شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
جديدنا
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

أخبار الأعلاف

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أخبار المحفوظات »الكونغو


يطرح المساهمون ، المنظمات غير الحكومية ، أسئلة حول المخاطر الاجتماعية والبيئية لشركة Newmont Mining في الاجتماع العام السنوي للشركة 26 أبريل، 2012

التقى المساهمون والمنظمات غير الحكومية في الاجتماع السنوي لشركة Newmont Mining في Wilmington، DE يوم الثلاثاء ، أبريل 24 ، حول الإدارة العليا للشركة ومجلس الإدارة بشأن المخاطر التشغيلية ومخاطر السمعة التي تواجهها شركة Newmont في بيرو ، وشددوا على الحاجة إلى Free و Prior و Informed. الموافقة (FPIC) للمجتمعات المحلية حيث تعمل Newmont. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، شجعت المجموعة بشدة الإفصاح الإضافي من قبل الشركة حول إرشاداتها وممارساتها البيئية والاجتماعية ، بما في ذلك إشراف مجلس الإدارة على هذه القضايا. تشارك مباراتين التبشيرية في الحوار مع نيومونت ، مع مخاوف خاصة حول عمليات الشركة في بيرو والكونغو وإندونيسيا.

في 2007 ، رداً على اقتراح المساهمين المقدم من أعضاء مركز حوار الأديان حول مسؤولية الشركة (ICCR) ، وافق نيومونت على إجراء مراجعة عالمية لسياساته وممارساته المتعلقة بالمعارضة المجتمعية في عمليات التعدين. في اجتماع المساهمين السنوي لهذا العام ، أعربت جولي أن تانر ، مساعدة مدير الاستثمار المسئول اجتماعيًا في شركة كريستيان براذرز لخدمات الاستثمار (CBIS) ، عن خيبة أملها إزاء عدم الكشف عن نيومونت في تطبيق مراجعة العلاقات المجتمعية (CRR).

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية: تحتفل بعيد الاستقلال 50! 29 يونيو، 2010

في يوم 30th June 2010 ، تحتفل جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية بالذكرى السنوية 50 لاستقلالها عن بلجيكا. وقد وصفت جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية بأنها "قلب أفريقيا" وهي موطن للثروة والموارد الطبيعية الهائلة. ومع ذلك ، على مدى العقدين الماضيين ، وقعت الكونغو في صراع مسلح بيع-المعادن-الكونغوتوصف بأنها الأكثر دموية في العالم. يتم تأجيج القتال في شرق جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية في جزء كبير منه المعادن الصراع والتي تشمل الكولتان (الكولومبايت- tantalite) ، حجر القصدير (خام القصدير) والولفراميت (التنغستن). وتستخدم هذه المعادن في الأجهزة الإلكترونية الاستهلاكية مثل الهواتف المحمولة وأجهزة الكمبيوتر المحمولة. لقد خلف الصراع في الكونغو ملايين القتلى. وقعت آلاف النساء ضحايا للاغتصاب ، وخُطف عدد لا يحصى من الأطفال لاستخدامهم كجنود أطفال.

بمناسبة الذكرى السنوية لاستقلال 50th خلال الاجتماع السنوي للأساقفة الكاثوليك ، قال الأسقف نيكولاس دجومو ، رئيس مؤتمر الأساقفة الكاثوليك في الكونغو ، أن ذكرى الاستقلال هي مناسبة مناسبة لتقديم الصلوات الحمد لله من أجل الشعور بالانتماء إلى أمة موحدة ونسأل الله الصفح عن السهو والفرص المفقودة. ومضى إلى القول إن الذكرى السنوية هي وقت لتجديد الالتزام بتعزيز الصالح العام والتضامن الوطني.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


الشفافية حول معاناة الكونغو من معادن النزاع مطوية في مشروع قانون الإصلاح المالي التنظيمي 25 مايو، 2010

معركة الكونغومع تمرير قانون استعادة الاستقرار المالي الأمريكي (S. 3217) في مجلس الشيوخ في الولايات المتحدة ، جعلت معاهدات الكونغو للصراع والتعديلات المتعلقة بأمن الطاقة من خلال الشفافية (ESTT) ذلك في شكل تشريع. ومع ذلك ، وبما أن التعديل لم يكن في إصدار مجلس النواب لتشريع الإصلاح المالي ، فستتولى لجنة مجلس النواب / مجلس الشيوخ إجراء التعديلات على كلا التعديلين اللذين سيعملان على التوفيق بين الاختلافات بين مشروعي القانون. تم الاتفاق على كلا التعديلين خلال تمرير قانون استعادة الاستقرار المالي الأمريكي في مجلس الشيوخ.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace & Integrity of Creation

Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate  United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » congo


Shareholders, NGOs, raise questions about Newmont Mining’s social and environmental risks at company’s Annual General Meeting April 26th, 2012

Shareholders and NGOs at the Newmont Mining annual meeting in Wilmington, DE on Tuesday, April 24, questioned company senior management and the Board of Directors about the operational and reputational risks Newmont faces in Peru, and emphasized the need for the Free, Prior and Informed Consent (FPIC) of local communities where Newmont operates. In addition, the group strongly encouraged additional disclosure by the company on its environmental and social guidelines and practices, including Board oversight of these issues. The Missionary Oblates are involved in the dialog with Newmont, with particular concerns about the company’s operations in Peru, the Congo and Indonesia.

In 2007, in response to a shareholder proposal filed by members of The Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility (ICCR), Newmont agreed to conduct a global review of its policies and practices related to community opposition in its mining operations. At this year’s annual shareholder meeting, the lead proponent of that proposal, Julie Tanner, Assistant Director of Socially Responsible Investing at Christian Brothers Investment Services (CBIS), expressed frustration over Newmont’s lack of disclosure on the implementation its Community Relations Review (CRR).

Click here to read more »


Democratic Republic of Congo: Celebrating 50 Years of Independence! June 29th, 2010

On 30th June 2010, the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) will celebrate the 50th anniversary of its independence from Belgium. The DRC has been described as the ‘heart of Africa’ and is home to enormous natural wealth and resources. However, for the last two decades, Congo has been caught up in armed conflict selling-minerals-congodescribed as one the world’s deadliest. The fighting in the eastern DRC is fueled in large part by conflict minerals which include coltan (columbite-tantalite), cassiterite (tin ore) and wolframite (tungsten). These metals are used in consumer electronics such as cell phones and laptop computers. The Congo conflict has left millions of people dead. Thousands of women have been victimized by rape and countless children have been kidnapped to serve as child soldiers.

Marking the 50th Independence anniversary during the annual meeting of the Catholic Bishops, Bishop Nicolas Djomo, President of the Catholic Bishops’ Conference of Congo, said that the independence anniversary is an opportune time to offer prayers of thanks to God for a sense of belonging to a united nation and to ask God’s forgiveness for omissions and opportunities lost. He went on further to say that the anniversary is a time to renew a commitment to promoting the common good and national solidarity.

Click here to read more »


Transparency on Congo Conflict Minerals Folded into the Financial Regulatory Reform Bill May 25th, 2010

CONGO FIGHTINGWith the passage of the Restoring American Financial Stability Act (S. 3217) in the United States Senate, the Congo Conflict Minerals and the Energy Security through Transparency (ESTT) amendments have made it into legislation. However, as neither amendment was in the House version of the financial reform legislation, both amendments will be taken up by the House/Senate Conference committee which will work to reconcile the differences between the two bills. Both amendments were agreed to during the passage of the Restoring American Financial Stability Act in the Senate.

Click here to read more »

Return to Top