شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
جديدنا
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

أخبار الأعلاف

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الأخبار »citicorp


بنك أوف أميركا هو 2nd مؤسسة مالية أمريكية كبرى تواجه مشتقات البروكسي من قبل المساهمين 26 أبريل، 2010

بنك امريكيويأتي الحكم في الاجتماع السنوي الذي عقدته BofA يوم الأربعاء في أعقاب دعم 30 بنسبة كبيرة في سيتي جروب بنفس القرار. من بين أربع قرارات الإفصاح عن المشتقات التي يتم تقديمها ، قد يكون ذلك مع BofA هو الأكثر أهمية ، مع الأخذ في الاعتبار كيف أن سوء إدارة مقايضات العجز الائتماني (وهو نوع من المشتقات) قد تعثر في بنك ميريل لينش من BofA.

مع نسبة 30 أعلى بكثير من المتوقع من أسهم Citigroup التي تم التصويت عليها في أبريل 20th لصالح المزيد من الإفصاح عن ممارسات المشتقات ، سينتقل التركيز الآن إلى بنك أمريكا (BofA) ، حيث سيصوت حملة الأسهم يوم الأربعاء (أبريل 28th) على نفس قرار يرعاه المستثمرون المؤسسون الذين ينتمون إلى الدين والذين ينتمون إلى المركز المشترك بين الأديان المعني بمسؤولية الشركات (ICCR) التابع لـ 300. سيجري التصويت على BofA في الوقت الذي يناقش فيه الكونغرس مصير الإصلاح التنظيمي المالي ، بما في ذلك زيادة الكشف عن المشتقات المالية.

يمنح القرار للمساهمين فرصة ، كما فعلوا في سيتي جروب ، للتعبير عن مخاوفهم بشأن عدم وجود شفافية في سوق المشتقات التي ساهمت بشكل كبير في الأزمة المالية. وقد نتج عن تصويت أكبر من المتوقع من حملة أسهم سيتي جروب على الرغم من أن حكومة الولايات المتحدة ، التي تسيطر على نسبة 27 في المائة من سيتي غروب نتيجة لعمليات إنقاذ البنوك ، فشلت في دعم القرار بشكل كامل.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


يطالب المساهمون في "سيتي غروب" على أساس الحكومة الأمريكية بتصويت أسهمها لصالح إصلاح المشتقات المالية 17 أبريل، 2010

1357308يحث المستثمرون المؤسسيون القائمون على الثقة إدارة أوباما على إرسال نفس الرسالة إلى وول ستريت التي ترسلها إلى الكونغرس بشأن الإصلاح المالي. تسيطر حكومة الولايات المتحدة على 27 في المائة من أسهم Citigroup المعلقة ، ويقول المساهمون على أساس ديني إنه ينبغي على الولايات المتحدة دعم قرارهم الذي يحث الشركة على توفير مزيد من الإفصاح عن تداول مشتقاتها. سيجري التصويت صباح الثلاثاء في الاجتماع السنوي لمجموعة سيتي جروب في نيويورك. المجموعات ، بما في ذلك المبشرين مرابطات مريم الطاهرة ، هم أعضاء في 300 الأعضاء بين الأديان مركز المسؤولية المؤسسية (ICCR).

القس سيموس فين ، OMI ، شارك بنشاط في الضغط على المؤسسات المالية من أجل مزيد من الشفافية والمساءلة وعضو مجلس إدارة المركز ، "تسيطر الحكومة الأمريكية على أكثر من ربع أسهم Citigroup المعلقة اليوم. لديه فرصة استثنائية هنا لإرسال رسالة واضحة إلى وول ستريت مفادها أن الكشف عن المزيد من المشتقات أمر حيوي. والأكثر من ذلك ، ليس لدى وزارة الخزانة أي خيار آخر سوى دعم قرارنا ، لأن الإخفاق في القيام بذلك من شأنه أن يقوض بشكل مباشر حملتها للإصلاح المالي المهم.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace, and Integrity of Creation

A Ministry of the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate

United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » citicorp


Bank of America is 2nd Major U.S. Financial Institution to Face Derivatives Proxy Vote By Shareholders April 26th, 2010

bank-of-americaThe verdict at BofA’s Wednesday Annual Meeting comes on the heels of a huge 30 percent support at Citigroup on the same Resolution. Of the four derivatives disclosure resolutions being filed, that with BofA may be the most telling, considering how the mishandling of Credit Default Swaps (a type of derivative) tripped up BofA’s Merrill Lynch.

With a much higher-than-expected 30 percent of Citigroup shares voted on April 20th in favor of more disclosure of derivatives practices, the focus now shifts to Bank of America (BofA), where shareholders will vote Wednesday (April 28th) on the same resolution sponsored by faith-based institutional investors belonging to the 300-member Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility (ICCR). The BofA vote will take place as Congress debates the fate of financial regulatory reform, including increased derivatives disclosure.

The resolution gives shareholders an opportunity, as they did at Citigroup, to express their concerns about the lack of transparency in the derivatives market that contributed significantly to the financial crisis. The higher-than-expected vote from Citigroup shareholders resulted even though the United States government, which controls 27 percent of Citigroup as a result of the bank bailouts, failed to fully support the resolution.

Click here to read more »


Citigroup Faith-Based Shareholders Call on US Government to Vote Its Shares in Favor of Derivatives Reform April 17th, 2010

1357308Faith-based institutional investors are urging the Obama Administration to send the same message to Wall Street that it is sending to Congress on financial reform. The United States government controls 27 percent of outstanding Citigroup shares, and  faith-based shareholders say the US should support their Resolution urging the company to provide more disclosure about its derivatives trading. Voting will take place Tuesday morning at the Citigroup Annual Meeting in New York. The groups, which include the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate, are members of the 300-member Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility (ICCR).

Rev. Seamus Finn, OMI, actively engaged in pressing financial institutions for greater transparency and accountability and an ICCR board member, said, “The U.S. government controls over a quarter of outstanding Citigroup shares today. It has an extraordinary opportunity here to send a clear message to Wall Street that more derivatives disclosure is vital. Even more to the point, the Treasury Department really has no choice other than to support our resolution since a failure to do so would directly undercut its campaign for critical financial reform.”

Click here to read more »

Return to Top