شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر  الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
المدونة
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

آخر الأخبار

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث مقاطع الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الأخبار »انبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري


مستثمرون على أساس الإيمان يحثون على اتخاذ إجراءات جريئة مع الشركات المعنية بتغير المناخ يوليو 26th، 2013

أصدر مركز الأديان لمسؤولية الشركات (ICCR) مؤخرًا كتابًا أبيض حول المشاركة مع قطاع الطاقة لمعالجة المخاطر الجسيمة التي يشكلها الارتفاع السريع في مستويات ثاني أكسيد الكربون في الغلاف الجوي. تعد الورقة ، في جزء كبير منها ، استجابة لحملة سحب الاستثمارات من الوقود الأحفوري المنسقة من قبل 350.org ، وتعمل على وضع مجموعة من الاستجابات المفتوحة للمستثمرين المهتمين استجابة لأزمة المناخ التي تلوح في الأفق.

قراءة: رؤى للمستثمرين الذين يعملون من أجل تدخل أكثر جرأة بشأن تغير المناخ


يمكن أن تبقي أربع سياسات للطاقة هدف المناخ 2 ° C على قيد الحياة 17 يونيو، 2013

يوضح تقرير جمعية الطاقة الدولية كيفية إيقاف نمو الانبعاثات المرتبطة بالطاقة بواسطة 2020 بدون تكلفة اقتصادية صافية. تشارك شركة "مبشر أوبليتز" شركات النفط والغاز في الحاجة إلى خفض الانبعاثات ، ويعد هذا التقرير أداة مفيدة في هذا العمل.
 

تحذيرًا من أن العالم ليس على المسار الصحيح للحد من الزيادة العالمية في درجات الحرارة إلى 2 درجة مئوية ، حثت وكالة الطاقة الدولية الحكومات على سرعة تطبيق أربع سياسات للطاقة من شأنها أن تبقي أهداف المناخ على قيد الحياة دون الإضرار بالنمو الاقتصادي.

“لقد انزلق تغير المناخ بصراحة تامة إلى الخلف لأولويات السياسة العامة. لكن المشكلة لا تكمن في الابتعاد بل العكس هو الصحيح "، كما تقول ماريا فان دير هوفين ، المدير التنفيذي للوكالة. التقرير الخاص بتوقعات الطاقة العالمية الصادر عن وكالة الطاقة الدولية ، إعادة رسم خريطة الطاقة المناخية ، يسلط الضوء على الحاجة إلى إجراء مكثف قبل 2020.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


ائتلاف واسع يطلب مجلس الشيوخ للتشريعات المتعلقة بتغير المناخ مسيرة 19th، 2010

CO2انضمت شركة The Missionary Oblates JPIC Office إلى الشركات والمؤسسات 184 ، وناشطات 77 الفردية ، مطالبة مجلس الشيوخ بتشريع إجراءات للحد من ظاهرة الاحتباس الحراري. هذه الرسالة ، التي أرسلت إلى جميع أعضاء مجلس الشيوخ ، تجادل بأن "انبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري يمكن قطعها بسرعة وبطريقة اقتصادية وبيئية عن طريق سقف الانبعاثات الوطنية الذي يتحقق من خلال مزيج من كفاءة الطاقة العدوانية والمتجددة معايير الطاقة ".

أشارت المنظمات إلى أنه "من خلال التركيز على هذه الاستراتيجية ثلاثية المحاور (أي غطاء الكربون + الكفاءة + مصادر الطاقة المتجددة) ، قد يكون من غير الضروري - في الوقت الحالي على الأقل - معالجة أي من الخيارين الأكثر إثارة للجدل لمعالجة تغير المناخ: "نظام تداول" لائتمانات الانبعاثات أو فرض ضرائب على الكربون ".

وشددت الرسالة أيضًا على أن "التشريعات المتعلقة بالمناخ التي تعزز الاستخدام المستمر أو الموسع للوقود الأحفوري و / أو الطاقة النووية ، أو التي تتراجع عن الضمانات البيئية الحالية ، يمكن أن تؤدي إلى مشروع قانون قد يكون في الواقع أسوأ من عدم وجود أي فاتورة على الإطلاق".

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace & Integrity of Creation

Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate  United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » greenhouse gas emissions


Faith-Based Investors Urging Bold Action with Companies on Climate Change July 26th, 2013

The Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility (ICCR) recently released a white paper on engagement with the energy sector to address the serious risks posed by rapidly rising levels of CO² in the atmosphere. The paper is, in large part, a response to the fossil fuel divestment campaign coordinated by 350.org, and serves to lay out a range of responses open to concerned investors in response to the looming climate crisis.

Read: Insights for Investors Working for Bolder Intervention on Climate Change


Four energy policies can keep the 2 °C climate goal alive June 17th, 2013

An International Energy Association report shows how to stop growth in energy-related emissions by 2020 at no net economic cost. The Missionary Oblates engage oil and gas companies on the need for emissions reductions, and this report is a useful tool in that work.
 

Warning that the world is not on track to limit the global temperature increase to 2 degrees Celsius, the International Energy Agency (IEA)* has urged governments swiftly to enact four energy policies that would keep climate goals alive without harming economic growth.

“Climate change has quite frankly slipped to the back burner of policy priorities. But the problem is not going away – quite the opposite,” according to IEA Executive Director Maria van der Hoeven. The IEA’s World Energy Outlook Special Report, Redrawing the Energy-Climate Map, highlights the need for intensive action before 2020.

Click here to read more »


Broad Coalition Asks Senate for Climate Change Legislation March 19th, 2010

CO2The Missionary Oblates JPIC Office joined184 businesses and organizations, and 77 individual activists, calling on the Senate to legislate action to curb global warming. The letter, which was sent to all members of the Senate, argues that “greenhouse gas emissions can be cut swiftly and in an economically and environmentally sound way by means of a national emissions cap that is realized through a combination of aggressive energy efficiency and renewable energy standards.”

The organizations noted that “by focusing on this three-pronged strategy (i.e., carbon cap + efficiency + renewables), it may prove unnecessary – for the moment at least – to tackle either of the two most controversial options for addressing climate change: creating a “trading system” for emissions credits or imposing carbon taxes.”

The letter also stressed that “climate legislation that promotes continued or expanded use of fossil fuels and/or nuclear power, or which rolls back existing environmental safeguards, could result in a bill that might actually be worse than no bill at all.”

Click here to read more »

Return to Top