شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
جديدنا
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

أخبار الأعلاف

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الأخبار »حقوق الإنسان


مورد جديد: العقد في حقوق الإنسان في أمريكا اللاتينية ، 2010-2020 15 يناير، 2020

قام مكتب واشنطن في أمريكا اللاتينية (WOLA) الشريك لـ OMI JPIC بإعداد نظرة عامة على العديد من الاتجاهات المهمة في السياسات المتعلقة بحقوق الإنسان في الأمريكتين على مدار العقد الماضي ، مع التركيز على عكس بعض الأعمال المواضيعية لجهودنا في مجال البحث والدعوة. لا ينبغي تفسير غياب بعض القضايا أو البلدان على أنها تعليق على مستوى أهميتها.

شهد العقد الماضي نكسات وتطورات مهمة في الدفاع عن حقوق الإنسان في الأمريكتين. مستويات لا مثيل لها من العنف وانعدام الأمن في مناطق مثل أمريكا الوسطى. وقعت كولومبيا على اتفاق سلام تاريخي ، وتواجه الآن التحدي المتمثل في توطيد سلام شامل ودائم. ومن المكسيك إلى بيرو إلى غواتيمالا ، قاتل الناجون من الفظائع وأسر الضحايا بشجاعة ومرونة لبناء مستقبل قائم على احترام العدالة وسيادة القانون ".

انقر هنا للوصول إلى التقرير.


الإعلان العالمي لحقوق الإنسان @ 70 ديسمبر 10th، 2018

ديسمبر 10th هو 70th الذكرى السنوية للإعلان العالمي لحقوق الإنسان ، والأمم المتحدة تقود قادة العالم والمجتمع الدولي للاحتفال باعتماد هذه المجموعة من المبادئ (30 على الإطلاق) التي أنشئت لحماية الكرامة المتأصلة لكل إنسان .

من بين الأنشطة العديدة التي تجري في جميع أنحاء العالم ، ستقدم منظمة "الدفاع عن الحرية الدولية" الآلاف من التوقيعات من أكثر من دول 170 لدعم بيان جنيفالتي تحث المجتمع الدولي على دعم الحق الأساسي في الحياة والأسرة والحرية الدينية ، كما هو معترف به في الإعلان. ال بيان جنيف يدعو إلى التزامات جديدة من المجتمع الدولي.

تأسست الأمم المتحدة في أعقاب الحرب العالمية الثانية في 1945. كانت بعض الأهداف الرئيسية لتأسيس المنظمة على النحو المبين في ديباجة ميثاق الأمم المتحدة: "لمنع حدوث الفظائع في المستقبل بتأكيد الإيمان بحقوق الإنسان الأساسية ، وبكرامة الإنسان وقيمته ، والمساواة في الحقوق بين الرجال والنساء ، والأمم الكبيرة والصغيرة ، والالتزام بتعزيز مستوى حياة أفضل". حرية أكبر ". هذه حقوق الإنسان الأساسية كلها تم الحصول عليها في الإعلان العالمي لحقوق الإنسان (UDHR) ، الذي اعتمدته الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة في 10th ديسمبر 1948. يتم الاحتفال بهذا اليوم كل عام باعتباره اليوم العالمي لحقوق الإنسان.

تتأثر عقيدة حقوق الإنسان أيضًا بمبادئ التعاليم الاجتماعية الكاثوليكية - في المفهوم الأساسي لكرامة الإنسان. يحتوي الإعلان على العديد من العبارات من الكاثوليكية الاجتماعية في الوثائق. بعض الأمثلة مذكورة في كتاب 2001 ، عالم جديد: إليانور روزفلت والإعلان العالمي لحقوق الإنسان ، كتبه السفير الأمريكي السابق في الكرسي الرسولي ، ماري آن غليندون. يعتبر هذا الكتاب على نطاق واسع واحداً من التواريخ النهائية لوثيقة حقوق الإنسان. في حين يمكن العثور على الأفكار الكاثوليكية في الوثيقة ، تلاحظ الكاتبة ماري آن غليندون أنها مجرد "واحدة من مصادر التأثير الكثيرة على هذه الوثيقة متعددة الثقافات بشكل لافت للنظر".

ما زال ملائما اليوم كما كانت في 1948 ، وقد ترجم إعلان الأمم المتحدة لحقوق الإنسان إلى لغات 513 ، مما يجعلها الأكثر رمستند anslated في التاريخ.

