شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
جديدنا
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

أخبار الأعلاف

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الأخبار »الأمن الغذائي


مؤتمر المنظمات الكنسية يستضيف مؤتمر الأراضي وحوكمة عادلة في أفريقيا نوفمبر شنومكرد، شنومكس

أرض جماعة غاسول التي تم تخصيصها لمزارع دومينيون في نيجيريا. الصورة مجاملة من مركز التعليم البيئي والتنمية (CEED)

تمت مناقشة الاستيلاء على الأراضي والحكم العادل في مؤتمر أفريقي فريد من نوفمبر 22-28 ، قبل زيارة البابا إلى أفريقيا.

يمثل الاستيلاء على الأراضي مشكلة خطيرة في جميع أنحاء أفريقيا ، ويتطلب الاهتمام العاجل لأنها تهدد سبل العيش والأمن الغذائي. لقد أزاح بالفعل مئات الآلاف من الناس من أراضيهم ، وحرمهم من الموارد الطبيعية ، وهدد مصادر رزقهم.

ستتم مناقشة الاستيلاء على الأراضي والحكم العادل ، وهي قضايا تشكل تهديدًا كبيرًا لسيادة الغذاء ، في مؤتمر "انتزاع الأراضي والحكم العادل في أفريقيا" ، من نوفمبر 22-28 في نيروبي ، كينيا ، بتنظيم SECAM (ندوة المؤتمرات الاسقفيه الافريقيه ومدغشقر) بالتعاون مع AEFJN (شبكة أوروبا وأفريقيا للعدالة والعدالة) ، AFJN (شبكة الإيمان والعدالة الإفريقية) CIDSE (شبكة وكالات التنمية الكاثوليكية). سيتجمع الحدث حول المشاركين 150 من القارة الأفريقية وخارجها ، بما في ذلك العديد من الأشخاص الذين يشاركون بشكل مباشر في الصراع على الأرض.

غالباً ما يوصف الاستيلاء على الأراضي على أنه شراء مساحات كبيرة من الأراضي في البلدان النامية من قبل الشركات الدولية أو الحكومات أو الأفراد. في السنوات الأخيرة ، ازدادت حالات الاستيلاء على الأراضي في أعقاب الارتفاع العالمي في أسعار المواد الغذائية في 2008 ، مما دفع المستثمرين إلى التطلع نحو الجنوب العالمي ، وخاصة أفريقيا ، لاستثمار الأراضي المحتمل لإنتاج الغذاء والوقود الحيوي للتصدير والأسواق الدولية. كما يتم الحصول على مساحات كبيرة من الأراضي لأغراض المضاربة ، والمعروفة باسم "الأعمال المصرفية للأراضي" ، حيث يحتفظ المشتري بالأرض ويبيعها في وقت لاحق.

ومن بين القضايا التي سيتم تقديمها خلال المؤتمر هي تلك التي تتعلق بالمشروع الإيطالي Senhuile SA ، الذي استأجر 20.000 هكتارًا من الأراضي في محمية Ndiaël في السنغال ، وهي الأراضي التي استخدمها سكان بعض قرى 40 في المنطقة منذ عقود. أدى ذلك إلى نزاع مستمر مع القرويين ، الذين يريدون توقف المشروع. إن حالة المزارعين في ولاية تارابا في نيجيريا وفي كينيا ، الذين يتم إجبارهم على الخروج من أراضٍ قاموا بتربيتها لأجيال لإفساح المجال أمام شركة الدومينيون فارمز الأمريكية لإنشاء مزرعة للأرز ، ستكون أيضاً موضوعاً للمناقشة. وستعرض أيضا الحالات المتعلقة باتفاق أرض بولور في كوت ديفوار والكاميرون وليبريا وكذلك في سيراليون وحالات من موزامبيق وجمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية ومالي.

ينعقد هذا المؤتمر قبل زيارة البابا فرنسيس إلى كينيا وأوغندا وجمهورية أفريقيا الوسطى. وكان البابا قد أعرب في السابق عن قلقه الشديد بشأن مسألة الاستيلاء على الأراضي. في خطاب ألقاه في منظمة الأمم المتحدة للأغذية والزراعة في روما في يونيو / حزيران 2015 ، حذر البابا فرانسيس من "احتكار أراضي الزراعة من قبل الشركات والدول عبر الوطنية ، والتي لا تحرم المزارعين من سلعة أساسية فقط ، ولكنها تؤثر بشكل مباشر على سيادة الدول ". كما أشار الأب الأقدس إلى أنه: "توجد بالفعل العديد من المناطق التي تنتقل فيها الأغذية إلى دول أجنبية ويصبح السكان المحليون فقراء بشكل مضاعف ، لأنه لا يملك طعامًا أو أرضًا".

