شعار أومي
المدونة
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

آخر الأخبار

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث مقاطع الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيفات الأخبار »COVID-19


OMI JPIC - أكثر القصص مشاهدة في عام 2020 19 يناير، 2021

هل تريد معرفة القصص التي حظيت بأكبر قدر من الاهتمام على موقع OMI JPIC وصفحة Facebook في عام 2020؟ انقر فوق الارتباط للقائمة وسعداء بالقراءة!

http://omiusajpic.org/2020-القصص الأكثر مشاهدة/(يفتح في علامة تبويب جديدة)


العيش خارج كاريزما OMI: الأب. راي كوك يشارك في تجربة لقاح فايزر ديسمبر 30th، 2020

بقلم الأب. ريموند كوك ، OMI

نظرًا للهجوم الشديد لـ COVID-19 في الأشهر الأولى من تفشي المرض ، كان العالم يعاني من عدم اليقين وتغيرات في الحياة وصعوبات اقتصادية. كانت جامعة رايس ، ولا تزال ، صورة مصغرة للعالم الذي نعيش فيه. بعد أول حالة مؤكدة لدينا في فبراير في مختبر الأبحاث ، أصيب أحد أعضاء مجتمعنا الكاثوليكي بالفيروس وأمضى أكثر من شهرين في التعافي. كانت الطريقة التي تفاعل بها جسدها مع الفيروس شديدة ، لكنها كانت أيضًا غير قادرة على تطوير أجسام مضادة ضد الفيروس حتى بعد أن كانت خالية من COVID. يتلقى اليوم كل طالب وأعضاء هيئة تدريس وموظفين وزائرين في رايس اختبارات COVID الأسبوعية (مسحات الأنف) والأقنعة مطلوبة مثل جميع الأوقات ولا يمكن لأي شخص تناول الطعام في الداخل في مجموعات. معدل نجاحهم هو نموذج لجميع الجامعات. اعتبارًا من اليوم ، فإن معدل الإيجابية أقل بكثير من 1٪.

في مايو من عام 2020 ، وجه خريج رايس ، الذي يعمل في مركز تكساس للأدوية والتطوير ، دعوة للحصول على متطوعين لتجربة اللقاح الجديد القائم على الحمض النووي الريبي لدراسة فايزر المرحلة الثانية / الثالثة. نظرًا لأنه كان قريبًا جدًا من المنزل ، ودعوتي بصفتي Oblate أجبرتني على العيش وفقًا للدستور 2 ، قررت الاشتراك كمتطوع للمشاركة في الدراسة مزدوجة التعمية. تعني التعمية المزدوجة أساسًا أنه لا المشارك ولا الأطباء يعرفون أنك تتلقى اللقاح أو الدواء الوهمي. أنا مريض 77 في هذه التجربة. في أواخر شهر يوليو ، تلقيت مكالمة لتحديد موعد. لقد ناقشت الأمر مع الأصدقاء والعائلة وأكثر ما نصحت به لأنني مصاب بالربو. لكن بعد وقت طويل في الصلاة والإرشاد من ربنا يسوع ، قررت المضي قدمًا.

وصلت في أغسطس واستغرق الموعد أربع ساعات حيث استعرضوا سجلي الطبي الكامل والأدوية التي أتناولها بالإضافة إلى أي فيتامينات أو معادن وصولاً إلى مستخلص الكرز الحامض الذي أتناوله يوميًا. قالوا إنهم يجب أن يتأكدوا ، إذا تفاعلت مع اللقاح ، فمن الواضح ما الذي تسبب في رد الفعل. قبل ثلاثين دقيقة من مغادرتي للعيادة ، تلقيت أول جرعتين. جلست هناك لأنتظر أي ردود فعل شديدة. بدا كل شيء على ما يرام. أرسلوني إلى المنزل مع بطاقات الاتصال في حالات الطوارئ ، ومجموعة أدوات اختبار COVID (التي يمكنهم استردادها في أي ساعة من النهار أو الليل في حالة ظهور الأعراض) ، ومقياس حرارة ، ومقياس لقياس موقع الحقن ، وتطبيق للتسجيل تحديثات يومية. في اليوم التالي كان من المقرر أن أتبرع بالدم وأُبلغت أنني لن أستطيع التبرع بالدم لمدة عامين حتى يتمكنوا من تحديد كيفية تأثير هذا اللقاح على مجرى الدم. لا داعي للقول ، لقد كان هذا كله مرهقًا للأعصاب حيث دخلت في دراسة غير معروفة ستستمر حتى أغسطس من عام 2.

