شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
جديدنا
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

أخبار الأعلاف

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الأخبار »معادن الصراع


Oblate JPIC Applauds Court Decision to uphold Congo Minerals Disclosure أغسطس 13th، 2013

تجبر لجنة الأوراق المالية والبورصات الشركات الأمريكية على الكشف عن استخدام معادن الصراع في منتجاتها.

في يوليو 23 ، حكمت محكمة مقاطعة دي في دي لصالح قواعد لجنة الأوراق المالية والبورصات (SEC) التي أيدت القسم 1502 من قانون دود فرانك إصلاح وول ستريت وحماية المستهلك ضد الرابطة الوطنية للمصنعين ، غرفة التجارة والأعمال طاوله دائريه الشكل. يطلب قسم 1502 من الشركات المسجلة لدى هيئة الأوراق المالية والبورصات الأمريكية القيام بالعناية الواجبة والإفصاح عما إذا كانت منتجاتها تحتوي على معادن صراع من جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية والدول المجاورة. المبشر يملأ مكتب JPIC يصفق هذا القرار باعتباره انتصارا لشعب جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية. للمزيد من المعلومات، قراءة خطاب المستثمر (تنزيل ملف PDF) أو زيارة www.iccr.org.

الائتمان: صورة من مجلة Puget Sound Business (http://www.bizjournals.com/seattle/news/2012/10/11/new-sec-rule-forces-manufacturers-to.html)


دعم المستثمرين تنازع القاعدة المعدنية يونيو 3rd، 2013

نسخة fivestebrrocessانضم المبشّر إلى المكتبات الاستهلاكية الأخرى في دعم قانون أمريكي يهدف إلى منع التجارة في معادن الصراع من جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية. ال بيان المستثمرين دعم القاعدة النهائية من المجلس الأعلى للتعليم في القسم 1502 من قانون دود-فرانك يقول: "نظراً لأن النزاع الطويل الأمد في جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية أودى بحياة أكثر من خمسة ملايين شخص وساهم في انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان الفاضحة مثل الاغتصاب والجنود الأطفال والعبيد نحن نؤمن بأن على الشركات الكشف عن استخدامها لمعادن النزاع ".

رفعت بعض الشركات المصنعة وجمعيات الأعمال دعوى قضائية ضد لجنة الأوراق المالية والبورصة (SEC) في قاعدة 1502 للقسم.

أعرف أكثر…


Oblates انضم إلى مجموعة أصحاب المصلحة المتعددين المعارضة لتحدي الصناعة لقاعدة تنازع المعادن نوفمبر 19th، 2012

انضم مكتب المبشرين مكتب JPIC إلى مجموعة متعددة أصحاب المصلحة (MSG) في بيان بشأن التحدي الأخير للقسم 1502 من مشروع قانون دود فرانك الذي يركز على معادن الصراع.

تتكون المنظمات في MSG من مستثمرين يعتمدون على الدين ، ومجموعات إدارة الأصول ، والشركات الكبرى ، والمنظمات غير الحكومية. والهدف هو إعادة التأكيد على الالتزام بالقضاء على الصلة بين العنف وانتهاكات حقوق الإنسان في جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية ، في مواجهة الالتماس الذي قدمته مؤخرا ثلاث جمعيات تجارية في واشنطن العاصمة.

وتوافق مجموعة أصحاب المصلحة المتعددين على أن جزءًا هامًا من الحل لإنهاء العنف في المنطقة هو عملية مسئولية للموارد المعدنية ، ويتعهد بمواصلة العمل نحو تحقيق هذا الهدف.

بيان أصحاب المصلحة المتعددين هنا .


