شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر  الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
الأخبار
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

أخبار الأعلاف

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث مقاطع الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الأخبار »العدالة المناخية


تغيّر المناخ: يستعرض أعضاء اللجنة الدولية للحقوق المدنية والسياسية العمل السابق والخطة لموسم المشاركة للشركات 2018-19 يوليو 18th، 2018

بقلم فرانك شيرمان

اجتمعت مجموعة عمل تغير المناخ التابعة لـ ICCR في منتصف يونيو ، واستضافتها مؤسسة Nathan Cummings ، وهي عضو في ICCR في مدينة نيويورك ، لتقييم التقدم خلال العام الماضي ورسم مسار إلى الأمام لموسم مشاركة الشركات 2018-19. أخذنا بعض الوقت للتفكير في الاتجاهات الاجتماعية والإيمان. مراجعة المشهد السياسي والاقتصادي. ورسم خريطة لإجراءات المستثمرين المتنامية بشأن المناخ. ثم قمنا بتقييم تقدمنا ​​خلال العامين الماضيين قبل تطوير تحليل SWOT ، ومهمتنا ورؤيتنا. في فترة ما بعد الظهر ، ناقشنا الطريق إلى الأمام من خلال إعادة توجيه البرامج الحالية ومناقشة بعض المجالات الجديدة لمتابعتها.

ﻗﺪم ﺟﺎك ﺑﺎراﻧﺖ (ﻣﻮرﻏﺎن ﺳﺘﺎﻧﻠﻲ ﻏﺮﻳﺴﺘﺴﺘﻮن) ، إﻟﻰ ﺟﺎﻧﺐ ﻣﺮﻳﻢ ﺑﻴﺖ ﻏﻼﻏﺮ (Tri-State CRI) ، العدالة المناخية المنظور من خلال وصف الآثار السلبية غير المتناسبة لتغير المناخ على المجتمعات الضعيفة. وتشمل هذه تناقص الإنتاج الزراعي بسبب الجفاف مما أدى إلى زيادة الهجرة، والآثار غير متناسبة على النساء، وزيادة أعباء المرض بسبب حرارة تكثيف والأمراض التي تنقلها الحشرات، والنزوح من العواصف مكثفة نظرا لعدم وجود مرونة (مثل إعصار هارفي وماريا). بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، فإن ما يقرب من 1.1 مليار شخص يفتقرون إلى الكهرباء ، مما يجعل توفير طاقة نظيفة وبأسعار معقولة ضرورية للمجتمعات التي تحاول الإفلات من الفقر. على عكس مديري الأصول العلمانيين ، يمكن للمجتمع الديني رفع تغير المناخ من الخطاب السياسي الحزبي إلى قضية أخلاقية ندعو جميعًا إلى معالجتها. نحن بحاجة إلى أن نكون جريئين وأن نظهر الإلحاح من خلال الاستفادة من المنظمات الشريكة (هيومن رايتس ووتش ، وعدل الأرض ، ونادي سييرا ، وما إلى ذلك) ، وأن نضع وجهاً إنسانياً على آثار تغير المناخ.

قدم آرون زيولكوفسكي (والدن أسيت) نظرة سياسية واقتصادية مشيرة إلى أنه على الرغم من الوعي المتزايد ، تستمر انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة العالمية في الارتفاع ، على الرغم من استقرارها في بلدان منظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية (المتقدمة). الالتزامات الوطنية التي تم التعهد بها في باريس لا ترقى إلى مستوى 2 درجة ولا تجعل العالم يقترب من مستوى 1.5 درجة. حل النقل محل إنتاج الكهرباء باعتباره أكبر مصدر للانبعاثات في الولايات المتحدة بسبب استبدال الفحم بالغاز الطبيعي. على الرغم من إعلان البيت الأبيض الانسحاب من باريس ، فقد حددت عدة ولايات أهدافًا لخفض غازات الدفيئة والطاقة المتجددة ومعايير CAFÉ (التي تقلل انبعاثات السيارات) التي تتجاوز المعايير الفيدرالية. تواصل اليابان والاتحاد الأوروبي والصين والهند زيادة معايير CAFÉ بينما تتراجع وكالة حماية البيئة التابعة لترامب عن الأهداف الأمريكية. تتم مقاضاة وكالة حماية البيئة (EPA) للتراجع عن معايير انبعاثات الميثان في إنتاج النفط والغاز. الاقتصاديون واثقون من أن الاقتصاد يتفوق على السياسة بتكلفة الرياح والطاقة الشمسية غير المدعومة التي أصبحت منافسة الآن للوقود الأحفوري. اتفقنا على تكثيف المناصرة العامة والضغط على الشركات لفعل الشيء نفسه إذا أرادت الولايات المتحدة أن تظل قادرة على المنافسة في عالم منخفض الكربون.