بعد الجولة الأولى كانت هناك آثار جانبية قليلة جدا باستثناء بعض التورم والألم في موقع الحقن. افترضت أنني ربما تلقيت الدواء الوهمي. بعد بضعة أسابيع تلقيت الحقنة الثانية خلال موعد لمدة ساعتين. بعد بضعة أيام كنت بالكاد أستطيع التحرك لأنني كنت منهكة للغاية - لكن في اليوم التالي كنت بخير. فكرت ، "ربما" ، "تلقيت اللقاح الحقيقي" ولكن كان من الممكن أيضًا أن أكون منهكة. الآن مضى بعض الوقت ، وتلقينا الأخبار السارة بأن لقاح فايزر 95٪ نسبة نجاح! علمت أيضًا أنني سأكون "غير مكفوفين" قريبًا وكان يجب أن أتلقى الدواء الوهمي ؛ ستتم دعوتي لتلقي اللقاح الفعلي قريبًا. ومع ذلك ، سأقوم بزيارات ربع سنوية ، وسوف يقومون بمراقبة دمي لمدة عامين لأنني ما زلت في مرحلة التجربة وسوف أستمر في العيش كما لو تلقيت علاجًا وهميًا لحماية من حولي.

بالطبع ، سأستمر في الدعاء من أجل أن يحصل الفقراء في عالمنا على اللقاحات الجديدة. كما أشكر الله على خلقه العقول القادرة على حماية العالم من خلال العلم.

 


الأمم المتحدة والمجلس الاقتصادي والاجتماعي يواجهان تحديًا تاريخيًا: الأب. تقارير دانيال لوبلانك OMI يوليو 20th، 2020

تقرير الأب. دانيال ليبلانك ، التبشيرية Oblates - مقاطعة الولايات المتحدة ، ممثل لدى الأمم المتحدة

(المنتدى السياسي الرفيع المستوى هو المنبر المركزي للأمم المتحدة لمتابعة ومراجعة خطة التنمية المستدامة لعام 2030 وأهداف التنمية المستدامة).

في يوم الثلاثاء 7 يوليو ، بدأ المنتدى السياسي رفيع المستوى (HLPF) بتدخل من رئيس المجلس الاقتصادي والاجتماعي (ECOSOC) منى جول من النرويج. جعلنا العنوان والعنوان الفرعي لخطابها متوافقين مع الأسبوع الأول من المنتدى. كان العنوان:إطلاق عقد من العمل في أوقات الأزمات: التركيز على أهداف التنمية المستدامة مع مكافحة COVID-19". اقرأ المزيد عن المنتدى السياسي رفيع المستوى (HLPF): https://sustainabledevelopment.un.org/hlpf/2020

