شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
جديدنا
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

أخبار الأعلاف

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الأخبار »إصلاح المشتقات


جعل وول ستريت مساءلة إلى الشارع الرئيسي يوليو 15th، 2013

مشتقة قنبلةأخبر عضو مجلس الشيوخ عن ولاية نيويورك جيليبراند وشومر أن تنظيم المشتقات لا ينبغي أن يتأخر !!

قبل خمس سنوات ، هددت تجارة المشتقات غير المقيدة في الولايات المتحدة النظام المالي العالمي بأكمله. وفقد عدد لا يحصى من المواطنين وظائفهم وبيوتهم ومعاشاتهم ، حيث أدى الإقراض الخطير الذي تغذيه المشتقات غير المنظمة إلى إثارة أزمة الرهن العقاري.

انضم إلى أعضاء الجمعية التبشيرية والأعضاء الآخرين في مركز الحوار بين الأديان بشأن المسؤولية المؤسسية (ICCR) في المطالبة بإصلاح المشتقات الآن.

قم بالتوقيع (كفرد) على العريضة المتاحة على change.org: http://chn.ge/11GhghC

الرجاء النشر على موقع Facebook و Twitter لنشر الكلمة.


المستثمرون قلقون من تدخل مجلس الشيوخ مع قواعد دود فرانك بشأن المشتقات يوليو 11th، 2013

أحجار الدومينو التي تقعأرسل ثمانية وثلاثون مستثمرًا مؤسّسيًا على أساس ديني ومسؤول اجتماعيًا رسالة إلى أعضاء مجلس الشيوخ الذين طلبوا مؤخرًا من وزير الخزانة جاكوب ليو تأجيل تنفيذ لوائح Dodd-Frank للمشتقات المهمة. نظّم القس سيموس فين ، OMI (التبشيري مبان مريم الطاهرة ، ومدير مجلس إدارة مركز الأديان المعني بمسؤولية الشركات) الرسالة ، التي أعربت عن استيائها وخيبة أملها في عمل أعضاء مجلس الشيوخ.

اقرأ الرسالة (تنزيل PDF) ...

من الأهمية بمكان أن يتم تنظيم سوق المشتقات التي لا تحتاج إلى وصفة طبية ، وقريباً. تعتبر المشتقات أدوات مالية معقدة تستخدم للتحوط من المخاطر ، وكانت مسؤولة إلى حد كبير عن الأزمة المالية لـ 2008.

في الفترة التي سبقت 2008 ، اشترت مؤسسات مالية كبيرة وبيعت أدوات بقيمة مشتقة من تريليونات الدولارات مرتبطة بأوراق مالية الرهن العقاري الثانوي ، والتي من شأنها أن تؤدي إلى دفع تعويضات في حالة التخلف عن سداد ديونها. "هذا النوع الخاص من مشتقات OTC ، والمعروف باسم مقايضة التخلف عن سداد الائتمان (CDS) ، أثار أزمة الرهن العقاري والأزمة الائتمانية والاقتصادية اللاحقة من خلال تقديم" التأمين "المزعوم للأشخاص الذين يستثمرون في الأوراق المالية لضعيفي الملاءة. لقد غذى هذا التأمين الإفراط في المخاطرة ، والطلب ، والتوسع في سوق الرهن العقاري. " (المرجع: دور المشتقات في الأزمة المالية ، جامعة MD)


يطالب المساهمون في "سيتي غروب" على أساس الحكومة الأمريكية بتصويت أسهمها لصالح إصلاح المشتقات المالية 17 أبريل، 2010

1357308يحث المستثمرون المؤسسيون القائمون على الثقة إدارة أوباما على إرسال نفس الرسالة إلى وول ستريت التي ترسلها إلى الكونغرس بشأن الإصلاح المالي. تسيطر حكومة الولايات المتحدة على 27 في المائة من أسهم Citigroup المعلقة ، ويقول المساهمون على أساس ديني إنه ينبغي على الولايات المتحدة دعم قرارهم الذي يحث الشركة على توفير مزيد من الإفصاح عن تداول مشتقاتها. سيجري التصويت صباح الثلاثاء في الاجتماع السنوي لمجموعة سيتي جروب في نيويورك. المجموعات ، بما في ذلك المبشرين مرابطات مريم الطاهرة ، هم أعضاء في 300 الأعضاء بين الأديان مركز المسؤولية المؤسسية (ICCR).