تحديث الأمم المتحدة: الخريف 2012 نوفمبر 18th، 2012

POST-2015 AGENDA: THE WORLD WE WANT

في 2000 وافقت الأمم المتحدة على ثمانية أهداف إنمائية للألفية (MDGs) لتلبية احتياجات أفقر الناس في العالم بواسطة 2015. بينما تستمر الجهود الرامية إلى تحقيق الأهداف الإنمائية للألفية الأصلية ، أطلقت الأمم المتحدة محادثة عالمية لتحديد الخطوات بعد 2015. يقوم فريق العمل المشترك بين الحكومات بإعداد أهداف التنمية المستدامة ، ويعمل فريق رفيع المستوى مكون من ستة وعشرين عضوًا من الحكومة والمجتمع المدني والقطاع الخاص على جدول أعمال التنمية لما بعد مؤتمر 2015. Beyond2015 ، وهو ائتلاف من منظمات 400 + ، يتعامل أيضًا مع هذه المسألة. تقود وكالات الأمم المتحدة تسع مشاورات مواضيعية وأكثر من خمسين مناقشة وطنية. تشمل الدول المشاركة في المشاورات البرازيل ، بيرو ، الكونغو ، كينيا ، نيجيريا ، وجنوب إفريقيا. وضعت خطط لإضافة المزيد من البلدان إلى القائمة. للحصول على نظرة عامة على عملية Post-2015 بالكامل ، انتقل إلى www.beyond2015.org (باللغات الإنجليزية والفرنسية والإسبانية).

هناك فرصة جيدة للمشاركة في جهد تعاوني بين الأمم المتحدة والمجتمع المدني: تدعو حملة "نريد العالم" الناس في جميع أنحاء العالم لمشاركة رؤاهم لعالم ما بعد 2015. المواد يمكن الوصول إليها بلغات متعددة.

توجّه إلى www.worldwewant2015.org/ وانقر على لغتك.

___________________________________________________________________

تناول الصراع من معادن الصراع: الأمل في الكونغو

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


قواعد جديدة ل SEC للحد من استخدام معادن النزاع أغسطس 29th، 2012

يشيد المكتب التبشيري Oblate JPIC القواعد النهائية التي اعتمدتها لجنة الأوراق المالية والبورصات (SEC) للحد من استخدام المعادن الكونغو الصراع وزيادة الشفافية في المدفوعات المتعلقة الاستخراجية.

في أغسطس 22 ، اعتمدت لجنة الأوراق المالية والبورصات ، في تصويت 3-2 ، قاعدة تتطلب وجود شركات عامة للكشف عن معلومات حول استخدامهم للمعادن من جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية حيث استفادت الميليشيات المرتبطة بالفظائع من المعادن التعدينية. تعد معادن الصراعات التي يتم استخراجها في الكونغو التي مزقتها الحرب أمراً أساسياً لصناعة الإلكترونيات والمجوهرات والمجوهرات وغيرها من السلع عالية التقنية. تعرف القاعدة باسم القسم 1502 من قانون Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


ميريلاند تصبح الدولة الثانية لتمرير تشريع على الكونغو الصراع على المعادن 25 مايو، 2012

اتخذت ولاية ماريلاند خطوة نهائية باتجاه الحد من استخدام ومعادن الصراعات في جمهورية الكونغو الديموقراطية (DRC). في مايو 2 ، وقع الحاكم مارتن أومالي قانون ولاية ميريلاند للمشتريات ومشروع قانون الكونغو بشأن تنازع القوانين. تعد ولاية ماريلاند الآن الولاية الثانية التي تعتمد مثل هذا التشريع ، على سبيل المثال كاليفورنيا في سبتمبر 2011. مشروع قانون مماثل قيد الدراسة في ولاية ماساشوستس.

بموجب قانون ولاية ميريلاند للمشتريات وقانون الكونغو ، يحظر على ولاية ميريلاند القيام بأعمال تجارية مع الشركات التي لا تمتثل لمتطلبات الإفصاح الفيدرالية بشأن معادن النزاع. القسم 1502 من قانون دود فرانك للإصلاح وول ستريت لحماية المستهلك في 2010 هو شرط الكشف الذي يدعو الشركات إلى تحديد ما إذا كانت منتجاتها تحتوي على معادن الصراع عن طريق إجراء العناية الواجبة في سلسلة التوريد وإبلاغ لجنة الأوراق المالية والبورصات بذلك.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace & Integrity of Creation

Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate  United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » conflict minerals


Oblate JPIC Applauds Court Decision to Uphold Congo Minerals Disclosure August 13th, 2013

A Securities and Exchange Commission ruling forces U.S. businesses to disclose the use of conflict minerals in their products.

On July 23, the DC District Court ruled in favor of the Securities and Exchange Commission’s (SEC) rules which upheld section 1502 of the Dodd–Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act against the National Association of Manufacturers, Chamber of Commerce and the Business Roundtable. Section 1502 requires companies registered with the SEC to carry out due diligence and to disclose whether or not their products contain conflict minerals from the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC) and adjacent countries. The Missionary Oblates JPIC office applauds this decision as a victory for the people of the Democratic Republic of Congo. For more information, read the investor’s letter (download PDF) or visit www.iccr.org.

