شعار أومي
المدونة
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

آخر الأخبار

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث مقاطع الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الأخبار »كريستينا هيرمان


موظفو شركة JPIC يزورون بنجلاديش مايو 3rd، 2013

قرية خاسيزارت كريستينا هيرمان ، مديرة مكتب JPIC ، بنجلاديش في أواخر مارس / أوائل أبريل. رافقت ابنتها ، إيما ، وأخذت آلاف الصور والملاحظات الغزيرة. الأب جوزيف غوميس ، OMI استضافت رحلة مدتها عشرة أيام حول منطقة سيلهيت في بنغلاديش الشرقية ، والتي قدمت نظرة رائعة على حياة شعب خاسي الأصلي والقضايا التي تواجه قراهم. بدأت بعثة Oblate في بنغلاديش في منطقة سيلهيت ، وهناك عدد من الأبرشيات بين الشعوب الأصلية في المنطقة.

كانت الضربات القومية المتكررة (أو الهارتلات) التي دعت إليها معارضة سياسية مصممة على تقويض الحكومة قد جعلت الرحلة صعبة ، لكن المجموعة غطت الكثير من الأرضية.

شريف جميل ، Buriganga RiverKeeper

شريف جميل ، Buriganga RiverKeeper

في دكا ، تعاونت كريستينا مع حارس المياه البنغلاديشي ، شريف جميل ، في دراسة القضايا البيئية والعمالية المتعلقة بصناعات تصدير الجلود والملابس. لقد زاروا نهر بوريجانجا ، ومدابغ الجلود شمال المدينة ، ومصنع ملابس ضخم ، وعقدوا عددًا من الاجتماعات التثقيفية مع أصحاب المصانع والمديرين ، ومنظمي النقابات العمالية ، وعلماء البيئة.

ماء ملوث من دباغة الجلود

تتدفق المياه الملوثة من دباغة الجلود إلى نهر بوريجانجا

تعتبر المدابغ مصدرًا كبيرًا لتلوث النهر الرئيسي الذي يتدفق عبر دكا ، وهي مدينة ضخمة تقدر بنحو 18 مليون شخص. يعتمد الملايين على الأنهار في الاستحمام وغسل الملابس والمواصلات ، ومع ذلك فهي ملوثة بشدة بالنفايات الصناعية والبشرية. أصدرت منظمة هيومن رايتس ووتش مؤخرًا دراسة عن الآثار الصحية للمدابغ ، تطابق نتائج هذه الرحلة. النفايات الصناعية غير المعالجة المتدفقة من مصانع الملابس شائعة. عامل كبير في التلوث هو عدم وجود معالجة كافية لمياه الصرف الصحي لسكان المدينة المتزايدين.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


المستثمرون على أساس الإيمان دعوة شركات الأدوية للانضمام إلى تجمع براءات الأدوية نوفمبر 30th، 2011

تكريماً لليوم العالمي للإيدز وموضوع الأمم المتحدة ، "الوصول إلى الصفر" ، يعيد أعضاء مركز الحوار المشترك بين الأديان حول المسؤولية المؤسسية تأكيد اعتمادهم لمجمع براءات الأدوية (MPP) الذي أنشأه اليونيتيد ويدعون شركات الأدوية إلى تبادل رخصهم للأدوية المدّية لإنقاذ الحياة.

وقالت كريستينا هيرمان من مبادرة "مريم هرمايل" التبشيرية: "إن موضوع" الوصول إلى الصفر "له ثلاثة أهداف رئيسية:" لا توجد إصابات جديدة ، ولا تمييز ، ولا أية وفيات مرتبطة بالإيدز: إن MPP هي استراتيجية فعالة وقوية ضد جميع الأمراض الثلاثة ". . وباعتبارنا مستثمرين في شركات الأدوية الذين يرون إمكانية الوصول إلى الأدوية كحق أساسي من حقوق الإنسان ، فإننا نشجع بقوة المشاركة ".

اقرأ البيان الصحفي الصادر عن ICCR حول تجمع براءات الاختراع UNITAID ...

 

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace & Integrity of Creation

Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate  United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » christina herman


JPIC Staff Visits Bangladesh May 3rd, 2013

Khasi VillageChristina Herman, JPIC Office Associate Director, visited Bangladesh in late March/early April. Her daughter, Emma, accompanied her, taking thousands of photos and copious notes. Fr. Joseph Gomes, OMI graciously hosted a ten day trip around the Sylhet region of NE Bangladesh, which provided a fascinating look at the lives of the indigenous Khasi people and the issues confronting their villages. The Oblate mission in Bangladesh started in the Sylhet region, and there are a number of parishes among the indigenous peoples of the area.

Frequent national strikes (or hartals) called by a political opposition determined to undermine the government made the trip challenging, but the group covered a lot of ground.

Sharif Jamil, Buriganga RiverKeeper

Sharif Jamil, Buriganga RiverKeeper

In Dhaka, Christina teamed up with the Bangladesh WaterKeeper, Sharif Jamil, in an examination of environmental and labor issues related to the leather and garment export industries. They visited the Buriganga River, leather tanneries north of the city, a massive garment factory, and had a number of informative meetings with factory owners and managers, labor union organizers, and environmentalists.

Polluted Water from Leather Tanneries

Polluted Water from Leather Tanneries flows into the Buriganga River

The tanneries are a large source of pollution for the main river flowing through Dhaka, a megacity of an estimated 18 million people. Millions depend on the rivers for bathing, washing clothes, and transportation, yet they are heavily polluted with industrial and human waste. Human Rights Watch recently issued a study of the health impacts of the tanneries, which matched the findings of this trip. Untreated industrial waste flowing from the garment factories is common. A huge factor in the pollution is the lack of adequate sewage treatment for the city’s burgeoning population.

Click here to read more »


Faith-Based Investors Call on Pharmaceutical Companies to Join the Medicines Patent Pool November 30th, 2011

In honor of World AIDS Day and the United Nation’s theme, “Getting to Zero”, members of the Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility (ICCR) reiterate their endorsement of the Medicines Patent Pool (MPP) created by UNITAID, and call upon pharmaceutical companies to share their licenses for life-savings AIDS medicines.

“The ‘Getting to Zero’ theme has three main goals,” said Christina Herman of the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate: “Zero new infections, zero discrimination and zero AIDS-related deaths: The MPP is an effective and powerful strategy against all three. As investors in pharmaceutical companies who view access to medicines as a fundamental human right, we strongly encourage participation.”

Read the ICCR Press Release on the UNITAID Patent Pool…

 

Return to Top