الأب دانييل ليبلانك ، OMI

تم تصميم نسخة هذا العام من HLPF لإعادة إطلاقها خطة التنمية المستدامة لعام 2030 وأهداف التنمية المستدامة بعد مراجعة العام الماضي ، واحتفالاً بالذكرى الخامسة والسبعين لتأسيس الأمم المتحدة. في نهاية اجتماع العام الماضي وحتى يناير 75 ، بدا كل شيء وكأنه دافع جديد لجدول الأعمال وتجديد الهياكل ، لكل من الأمم المتحدة والمجلس الاقتصادي والاجتماعي. لا يمكننا أن نقول إن كوفيد -2020 أوقف دوافع التجديد ، لكنه أبطأ الزخم. يتم تنفيذ المنتدى السياسي الرفيع المستوى ، بالكامل تقريبًا ، من خلال اجتماعات افتراضية. هذه الطريقة الجديدة ، على الرغم من أنها تمثل القرار القاطع للمضي قدمًا ، لا تتوقف عن تمثيل درجة أقل من الشدة مما كانت عليه في السنوات السابقة عندما كانت الحوارات وجهاً لوجه.

تم إجراء استعراض التقدم المحرز في تحقيق أهداف التنمية المستدامة لجدول أعمال 2030 هذا العام من منظور COVID-19 ؛ أي السؤال عن كيفية تأثير فيروس كورونا وسيؤثر على تحقيق كل هدف. كانت التحليلات مصادفة: الكثير مما تم تحقيقه ، بجهد كبير ، في مكافحة عدم المساواة الاجتماعية ، سوف يتأثر بشكل سلبي للغاية. اضطر الأطفال والمراهقون إلى التوقف عن الذهاب إلى المدرسة ؛ فقد ملايين الوظائف الرسمية وغير الرسمية ؛ هناك أزمة صحية مع مئات الآلاف من الوفيات بسبب عدوى COVID-19 ؛ المجاعات الأولية و "القادمة" ، إلخ. يمكنني الاستمرار في سرد ​​كل هدف من الأهداف السبعة عشر ل SDG17 ؛ لقد تأثرت جميعها. هذه مأساة عالمية تحدث في كل بلد وتؤثر على كل شخص.

في مواجهة هذا الوضع الكارثي ، استجابت الحوارات والعروض والحلقات الدراسية التي عقدت خلال هذا الأسبوع بطريقة موحدة: إن الطريق للتغلب على هذه الأزمة العالمية يأتي من ما هو وارد في جدول أعمال عام 2030. إن التحدي عالمي ، ويجب أن تكون الاستجابة عالمية ، مثل جدول الأعمال نفسه. بعد قولي هذا ، هناك نقطة ثانية يمكن العثور عليها في الهدفين 10 و 17 من أهداف التنمية المستدامة: من الضروري العمل بشكل حاسم ضد عدم المساواة داخل كل بلد وبين البلدان ، ولهذا ، فإن التعاون الدولي ضروري. تظهر التعددية مرة أخرى باعتبارها المسار الوحيد القابل للتطبيق ؛ لكن التعددية لا تقوم على إرادة كل دولة لبناءها وتشكيلها بشكل فعال.

انتهينا من الأسبوع الأول وبدأنا الأسبوع الثاني. ركزت الفترة الثانية من الاجتماعات على التقارير الطوعية لكل بلد - المراجعة الوطنية الطوعية (VNR) - حول تنفيذ جدول الأعمال ؛ بدءًا من تلك المقابلة لأرمينيا وساموا وإكوادور وهندوراس وسلوفينيا.

سننتظر ، كما هو الحال في كل عام ، استنتاجات HLPF-VNR ، ولكن هذا العام سيتعين علينا انتظار المزيد. العالم بأسره ، حسب البلد والمنطقة ، في خضم الصدمة التي تسبب بها COVID-19. حتى يتم تبديد الارتباك الناجم عن حرب الصحة العامة هذه ، لن نعرف كيف يتم إعادة تنظيم العالم حقًا كما نحن في وسط الضباب ، نتسلق جبلًا عظيمًا. إنني على ثقة من أن جدول أعمال 2030 الذي تم إنجازه بشكل كبير والتعددية في الأمم المتحدة سيكونان الحل الذي نجده في القمة.