 

Credit: Image from the Puget Sound Business Journal (http://www.bizjournals.com/seattle/news/2012/10/11/new-sec-rule-forces-manufacturers-to.html)


Investors Support Conflict Mineral Rule June 3rd, 2013

fivestepprocess copyThe Missionary Oblates JPIC office has joined other investors in supporting a U.S. law aimed at preventing trade in conflict minerals from the Democratic Republic of Congo. The investors statement supporting the final rule by the SEC on Section 1502 of the Dodd-Frank legislation says, “Given that the long standing conflict in the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) has claimed more than five million lives and contributed to egregious human rights abuses such as rape, child soldiers, and slave labor, we believe companies must disclose their use of conflict minerals.”

Some manufacturers and business associations have sued the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) on the Section 1502 rule.

Learn more…


Oblates Join Multi-Stakeholder Group Opposing Industry Challenge to Conflict Minerals Rule November 19th, 2012

The Missionary Oblates JPIC office joined a multi-stakeholder group (MSG) in a statement regarding the recent challenge to Section 1502 of the Dodd-Frank bill that focuses on conflict minerals.

The organizations in the MSG consist of faith based investors, asset management groups, large corporations, and NGOs. The objective is to reiterate the commitment to eliminating the link between violence and human rights abuses in the Democratic Republic of the Congo, in the face of the petition recently filed by three trade associations in Washington, DC.

The MSG agrees that an important part of the solution to ending violence in the region is a responsible mineral sourcing process, and pledges to continue to work toward this goal.

Multi-stakeholder statement here.

 


UN Update: Fall 2012 November 18th, 2012

POST-2015 AGENDA: THE WORLD WE WANT

In 2000 the United Nations agreed on eight Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) to address the needs of the worlds poorest by 2015. While efforts to achieve the original MDGs continue, the UN has launched a global conversation to determine steps after 2015. An Inter-Governmental Working Group is preparing Sustainable Development Goals, and a High Level Panel of twenty-six members of government, civil society and the private sector is working on a Post-2015 Development Agenda. Beyond2015, a coalition of 400+ organizations, is also addressing this issue. UN Agencies are leading nine thematic consultations and more than fifty national discussions. Countries participating in consultations include Brazil, Peru, Congo, Kenya, Nigeria, and South Africa; plans are in place to add more countries to the list. For an overview of the entire Post-2015 process, go to www.beyond2015.org (in English, French, and Spanish).

There is a good opportunity for participation in a collaborative effort between the United Nations and civil society: The World We Want Campaign invites people around the world to share their visions for the post-2015 world. Materials are accessible in multiple languages.

Go to www.worldwewant2015.org/ and click on your language.

___________________________________________________________________

TAKING THE CONFLICT OUT OF CONFLICT MINERALS: HOPE FOR CONGO

Click here to read more »


New SEC Rules to Reduce the Use of Conflict Minerals August 29th, 2012

The Missionary Oblate JPIC Office applauds the final rules adopted by the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) to restrict the use of Congo conflict minerals and increase transparency in extractives-related payments.

On August 22, the Securities and Exchange Commission, in a 3-2 vote, adopted a rule requiring public companies to disclose information about their use of minerals from the Democratic Republic of Congo where militias linked to atrocities have profited from mining minerals. Conflict minerals mined in war-torn Congo are essential to the manufacture of high-tech electronics, jewelry and other goods. The rule is know as Section 1502 of the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act.

Click here to read more »


Maryland Becomes the Second State to Pass Legislation on Congo Conflict Minerals May 25th, 2012

The state of Maryland has taken a definitive step toward curtailing the use and trade of conflict minerals from the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC). On May 2, Governor Martin O’Malley signed the Maryland State Procurement and Congo Conflict Minerals Bill into law. Maryland is now the second state to adopt such legislation, following California’s example in September 2011. A similar bill is under consideration in Massachusetts.

Under the Maryland State Procurement and Congo Conflict law, the State of Maryland is prohibited from doing business with companies that do not comply with federal disclosure requirements on conflict minerals. Section 1502 of the Dodd Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act of 2010 is a disclosure requirement that calls on companies to determine whether their products contain conflict minerals by carrying out supply chain due diligence and to report this to the Securities and Exchange Commission.

Click here to read more »

Return to Top