شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر  الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
المدونة
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

آخر الأخبار

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث مقاطع الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الأخبار »الديون


اجتماع الأونكتاد يتغلب على الخلافات الخطيرة 27 أبريل، 2012

في اجتماع مثير للجدل عقدته لجنة الأمم المتحدة للتجارة والتنمية (الأونكتاد) وانتهى الخميس في الدوحة ، قطر ، تم التأكيد على دور منظمة الأمم المتحدة في دراسة التجارة والتنمية ، ولكن ليس بعد أسبوع من النقاش الصعب. وتطلب ولاية الدوحة ، التي اعتمدتها الدول الأعضاء بتوافق الآراء ، أن يواصل الأونكتاد عمله على أساس الأركان الثلاثة لبناء توافق الآراء ، وبحوث السياسات ، والمساعدة التقنية. "ما زال الأونكتاد هو مركز التنسيق في الأمم المتحدة للمعاملة المتكاملة للتجارة والتنمية ، والقضايا المترابطة في مجالات التمويل والتكنولوجيا والاستثمار والتنمية المستدامة" ، كما يقرأ جزء من النص المتفق عليه.

وهددت الخلافات العميقة بين الدول الصناعية والدول النامية بإفساد اجتماع الأونكتاد في الدوحة ، وعرضت للخطر بقاء هذه الهيئة التابعة للأمم المتحدة التي تدافع عن مصالح دول الجنوب النامية. وقد نشأت الخلافات بين الكتل ، التي تم تحديدها على نطاق واسع على أنها بلدان الشمال والجنوب ، بشكل رئيسي من اختلاف وجهات النظر بشأن ولاية الأونكتاد والرؤى المختلفة للتنمية وكيفية ارتباطها بالمتغيرات الاجتماعية والبيئية والاقتصادية والمالية. وكان أحد المجالات الهامة قيد المناقشة هو منح الأونكتاد ولاية للتحقيق في الأزمة المالية العالمية الحالية وآثارها على الاقتصاد الحقيقي ، وهو أمر تضغط من أجله البلدان النامية والمنظمات غير الحكومية ، لكن البلدان الصناعية رفضته بشكل قاطع.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


في يوم القديس باتريك ، احمِ الأيرلنديين مسيرة 19th، 2012

القس سيموس بي فين ، OMI وإيريك LeCompte ، مدير اليوبيل الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية - كتب قطعة مشتركة حول شرعية ، أو عدمه ، من أعباء الديون الدولية. يمكن العثور على مقالهم الكامل في Huffington Post:

"في عيد القديس باتريك ، قد لا تكون هناك طريقة أفضل لتكريم راعي أيرلندا ، الذي وفقًا للأسطورة طرد الثعابين من البلاد ، من حماية الشعب الأيرلندي من إنقاذ بنك مضاربات طائش غير موجود.

قام البنك الأنجلو إيرلندي (Anglo) بتمويل بعض من أسوأ المضاربين العقاريين في أيرلندا لملاعب الجولف والفنادق والأسواق الكبرى غير المستدامة وأثقل كاهل الشعب الأيرلندي بديون ضخمة وغير عادلة.

في شبكة Jubilee USA Network ، نعرف الكثير عن الديون غير العادلة. ... "

اقرأ المشاركة الكاملة في المدونة.

 

اقرأ أكثر…

 


Seamus Finn، OMI on Nightly Business Report: يناقش تأثير المشتقات على الفقراء 7 يونيو، 2010

الاب. تم عرض عمل شيموس فين على المشتقات في تقرير الأعمال الليلي لـ PBS.

شاهد تقرير الأعمال الليلي اعتبارًا من 7 يونيو 2010 ...

 

كيفNBR يؤثر النظام المالي على أفقر الفقراء؟ شاهد عدد 7 يونيو من تقرير الأعمال الليلي لقسم عن المستثمرين الدينيين والجهود المبذولة لكبح جماح سوق المشتقات - وهو سبب لعدم الاستقرار الأخير الذي أثر على الجميع تقريبًا.

في مقابلة مع دارين جيرش ، سيموس فين ، يوجه OMI بوضوح الروابط بين القرارات التي يتخذها المصرفيون وحياة الفقراء. الأب يتحدث الفنلندي عن الحاجة إلى مزيد من الإفصاح عن المخاطر المشتقة - الكشف عن أن عددًا كبيرًا من المساهمين الآخرين فضلوا في القرارات الأخيرة مع Citibank و JP Morgan Chase و Goldman Sachs. التالي هو التشريع في الكابيتول هيل الذي قد يجبر البنوك على تفكيك أعمال المشتقات الخاصة بها.

شاهد تقرير Nightly Business من 7 يونيو 2010 على Vimeo ...