اقرأ المزيد

: فيديو تاريخ الإعلان العالمي لحقوق الإنسان: https://bit.ly/2B9wnX2

مقالات قصيرة عن كل من مقالات 30 في الإعلان العالمي لحقوق الإنسان: https://bit.ly/2BFvDpg

اقرأ المزيد في أخبار الأمم المتحدة: https://news.un.org/en/story/2018/12/1027981

70 سنوات من التقدم في مجال حقوق الإنسان: https://www.humanrights70.org/#home


تقرير من جلسة مراجعة استراتيجية حقوق الإنسان / الاتجار بالبشر في ICCR يوليو 18th، 2018

الصورة مجاملة من مركز السلام والعدالة بين المجتمعات www.ipjc.org


بقلم كريستوفر كوكس
,
حملة موضوع الإنسان

قبل أسبوعين ، شاركت أنا وشركتي فرانك شيرمان في أسبوع إستراتيجية برنامج المسؤولية المشتركة بين المؤسسات (ICCR) المشترك بين الأديان. التقى مديرو البرامج مع مجموعات العمل الخاصة بهم في مدينة نيويورك لتقييم التقدم المحرز خلال العام الماضي ورسم مسار للأمام لموسم مشاركة الشركات 2018-19. سوف تلخص هذه المقالة دورة حقوق الإنسان / الاتجار بالبشر.

التقديرات تشير إلى ذلك يقع ضحايا 27 مليون ضحية للاتجار والاسترقاق كل عام وأنها تجارة عالمية تبلغ قيمتها $ 32 مليار دولار. ولكن بسبب الطبيعة السرية لهذه الجرائم وإحجام الضحايا عن الكلام لأنهم يعيشون في خوف من الانتقام المادي و / أو الترحيل ، فإن الاتجار والعبودية عادة ما يكون من الصعب كشفهما ومحاكمتهما. من خلال مجموعة العمل المعنية بحقوق الإنسان / الاتجار بالبشر (HR / HT) ، يسأل أعضاء المركز عن الشركات التي يمتلكونها لتبني سياسات حقوق الإنسان التي تعترف رسميًا بالاتجار بالبشر والرق ، وتدريب موظفيها ومورديها لحماية ضد هذه المخاطر في جميع أنحاء إمداداتها. السلاسل. توفر حقوق الإنسان مظلة لجميع جهود ICCR.

تحالف المستثمرين من أجل حقوق الإنسان (IAHR)

في اليوم السابق لجلستنا ، اجتمع التحالف أيضًا. سوف يستغرق الأمر بعض الوقت لتحديد الإجراء الذي يتوافق مع IAHR أو مع مجموعة عمل HR / HT حيث أن كلا المجموعتين معنية بالمشكلات التي تتداخل. التحالف لديه ثلاثة عناصر: مسؤوليات حقوق الإنسان الخاصة بالمستثمرين ، والعمل الجماعي ، ومشاركة أصحاب المصلحة المتعددين.

IAHR:

  • يعزز تنفيذ العناية الواجبة لحقوق الإنسان من قبل الشركات
  • يشجع على خلق بيئة مواتية للسلوك التجاري المسؤول من خلال التوعية ، وضع المعايير ، والتطوير التنظيمي - الدول ، المؤسسات متعددة الأطراف ، الأمم المتحدة ، بنوك التنمية ، وبطبيعة الحال ، المستثمرين.
  • يشجع الشركات المشاركة على تطوير وتعزيز الأنشطة والعمليات لتوفير العلاج
  • يبني الشراكات مع مجتمع الأعمال والمنظمات غير الحكومية والنقابات والمجتمعات المحلية وغيرها للاستفادة من هذا العمل

يبدو من المحتمل أن تركز IAHR ، هذا العام ، على قطاعات البنوك والتقنية من حيث صلتها بقضايا حقوق الإنسان البارزة. مرة أخرى ، سيستغرق الأمر بعض الوقت لتطوير التنسيق الضروري بين جهود IAHR والأفرقة العاملة للجنة.

اقرأ بقية المقال على الجيل السابع من تحالف الأديان من أجل الاستثمار المسؤول على الإنترنت.


سري لانكا كهنة ودينية في هيئة الأمم المتحدة: اعتماد آليات دولية للتصدي لجرائم حقوق الإنسان أكتوبر 6th، 2015

وحث مائة وسبعون كاهناً ودينيون من شمال وشرق سري لانكا مجلس حقوق الإنسان التابع للأمم المتحدة مؤخراً على تبني آليات دولية تعالج خطورة الجرائم المرتكبة ، وخصوصاً في المرحلة الأخيرة من الحرب في سريلانكا. الكتابة إلى المفوض السامي للأمم المتحدة لحقوق الإنسان ، قال الكهنة والدين ؛ "منذ نهاية النزاع المسلح لا تزال العديد من الأسباب الهيكلية للنزاع سليمة". وقد تم إقرار الرسالة وتوقيعها من قبل العديد من المبشرين التبشيريين وغيرهم من الكهنة والدين الكاثوليك.

o اقرأ الرسالة هنا: سري لانكا كهنة ودينية في هيئة الأمم المتحدة.