اقرأ بقية المقال على موقع Seventh Generation.

 


علماء العالم يصدرون تحذيراً عاجلاً بشأن تغير المناخ أكتوبر 3rd، 2013

هطلت الأمطار المتأخرة في بنغلادش على المحاصيل والماشية.

هطلت الأمطار المتأخرة في بنغلادش على المحاصيل والماشية.

الأسبوع الماضي ، أصدرت اللجنة الحكومية الدولية المعنية بتغير المناخ (IPCC) أحدث تقييم للعلم وراء تغير المناخ الذي يسببه الإنسان. لأول مرة ، قدمت الهيئة الحكومية الدولية المعنية بتغير المناخ إرشادات بشأن كمية ثاني أكسيد الكربون التي لا يزال من الممكن وضعها في الغلاف الجوي ولا تزال تحت ارتفاع درجة الحرارة بمقدار مرسومين مئويين: حوالي 2 تريليون طن أكثر. إن الهيئة الحكومية الدولية المعنية بتغير المناخ - التي تتألف من آلاف علماء المناخ الرائدين في العالم من أكثر من 2 دولة - متأكدة الآن بنسبة 1٪ من أن الأنشطة البشرية تسبب تغير المناخ. في السابق ، كان العلماء متأكدين بنسبة 120٪.

ردا على هذا التقرير ، كتب الدكتور كيفن أهيرن ، أستاذ الدراسات الدينية في كلية مانهاتن الواجب الأخلاقي للعمل من أجل العدالة المناخية. هناك ، يقول الدكتور أهيرن ذلك يلفت تقرير الهيئة الحكومية الدولية المعنية بتغير المناخ الانتباه إلى حقيقتين تستدعيان الكاثوليك وجميع الأشخاص ذوي النوايا الحسنة للعملويسلط الضوء على عمل التحالف كمثال على كيفية تعامل الكاثوليك بأمانة مع تغير المناخ. وتجدر الإشارة إلى أن الأساقفة الكاثوليك في الولايات المتحدة استخدموا التقرير الثالث للفريق الحكومي الدولي المعني بتغير المناخ كأساس لدعوتهم إلى العمل من قبل المجتمع الكاثوليكي عندما كتبوا بيانهم 2001 ، تغير المناخ العالمي: نداء للحوار والحذر والصالح العام.

الجمعية الخيرية البريطانية ، كريستيان ايد ، هي يحث الحكومات للتصدي لتحذيرات الفريق الحكومي الدولي المعني بتغير المناخ (IPCC). بالنسبة الى الأخبار الكاثوليكية المستقلةيحذر الدكتور أليسون دويغ ، كبير مستشاري التغيير المناخي في منظمة كريستيان إيد ، من أن الناس في البلدان النامية يواجهون بالفعل الواقع الكئيب للمناخ المتغير [ويقولون إن تقريره يثبت الإجراء العاجل اللازم لوقف تغير المناخ في مساراته. الالتزام بالحد من انبعاثات الكربون العالمية بسرعة ".

بفضل التحالف الكاثوليكي بشأن تغير المناخ لهذه المعلومات.