 


توعية Covid-19 والإغاثة الغذائية في Oblate Mission في Lokhipur ، بنغلاديش يوليو 10th، 2020

الأب. فالنتين تالانج ، OMI يسكب مطهر اليد
عمل الإغاثة الغذائية في Immaculate Conception Parish ، Lokhipur ، بنغلاديش

Aucayacu ، بيرو: نحن نبني مساحة مخصصة حصريًا لعلاج مرضى Covid 19 19 يونيو، 2020

by راديو أميستاد 19 يونيو، 2020

المجتمع الذي تم تنظيمه في لجنة من قطاعات مختلفة اجتمعوا لدعم مركز المجتمع الصحي في Aucayacu لمحاربة Covid-19. وسرعان ما سيقدمون إلى مركز مجتمع الصحة جميع العناصر المختلفة التي حصلوا عليها والتي ستساعدهم في علاج مرضى Covid-19.

كل شيء يسير وفقًا للجدول الزمني المعتمد والمنشور مسبقًا. بدأت اللجنة التي تم إنشاؤها لدعم المركز الصحي المجتمعي في أوكاياكو لمكافحة Covid-19 المرحلة 3 من خطتها. تم الانتهاء من نقل العناصر المختلفة التي تم شراؤها بفضل خدمات ينقل Céspedes البضائع. معظم الأشياء التي تم شراؤها موجودة بالفعل في مدينة Aucayacu ، بيرو. وصلوا بعد ظهر أمس وتم نقلهم إلى مركز المجتمع الصحي في أوكياكو.

العناصر التي تم شراؤها هي عناصر أساسية لمساعدة المرضى على محاربة Covid-19. عناصر مثل: الأسرة السريرية ، نقالات النقل ، مقياس التأكسج النبضي ، الخزانات ، السيارة متعددة الأغراض ، حاملات المصل ، مكثف الأكسجين ، البخاخات ومعدات الحماية الشخصية للعاملين الصحيين ، من بين أمور أخرى للغرفة الجديدة التي يتم بناؤها لعلاج المريض كوفيد -19. 

بالنسبة لأعضاء اللجنة التي تدعم مركز المجتمع الصحي في Aucayacu ، من الأولويات بناء غرفة جديدة لعلاج المرضى المصابين بـ Covid-19. تبلغ مساحة هذه الغرفة الجديدة 250 مترًا مربعًا (2 قدمًا مربعًا) ، وستقع بين ناصية شارع سان مارتين ومارسيسال كاسيريس في مدينة أوكاياكو.

ستحتوي هذه الغرفة الجديدة على سياج محيط وأرضية وسقف وحمام وحدائق من شأنها توفير جودة أفضل من الخدمات لأفراد ألتو هوالاغا. من المهم أن تضع في اعتبارك أن مركز صحة المجتمع Aucayacu يخدم أيضًا الأشخاص في المناطق المجاورة مثل خوسيه كريسبو و قلعة. أيضا ، هذا يعني الناس من مناطق مثل لا مورادا ، بوكاياكو ، سانتو دومينغو دي أندا و المدينة الجديدة قد يأتي أيضا لطلب الخدمات.

ستقوم اللجنة متعددة المناطق بعقد مؤتمر صحفي حيث ستقدم التبرع الرسمي للعناصر وستقدم حسابًا تفصيليًا لما تم شراؤه وتشرح كيفية إنفاق الأموال. تشكر اللجنة كل من شارك: أصحاب القلب الطيب والعائلات والأصدقاء وأصحاب الأعمال الصغيرة ورجال الأعمال والسلطات المحلية والهيئات الكنسية. نأمل في مواصلة تلقي المزيد من الدعم للوصول إلى هدفنا. لنتذكر أن الأموال التي جمعناها سيلفاتون 2020 كان حوالي 106 آلاف نعل [31 ألفًا و 800 دولار]. بفضل هذا التبرع ، نبني هذه الغرفة الجديدة التي ستحتوي على ما هو ضروري لعلاج المرضى المصابين بـ Covid-19 خلال هذا الوباء العالمي.