هايتي: مقابلة إذاعة الفاتيكان مسيرة 1st، 2010

ث-هايتي-الأنقاض-CP-8005393في مقابلة مع راديو الفاتيكان ، يتحدث سيموس فين ، OMI - مدير مكتب Oblate JPIC الأمريكي - عن الوضع في هايتي واحتياجات إعادة التنمية للبلد المدمر. تعتبر Oblates أكبر تجمع ديني للذكور في البلاد. في المقابلة ، تطرق إلى الحقائق الهامة في هايتي: الفقر ، وخنق ديون هايتي وعملية إعادة البناء.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


اتصل بالكونغرس اليوم: احذو حذو هايتي واسقطوا الديون 19 فبراير، 2010

changenotchainsbannerولا تزال أكثر البلدان فقراً في العالم تدفع ما قيمته 100 مليون دولار يومياً لخدمة الديون لأغنى البلدان. ولأنهم لا يستطيعون استثمار تلك الموارد في الصحة والتعليم والخدمات والبنية التحتية ، فهم أكثر عرضة للكوارث مثل التي عانت منها هايتي.

يرجى مساعدتنا في إغراق الكونغرس بمكالمات لدعم إلغاء الديون الموسعة للدول الأكثر فقراً.

اعرف المزيد واتخذ إجراءً باستخدام تنبيه العمل


تأمل الرئيس العام: السينودس الأفريقي - "نسمة من الهواء النقي" نوفمبر 10th، 2009

عقدت الجمعية الخاصة الثانية لأفريقيا لسينودس الأساقفة في روما في 4-25 أكتوبر حول موضوع "الكنيسة في أفريقيا في خدمة المصالحة والعدالة والسلام". التبشيري يملأ الجنرال العام القس. فيلهلم ستِتلينج (OMhel Steckling OMI) نظر إلى السينودس الأفريقي في بيان تفكيره التبشيري في نوفمبر ، والذي نود أن نشاركه هنا.

كانت Oblates موجودة في إفريقيا منذ زمن القديس يوجين وتزداد أهميتها بالنسبة لمصلينا. ماذا نعرف عن افريقيا؟ بينما تظهر القارة من حين لآخر في أخبار العالم ، لا يزال هناك الكثير من الصمت حيال ذلك. لقد أتيحت لنا الفرصة مؤخرًا لسماع ما يقوله قادة كنائسنا الأفريقية عن قارتهم وأدعوهم جميعًا لإعطائهم آذانًا صاغية.

عُقد أول سينودس من أجل إفريقيا قبل 15 عامًا. ما زلت أتذكر حفل الافتتاح ، لقد استقرت للتو هنا في روما. على ما يبدو ، كان هذا السينودس في الغالب وقتًا للتعريف. ألهمتنا وثيقة ما بعد السينودس ، "الكنيسة في إفريقيا" ، بصورة "الكنيسة كعائلة الله" التي اتخذتها "كفكرة إرشادية لتبشير إفريقيا" (EIA 63).

اختتمت قبل أسبوع "الجمعيّة الخاصّة الثانية لسينودس الأساقفة من أجل إفريقيا". وركز على "الكنيسة في إفريقيا في خدمة المصالحة والعدالة والسلام". من بين 240 أسقفًا مشاركًا ، كان ثمانية من Oblates ، ومن بين العدد المتساوي تقريبًا من المراجعين والخبراء والمندوبين الأخوة والمساعدين ، كان لدينا ، لأول مرة ، خمسة من مدرسينا المشاركين ، ويقدمون خدمات مختلفة.

سيتعين علينا الانتظار بضعة أشهر حتى يظهر المستند الرئيسي ولكن الرسالة التي تم تقديمها في الخلاصة قد انتهت بالفعل. لقد وجدت أنه صريح وملفت للنظر ، ولأن قراءة النص بأكمله تستحق العناء. دعوني أسلط الضوء فقط على بضع نقاط ، في ثلاث خطوات. في حين أن الرسالة تخبرنا كيف يرى السينودس الأفريقي قارته ، فإنها قد توفر لنا الإلهام لمهمتنا في أجزاء أخرى من العالم.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace & Integrity of Creation

Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate  United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » debt


UNCTAD Meeting Overcomes Serious Disagreements April 27th, 2012

At a contentious meeting of the UN Commission on Trade and Development (UNCTAD) ending Thursday in Doha, Qatar, the role of the UN organization in examining trade and development was confirmed, but not after a week of hard debate. The Doha Mandate, adopted by consensus by the member States, requests that UNCTAD continue its work along the three pillars of consensus-building, policy research and technical assistance. “UNCTAD remains the focal point in the United Nations for the integrated treatment of trade and development, and interrelated issues in the areas of finance, technology, investment and sustainable development,” reads part of the agreed text.