 


العدالة المناخية لتغير كوكب الأرض ديسمبر 8th، 2009

الفيضانات في وزامبياالعدالة المناخية من أجل كوكب متغير: كتاب أولي لصانعي السياسات والمنظمات غير الحكومية يسلط الضوء على التقاطع الهام بين العدالة والعدالة في سياق النقاش الحالي حول تغير المناخ. يستكشف هذا المنشور الجديد الصادر عن دائرة الأمم المتحدة للإتصال غير الحكومي (UN-NGLS) عدالة المناخ كمفهوم ناشئ وكأساس لفهم النقاش العالمي. يوضح الكتاب أن العدالة المناخية ليست حتمية أخلاقية فحسب ، بل هي أيضا قضية اقتصادية واجتماعية.

معرفة المزيد والوصول إلى PDF للمنشور.

وفي محاولة لإلقاء الضوء على هذه القضية وتطوير المزيد من الفهم لهذا المفهوم ، أطلقت NGLS أيضًا سلسلة من المقالات والمقابلات مع خبراء العدالة والمناخين في مجال المناخ. ستستمر هذه السلسلة خلال شهر كانون الثاني من 2010. يمكن العثور على السلسلة والمزيد من المعلومات على www.un-ngls.org/climatejustice


قرع أجراس كنيستك الأحد 13 ديسمبر - أرسل رسالة إلى كوبنهاغن! ديسمبر شنومكرد، شنومكس

204741805_5cbedcbcdaمن المقرر أن تبدأ محادثات تغير المناخ الدولية في كوبنهاجن في شهر كانون الأول (ديسمبر) من شهر كانون الأول (ديسمبر) ، وسيكون مستقبل الأرض على المحك. لقد حان الوقت لأن نفعل كل ما في وسعنا لضمان خروج المجتمع العالمي من كوبنهاغن بمعاهدة مناخية عادلة وملزمة قائمة على العلم.

تدعو منظمة كاريتاس الدولية ومجلس الكنائس العالمي المسيحيين في جميع أنحاء العالم إلى قرع أجراس الكنائس يوم الأحد ، ديسمبر 13th لإظهار التضامن مع إخواننا وأخواتنا في جميع أنحاء العالم الذين يعانون بالفعل من الآثار المدمرة لتغير المناخ.

دق الأجراس الخاصة بك!

تريد تنظيم عمل؟ قم بتنزيل نشرة للتوزيع في كنيستك هذا الأحد.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace, and Integrity of Creation

A Ministry of the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate

United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » climate justice


Climate Change: ICCR Members Review Past Work and Plan for 2018-19 Corporate Engagement Season July 18th, 2018

By Frank Sherman

The ICCR Climate Change Workgroup met in mid-June, hosted by the Nathan Cummings Foundation, an ICCR member in NYC, to evaluate the progress over the past year and chart out a path forward for the 2018-19 corporate engagement season. We took time to reflect on the social and faith trends; review the political and economic landscape; and map the growing investor actions on climate. We then evaluated our progress over the past couple years before developing a SWOT analysis, mission and vision. In the afternoon, we discussed the path forward by re-directing the existing programs and discussing some new areas to pursue.

Jake Barnett (Morgan Stanley Graystone), together with Mary Beth Gallagher (Tri-State CRI), presented the climate justice perspective by describing the disproportionate adverse impacts climate change has on vulnerable communities. These include decreased agricultural production due to drought resulting in increased migration, disproportionate impacts on women, increased disease burdens due to intensified heat and insect-borne diseases, and displacement from intensified storms due to lack of resilience (e.g. Hurricane Harvey and Maria). In addition, roughly 1.1 billion people lack access to electricity, making the provision of clean, affordable energy essential for communities trying to escape poverty. Unlike secular asset managers, the faith community can elevate climate change from a partisan political discourse to a moral issue that we are all called to address. We need to be bold and exhibit urgency by leveraging partner organizations (Human Rights Watch, Earth Justice, Sierra Club, etc.), and put a human face on the climate change impacts.