وفي الوقت نفسه ، أشاد نشطاء حقوق الإنسان والكنيسة في سريلانكا بقرار مجلس حقوق الإنسان التابع للأمم المتحدة (سبعة وأربعين دولة عضوأقرت في جنيف في أكتوبر 1 ، والتي من شأنها أن تسمح للقضاة والمدعين العامين الأجانب لمساعدة سريلانكا في محاكمة الأشخاص المتهمين بجرائم خطيرة خلال الحرب الأهلية وبعدها. يدعو قرار الأمم المتحدة إلى معاقبة المسؤولين عن جرائم الحرب. كما أنه يمهد الطريق أمام المساءلة والمصالحة في سري لانكا.

o المزيد الكنيسة ونشطاء حقوق الإنسان يشيدون بقرار الأمم المتحدة الخاص بسري لانكا.


الأسقف الأنجليكاني للكولومبو يدعم كاهنا يتعرض للهجوم من قبل مجموعة بوذية يمنية أغسطس 19th، 2014

04الأسقف الأنجليكاني في كولومبو ، القس ر. كاناغاسابي ، رفض اليوم مزاعم كاذبة ضد أحد قساسته - المدافع عن حقوق الإنسان الأب. M. Sathivel - من قبل الغوغاء بقيادة الرهبان البوذيين اليمينيين (Bodu بالا سينا) التي غزت مركز Oblate الذي تديره المجتمع والدين في أغسطس 4. أصدر الأسقف بيانًا ، "لا أتغاضى بأي شكل من الأشكال عن مثل هذا الإجراء ضد التجمع السلمي ، ويؤكد أسقفه أن القس م. ساثيفيل هو منذ فترة طويلة ورائد موثوق به لأبرشية كولومبو مع أكثر من 25 سنوات من الرعايا والعمل المجتمعي مع الوعي بالعدل والسلام ".

اقرأ البيان الكامل كملف PDF: بيان أسقف كولومبو الذي رفض مزاعم كاذبة ضد Fr Sathivel-18Aug2014

تعرف على المزيد حول مركز المجتمع والدين ، سري لانكا


غاضب الغوغاء يغزو التجمع من أسر المختفين في مركز Oblate في سري لانكا أغسطس 12th، 2014

safe_imageبعد ظهر يوم العاشر من شهر أغسطس / آب ، قامت مجموعة من الرهبان البوذيين مع عدد كبير من المدنيين والأفراد الإعلاميين بالوصول إلى اجتماع يستضيفه مركز Oblate للسلام والعدالة في كولومبو ، سريلانكا. كان الغوغاء عازمون على تعطيل اجتماع لعائلات المختفين الذين كانوا يجتمعون في المكان ليرويوا قصصهم لمجموعة من الكهنة والراهبات ونشطاء حقوق الإنسان وممثلين عن منظمات المجتمع المدني بالإضافة إلى البعثات الدبلوماسية. كان الهدف من الاجتماع هو تحديد الأساليب والاستراتيجيات لمساعدة أسر المفقودين في تحديد مكان أحبائهم. المركز ، الذي يقوده حاليًا كاهن أوبليت ، الاب. ساعد أشوك ستيفن ضحايا الحرب الأهلية لسنوات.

اقرأ المزيد على العنوان التالي: http://www.ucanews.com/news/sri-lankan-buddhists-up-in-arms-over-papal-visit/71654

وعلى الرغم من الطلبات المتكررة من المنظمين والحاضرين الدبلوماسيين ، فشلت الشرطة في تفريق الحشد ، ولكنها اقترحت أن يتم حل الاجتماع وأن يحضر ممثلون من كلا الطرفين تحقيقا في مركز الشرطة. الأب تقدم أشوك ستيفن ، مدير مكتب حماية الصحفيين ، بشكوى من التعدي الجنائي ضد البوذي الذي كان بإمكانه تحديد اسمه ، لكنه لا يعتقد أن أي شيء سيأتي منه. كانت العائلات الحاضرة ، التي شملت أطفالاً ، خائفة ، لكن الغوغاء ، الذين كانوا يصرخون بالاعتداء ويلتقطون صوراً للحاضرين.

