شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
جديدنا
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

أخبار الأعلاف

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الأخبار »العدالة الاقتصادية


البعثات التبشيرية نرحب بفاتورة مكافحة الاتجار الجديدة في الكونجرس الأمريكي يوليو 29th، 2015

التبشيري يملأ مكتب JPIC ، بالتعاون مع مركز الأديان حول مسؤولية الشركة (ICCR) وائتلاف المنظمات الكاثوليكية لمكافحة الاتجار بالبشر، نحيي مقدمة في مجلس النواب سلسلة التوريد التجارية الشفافية في قانون الإتجار والرق في 2015.

وتشارك في رعاية التشريعات المقترحة من قبل عضو الكونغرس كارولين مالوني (D- نيويورك) وعضو الكونغرس كريس سميث (R-NJ). إذا تم تمرير القانون ، فإن مشروع القانون يتطلب من الشركات العامة الكبيرة الكشف عن أي من محاولاتها لمنع الاتجار بالبشر وعمالة الأطفال والعبودية في سلاسل التوريد الخاصة بهم في تقاريرهم السنوية إلى لجنة الأوراق المالية والبورصات (SEC).

يأتي هذا الخبر بعد الإصدار في يوليو 27 من تقرير وزارة الخارجية 2015 الاتجار بالأشخاص (TIP)التي تشدد على أن الحكومات "تضع توقعات واضحة للشركات بشأن قضايا حقوق الإنسان وتعتمد سياسات تعزز شفافية أكبر وتحسنًا في الإبلاغ عن جهود مكافحة الاتجار في سلاسل التوريد".


الأساقفة الكاثوليك والأسقفية في غرب نيويورك يصدرون نداءً مشتركًا للازدهار المشترك مسيرة 4th، 2015

أصدر القس رايم ويليام فرانكلين ، أسقف أبرشية غرب نيويورك ، والقس ، ريتشارد جوزيف مالون ، أسقف أبرشية بافالو الرومانية الكاثوليكية ، رسالة ملهمة مشتركة في أواخر العام الماضي ، والتي نود أن نشاركها على نطاق أوسع. شكرنا الى الاب. هاري وينتر ، OMI لجلب الرسالة الرعوية لاهتمامنا.

المطران مالون - المطران فرانكلينتشهد منطقة غرب نيويورك انتعاشًا اقتصاديًا تمس الحاجة إليه ، بعد سنوات من التراجع. هناك خطر حقيقي رغم ذلك ، كما أشار الاساقفة ، أن العديد من يتم استبعاده. لكن في هذا الوقت لا يستفيد الجميع. لا يزال السود واللاتينيكيون يعيشون في فقر بنسبة أكبر مقارنة بالفئات الأخرى في مجتمعنا. ما زال الأطفال يذهبون إلى الفراش وهم جياع. وظائف وأمن يراوغ الكثير من الأسر. ولأن البعض قد تم إقصاؤه وإغلاقه ، فإن بقيتنا أكثر فقرا. نحن نفشل في الاستفادة بقدر ما يمكننا من هذا العصر الذهبي الجديد. يجب أن يتغير هذا ".

يذهبون ليقولوا ، "هذا هو أملنا في غرب نيويورك ، حيث يجب أن يتدفق الرخاء المتولد في مكان واحد للتجديد في جميع أنحاء المنطقة. يجب أن يكون التجديد الاقتصادي لمنطقتنا تجديدًا لقيم وأخلاقيات الإنجيل التي نشاركها كأخوات وإخوة في العقيدة المسيحية. إن ما نقوله ونصلي عليه أيام الأحد يجب أن يخرج الآن إلى العالم ، إلى مكان العمل ، إلى صندوق الاقتراع وإلى مجالس الحكومة لضمان أن يصبح غرب نيويورك مجتمعًا أكثر ازدهارًا ، ليس فقط بالدولار ، بل في استثماراتنا أيضًا في بعضهما البعض. لم يدعو يسوع إلى مجتمع خرج فيه كل شخص لمجرد مكسب شخصي. ودعا إلى وجود مملكة من الرخاء والكرم والعدالة المشتركة ، مجتمع أكثر إنسانية لأنه يتوافق مع ملكوت الله.

تحث رسالتهم الحكومة وقادة الأعمال على "بذل المزيد من الجهود لإتاحة فرص العمل والتدريب والتقدم التي تنبثق من هذا الوقت المليء بالنمو والتوسع في متناول الجميع".

قراءة رسالة رعوية مشتركة حول تجديد غرب نيويورك هنا (الوصول إلى PDF)


البابا يتحدث عن الاقتصاد ديسمبر شنومكرد، شنومكس

والد شيموسالأب تم إجراء مقابلة مع Seamus Finn ، OMI اليوم من قبل The Lay Catholic على دعوة البابا الأخيرة ، فرحة الإنجيل.

