شعار أومي
أخبار مواتر
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

آخر الأخبار

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث مقاطع الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الأخبار »حق الإنسان في الماء


المحكمة الدستورية الايطالية بحظر خصخصة المياه يوليو 23rd، 2012

في حكم هام ، أعلنت المحكمة الدستورية الإيطالية عدم دستورية خصخصة المياه والخدمات العامة المحلية. في حكم صدر في يوليو 20 ، حكمت المحكمة ضد المادة 4 من المرسوم القانون 138 من أغسطس 13 ، 2011 ، والتي بموجبها حكومة بيرلسكوني أعادت طرح خصخصة الخدمات العامة المحلية. كما يمنع هذا الحكم جميع التعديلات اللاحقة ، بما في ذلك تلك الخاصة بحكومة مونتي.

يؤكد الحكم بقوة إرادة المواطنين ، التي تم التعبير عنها في استفتاء 12 و 13 June 2011. في تلك التواريخ ، أُجري استفتاء شعبي في جميع أنحاء إيطاليا في إيطاليا حول أربعة أسئلة ، تتعلق اثنتان منها بخصخصة المياه. تم الإبلاغ عن ارتفاع نسبة الإقبال ، حيث بلغت نسبة 56.9٪ ، مع وجود أغلبية واضحة من 94.6٪ إلى 96.1٪ لصالح جميع الأسئلة. لقد خرج الفاتيكان بقوة لصالح حق الإنسان في الماء ، وعارض الجهود الرامية إلى خصخصة الموارد الحيوية. وقال الكاردينال توركسون ، رئيس المجلس البابوي للعدالة والسلام ، إن توزيع المياه يجب أن يكون خدمة تقدمها الحكومات لمواطنيها كجزء من دورها في حماية الصالح العام. 

 


كندا تعلن دعمها لحقوق الإنسان في المياه 31 مايو، 2012

في تحول مفاجئ ، انحنت كندا لسنوات من الضغط الوطني والدولي ، وقررت في النهاية أن تعترف بحق الإنسان في الماء والصرف الصحي.

قام مجلس الكنديين ، أكبر منظمة للدفاع عن العدالة الاجتماعية في كندا ، بحملة لأكثر من عقد لضمان حق الإنسان في الماء ، ونشر هذا ردا على الإعلان على موقعهم على الانترنت:

في الشهر الماضي ، تم عزل كندا في مفاوضات ريو + 20 باعتبارها البلد الوحيد الذي يدعي علنا ​​أنه لا يوجد أساس قانوني للحق وتدعو إلى حذفه. غير أن هذا الموقف لا يمكن الدفاع عنه ، لكن بعد مرور عامين تقريباً على إصدار الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة قرارًا يعترف بالحق (قرار الجمعية العامة A / 64 / 292) ، تتبعه ثلاثة قرارات لاحقة تؤكد قرارات مجلس حقوق الإنسان.

يقول مود بارلو ، الرئيس الوطني لمجلس الكنديين والمستشار الأقدم للأمم المتحدة لشؤون المياه لرئيس الجمعية العامة: "لقد استغرق الأمر ضغطًا غير مسبوق لجعل هذه الحكومة تغير موقفها ، والتحول هو أمر جيد ، لكن الكلمات ليست كافية. نحن بحاجة إلى إجراءات ، وتتعارض إجراءات الحكومة بشكل مباشر مع احترام حق الإنسان في الماء ".

وقد طلب المجلس باستمرار من الحكومات الكندية إظهار التزامها بالمياه من خلال تنفيذ قانون وطني يتعلق بالمياه بما في ذلك خطة عمل محلية بشأن حق الإنسان في الماء. يتطلع مجلس الكنديين إلى الحكومة التي تقدم خطة واضحة لما تعتزم القيام به للوفاء بالتزاماتها الدولية والمحلية فيما يتعلق بحق الإنسان في المياه والصرف الصحي.

 أعرف أكثر…


تهديد بالمياه من التعدين في بيرو يحشد الجماهير 5 فبراير، 2012

وقد تحرك آلاف البيروفيين من الأمازون إلى ليما ضد تهديد خطير للمياه في منطقة كاخاماركا في بيرو. يشعر السكان هناك ، ومعظمهم من السكان الأصليين ، بقلق عميق إزاء التهديد الذي تتعرض له مياههم من تطوير التعدين المقترح من قبل الشركة الأمريكية ، نيومونت مينينج. لقد انخرطت الوكالة في الولايات المتحدة مع شركة نيومونت بشأن تأثير عملياتها على المجتمعات التي تتواجد فيها عمليات التعدين. كان منجم ياناكوتشا أولوية في تلك المحادثات على الرغم من أن الاضطرابات الأخيرة في منطقة كاخاماركا ترتبط بالتطوير المقترح لميناس كونغاس وتوسيع مشروع ياناكوتشا. تدعم منظمة Oblates في بيرو مسيرة المياه التي نظمها المجتمع المدني في المناطق المتأثرة.