وقد تم التعبير عن المزيد من التوجيهات والمؤشرات فيما يتعلق بمخاطر الاستيلاء على الأراضي في رسالة البابا العامة Laudato Si '، التي يدين فيها النهج الاستغلالي تجاه الأرض بينما يتذكر: "بالنسبة لهم (المجتمعات الأصلية) ، فإن الأرض ليست سلعة ، ولكن بالأحرى هدية من الله ومن أجدادهم الذين يستريحون هناك ، وهي مساحة مقدسة يحتاجون للتفاعل معها للحفاظ على هويتهم وقيمهم. عندما يبقون على أرضهم ، هم أنفسهم يهتمون بها بشكل أفضل. ومع ذلك ، في أجزاء مختلفة من العالم ، يتم الضغط عليهم للتخلي عن أوطانهم لإفساح المجال لـ [صناعيمشاريع زراعية أو تعدين تجري دون اعتبار لتدهور الطبيعة والثقافة. (146). دعماً لـ Laudato Si وقبل مؤتمر المناخ COP 21 في باريس ، وقعت مؤتمرات الأساقفة في جميع أنحاء العالم على 22nd من اكتوبر استئناف التي دعت COP 21 إلى "ضمان وصول الناس إلى المياه والهبوط من أجل أنظمة غذائية مستدامة وقادرة على التكيف مع المناخ ، والتي تعطي الأولوية للأشخاص الذين يقودون الحلول بدلاً من الأرباح".

يهدف المؤتمر إلى تطوير استراتيجيات لدعم وتقوية المجتمعات المحلية في كفاحها من أجل وقف هذا الخطر وبناء القدرة على الصمود.

-SECAM (مقرها في أكرا) ، ندوة المؤتمرات الأسقفية لأفريقيا ومدغشقر ، هي جمعية لجميع مؤتمرات الأساقفة الكاثوليك في أفريقيا وجزرها. منذ تأسيسها في 1969 ، أظهرت SECAM قلقًا بشأن القضايا المتعلقة بالتنمية البشرية. ولهذا السبب ، أنشأ SECAM وزارة العدل والسلام والتنمية في أمانتها في أكرا ، غانا. تقدم SECAM جميع الأبرشيات في جميع البلدان في القارة. تمثل SECAM تقريبا 20 ٪ من مجموع سكان أفريقيا الذين هم من الكاثوليك.

-AEFJN (مقرها في بروكسل)، أفريقيا أوروبا شبكة الإيمان والعدالة ، هي منظمة شقيقة من AFJN تأسست على نفس القيم الأساسية والروح من قبل التجمعات الدينية الأوروبية مقرها. ومع ذلك ، تأسست AEFJN في 1988 لتعزيز العلاقات الاقتصادية أكثر عدلا بين أوروبا وأفريقيا من خلال دعوتها في الاتحاد الأوروبي ولديها حاليا أكثر من التجمعات الدينية 43 في عضويتها. وقد أكملت AEFJN مؤخراً دراسات حالة بشأن الاستيلاء على الأراضي و "الاستخراجية" في السنغال ومدغشقر على التوالي

-AFJN (مقرها في واشنطن), بدأت شبكة أفريقيا للإيمان والعدالة في 1983 كرد على ما شهدته التجمعات الكاثوليكية التبشيرية على الأرض في إفريقيا. تم تشكيل AFJN لتعزيز العلاقات المسؤولة والعادلة بين الولايات المتحدة وبلدان أفريقيا ، ومكافحة السياسات الضارة بأفريقيا. AFJN لديها أعضاء تنظيمية 34. من مكاتبها في واشنطن العاصمة ، تواصل AFJN عملها الدعوي مع المشرعين في الكونغرس ومع الوكالات الإدارية الأمريكية.

- CIDSE (مقرها في بروكسل) هو تحالف دولي لوكالات التنمية الكاثوليكية يعملون معاً من أجل العدالة العالمية. تجتمع منظماتنا الأعضاء في 17 من أوروبا وأمريكا الشمالية تحت مظلة منظمة CIDSE لمحاربة الفقر وعدم المساواة. إننا نتحدى الحكومات ورجال الأعمال والكنائس والهيئات الدولية لاعتماد سياسات وسلوكيات تعزز حقوق الإنسان والعدالة الاجتماعية والتنمية المستدامة. العثور على مزيد من المعلومات حول عمل CIDSE على الغذاء فقط هنا .