"... قال الأب فين إن العقدين الأخيرين في الولايات المتحدة قد شهدا" نموًا في الثروة في الأصول لنسبة 1 الأعلى وركود الأجور والأصول للطبقة الوسطى "، مما أدى إلى" اتساع الفجوات بين صغير جدًا جدًا عدد من الناس في القمة ، طبقة متوسطة تحتفظ بها ، وقطاع فقير بالكاد يتدلى ويعتمد بشكل كبير على أعمال خيرية للآخرين. "

"قال الأب فين إن تصوير البابا فرانسيس للنضال الإيديولوجي حول تدخل الدولة في الاقتصاد هو أمر واقعي ، كما يتضح من المناقشات الحالية في الولايات المتحدة"

وقال "لدينا عدد كبير من الناس يقولون ، دعونا نقلص حجم الحكومة ، دعونا نتيح للسوق والقطاع الخاص الخروج واقتراح الحلول" ، وخاصة في قطاعي التعليم والرعاية الصحية. "لدينا الكثير من الناس يقولون ، وهذا يترك الكثير من الأضرار الجانبية هناك. من المسؤول عن ذلك؟ "

اقرأ المقابلة هنا ...


الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة يدفع عن طريق السقف أكتوبر 23rd، 2013

وذكرت صحيفة الجارديان في لندن ، "لأول مرة على الإطلاق ، تلقى الرؤساء التنفيذيون الأعلى أجراً في 10 في الولايات المتحدة أكثر من $ 100m كتعويض في العام الماضي ، وحصل اثنان على رواتب بمليارات الدولارات ، وفقاً لمسح سنوي رائد عن رواتب التنفيذيين. "

وأظهرت الدراسة أن كبار المسؤولين التنفيذيين في 10 في استطلاع هذا العام أخذوا عائدين إلى ما يزيد عن $ 4.7bn فيما بينهم ، و "لأول مرة على الإطلاق ، لم يكسب أي منهم أقل من $ 100m".

قال جريج راوول ، كبير مستشاري البحوث في شركة GMI ومؤلف التقرير: "لم أر قط شيئًا من هذا القبيل". "عادةً ما يكون لدينا عدد قليل من المديرين التنفيذيين على مستوى $ 100m-plus ، ولكننا لا نملك مطلقًا أعلى 10 بأكمله."

"الأب سيموس فينوقال خبير في حوكمة الشركات في "ميريلاري أوبالاتس أوف ماري إميماكولي" إن الأرقام "سخيفة".

"إنه رقم مذهل. من يعرف كيف تأتي لجان التعويضات معهم؟

يقول الفنلندي الذي قام بحملة ضد ما يعتبره مكافأة مفرطة في شركات مثل غولدمان ساكس ، أن المجالس ستفقد الموهبة ما لم يدفعوا مبالغ ضخمة من الإدارة العليا.

"لكني لم أر أي دليل على ذلك ،" قال. "نادراً ما ترتبط صفقات الأجور الضخمة هذه بعائدات المساهمين".

وجاءت جميع المكاسب تقريبًا من خيارات الأسهم وغيرها من التعويضات المرتبطة بالأسهم. حقق 10 الأعلى $ 3.3bn في 2012 على أرباح خيار الأسهم واستحقاق الأسهم المقيدة. بلغ مجموع المكافآت النقدية $ 16.2m.

انظر المقال كاملا في صحيفة الجارديان


تحالف الشفافية المالية يلتقي في أفريقيا حول مشكلة التدفقات المالية غير المشروعة 30 سبتمبر، 2013

tax_us_if_yu_canيجتمع ائتلاف الشفافية المالية الجديد في دار السلام بتنزانيا في أكتوبر 1-2. موضوع المؤتمر ، هو "نحو الشفافية: جعل النظام المالي العالمي يعمل من أجل التنمية". الأب سيمس فين ، OMI ، الولايات المتحدة مدير مكتب JPIC ، يمثل رسميا ICCR (مركز الأديان حول مسؤولية الشركات) في المؤتمر.

تم إفراغ ما يقرب من تريليون دولار سنوياً من البلدان النامية ، مما سلبها من الإيرادات اللازمة للتنمية بشكل يائس. تم تشكيل التحالف للقيام بشيء حول هذه المشكلة التي تعتبر أساسية لتنمية الدول الفقيرة. ووفقاً للتحالف ، فإن نصف التدفقات المالية غير المشروعة - وهو مبلغ مذهل يبلغ مليار دولار - يأتي من أفريقيا. إن هذه التحويلات غير المشروعة ، التي تتدفق من الجريمة والفساد والتهرب الضريبي ، تمثل نزيفًا على الاقتصادات النامية التي تعادل ثمانية أضعاف حجم المساعدات الخارجية العالمية.