Aaron Ziulkowski (Walden Asset) provided the political and economic overview noting that, despite growing awareness, global GHG emissions continue to rise, although they have leveled off in OECD (developed) countries. The national commitments made in Paris fall short of the 2 degree scenario and get the world nowhere near the 1.5 degree ambition. Transportation has replaced electricity production as the top emitter in the U.S. due to the displacement of coal by natural gas. Despite the White House announced withdraw from Paris, several states have set targets for GHG reduction, renewable energy and CAFÉ standards (which reduce auto emissions) that exceed federal standards. Japan, the EU, China and India continue to increase CAFÉ standards while Trump’s EPA rolls back U.S. targets. The EPA is being sued for rolling back methane emissions standards in oil & gas production. Economists are confident that economics wins over politics with the cost of unsubsidized wind and solar electrical power now competitive with fossil fuels. We agreed to step up public advocacy and pressure corporations to do the same if the U.S. wants to remain competitive in a low carbon world.

Read the rest of the article on Seventh Generation’s website.

 


World’s Scientists Issue urgent Warning on Climate Change October 3rd, 2013

Late rains in Bangladesh stress crops and livestock.

Late rains in Bangladesh stress crops and livestock.

Last week, the highly esteemed Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) released its latest assessment of the science behind human-caused climate change.  For the first time, the IPCC has offered guidance on the amount of CO2 that can still be put into the atmosphere and still stay below the temperature rise of 2 decrees Celsius: about 1 trillion tons more.  The IPCC—which is made up of thousands of the world’s leading climate scientists from more than 120 countries—is now 95% certain that human activities are causing climate change. Previously, the scientists had been 90% certain.

In response to this report, Dr. Kevin Ahern, assistant professor of religious studies at Manhattan College, wrote The Moral Imperative to Act for Climate Justice. There, Dr. Ahern says that [t]he IPCC report draws attention to two facts that call Catholics and all people of good will to action, and highlights the work of the Coalition as an example of how Catholics are faithfully addressing climate change.

It should be noted that the U.S. Catholic bishops used the third IPCC report as the basis for their call to action by the Catholic community when they wrote their 2001 statement, Global Climate Change: A Plea for Dialogue, Prudence and the Common Good.

The UK charity, Christian Aid, is urging governments to heed the warnings of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC). According to Independent Catholic News, Christian Aid’s Senior Climate Change Advisor, Dr. Alison Doig, warns that people in developing countries are already facing the grim reality of a changing climate [and says that t]his report demonstrates the urgent action needed to stop climate change in its tracks by committing to rapidly reducing global carbon emissions.”

Thanks to the Catholic Coalition on Climate Change for this information.

 


Climate Justice for a Changing Planet December 8th, 2009

Flooding-In-ZambiaClimate Justice for a Changing Planet: A Primer for Policy Makers and NGOs shines a light on the important intersection of equity and justice in the context of the current climate change debate. This new publication from the United Nations Non-Governmental Liaison Service (UN-NGLS) explores climate justice as an emerging concept and as a key to understanding the global debate. The book demonstrates that climate justice is not only an ethical imperative, but also an economic and social one.

Learn more and access a PDF of the publication.

In an effort to further highlight the issue and to develop further understanding of the concept, NGLS has also launched a series of guest articles and interviews with climate justice experts and advocates. This series will continue through January of 2010. The series and more information can be found at www.un-ngls.org/climatejustice


Ring Your Church Bells Sunday December 13th – Send a Message to Copenhagen! December 3rd, 2009

204741805_5cbedcbcdaInternational climate change talks are set to start in Copenhagen on December 7th, and the Earth’s future is at stake. It’s time for us to do everything we can to ensure that the world community emerges from Copenhagen with a just, binding, science-based climate treaty.

Caritas Internationalis and the World Council of Churches are calling on Christians around the world to ring our church bells on Sunday, December 13th to show solidarity with our brothers and sisters around the globe who already are experiencing the devastating effects of climate change.

RING YOUR BELLS!

Want to organize an action? Download a flyer for distribution in your church this Sunday.

Click here to read more »

Return to Top