تدعي الحركة "الحق في أن تُستشار ، وأن تُحترم وتُسمع في القرارات المتعلقة بنموذجها التنموي ، والمشاركة الاجتماعية العادلة في النمو الاقتصادي ، وحظر التعدين في منابع الأنهار ، ووقف التعدين باستخدام السيانيد والزئبق. هذا يسبب الكثير من الضرر للأرض والمياه ". يعلن المشاركون في المسيرة حقهم الإنساني في المياه ، ويستقطبون الدعم من الكنائس والمجتمع المدني على حد سواء في مسيرة استمرت عدة أيام من كاخاماركا إلى ليما. بدأت التعبئة الوطنية الكبرى للمياه في الأول من فبراير وستختتم بالدعوة في ليما يومي 1 و 9 فبراير.

اقرأ وصفًا كاملاً للتعبئة (بالترجمة الإنجليزية):

"الأنهار الصغيرة تصنع النهر العظيم للحياة": تعبئة المياه الوطنية الكبرى "

تتوفر المواد باللغة الإسبانية أيضًا تحت قسم الأخبار في القسم الإسباني من هذا الموقع

 


ولاية المقرر الخاص المعني بالمياه والمرافق الصحية الذي اعتمده مجلس حقوق الإنسان التابع للأمم المتحدة مسيرة 25th، 2011

رئيسة وينيم وينتو والقائدة الروحية كالين سيسك-فرانكو تناقش نظام الصرف الصحي في قريتها مع الخبيرة المستقلة للأمم المتحدة كاتارينا دي ألبوكيرك.

مجلس الأمم المتحدة لحقوق الإنسان مرر قرار هذا الصباح تمديد ولاية حق الإنسان في المياه المأمونة والصرف الصحي لمدة ثلاث سنوات أخرى ، وتغيير صلاحيات الخبير المستقل إلى منصب مقرر خاص.

هذه أخبار جيدة. وستستمر الولاية مع كاتارينا دي ألبوكيركي في منصب المقرر الخاص. في هذا المنصب ، ستتمتع بسلطات معززة: بالإضافة إلى مساعدة الحكومات على تحديد نطاق ومضمون الحقوق ، يمكنها أن تتعاون مع الحكومات حول الشكاوى المقدمة من الأفراد والمجتمعات ومنظمات المجتمع المدني المعنية بشأن القضايا المتعلقة بالانتهاكات المحتملة والانتهاكات المحتملة لها. حق الإنسان في مياه الشرب المأمونة والصرف الصحي.

وعلاوة على ذلك ، ينص القرار صراحة على القائمة الكاملة للمعايير المتعلقة بحقوق الإنسان في المياه والصرف الصحي. هذه مذكورة أدناه:

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


يدعو إلى مطالبة حاكم ولاية كاليفورنيا بالتوقيع على قانون يعترف بحق الإنسان في الماء سبتمبر 23rd، 2009

مياه الشرب النقيةكتب أربعة كهنة في Oblate حاكم حاكم شوارزنيجر يحث على دعمه لـ AB 1242 ، قانون حقوق الإنسان في المياه من 2009. الكهنة وزير لبعض الأبرشية 12,000 في أبرشية لوس انجليس.

قال الكهنة "نعتقد أن الحصول على مياه آمنة ونظيفة وبأسعار معقولة هو حق من حقوق الإنسان ، ولا ينبغي حرمان أي شخص من هذا الحق بسبب فقره".

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace, and Integrity of Creation

A Ministry of the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate

United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » human right to water


Italian Constitutional Court Blocks the Privatization of Water July 23rd, 2012

In an important ruling, the Italian Constitutional Court has declared unconstitutional the privatization of water and local public services. In a ruling issued July 20, the Court ruled against Article 4 of the Decree Law 138 of August 13, 2011, by which, the Berlusconi government re-introduced the privatization of local public services. This ruling also blocks all subsequent amendments, including those of the Monti government.