يشارك مكتب JPIC الأمريكي في العديد من المنظمات المترابطة في واشنطن العاصمة ، حيث يعمل من أجل المزيد من العدالة المالية والشفافية. وتشمل هذه شبكة العدالة الضريبية الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، (حيث يخدم الأب فين في المجلس)، و ائتلاف FACT (حملة المساءلة المالية والشفافية المؤسسية). تم إطلاق التحالف الدولي للشفافية المالية في شهر مايو من 2013 ، استجابة للوعي المتزايد والنشاط حول مشكلة التدفقات المالية غير المشروعة.

أعرف أكثر…


50th Anniversary of the March على واشنطن أغسطس 21st، 2013

MLK كلام-ط-أن يكون واحد في الحلمفي شهر أغسطس 28 ، سيتقارب مواطنو 2013 من جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة على واشنطن للاحتفال بالاحتفال التاريخي في واشنطن بواشنطن الذي حدث في 50 منذ سنوات في أغسطس 28 ، 1963.

بعد مسيرة الوظائف والعدالة ، سيتحدث الرئيس أوباما مع الأمة عن خطوات نصب لنكولن التذكاري ، وهو نفس المكان الذي أصدر الدكتور مارتن لوثر كينغ خطابه الشهير "لدي حلم". تم تصميم أنشطة تذكار لنكولن التذكاري للاحتفال ومواصلة الضغط من أجل الحقوق المدنية والعدالة الاقتصادية التي اتبعها الدكتور كينغ والمدافعون عن الحقوق المدنية 50 منذ سنوات. يمكن العثور على معلومات عن الاحتفال على 50th Anniversary March on Washington website.

نحن ندعوك إلى تأملاتك في هذا اليوم التاريخي. هل كنت حاضرا في مارس في 1963؟ نحن نقوم بجمع قصص من أشخاص كانوا هناك لمسيرة من أجل الوظائف والحرية. إرسال ذكرياتك وانعكاسات ل jpic@omiusa.org في مكتب JPIC وسنقوم بنشرها على الموقع.

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace, and Integrity of Creation

A Ministry of the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate

United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » Economic Justice


Missionary Oblates Welcome new Anti-Trafficking bill in U.S. Congress July 29th, 2015

Missionary Oblates JPIC office, in collaboration with the Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility (ICCR) and The Coalition of Catholic Organizations against Human Trafficking, applaud the introduction in the House of Representatives the Business Supply Chain Transparency on Trafficking and Slavery Act of 2015.

The proposed legislation is co-sponsored by Congresswoman Carolyn Maloney (D-NY) and Congressman Chris Smith (R-NJ). If passed into law, the bill would require large public corporations  to disclose any of their attempts to prevent human trafficking, child labor and slavery in their supply chains in their annual reports to the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC).

This news comes just after the release on July 27 of the State Department’s 2015 Trafficking in Persons (TIP) Report, which stresses that governments, “set clear expectations for businesses on human rights issues and adopt policies that promote greater transparency and better reporting on anti-trafficking efforts in supply chains.”

 

 


Catholic and Episcopal Bishops of Western New York Issue Joint Call for Shared Prosperity March 4th, 2015

The Right Rev. R. William Franklin, Bishop of the Episcopal Diocese of Western New York, and Most Reverend Richard Joseph Malone, Bishop of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Buffalo issued am inspiring joint pastoral letter late last year, which we would like to share more widely. Our thanks go out to Fr. Harry Winter, OMI for bringing the pastoral letter to our attention. 

Bishop Malone-Bishop FranklinThe western New York region is undergoing much-needed economic revival, after years of decline. There is a real danger though, as the two bishops point out, that many are being left out. “Yet at this time not everyone is benefitting. Blacks and Hispanics still live in poverty in greater proportion than do other groups in our population. Children still go to bed hungry. Jobs and security elude too many families. And because some are left out and locked out, the rest of us are poorer. We fail to benefit as much as we might from this new golden age. This must change.”

They go on to say, “This is our hope for Western New York, where the prosperity generated in one place of renewal must ripple throughout the region. The economic renewal of our region must be a renewal of the Gospel values and ethics that we share as sisters and brothers in the Christian faith. What we say and pray on Sundays must now go out into the world, into the workplace, to the ballot box and to the councils of government to ensure that Western New York becomes a more prosperous community, not only in dollars, but in our investment in each other. Jesus did not call for a society in which each person was out solely for personal gain. He called for a kingdom of shared prosperity, generosity and justice, a society that is more human because it is in conformity with the Kingdom of God.

