 2013, the community was attacked and two children were killed in retribution for human rights complaints filed by the community.

The Missionary Oblate JPIC Office has joined other international organizations in a letter of concern to the UN Special Rapporteur on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples about construction of the Santa Rita Hydroelectric Dam in Guatemala. The dam was registered as a project under the Clean Development Mechanism (CDM) – established under the UN’s Kyoto Protocol – in June 2014. According to the letter, “Numerous violations against the indigenous Q’eqchi´ and Poqomchí communities have been reported prior to and since project approval, most recently in violent incidents from 14 to 16 August 2014 resulting in several injuries and deaths.”

The letter notes that the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights’ Rapporteur on indigenous peoples’ rights recognized “that the current licenses for mining and hydroelectric plants were granted without the State having implemented prior, free, and informed consultation with affected indigenous communities, as it is obligated to do under international treaties signed by Guatemala”.

Read the letter…

 

Return to Top