شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر  الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
المدونة
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

آخر الأخبار

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث مقاطع الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الأخبار »كندا


تمثل شركة DOWA Metals & Mining تهديدًا لمستجمعات المياه Chilkat 16 أبريل، 2021

الصورة مجاملة تيموثي إبيرلي ، Unsplash

أبدي فعل: ساعدنا في إيقاف هذا المنجم!

نهر شيلكات - "جيلكات هيني" بلغة التلينجيت ، ويعني "حاوية تخزين السلمون" - يتدفق من منابعه في جبال الساحل في كولومبيا البريطانية ، كندا ، في البحر بالقرب من هينز ، ألاسكا.

تمت تسوية مستجمعات المياه منذ آلاف السنين وهي المنطقة التقليدية لشعب تشيلكات تلينجيت. اليوم ، لا يزال مستجمع المياه مركزيًا اقتصاديًا وثقافيًا لقرية تشيلكات الهندية في كلوكوان ، وهي قبيلة معترف بها فيدراليًا. المحاصيل التقليدية ، ولا سيما السلمون البري و eulachon ، هي شريان الحياة للقرية.

سيطرت شركة المصهر اليابانية DOWA Metals and Mining على مشروع Palmer Mine في منابع مستجمعات المياه Chilkat. أرسل هذا الخطاب إلى DOWA ، وتطلب من مجلس الإدارة التوقف عن تمويل هذا المنجم. 
 
قم بزيارة هذا الموقع اقرأ المزيد وأرسل الرسالة.
 

 


ندوة كندية حول التعدين والعدالة في نوفمبر أكتوبر 24th، 2014

نظمت مبادرة Oblate JPIC في كندا ندوة حول التعدين ، أطلق عليها "The Global Cry of the People" ندوة حول استخراج التعدين والعدالة ليوم الجمعة ، نوفمبر 7th و السبت نوفمبر 8th ، 2014. سيعقد في جامعة سانت بول في أوتاوا.

تم تصميم الندوة لخلق وعي أكبر بين الكنديين حول تأثير التعدين ، وستحاول خلق مساحة للكنيسة والمجتمع المدني والسياسيين للتعلم ومناقشة قضايا العدالة المعنية.

يشمل الشركاء في هذا المشروع: جامعة سانت بول ، ومنظمة مراقبة التعدين الكندية ، والمنظمة الكندية الكاثوليكية للتنمية والسلام ، ومبادرة هاليفاكس ، ومواطنون من أجل العدالة العامة ، وأبرشية الشهداء الكندية ، وأبرشية سانت جوزيف ، واللجنة الأسقفية للعدالة والسلام- CCCB و KAIROS . المتحدث الضيف سيكون اللاهوتي الأب. غوستافو جوتيريز ميرينو ، المعروف كمؤسس لاهوت التحرير في أمريكا اللاتينية. وستتضمن الندوة أيضًا عروض تقديمية من الخبراء ، والتي ستضم سياسيين كنديين وممثلين عن صناعة التعدين ومتحدثين رسميين لديهم خبرة مباشرة من مجتمعات التعدين في آسيا وإفريقيا وأمريكا اللاتينية وكندا.

المعلومات ونموذج التسجيل ، متاحة الآن عن طريق الذهاب إلى موقع OMI Lacombe واختيار العدل والسلام ونزاهة الخلق / JPIC. هناك ستجد جميع مواد المؤتمر. يمكنك أيضا التسجيل هنا.

هذه الندوة مجانية ومفتوحة لجميع المهتمين ، على الرغم من قبول التبرع الطوعي لتغطية التكاليف في جدول التسجيل.

لمزيد من المعلومات ، يرجى الاتصال ليوناردو ريغو ، OMI في jpic@omilacombe.ca

 

 

 


كندا تعلن دعمها لحقوق الإنسان في المياه 31 مايو، 2012

في تحول مفاجئ ، انحنت كندا لسنوات من الضغط الوطني والدولي ، وقررت في النهاية أن تعترف بحق الإنسان في الماء والصرف الصحي.

قام مجلس الكنديين ، أكبر منظمة للدفاع عن العدالة الاجتماعية في كندا ، بحملة لأكثر من عقد لضمان حق الإنسان في الماء ، ونشر هذا ردا على الإعلان على موقعهم على الانترنت:

في الشهر الماضي ، تم عزل كندا في مفاوضات ريو + 20 باعتبارها البلد الوحيد الذي يدعي علنا ​​أنه لا يوجد أساس قانوني للحق وتدعو إلى حذفه. غير أن هذا الموقف لا يمكن الدفاع عنه ، لكن بعد مرور عامين تقريباً على إصدار الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة قرارًا يعترف بالحق (قرار الجمعية العامة A / 64 / 292) ، تتبعه ثلاثة قرارات لاحقة تؤكد قرارات مجلس حقوق الإنسان.