الجماعات الدينية تضع مبادئ لتعزيز الأمن الغذائي 18 يونيو، 2012

انضم مكتب Oblate JPIC إلى ثلاثين منظمة غير حكومية للتنمية ومنظمات دينية في رسالة إلى وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية ، ووكالة المعونة الأمريكية ، والبيت الأبيض مطالبين بالالتزام بمجموعة من المبادئ لضمان الأمن الغذائي مع مشاركة الحكومة بشكل متزايد في الشراكات بين القطاعين العام والخاص الزراعية في الخارج. . وتؤكد المجموعات ، "لأننا نعلم أن كيفية استثمار الجهات المانحة في الزراعة لا يقل أهمية عن الاستثمارات نفسها ، فإننا نحث حكومة الولايات المتحدة ، حيث أنها تشترك مع القطاع الخاص لغرض زيادة الأمن الغذائي والتغذوي ، لتبني المبادئ التالية: : "

  1. لا ضرر (للاستثمارات العامة الأخرى
  2. احترام كرامة الانسان
  3. توفير منافع قابلة للقياس لأصحاب الحيازات الصغيرة
  4. ضمان الاستدامة
  5. توفير الشفافية والآليات لمشاركة المجتمع المدني المستمرة
  6. حماية وترتيب أولويات الجهات الفاعلة المحلية في القطاع الخاص

اقرأ الرسالة لمزيد من التفاصيل حول المبادئ المذكورة أعلاه (تنزيل PDF)


G8 و G20 Summits في كندا 27 يونيو، 2010

G8عقدت قمة مجموعة الثماني (G8) ومجموعة العشرين (G20) في أونتاريو ، كندا في نهاية هذا الأسبوع - يونيو 25th من خلال 27th. اجتمع قادة G8 من Jun 25 من خلال 26th في Huntsville ، أونتاريو. وتأتي قمة G20 في تورونتو ، يونيو 26-27. وكان التجمع في كندا هو إتاحة الفرصة لقادة العالم لإظهار تصميمهم على الوفاء بوعودهم بشأن الفقر العالمي وتغير المناخ ومعالجة الأزمة المالية.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


رحلة الرئيس أوباما إلى غانا: فرصة للنهج الأمريكي الجديد لأفريقيا يوليو 9th، 2009

africa_240_wide_webيقوم رئيس الولايات المتحدة ، باراك أوباما ، بأول زيارة رئاسية له في أفريقيا جنوب الصحراء الكبرى عندما يسافر إلى غانا وغرب إفريقيا في يوليو 10 و 11. سيجري الرئيس أوباما مباحثات ثنائية مع الرئيس المستضيف جون أتا ميلز وسيتناول البرلمان الغاني حيث سيلقي خطابا رئيسيا حول الديمقراطية والأمن الغذائي.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace & Integrity of Creation

Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate  United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » food security


Church Organizations Host Conference on Land Grab and Just Governance in Africa November 23rd, 2015

Land of Gassol community that have been allocated to Dominion Farms in Nigeria. Photo Courtesy of Center for Environmental Education and Development (CEED)

Land grabbing and just governance discussed in a unique pan-African conference from November 22-28, ahead of Pope’s visit to Africa.

Land grabbing is a serious problem across Africa, requiring urgent attention since it threatens livelihoods and food security. It has already dislocated hundreds of thousands of people from their lands, deprived them of natural resources, and threatened their livelihoods.

Land grabbing and just governance, issues that constitute a significant threat to food sovereignty, will be discussed at the conference “Land Grab and Just governance in Africa”, from November 22-28 in Nairobi, Kenya, and organized by SECAM (Symposium of Episcopal Conferences of Africa and Madagascar) with the collaboration of AEFJN (Africa Europe Faith and Justice Network), AFJN (Africa Faith & Justice Network) and CIDSE (network of Catholic development agencies). The event will gather about 150 participants from the African continent and beyond, including many people directly involved in land grabbing struggles.

Land grabbing is most often described as the acquisition of large areas of land in developing countries by international firms, governments, or individuals. In recent years land grabs have increased following the worldwide spike in food prices in 2008, prompting investors to look toward the Global South, particularly Africa, for potential land investment to produce food and biofuel for export and international markets. Large tracts of land are also being acquired for speculative purposes, known as “land banking”, where the buyer holds the land and sells it later.

Among the cases that will be presented during the conference is the one involving the Italian project Senhuile SA, which has leased 20.000 hectares of land in the Ndiaël Reserve in Senegal, land used for decades by residents of some 40 villages in the area. This resulted in an ongoing conflict with the villagers, who want the project stopped. The case of farmers in Nigeria’s Taraba State and in Kenya, who are being forced off lands that they have farmed for generations to make way for US company Dominion Farms to establish a rice plantation, will also be a subject of discussion. Cases involving Bollore land deal in Cote d’Ivoire, Cameroon, Liberia as well as in Sierra Leone and cases from Mozambique, the Democratic Republic of the Congo and Mali will also be showcased.

