شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر  الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
المدونة
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

آخر الأخبار

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث مقاطع الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الأخبار »الزراعة


إنتاجية الغرب الأوسط في خطر من تغير المناخ غير المضبوط يناير 23rd، 2015

mw_days_over_95_2A تقرير صدر حديثا يرى "ريكيري بيزنس" أن التغير المناخي غير المنظم سيهدد الإنتاجية الزراعية والصناعية في الغرب الأوسط. إذا كنت تعيش في الغرب الأوسط ، فبإمكانك أن تكون هناك عائلة ، أو ببساطة أن تأكل أيًا من المنتجات الزراعية الكثيرة التي تزرع في المنطقة ، ستحتاج إلى قراءة الملخص التنفيذي ، إن لم يكن النسخة الكاملة ، من هذا التقرير: http://riskybusiness.org/reports/midwest-report/executive-summary. التقرير الكامل متاح أيضا على هذا الرابط. يؤكد التقرير أنه لا يزال من الممكن اتخاذ إجراءات لتجنب أسوأ الآثار.

تم إطلاق مشروع الأعمال المحفوفة بالمخاطر في أكتوبر 2013 ، ويركز على قياس المخاطر الاقتصادية الناتجة عن تأثيرات تغير المناخ والإعلان عنها. ويحظى بدعم عمدة مدينة نيويورك السابق مايكل بلومبرج ، ووزير الخزانة الأمريكي السابق والمدير التنفيذي لجولدمان ساكس ، وهانك بولسون ، وتوم ستاير ، وهو مدير صندوق تحوط أمريكي ثري ، ومحسن ، وداعي حماية البيئة. كلفوا مجموعة Rhodium Group ، وهي شركة أبحاث اقتصادية متخصصة في تحليل الاتجاهات العالمية التخريبية ، بإعداد تقييم مستقل للمخاطر الاقتصادية التي يمثلها المناخ المتغير في الولايات المتحدة.


زيارة إلى مونغو ، زامبيا نوفمبر 29th، 2011

في أوائل شهر تشرين الثاني (نوفمبر) ، زارت زميلة مكتب JPIC كيت والش ، التي تعمل مع تحالف TRI-State for Investment Responsary (CRI) في نيوجيرسي ، عملائها في زامبيا. تكتب عن تأملها في الرحلة وتجربتها في زامبيا:

قبل أسبوعين ، سافرت إلى زامبيا للتحدث في مؤتمر شارك في رعايته خدمات الإغاثة الكاثوليكية و CAFOD بشأن الاستخراجيات في جنوب إفريقيا. كانت مهمتي هي التحدث عن عمل ICCR وتشغيل جلسة حول مناصرة المساهمين. ومع ذلك ، كان لدي بضعة أيام لاستكشاف المنطقة ، والزيارة ، قبل بدء المؤتمر.

في عطلة نهاية الأسبوع الأولى ، ذهبت إلى Mongu في المنطقة الغربية. هذه هي أفقر منطقة في البلاد. بعد رحلة حافلة 7 من العاصمة ، وصلت وذهبت لزيارة مطرانية مركز تنمية Mongu (DMDC).

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


مجموعات الإيمان تحفز السياسات الزراعية المؤيدة للفقراء في USTR نوفمبر 30th، 2009

كيس من الأرزدعا أربعة عشر ممثلاً عن مجموعة عمل InterFaith للتجارة والاستثمار ، بمن فيهم سيموس فين ، مدير مكتب Oblate JPIC ، الممثل التجاري للولايات المتحدة إلى دعم التدابير الرامية إلى مساعدة صغار المزارعين في البلدان النامية. في لفتة رمزية ، سلمت الجماعات الدينية أكثر من 100 كيس من الأرز للتأكيد على الحاجة إلى قواعد تجارية من شأنها أن تمكن البلدان الفقيرة من حماية سكانها من الارتفاع الحاد في أسعار المواد الغذائية. التقى أعضاء IWG بالمفاوضين التجاريين لمكتب الممثل التجاري للولايات المتحدة في اليوم السابق لعيد الشكر ، في غضون 72 ساعة من مغادرتهم لحضور اجتماع وزاري لمنظمة التجارة العالمية في جنيف.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