لن يختفي Covid-19 قريبًا ، ونحن بحاجة إلى تعلم التعايش معه. بمجرد التغلب على هذا الوباء العالمي ، نأمل أن يتم استخدام هذه الغرفة في المستقبل لعلاج كبار السن وتطعيم الأطفال. هذا هو القرار الذي توصلنا إليه كلجنة متعددة المناطق.


OMI JPIC تنضم إلى المستثمرين تحث لجنة الأوراق المالية والبورصات على تفويض الإفصاح عن مخاطر واستجابات COVID-19 16 يونيو، 2020

حقوق الصورة: Annie Spratt و Unsplash

يكافح المستثمرون والجمهور العام لفهم كيفية تأثير جائحة COVID-19 على الاقتصاد والأسواق المالية. وفي الوقت نفسه ، توزع الحكومة الفيدرالية تريليونات الدولارات على شكل دعم مالي للتخفيف من الأثر الاقتصادي للوباء. 

انضمت OMI JPIC مؤخرًا إلى 98 مستثمرًا وأمناء خزينة بالدولة ومجموعات المصلحة العامة واتحادات العمال ومديري الأصول وخبراء قانون الأوراق المالية لحث لجنة الأوراق المالية والبورصات الأمريكية (SEC) على وضع متطلبات إفصاح جديدة من شأنها أن تسمح للمستثمرين والجمهور بتحليل كيفية الشركات تعمل على حماية العمال ، ومنع انتشار الفيروس ، واستخدام أي مساعدة فيدرالية يتلقاها بمسؤولية. 

اقرأ كل المقالة هنا.

 

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace & Integrity of Creation

Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate  United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » COVID-19


OMI JPIC – Most Viewed Stories in 2020 January 19th, 2021

Want to know which stories received the most attention on OMI JPIC’s website and Facebook page in 2020? Click the link for the list and happy reading!

http://omiusajpic.org/2020-most-viewed-stories/(opens in a new tab)


Living Out the OMI Charism: Fr. Ray Cook Participates in Pfizer Vaccine Trial December 30th, 2020

By Fr. Raymond Cook, OMI

As COVID-19 furiously attacked in the early months of the outbreak, the world was experiencing uncertainly, life changes and economic hardships. Rice University was, and still is, a microcosm of the world in which we live. Having our first confirmed case in February in the research lab, one of our Catholic community members contracted the virus and spent over two months recovering. The way in which her body reacted to the virus was severe, but it also was such that she was unable to develop antibodies against the virus even after being COVID free. Today every Rice student, faculty member, staff and visitors receive weekly COVID tests (nasal swabs) and masks are required as ALL times and no one can eat indoors in groups. Their success rate is a model for all universities. As of today, the positivity rate is far below 1% .

In May of 2020 a Rice Alumnus, who works for the Texas Drug and Development Center, put out a call to get volunteers to try the new RNA-based vaccine for Pfizer Phase II/III study. Because it was hitting so close to home, and my call as an Oblate compelled me to live out Constitution 2, I decided to sign up as a volunteer to participate in the double-blind study. Double blind essentially means that neither the participant nor the doctors know of you are receiving the vaccine or the placebo. I am patient 77 in this trial.  In late July I received the call to make an appointment. I discussed it with friends and family and most advised against it because I am asthmatic. But after much time in prayer and guidance from our Lord Jesus, I decided to proceed.

In August I arrived and the appointment lasted four hours as they went through my complete medical history, medications I take, as well as any vitamins or minerals right down to Tart Cherry Extract that I take daily. They had to make sure, they said, if I reacted to the vaccine it was clear what may have caused the reaction. Thirty minutes before I left the clinic, I received the first of 2 doses. I sat there to wait for any severe reactions. Everything seemed fine. They sent me home with emergency contact cards, a COVID test kit (that they would retrieve at any hour of the day or night should I come down with symptoms), a thermometer, a gauge to measure the injection site, and an app to record daily updates. The next day I was scheduled to give blood and was informed that I would be unable to give blood for two years so they could determine how this vaccine affected the bloodstream.  Needless to say, this was all a bit nerve-racking as I entered into an unknown study that will continue until August of 2022.