This conference takes place ahead of Pope Francis’ visit to Kenya, Uganda and Central African Republic. The Pope has previously voiced great concern about the issue of land grabbing. In a speech delivered at the UN Food and Agriculture Organization in Rome in June 2015, Pope Francis warned against the “monopolizing of lands of cultivation by trans-national enterprises and states, which not only deprives farmers of an essential good, but which directly affects the sovereignty of countries”. The Holy Father also pointed out that: “There are already many regions in which the foods produced go to foreign countries and the local population is doubly impoverished, because it does not have food or land”.

Further guidance and indications in relation to the dangers of land grabbing were expressed in the Pope’s Encyclical letter Laudato Si’, in which he denounces an exploitative approach towards land while recalling: “For them (indigenous communities), land is not a commodity, but rather a gift from God and from their ancestors who rest there, a sacred space with which they need to interact if they are to maintain their identity and values. When they remain on their land, they themselves care for it best. Nevertheless, in various parts of the world, pressure is being put on them to abandon their homelands to make room for [industrial] agricultural or mining projects which are undertaken without regard for the degradation of nature and culture.” (146). In support of Laudato Si and ahead of the climate conference COP 21 in Paris, the bishops’ conferences across the world signed on the 22nd of October an appeal which called for COP 21 “to ensure people’s access to water and to land for climate resilient and sustainable food systems, which give priority to people driven solutions rather than profits.”

The conference aims at developing strategies to support and strengthen local communities in their struggles to stop this menace and to build resilience.

SECAM (based in Accra), the Symposium of Episcopal Conferences of Africa and Madagascar, is an association of all the Catholic Bishops Conferences of Africa and its islands. Since its establishment in 1969, SECAM has shown concern for issues pertaining to human development. For this reason SECAM set up a Department of Justice, Peace, and Development in its Secretariat in Accra, Ghana. SECAM brings all the dioceses in all countries on the continent. SECAM represents almost 20% of the total population of Africa who are Catholics.

AEFJN (based in Brussels), Africa Europe Faith & Justice network, is a sister organization of AFJN founded on the same core values and ethos by European based religious congregations. However, the AEFJN is founded in 1988 to promote more equitable economic relations between Europe and Africa through its advocacy at the EU and currently has more than 43 religious congregations in its membership. AEFJN recently completed case studies on land grabs and “extractivism” in Senegal and Madagascar respectively

AFJN (based in Washington), the Africa Faith and Justice Network, began in 1983 as a response to what Catholic missionary congregations witnessed on the ground in Africa. AFJN was formed to promote more responsible and just relations between the United States and the countries of Africa, and to fight against policies detrimental to Africa. AFJN has 34 organizational members. From its offices in Washington D.C., AFJN continues its advocacy work with congressional lawmakers and with U.S. administrative agencies.

CIDSE (based in Brussels) is an international alliance of Catholic development agencies working together for global justice. Our 17 member organizations from Europe and North America come together under the umbrella of CIDSE to fight poverty and inequality. We challenge governments, business, churches, and international bodies to adopt policies and behavior that promote human rights, social justice and sustainable development. Find more information about CIDSE’s work on just food here.

 

 


Religious Groups Establish Principles to Promote Food Security June 18th, 2012

The Oblate JPIC office joined thirty development NGOs and faith-based organizations in a letter to the State Department, US AID and the White House celling for adherence to a set of principles to assure food security as the government engages increasingly in overseas agricultural Public Private Partnerships. The groups contend, “Because we know that how donors invest in agriculture is as important as the investments themselves, we urge the U.S. Government, as it partners with the private sector for the purpose of increasing food and nutrition security, to adopt the following principles:”

  1. Do no harm (to other public investments
  2. Respect the dignity of the human person
  3. Provide measurable benefits to smallholders
  4. Ensure sustainability
  5. Provide transparency and mechanisms for ongoing civil society participation
  6. Protect and prioritize local private sector actors

Read the letter for detail on the principles listed above (Download PDF)

 


G8 and G20 Summits in Canada June 27th, 2010

G8The Group of Eight (G8) and Group of Twenty (G20) summits were held in Ontario, Canada this weekend – June 25th through 27th. The G8 leaders met from Jun 25 through the 26th in Huntsville, Ontario. The G20 summit follows in Toronto, Jun 26-27.The gathering in Canada was to provide an opportunity to world leaders to show their resolve in keeping their promises on global poverty, climate change and deal with financial crisis.

Click here to read more »


President Obama’s Trip to Ghana: Opportunity for New U.S. Approach to Africa July 9th, 2009

africa_240_wide_webThe President of the United States, Barack Obama, makes his first presidential visit to Sub-Saharan Africa when he travels to Ghana, West Africa on July 10 and 11. President Obama will hold bilateral talks with host President John Atta Mills and will address Ghana’s parliament where he will deliver a major speech on Democracy and Food Security. 

Click here to read more »

Return to Top