NCRLC - مصدر عظيم لقضايا الحياة الريفية أكتوبر 23rd، 2009

logocare_bluesmallيقدم المؤتمر الكاثوليكي الوطني للحياة الريفية - NCRLC - موارد حول مجموعة من القضايا المتعلقة بالحياة الريفية. قم بالتسجيل في أ النشرة الأسبوعية على موقع الويب الخاص بهم / يحتوي هذا على عروض موجزة حول برامج الحياة الريفية ، وقضايا الزراعة والأغذية ، ومخاوف العدالة البيئية. أحيانًا يتم تضمين صلاة موسمية أو رسالة ملهمة.

NCRLC لديها أيضا على أساس الإيمان حملة على إدارة الأرض وتغير المناخ. يقدم الموقع موارد جيدة حول هذه القضية وغيرها من الاهتمامات البيئية والمتعلقة بالأغذية.

أعرف أكثر…

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace, and Integrity of Creation

A Ministry of the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate

United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » agriculture


Midwestern Productivity at Risk from Unchecked Climate Change January 23rd, 2015

mw_days_over_95_2A newly released report by Risky Business finds that unchecked climate change will threaten Midwestern agricultural and industrial productivity. If you live in the Midwest, have family there, or simply eat any of the many agricultural products grown in the region, you will want to read the executive summary, if not the full version, of this report: http://riskybusiness.org/reports/midwest-report/executive-summary. The full report is available also at this link. The report emphasizes that it is still possible to take action to avoid the worst impacts.

Launched in October, 2013, the Risky Business Project focuses on quantifying and publicizing the economic risks from the impacts of a changing climate. It is backed by former NYC Mayor Michael Bloomberg, former US Treasury Secretary and Goldman Sachs executive, Hank Paulson, and Tom Steyer, a wealthy an American hedge fund manager, philanthropist, and environmentalist. They tasked the Rhodium Group, an economic research firm that specializes in analyzing disruptive global trends, with preparing an independent assessment of the economic risks posed by a changing climate in the U.S.


A Visit to Mongu, Zambia November 29th, 2011

Early November, JPIC Office colleague Kate Walsh, who works with the TRI-State Coalition for Responsible Investment (CRI) in New Jersey, visited Oblates working in Zambia. She writes about her reflection on the trip and experience in Zambia:

Two weeks ago, I traveled to Zambia to speak at conference co-sponsored by Catholic Relief Services and CAFOD on Extractives in Southern African. My task was to speak about ICCR’s work and run a session on Shareholder Advocacy. However, I had a few days to explore the region, visit, before the conference began.

That first weekend, I went to Mongu in the Western Region. This is the poorest region of the country. After a 7-hour bus ride from the capital, I arrived and went to visit the Diocese of Mongu Development Centre (DMDC).

Click here to read more »


Faith Groups Advocate Pro-Poor Agricultural Policies at USTR November 30th, 2009

bag of riceFourteen representatives of the InterFaith Working Group on Trade and Investment, including Séamus Finn, OMI – Director of the Oblate JPIC Office, called on the US Trade Representative to support measures to aid small farmers in developing countries. In a symbolic gesture, the faith groups delivered more than 100 bags of rice to emphasize the need for trade rules that would enable poor countries to protect their populations from sharp spikes in food prices. The IWG members met with USTR trade negotiators the day before Thanksgiving, within 72 hours of their leaving for a WTO Ministerial meeting in Geneva.

Click here to read more »


NCRLC – A Great Resource on Rural Life Issues October 23rd, 2009

logocare_bluesmallThe National Catholic Rural Life Conference – NCRLC – offers resources on a range of issues related to rural life. Sign up for a weekly E-bulletin on their website/ This contains brief offerings on rural life programs, agriculture & food issues, and environmental justice concerns. A seasonal prayer or inspirational message is sometimes included.

NCRLC also has a faith-based campaign on stewardship of the earth and climate change. The website offers good resources on this issue and other environmental and food-related concerns.

Learn more…

Return to Top