Their letter urges government and business leaders to “further all efforts to make opportunities for employment, training, and advancement that grow out of this hopeful time of growth and expansion accessible to all.”

Read the Joint Pastoral Letter on the Renewal of Western New York here (Access PDF)


The Pope Speaks out on the Economy December 3rd, 2013

Father-SeamusFr. Seamus Finn, OMI was interviewed today by The Lay Catholic on the Pope’s recent exhortation, The Joy of the Gospel.

“…Father Finn said the last two decades in the United States have witnessed a “growth in wealth in assets for the top 1 percent and stagnation of wages and assets for the middle class,” resulting in “widening gaps between a very, very small number of people at the top, a middle class that’s holding its own, and an impoverished sector that is barely hanging on and very dependent on the charity of others.”

“Father Finn said Pope Francis’ portrayal of the ideological struggle over state intervention in the economy is realistic, as exemplified by current debates in the U.S.”

“We have a whole number of folks who are saying, let’s shrink the size of government, let’s let the market and the private sector come up with and propose solutions,” particularly in the education and health care sectors, he said. “And we’ve got lots of other people saying, that’s leaving a lot of collateral damage out there. Who’s responsible for it?”

Read the interview here…


CEO Pay Goes Through the Roof October 23rd, 2013

The Guardian newspaper in London reported, “For the first time ever, the 10 highest-paid chief executives in the US received more than $100m in compensation last year, and two took home billion-dollar paychecks, according to a leading annual survey of executive pay.”

The studied showed that the top 10 CEOs in this year’s poll took home over $4.7bn between them, and “for the first time ever, none earned less than $100m.”

“I have never seen anything like that,” said Greg Ruel, GMI’s senior research consultant and author of the report. “Usually we have a few CEOs at the $100m-plus level but never the entire top 10.”

Father Seamus Finn, a corporate governance expert at Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate, said the numbers were ‘ridiculous’.”

“It’s an amazing number. Who knows how compensation committees come up with them?”

Finn, who has campaigned against what he sees as excessive remuneration at companies including Goldman Sachs, said boards often argued that they would lose talent unless they paid top management huge sums.

“But I’ve seen no evidence of that,” he said. “These huge pay deals are seldom linked to shareholder returns.”

Nearly all the outsized gains came from stock options and other share-related compensation. The top 10 made $3.3bn in 2012 on stock option profits and the vesting of restricted stock. Cash bonuses totalled $16.2m.

See the full article at The Guardian Newspaper


Financial Transparency Coalition Meets in Africa on Problem of Illicit Financial Flows September 30th, 2013

tax_us_if_yu_canThe new Financial Transparency Coalition is meeting in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania on October 1-2. The theme for the conference, is  “Towards Transparency: Making the Global Financial System Work for Development.” Fr. Seamus Finn, OMI, US JPIC Office Director,  is officially representing ICCR (Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility) at the conference.

Nearly a trillion dollars a year has been secreted out of developing countries, robbing them of revenue needed desperately for development. The coalition was formed to do something about this problem that is central to the development of poor countries. According to the Coalition, half of the illicit financial flows – a staggering $500 billion – is coming from Africa. Flowing from crime, corruption, and tax evasion, these illicit transfers represent a drain on developing economies that is equivalent to eight times the size of global foreign aid.

The US JPIC Office is involved in several inter-connected organizations in Washington, DC, working for greater financial justice and transparency. These include the Tax Justice Network USA, (where Fr. Finn serves on the Board), and the FACT coalition (Financial Accountability and Corporate Transparency Campaign). The international Financial Transparency Coalition was launched in May of 2013, in response to the growing awareness and activism around the problem of illicit financial flows.

Learn more…

 

 


50th Anniversary of the March on Washington August 21st, 2013

mlk-speech-i-have-a-dreamOn August 28, 2013 citizens from across the United States will converge on Washington to commemorate and celebrate the historic March On Washington that took place 50 years ago on August 28, 1963.

Following the March for Jobs and Justice, President Obama will speak to the nation from the steps of the Lincoln Memorial, the same spot from which Dr. Martin Luther King issued his famous “I had a dream” speech. The Lincoln Memorial Commemoration activities are designed to commemorate and continue the pressure for civil rights and economic justice pursued by Dr. King and civil rights advocates 50 years ago. Information for the celebration can be found on the 50th Anniversary March on Washington website.

We invite your reflections on this historic day. Were you present at the March in 1963? We are collecting stories from people who were there to march for jobs and freedom. Send your recollections and reflections to jpic@omiusa.org in the JPIC Office and we will post them to the website.

Return to Top