القس سيموس فين ، OMI ، شارك بنشاط في الضغط على المؤسسات المالية من أجل مزيد من الشفافية والمساءلة وعضو مجلس إدارة المركز ، "تسيطر الحكومة الأمريكية على أكثر من ربع أسهم Citigroup المعلقة اليوم. لديه فرصة استثنائية هنا لإرسال رسالة واضحة إلى وول ستريت مفادها أن الكشف عن المزيد من المشتقات أمر حيوي. والأكثر من ذلك ، ليس لدى وزارة الخزانة أي خيار آخر سوى دعم قرارنا ، لأن الإخفاق في القيام بذلك من شأنه أن يقوض بشكل مباشر حملتها للإصلاح المالي المهم.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


تنضم الامتيازات إلى ائتلاف واسع في الدعوة إلى إصلاح الأسواق المالية 8 فبراير، 2010

كبير بحريتحالف مراقبة أسواق السلع والأمريكيون من أجل الإصلاح المالي دعوة للإصلاحات التي كان يمكن أن تمنع الأزمات الاقتصادية والسلع الفقاعية

كانت "المبشرين المتضامنين" ، التي كانت نشطة منذ فترة طويلة في مجال دعم حملة الأسهم ، تضغط من أجل إجراء إصلاحات رئيسية في تداول المشتقات المالية والمضاربات السلعية في حواراتهم مع البنوك الكبرى ومؤسسات الخدمات المالية الأخرى. في الآونة الأخيرة ، انضمت الحكومات إلى ائتلاف واسع يدعو إلى الإصلاح المطلوب للنظام المالي لمنع تكرار الانهيار المالي في العام الماضي.

وقد شكل المدافعون عن الإصلاح المالي شراكة قوية مع مصالح تجارية تتراوح بين تجار التجزئة وتجار وقود السيارات إلى مسوقي القطن ، وشركات النقل بالشاحنات إلى شركات الطيران ، ويدعو هذا التحالف الجديد الكونغرس والهيئات التنظيمية الفيدرالية إلى إخراج المشتقات من الظل والدخول إلى ضوء النهار.

قراءة الائتلاف "بيان مشترك بالمبادئ المشتركة للإصلاحات المطلوبة في أسواق العقود الآجلة / المشتقات".

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


مجلس النواب تمرير وول ستريت وقانون حماية المستهلك ديسمبر 11th، 2009

House_Financial_Services_Committeeأصدر مجلس النواب للتو تشريعات مهمة تهدف إلى السيطرة على الانتهاكات التي أدت إلى الانهيار المالي الأخير. HR4173 ، قانون إصلاح وول ستريت وحماية المستهلك من 2009 يشدد تنظيم وول ستريت والقطاع المالي. فهي تنشئ وكالة جديدة مع إشراف على إقراض المستهلكين ، وتضع قواعد جديدة للمعاملات - مثل المشتقات - التي ساهمت في الانهيار ، وتسعى إلى تقليل التهديد الذي يمكن أن تؤدي به إحدى الشركات الكبيرة أو الشركتين على حافة الانهيار إلى الإقتصاد (أيضا). كبير للفشل).

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


ديسمبر تنبيه للعمل - دعونا نتجنب الانهيار الآخر! ديسمبر شنومكرد، شنومكس

wallbullاتخاذ إجراءات لحماية الناس والكوكب

    - دعم إنشاء وكالة حماية مالية للمستهلك
    - الانضمام إلى دعوة لإصلاح المشتقات
    - رنين أجراس الكنيسة الخاصة بك - إرسال رسالة إلى كوبنهاغن!

      اعرف المزيد واتخذ إجراءً - انقر هنا للحصول على تنبيه الإجراء في ديسمبر

      العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace, and Integrity of Creation

A Ministry of the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate

United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » derivatives reform


Make Wall Street Accountable to Main Street July 15th, 2013

derivative-bombTell New York Senators Gillibrand and Schumer that derivatives regulation should not be delayed!!

Five years ago, unchecked derivatives trading in the U.S. threatened the entire global financial system. Countless citizens lost their jobs, homes and pensions, as risky lending fueled by unregulated derivatives fomented the mortgage crisis. 