After the first round there were very little side effects except for some swelling and pain at the injection site. I presumed I may have received the placebo. A few weeks later I received the second injection during a two-hour appointment. A few days later I could hardly move as I was so exhausted – but the next day I was fine. “Maybe” I thought, “I received the real vaccine” but I could have also just been exhausted. Now some time has passed, and we have received the good news that the Pfizer Vaccine has a 95% success rate! I also learned that I will be “unblinded” soon and should I have received the placebo; I will be invited to receive the actual vaccine soon. Still, I will make quarterly visits, they will monitor my blood for 2 years as I am still in the trial phase and will continue to live as if I received a placebo to protect those around me.

Of course, I will continue to pray that the poor in our world will have access to the new vaccines. I also give thanks to God for creating minds that are able to protect the world through science.

 


UN & ECOSOC face a historic challenge: Fr. Daniel LeBlanc, OMI reports July 20th, 2020

Report by Fr. Daniel LeBlanc, Missionary Oblates – US Province, Representative to the United Nations

(The High-level Political Forum, is the United Nations’ central platform for follow-up and review of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development and the Sustainable Development Goals).

On Tuesday July 7th, the High-Level Political Forum (HLPF) began with the intervention of the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) President Mona Juul of Norway. The title and subtitle of her speech brought us into line with what had been the first week of the forum. The title was: “Launching a decade of action in times of crisis: putting the focus on the SDGs while combating COVID-19“. Read more about the the High-Level Political Forum (HLPF): https://sustainabledevelopment.un.org/hlpf/2020

Fr. Daniel LeBlanc, OMI

This year’s version of the HLPF was designed to re-launch 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development and the Sustainable Development Goals following last year’s review, and to mark the 75th anniversary of the founding of the United Nations (UN). At the end of last year’s meeting and until January 2020, everything sounded like a new impulse for the Agenda and a renewal of structures, both of the UN and of the ECOSOC. We cannot say that COVID-19 has stopped the impulses of renewal, but it has slowed down the momentum. The HLPF is being carried out, almost entirely, through virtual meetings. This new modality, although it represents the unequivocal decision to move forward, does not cease to represent a lesser degree of intensity than in previous years when the dialogues were face-to-face.

The review of the progress of the SDG of Agenda 2030 has been carried out this year from the perspective of COVID-19; that is, asking how the Coronavirus is and will be influencing the achievement of each objective. The analyses have been coincidental: much of what had been achieved, with much effort, in the fight against social inequality, is going to be affected very negatively. Children and adolescents have had to stop going to school; millions of jobs, formal and informal, have been lost; there is a health crisis with hundreds of thousands of deaths by COVID-19 infections; incipient and “coming” famines, etc. I could go on listing each and every of the 17 goals of SDG2030; all have been affected. This is a global tragedy that is happening in every country and impacting every person.

In the face of this catastrophic situation, the dialogues, presentations and seminars held during this week responded in a unified manner: the path to overcome this world crisis comes from what is contained in the Agenda2030. The challenge is global, and the response must be global, as is the Agenda itself. Having said this, there is a second point that can be found in SDG Goals 10 and 17: it is necessary to act decisively against the inequalities within each country and between countries and, for this, international collaboration is necessary. Multilateralism emerges, once again, as the only viable path; but multilateralism is not based on the will of each country to build it and shape it effectively.

We finished the first week and started the second week. The second period of meetings focused on the voluntary reports of each country – Voluntary National Review (VNR) – on the implementation of the Agenda; beginning with those corresponding to Armenia, Samoa, Ecuador, Honduras and Slovenia.