The ruling strongly confirms the citizens’ will, expressed in the referendum of 12 and 13 June 2011. On those dates, a nationwide popular referendum was held in Italy on four questions, two of which concerned the privatization of water. Turnout was reported to be high, reaching 56.9%, with clear majorities of 94.6% to 96.1% in favor on all questions. The Vatican has come out strongly in favor of the human right to water, and opposed the efforts to privatize the vital resource. Cardinal Turkson, head of the Pontifical Council for Justice and Peace, said water distribution should be a service provided by governments to their citizens as part of their role in protecting the common good. 

 


Canada Declares Support for Human Right to Water May 31st, 2012

In a surprising turnaround, Canada bowed to years of national and international pressure, deciding at last to recognize the human right to water and sanitation.

The Council of Canadians, Canada’s largest social justice advocacy organization, has campaigned for more than a decade to ensure the human right to water, and posted this response to the announcement on their website:

As recently as last month, Canada was isolated in the Rio+20 negotiations as the only country to publicly claim there is no legal basis for the right and call for its deletion. This position was untenable, however, almost two years after the United Nations General Assembly passed a resolution recognizing the right (GA Res. A/64/292) followed by three subsequent confirming Human Rights Council resolutions.

Maude Barlow, National Chairperson of the Council of Canadians and a former UN Senior Advisor on Water to the President of the General Assembly, says, “It took unprecedented pressure to get this government to change its position, and the shift is a good thing, but words are not enough. We need actions, and the government’s actions directly contradict respect for the human right to water.”

The Council has consistently asked Canadian governments to show their commitment to water by implementing a national water act including a domestic plan of action on the human right to water. The Council of Canadians looks forward to the government providing a clear plan of what it intends to do to meet its international and domestic obligations with regard to the human right to water and sanitation.

 Learn more…


Threat to Water from Mining in Peru Mobilizes Masses February 5th, 2012

Thousands of Peruvians from the Amazon to Lima have mobilized against a serious threat to the water in the Cajamarca region of Peru. Residents there, mostly indigenous peoples, are deeply concerned about the threat to their water from a proposed mining development by the American company, Newmont Mining. Oblates in the US have engaged Newmont about the impact of their operations on communities where they have mining operations. The Yanacocha mine has been a priority in those conversations though the recent turmoil in the Cajamarca region is related to the proposed development of Minas Congas and extension of the Yanacocha project. The Oblates in Peru are supporting the March for Water that has been organized by civil society in the impacted areas.

The movement claims “the right to be consulted, to be respected and heard in decisions about its development model, for socially-just participation in economic growth, the prohibition of mining in the headwaters of rivers, and a stop to mining with cyanide and mercury that is causing so much damage to land and water.” The marchers are proclaiming their human right to water, and drawing support from churches and civil society alike in a several day march from Cajamarca to Lima. The Great National Water mobilization began on February 1st and will conclude with a convocation in Lima on February 9-10.

Read a full description of the mobilization (in English translation):

“SMALL STREAMS MAKE THE GREAT RIVER OF LIFE”: THE GREAT NATIONAL WATER MOBILIZATION”

Materials in Spanish are also available under News in the Spanish section of this website

 


Mandate for Special Rapporteur on Water and Sanitation Adopted by UN HR Council March 25th, 2011

Winnemem Wintu Chief and Spiritual Leader Caleen Sisk-Franco discusses her village's sewer system with the U.N. Independent Expert Catarina de Albuquerque.

The UN Human Rights Council passed a resolution this morning extending the mandate on the human right to safe water and sanitation for another three years, and changing the powers of the Independent Expert to that of a special rapporteur.

This is good news. The mandate will continue with Catarina de Albuquerque in the position of Special Rapporteur. In this position, she will have enhanced powers: in addition to assisting governments to define the scope and content of the rights, she can engage with governments about complaints from affected individuals, communities, and civil society organizations on issues related to and possible violations of the human right to safe drinking water and sanitation.

Furthermore, the resolution explicitly states the full list of criteria for the human rights to water and sanitation. These are listed below:

Click here to read more »


Oblates Call on California Governor to Sign Law Recognizing a Human Right to Water September 23rd, 2009

clean-drinking-waterFour Oblate priests in Los Angeles wrote Governor Schwarzenegger urging his support for AB 1242, the Human Right to Water Act of 2009. The priests minister to some 12,000 parishioners in the Archdiocese of Los Angeles.

The priests said “We believe that access to safe, affordable and clean water is a human right, and no one should be denied this right because of being poor.”

Click here to read more »

Return to Top