يقول مود بارلو ، الرئيس الوطني لمجلس الكنديين والمستشار الأقدم للأمم المتحدة لشؤون المياه لرئيس الجمعية العامة: "لقد استغرق الأمر ضغطًا غير مسبوق لجعل هذه الحكومة تغير موقفها ، والتحول هو أمر جيد ، لكن الكلمات ليست كافية. نحن بحاجة إلى إجراءات ، وتتعارض إجراءات الحكومة بشكل مباشر مع احترام حق الإنسان في الماء ".

وقد طلب المجلس باستمرار من الحكومات الكندية إظهار التزامها بالمياه من خلال تنفيذ قانون وطني يتعلق بالمياه بما في ذلك خطة عمل محلية بشأن حق الإنسان في الماء. يتطلع مجلس الكنديين إلى الحكومة التي تقدم خطة واضحة لما تعتزم القيام به للوفاء بالتزاماتها الدولية والمحلية فيما يتعلق بحق الإنسان في المياه والصرف الصحي.

 أعرف أكثر…


كندا تصادق على إعلان الأمم المتحدة لحقوق السكان الأصليين نوفمبر 17th، 2010

أيدت حكومة كندا رسميا إعلان الأمم المتحدة بشأن حقوق الشعوب الأصلية في نوفمبر 12.

"نحن نتفهم ونحترم أهمية إعلان الأمم المتحدة هذا للشعوب الأصلية في كندا وفي جميع أنحاء العالم ،" قال الأونورابل جون دنكان ، وزير الشؤون الهندية والتنمية الشمالية والمحاور الفيدرالي للميتيس وغير الهنود. "أيدت كندا الإعلان لزيادة المصالحة وتعزيز علاقتنا مع الشعوب الأصلية في كندا".

أعرف أكثر…


توجيه الطلاب في العدالة الاجتماعية العمل نوفمبر شنومست، شنومكس

الأب دانيال رينو ، أومى مهتم بتطوير برنامج للطلاب للتعرف على عمل العدالة الاجتماعية من خلال التفاعل مع الناس على مستوى القاعدة أو من خلال الدعوة إلى القضايا. إذا كنت منخرطا في العمل في مجال العدالة الاجتماعية ، فإنه يرغب في التواصل معك لمناقشة إمكانية أن يأتي طالب للعمل معك لفترة من الزمن.

الأب Renaud هو قسيس في جامعة سانت بول في أوتاوا ، أونتاريو ، كندا. وقد تم مؤخرا تعيينه رئيسا لجمعية وزارة الحرم الكندي الكاثوليكي. هذه الجمعية ، التي يفوضها مؤتمر الأساقفة الكنديين ، تدعم وزارة الحرم الجامعي في تعزيز مهمة الكنيسة الكاثوليكية.

الأب كان دانييل رينو قسيسًا في جامعة سانت بول منذ 2004. بريده الالكتروني هو: drenaud@ustpaul.ca موقع الجامعة هو www.ustpaul.ca

الأب يشرح Renaud فكرته في هذه المقابلة مع مكتب Oblate US JPIC شاهد الفيديو:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TYTsmnvWUUg
(شاهد الفيديو على YouTube)


رئيس الأساقفة ميلر يصدر نداء نيابة عن لاجئي التاميل في كندا أغسطس 30th، 2010

أصدر رئيس الأساقفة ج. مايكل ميلر من أبرشية فانكوفر بيانا في شهر أغسطس 25 ، 2010 حول وضع لاجئي 492 التاميل الذين وصلوا إلى فانكوفر في أوائل أغسطس طلبًا للجوء.

أثار وصول السفينة المحمّلة باللاجئين جدلاً داخل كندا. حث التاميل الكنديون ، أكبر جالية التاميل خارج سريلانكا والهند ، السلطات على قبول طالبي اللجوء ، قائلين إن الأقلية تواجه تمييزًا مستمرًا على أيدي الأغلبية السنهالية في سريلانكا. طلب مفوض سريلانكا السامي في كندا من البلاد رفض وضعهم كلاجئين بسبب صلات مزعومة بحركة نمور التاميل الانفصالية. نمور التاميل أو نمور تحرير تاميل إيلام (LTTE) كجناح عسكري لحركة التاميل الانفصالية وقد تم القضاء عليها بوحشية في ربيع عام 2009. ويعتقد أن عشرات الآلاف من التاميل قد لقوا حتفهم في الأشهر الأخيرة من الصراع ، محاصرين كما كانوا بين الجيشين المتحاربين. ووردت أنباء عن ارتكاب الجانبين لجرائم حرب.

"ضع كرامة اللاجئين التاميل في الاعتبار أثناء مناقشة الهجرة"

بيان رئيس الأساقفة ج. ميشيل ميلر الذي خدم في المجلس البابوي للفاتيكان للرعاية الرعوية للمهاجرين والمتحولين.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace & Integrity of Creation

Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate  United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » canada


Canadian Symposium on Mining and Justice in November October 24th, 2014

The Oblate JPIC initiative in Canada has organized a symposium on mining, called “The Global Cry of the People” Symposium on Mining Extraction and Justice for Friday, November 7th and Saturday November 8th, 2014. It will be held at Saint Paul’s University in Ottawa.