We will wait, as every year, for the conclusions of the HLPF-VNR, but this year we will have to wait for something more. The whole world, by country and area, is in the midst of the shock caused by COVID-19. Until the confusion caused by this public health war is dispelled, we will not know how the world is truly reorganized as we are in the midst of the fog, climbing a great mountain. I trust that the much worked out Agenda 2030 and the UN’s own multilateralism will be the answer we find at the top.

 


Covid-19 Awareness & Food Relief at Oblate Mission in Lokhipur, Bangladesh July 10th, 2020

Fr. Valentine Talang, OMI pours out hand sanitizer
Food Relief work at Immaculate Conception Parish, Lokhipur, Bangladesh

Aucayacu, PERU: We are building space dedicated exclusively for the treatment of Covid 19 patients June 19th, 2020

by Radio Amistad June 19, 2020

The community which is organized in a Committee from different sectors have come together to support the Aucayacu’s Health Community Center to fight Covid-19. Soon they will deliver to the Health Community Center all the different items they obtained that will help them in the treatment of Covid-19 patients.

Everything is going according to the schedule previously approved and published.  The Committee that was created to support Aucayacu’s Health Community Center to fight Covid-19 has begun phase 3 of its plan. The transportation of the different items that were bought was completed thanks to the services of Transportes Céspedes Cargo. Most of the things that were bought are already in the city of Aucayacu, Peru. They arrived yesterday afternoon and were transported to Aucayacu’s Heath Community Center.

The items that were bought are essentials items to help patients to fight Covid-19. Items such as: clinical beds, transport stretchers, pulse oximeter, cabinets, multi-purpose car, serum holders, oxygen concentrator, nebulizers and personal protective equipment for health workers, among others things for the new room that is being built to treat patient with Covid-19. 

For the members of the committee that support Aucayacu’s Health Community Center it is a priority to build a new room to treat patients sick of Covid-19.  This new room will be 250 mts 2 (2690.9 ft2), this will be located among the corner of street San Martín and Mariscal Cáceres in the city of Aucayacu.

This new room will have a perimeter fence, floor, roof, bathroom, and gardens that will provide a better quality of services to the people of Alto Huallaga. It is important to have in mind that Aucayacu’ Community Health Center also serves people of nearby districts like José Crespo and Castillo. Also, that means people from districts such as La Morada, Pucayacu, Santo Domingo de Anda and Pueblo Nuevo might also come to ask for services.

The multi-district committee is going to give a press conference where they will make the official donation of the items and will offer a detail account of what was bought and explain how the money was spent. The committee thanks everyone that was involved: people of good heart, families, friends, small business owners, entrepreneurs, local authorities, and church entities. We hope to continue receiving more support to reach our goal. Let us remember that the money that we gathered in Selvatón 2020 was about 106 thousand soles [31 thousand and 800 hundred dollars].  Thanks to that donation we are building this new room that will have what is necessary to treat patients affected of Covid-19 during this global pandemic.

Covid-19 won’t go away soon, and we need to learn to live with it. Once we have overcome this global pandemic it is hoped that in the future this room will be used for treatment of senior people and vaccination of children. That is the decision we have reached as a multi-district committee.


OMI JPIC Joins Investors Urging the SEC to Mandate Disclosures on COVID-19 Risks & Responses June 16th, 2020

Photo credit: Annie Spratt, Unsplash

Investors and the general public are struggling to understand how the COVID-19 pandemic is impacting the economy and the financial markets. At the same time, the federal government is distributing trillions of dollars in financial support to mitigate the economic impact of the pandemic. 

OMI JPIC recently joined 98 investors, state treasurers, public interest groups, labor unions, asset managers & securities law experts to urge the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) to institute new disclosure requirements that would allow investors and the public to analyze how companies are acting to protect workers, prevent the spread of the virus, and responsibly use any federal aid they receive. 

Read the full letter here.

 

Return to Top