شعار أومي
أخبار مواتر
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

آخر الأخبار

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث مقاطع الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الأخبار »كولتان


كسر حاجز الصمت - أسبوع الكونغو 2011 أكتوبر 19th، 2011

الصراع في جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية (DRC) أبعد ما يكون عن الانتهاء. لا يزال انعدام الأمن يعاني من أجزاء من شرق الكونغو وما زال يتم الإبلاغ عن قصص مروعة عن الاغتصاب وغيره من أشكال انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان. من أجل رفع الوعي حول العالم في هذا الوضع في الكونغو ، يتم تمييز Break the Silence - Congo 2011 من أكتوبر 16 إلى أكتوبر 22 ، 2011. والهدف من الدعوة إلى الكونغو هو زيادة الوعي بالوضع المدمر في الكونغو وتعبئة الدعم نيابة عن شعب الكونغو.

جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية هي مصدر رئيسي لكثير من المعادن مثل الكولتان ، والتي تستخدم في الإلكترونيات مثل الهواتف المحمولة وأجهزة الكمبيوتر المحمولة. لسوء الحظ ، فإن تمويل الجماعات المسلحة في الكونغو يأتي من بيع هذه المعادن في كثير من الأحيان إلى شركات التكنولوجيا في أوروبا وأمريكا الشمالية.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية: تحتفل بعيد الاستقلال 50! 29 يونيو، 2010

في يوم 30th June 2010 ، تحتفل جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية بالذكرى السنوية 50 لاستقلالها عن بلجيكا. وقد وصفت جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية بأنها "قلب أفريقيا" وهي موطن للثروة والموارد الطبيعية الهائلة. ومع ذلك ، على مدى العقدين الماضيين ، وقعت الكونغو في صراع مسلح بيع-المعادن-الكونغوتوصف بأنها الأكثر دموية في العالم. يتم تأجيج القتال في شرق جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية في جزء كبير منه المعادن الصراع والتي تشمل الكولتان (الكولومبايت- tantalite) ، حجر القصدير (خام القصدير) والولفراميت (التنغستن). وتستخدم هذه المعادن في الأجهزة الإلكترونية الاستهلاكية مثل الهواتف المحمولة وأجهزة الكمبيوتر المحمولة. لقد خلف الصراع في الكونغو ملايين القتلى. وقعت آلاف النساء ضحايا للاغتصاب ، وخُطف عدد لا يحصى من الأطفال لاستخدامهم كجنود أطفال.

بمناسبة الذكرى الخمسين لاستقلال الكونغو خلال الاجتماع السنوي للأساقفة الكاثوليك ، قال المطران نيكولاس دومو ، رئيس مؤتمر الأساقفة الكاثوليك في الكونغو ، إن ذكرى الاستقلال هي الوقت المناسب لتقديم صلوات الشكر لله من أجل الشعور بالانتماء إلى أمة موحدة واستغفار الله لما سهو وفرص ضائعة. ومضى يقول إن الذكرى هي وقت لتجديد الالتزام بتعزيز الصالح العام والتضامن الوطني.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


قانون تجارة المعادن المتناقضة 2009 مقدمة في مجلس النواب الأمريكي نوفمبر 20th، 2009

P1010231

زيارة مليئة إلى مخيم للاجئين في جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية

في تشرين الثاني / نوفمبر 19 ، قدم مجلس النواب في الولايات المتحدة قانون تجارة المعادن المتنازع من 2009. عرض مشروع القانون من قبل عضو الكونغرس جيم مكدرموت (دي-واشنطن) ، برعاية مشتركة من بارني فرانك (د-ماساشوستس) وفرانك وولف (آر- فيرجينيا). ويشجع هذا العمل الكونغرس ائتلاف من المنظمات الدينية والمنظمات غير الربحية الدولية المهتمة بالصراع النابع من استخراج المعادن. كما تلقى مشروع القانون الدعم من مختلف الجهات المعنية في صناعة الإلكترونيات. لجعل هذا المشروع حقيقة ، على الرغم من ذلك ، تحتاج إلى حث ممثل الكونجرس الخاص بك على رعاية قانون تجارة المعادن في النزاعات التابع لـ 2009 (HR 4128). ابحث عن ممثلك على موقع House.gov.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace, and Integrity of Creation

A Ministry of the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate

United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » coltan


Break the Silence – Congo Week 2011 October 19th, 2011

Conflict in the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) is far from over. Insecurity continues to plague parts of the eastern Congo and horrifying stories of rape and other forms of human rights abuses are still being reported. In order to raise awareness around the world of this situation in Congo, Break the Silence – Congo 2011 is being marked from October 16 to October 22, 2011. The aim of Congo advocacy is to raise awareness about the devastating situation in the Congo and mobilize support on behalf of the people of the Congo.

DRC is a major source for many minerals such as coltan, which is used in electronics like cell phones and laptops. Unfortunately, funding for armed groups in Congo comes from the sale of these minerals often to technology companies in Europe and North America.

Click here to read more »


Democratic Republic of Congo: Celebrating 50 Years of Independence! June 29th, 2010

On 30th June 2010, the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) will celebrate the 50th anniversary of its independence from Belgium. The DRC has been described as the ‘heart of Africa’ and is home to enormous natural wealth and resources. However, for the last two decades, Congo has been caught up in armed conflict selling-minerals-congodescribed as one the world’s deadliest. The fighting in the eastern DRC is fueled in large part by conflict minerals which include coltan (columbite-tantalite), cassiterite (tin ore) and wolframite (tungsten). These metals are used in consumer electronics such as cell phones and laptop computers. The Congo conflict has left millions of people dead. Thousands of women have been victimized by rape and countless children have been kidnapped to serve as child soldiers.

Marking the 50th Independence anniversary during the annual meeting of the Catholic Bishops, Bishop Nicolas Djomo, President of the Catholic Bishops’ Conference of Congo, said that the independence anniversary is an opportune time to offer prayers of thanks to God for a sense of belonging to a united nation and to ask God’s forgiveness for omissions and opportunities lost. He went on further to say that the anniversary is a time to renew a commitment to promoting the common good and national solidarity.

Click here to read more »


Conflict Mineral Trade Act 2009 Introduced in the US House of Representatives November 20th, 2009

P1010231

Oblates visit a war refugee camp in DRC

On November 19, the United States House of Representatives introduced the Conflict Minerals Trade Act of 2009. The bill was introduced by Congressman Jim McDermott (D-Washington), with co-sponsorship from Barney Frank (D-Massachusetts) and Frank Wolf (R-Virginia). A coalition of faith based organizations and international nonprofit organizations concerned about conflict stemming from minerals extraction are encouraged by this Congressional action. The bill has also received support from various stakeholders in the electronics industry. To make this bill a reality, though, you need to urge your Congressional Representative to cosponsor the Conflict Minerals Trade Act of 2009 (HR 4128). Find your Representative on the House.gov website.

Click here to read more »

Return to Top