The symposium is designed to create a greater awareness among Canadians about the impact of mining, and will try to create a space for Church, civil society and politicians to learn and discuss the justice issues involved.

Partners in this project include: St Paul University, Canadian Mining Watch, the Canadian Catholic Organization for Development and Peace, the Halifax Initiative, Citizens for Public justice, Canadian Martyrs Parish, St Joseph’s Parish, Episcopal Commission for Justice and Peace-CCCB and KAIROS. The guest speaker will be the theologian Fr. Gustavo Gutierrez Merino, well-known as the founder of liberation theology in Latin America. The symposium will also feature presentations from experts, which will include Canadian politicians, representatives of the mining industry, and spokespersons with direct experience from mining communities in Asia, Africa, Latin America and Canada.

Information and the registration form, are now available by going to the OMI Lacombe website and selecting Justice, Peace and Integrity of Creation/JPIC. There you will find all conference materials. You can also register here.

This symposium is free and open to all who might be interested, although a voluntary donation to cover costs will be accepted at the registration table.

For more information, please contact Leonardo Rego, OMI at jpic@omilacombe.ca

 

 

 


Canada Declares Support for Human Right to Water May 31st, 2012

In a surprising turnaround, Canada bowed to years of national and international pressure, deciding at last to recognize the human right to water and sanitation.

The Council of Canadians, Canada’s largest social justice advocacy organization, has campaigned for more than a decade to ensure the human right to water, and posted this response to the announcement on their website:

As recently as last month, Canada was isolated in the Rio+20 negotiations as the only country to publicly claim there is no legal basis for the right and call for its deletion. This position was untenable, however, almost two years after the United Nations General Assembly passed a resolution recognizing the right (GA Res. A/64/292) followed by three subsequent confirming Human Rights Council resolutions.

Maude Barlow, National Chairperson of the Council of Canadians and a former UN Senior Advisor on Water to the President of the General Assembly, says, “It took unprecedented pressure to get this government to change its position, and the shift is a good thing, but words are not enough. We need actions, and the government’s actions directly contradict respect for the human right to water.”

The Council has consistently asked Canadian governments to show their commitment to water by implementing a national water act including a domestic plan of action on the human right to water. The Council of Canadians looks forward to the government providing a clear plan of what it intends to do to meet its international and domestic obligations with regard to the human right to water and sanitation.

 Learn more…


Canada Endorses UN Indigenous Rights Declaration November 17th, 2010

The Government of Canada formally endorsed the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples on November 12.

“We understand and respect the importance of this United Nations Declaration to Indigenous peoples in Canada and worldwide,” said the Honourable John Duncan, Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development and Federal Interlocutor for Métis and Non-status Indians. “Canada has endorsed the Declaration to further reconcile and strengthen our relationship with Aboriginal peoples in Canada.”

Learn more…


Mentoring Students in Social Justice Work November 1st, 2010

Fr. Daniel Renaud, omi is interested in developing a program for students to learn about social justice work by engaging with people at the grassroots or through issue advocacy. If you are an Oblate involved in social justice work, he would like to connect with you to discuss the possibility of a student coming to work with you for a period of time.

Father Renaud is Chaplain at St. Paul University in Ottawa, Ontario, Canada. He has recently been named chair of the Canadian Catholic Campus Ministry Association. This association, mandated by the Conference of Canadian Bishops, supports campus ministry in promoting the mission of the Catholic Church.

Fr. Daniel Renaud has been the Chaplain at Saint Paul University since 2004. His email is: drenaud@ustpaul.ca The University website is www.ustpaul.ca

Fr. Renaud explains his idea in this interview with the Oblate US JPIC Office Watch the video:

(Watch the video on YouTube)


Archbishop Miller Issues Plea on Behalf of Tamil Refugees in Canada August 30th, 2010

Archbishop J. Michael Miller of Vancouver Diocese issued a statement on August 25, 2010 on the situation of the 492 Tamil refugees that arrived in Vancouver in early August seeking asylum.

The arrival of the refugees-laden ship has generated controversy within Canada. Canadian Tamils, the largest Tamil community outside Sri Lanka and India, have urged authorities to accept the asylum seekers, saying that the minority group faces continued discrimination at the hands of the majority Sinhalese in Sri Lanka. Sri Lanka’s high commissioner to Canada has asked the country to reject their refugee status due to alleged links to the Tamil Tiger separatist movement. The Tamil Tigers or Liberation Tigers of Tamil Elam (LTTE) as the military wing of the separatist Tamil movement and was brutally wiped out in the spring of 2009. Tens of thousands of Tamils are believed to have died in the final months of the conflict, trapped as they were between the two warring armies. War crimes are reported to have been committed by both sides.

“Keep the dignity of Tamil refugees in mind during immigration debate”

Statement by Archbishop J. Michael Miller who served on the Vatican Pontifical Council for the Pastoral Care of Migrants and Itinerants.

Click here to read more »

Return to Top