Profound discord between industrialized nations and developing countries threatened to ruin the UNCTAD meeting in Doha, and endangered the survival of this United Nations body that defends the interests of the developing nations of the South. Disagreements between the blocs, broadly identified as countries of the North and of the South, have arisen mainly from differing views of UNCTAD’s mandate and different visions of development and how it relates to social, environmental, economic and financial variables. 

One important area under discussion involved giving UNCTAD a mandate to investigate the current global financial crisis and its effects on the real economy, something for which developing countries and NGOs pressed, but which industrialized countries rejected out of hand.

Click here to read more »


On St. Patrick’s Day, Protect the Irish March 19th, 2012

Rev. Seamus P. Finn, OMI and Eric LeCompte, Director of Jubilee USA – wrote a joint piece on the legitimacy, or lack thereof, of international debt burdens. Their full article can be found on the Huffington Post:

“On the Feast of St. Patrick, there may be no better way to honor the patron of Ireland, who according to legend drove out snakes from the country, than by protecting the Irish people from bailing out a nonexistent reckless speculation bank.

Anglo-Irish Bank (Anglo) financed some of Ireland’s worst property speculators for unsustainable golf courses, hotels and super markets and saddled the Irish people with a massive, unjust debt.

At Jubilee USA Network we know a lot about unjust debts. …”

Read the full blog post.

 

Read more…

 


Seamus Finn, OMI on Nightly Business Report: Discusses Impact of Derivatives on the Poor June 7th, 2010

Fr. Seamus Finn’s work on derivatives is profiled on PBS’s Nightly Business Report.

Watch the Nightly Business Report from June 7, 2010…

 

How doesNBR the financial system affect the poorest of the poor? Watch the June 7th issue of the Nightly Business Report for a segment on faith-based investors and efforts to rein in the derivatives market – a cause of the recent instability that has affected nearly everyone.

In an interview with Darren Gersh, Seamus Finn, OMI clearly draws the connections between decisions made by bankers and the lives of the poor. Fr. Finn talks about the need for greater disclosure of derivative risk – disclosure that a significant number of other shareholders have favored in recent Resolutions with Citibank, JP Morgan Chase, and Goldman Sachs. Up next is legislation on Capitol Hill that could force banks to spin off their derivatives business.

Watch the Nightly Business Report from June 7, 2010 on Vimeo…


Haiti : Vatican Radio Interview March 1st, 2010

w-haiti-rubble-cp-8005393In an interview with Vatican Radio,  Séamus Finn, OMI – Director of the US Oblate JPIC Office – talks about the situation in Haiti and  re-development needs of the devastated country. The Oblates are the largest male religious congregation in the country. In the interview, he touches on important Haitian realities: the poverty, the stranglehold of Haiti’s debt and a process for re-building.

Click here to read more »


Call Congress today: Follow Haiti’s example and drop the debt February 19th, 2010

changenotchainsbannerThe most impoverished countries in the world still pay $100 million per day in debt service to the wealthiest countries. Because they can’t invest those resources in health, education, services, and infrastructure, they are more vulnerable to catastrophes like the one Haiti has suffered.

Please help us flood Congress with calls to support expanded debt cancellation for the poorest countries.

Learn more and take action using our Action Alert


Oblate Superior General’s Meditation: The African Synod – “A breath of fresh air” November 10th, 2009

The Second Special Assembly for Africa of the Synod of Bishops took place in Rome on 4-25 October on the theme The Church in Africa in Service to Reconciliation, Justice and Peace. Missionary Oblates Superior General Rev. Fr. Wilhelm Steckling OMI looked at the African Synod in his November missionary reflection statement, which we would like to share here.

Oblates have been present in Africa since Saint Eugene’s time and its importance for our Congregation keeps increasing. What do we know about Africa? While the Continent occasionally appears on the world news there is still too much silence about it. Very recently we got an opportunity to hear what our African Church leaders are saying about their Continent and I invite us all to lend them listening ears.

The first Synod for Africa was held 15 years ago. I still remember the opening ceremony, I had just settled here in Rome. As it seems, that synod was mostly a time to become acquainted. The post-synodal document, “Ecclesia in Africa”, inspired us with the image of “the Church as God’s Family” which it took “as its guiding idea for the evangelization of Africa” (EIA 63).

The “Second Special Assembly for Africa of the Synod of Bishops” ended a week ago. It focused on “The Church in Africa in service to reconciliation, justice and peace”. Among the 240 participant bishops, eight were Oblates, and among the almost equal number of auditors, experts, fraternal delegates and helpers we had, for the first time, five of our scholastics involved, offering different services.

We will have to wait a few months for the main document to appear but the message given at the conclusion is already out. I found it particularly outspoken and striking, and to read the whole text is worthwhile. Let me highlight just a few points, in three steps. While the message tells us how the African Synod sees its continent, it may also offer us inspiration for our mission in other parts of the world.

Click here to read more »

Return to Top