Join the Missionary Oblates and other members of the Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility (ICCR) in demanding derivatives reform now.

Sign on (as an individual) to the petition available at change.org:  http://chn.ge/11GhghC

Please post to your Facebook site and Tweet to spread the word.


Investors Alarmed by Senate Interference with Dodd-Frank Rules on Derivatives July 11th, 2013

dominos-fallingThirty-eight faith-based and socially responsible institutional investors sent a letter to Senators who recently asked Treasury Secretary Jacob Lew to delay the implementation of important Dodd-Frank derivatives regulations. The Rev. Seamus Finn, OMI (Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate, and Board Director, the Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility) organized the letter, which expressed dismay and disappointment at the Senators’ action.

Read the letter (download PDF)…

It is vital that the over-the-counter derivatives market be regulated, and soon. Derivatives are complex financial instruments used to hedge risk, and were largely responsible for the 2008 financial crisis.

In the lead up to 2008, large financial institutions bought and sold trillions of dollars worth of over-the-counter derivative instruments linked to subprime mortgage securities, which instruments would trigger a payout in the event of default. “This particular type of OTC derivative, known as a credit default swap (CDS), fomented the mortgage crisis and subsequent credit and economic crisis by offering purported “insurance” to people investing in subprime securities. This insurance fueled excessive risk-taking, demand, and expansion of the subprime market.” (Ref.: The Role of Derivatives in the Financial Crisis, Univ. of MD website)

 


Citigroup Faith-Based Shareholders Call on US Government to Vote Its Shares in Favor of Derivatives Reform April 17th, 2010

1357308Faith-based institutional investors are urging the Obama Administration to send the same message to Wall Street that it is sending to Congress on financial reform. The United States government controls 27 percent of outstanding Citigroup shares, and  faith-based shareholders say the US should support their Resolution urging the company to provide more disclosure about its derivatives trading. Voting will take place Tuesday morning at the Citigroup Annual Meeting in New York. The groups, which include the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate, are members of the 300-member Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility (ICCR).

Rev. Seamus Finn, OMI, actively engaged in pressing financial institutions for greater transparency and accountability and an ICCR board member, said, “The U.S. government controls over a quarter of outstanding Citigroup shares today. It has an extraordinary opportunity here to send a clear message to Wall Street that more derivatives disclosure is vital. Even more to the point, the Treasury Department really has no choice other than to support our resolution since a failure to do so would directly undercut its campaign for critical financial reform.”

Click here to read more »


Oblates Join Broad Coalition in Call for Reform of Financial Markets February 8th, 2010

big-boardCommodity Markets Oversight Coalition and Americans for Financial Reform Call for Reforms that Could Have Prevented Economic Crisis and Commodities Bubbles

The Missionary Oblates, long active in shareholder advocacy, have been pressing for major reforms in derivatives trading and commodity speculation in their dialogs with major banks and other financial services institutions. Recently, the Oblates joined a broad coalition calling for needed reform of the financial system to prevent a repeat of last year’s financial meltdown.

Advocates for financial reform have formed a powerful partnership with business interests ranging from heating and motor fuels retailers to cotton marketers, and trucking companies to airlines, and this new alliance is calling on Congress and Federal Regulators to bring derivatives out of the shadows and into the daylight.

Read the Coalition’s “Joint Statement of Shared Principles for Needed Reforms in the Futures/Derivatives Markets.”

Click here to read more »


House Passes Wall Street and Consumer Protection Act December 11th, 2009

House_Financial_Services_CommitteeThe House of Representatives just passed important legislation designed to reign in the abuses that led to the recent financial meltdown. H.R.4173, the Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act of 2009 tightens regulation of Wall Street and the financial sector. It creates a new agency with oversight of consumer lending, establishes new rules for transactions – like derivatives – that contributed to the meltdown, and seeks to reduce the threat that one or two huge companies on the verge of collapse could bring down the economy (too big to fail).

Click here to read more »


December Action Alert – Let’s Avoid Another Meltdown! December 3rd, 2009

wallbullTake Action to Protect People and the Planet

    – Support Creation of a Consumer Financial Protection Agency
    – Join the Call for Derivatives Reform
    – Ring Your Church Bells – Send a Message to Copenhagen!

      Learn more and take action – click here for our December Action Alert

      Return to Top