بيانات حول الحادث من الأب أشوك ستيفن ، OMI و Fr روهان سيلفا ، OMI متاحة في الموقع الإلكتروني لمقاطعة كولومبو.

كما أصدر مؤتمر كبار المسؤولين الدينيين في سري لانكا بيانا أدان فيه الحادث. (تنزيل ملف PDF هنا)

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace & Integrity of Creation

Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate  United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » human rights


Universal Declaration of Human Rights @ 70 December 10th, 2018

December 10th is the 70th anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights (UDHR), and the United Nations is leading world leaders and the international community in celebrating the adoption of these set of principles (30 in all) that were established to safeguard the inherent dignity of every human being.

Among the many activities taking place around the world, the Alliance Defending Freedom International will deliver thousands of signatures from more than 170 countries in support of The Geneva Statement, which urges the international community to uphold the fundamental right to life, family, and religious freedom, as recognized by the declaration. The Geneva Statement calls for new commitments from the international community.

The United Nations was founded in the aftermath of WWII in 1945. Some of the principal objectives for founding the organization as outlined in the preamble of the UN Charter were; “to prevent the occurrence of future atrocities by affirming faith in fundamental human rights, in dignity and worth of the human person, in the equal rights of men and women, and of nations large and small and the commitment to promote better standard of life in larger freedom.” These fundamental human rights are all captured in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights (UDHR), which was adopted by the UN General Assembly on 10th December 1948. This day is observed every year as the International Human Rights Day.

The human rights doctrine is also influenced by tenets of Catholic Social Teaching – in the basic concept of human dignity. The Declaration has many phrases from Catholic Social in the documents. Some of examples are outlined in a 2001 book, A World Made New: Eleanor Roosevelt and the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, written by former U.S. Ambassador to the Holy See, Mary Ann Glendon. This book is widely considered one of the definitive histories of the human rights document. While Catholic ideas can be found in the document, author Mary Ann Glendon notes that it is just “one of many sources of influence on this impressively multicultural document.”

Still relevant today as they were in 1948, the UN Declaration of Human Rights has been translated into 513 languages, making it the most translated document in history.

LEARN MORE

Video: History of the UDHR: https://bit.ly/2B9wnX2

Short articles on each of the 30 Articles of the UDHR: https://bit.ly/2BFvDpg

Read more at UN News: https://news.un.org/en/story/2018/12/1027981

70 years of progress on Human Rights: https://www.humanrights70.org/#home

 


Report From ICCR’s Human Rights/Human Trafficking Strategic Review Session July 18th, 2018

Photo courtesy of Intercommunity Peace & Justice Center www.ipjc.org 


By Christopher Cox
Human Thread Campaign

Two weeks ago, Frank Sherman and I participated in the Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility (ICCR) Program Strategy Week. The Program Directors met with their Work groups in NYC to evaluate the progress over the past year and chart out a path forward for the 2018-19 corporate engagement season. This article will summarize the human rights/human trafficking session.

Estimates indicate that 27 million victims fall prey to trafficking and slavery each year and that it is a global trade valued at $32 billion dollars. But due to the clandestine nature of these crimes and the reluctance of victims to speak out because they live in fear of physical retribution and/or deportation, trafficking and slavery are typically very difficult to uncover and prosecute. Through the Human Rights/Human Trafficking (HR/HT) Work Group, ICCR members ask the companies they hold to adopt human rights policies that formally recognize human trafficking and slavery and to train their personnel and their suppliers to safeguard against these risks throughout their supply chains. Human rights provides an umbrella for all ICCR efforts.

Investor Alliance for Human Rights (IAHR)

The day prior to our session, the Alliance met as well. It will take some time to define action that corresponds to IAHR or to the HR/HT work group as both groups are concerned with issues that overlapThe Alliance has three components: Human rights responsibilities of investors, collective action, and multi-stakeholder engagement.

The IAHR:

  • Promotes implementation of human rights due diligence by companies
  • Encourages the creation of enabling environment for responsible business conduct through awareness raising, standard setting, and regulatory development – states, multi-lateral institutions, the UN, development banks and, of course, investors
  • Encourages engaged companies to develop and strengthen activities and process to provide remedy
  • Builds partnerships with business community, NGOs, trade unions, local communities and others to leverage this work

It seems likely that the IAHR will focus, this year, on Banking and Tech sectors as it relates to salient human rights issues. Again, it will take some time to develop the necessary coordination between the efforts of IAHR and ICCR working groups.

Read the rest of the article at Seventh Generation Interfaith Coalition for Responsible Investing’s website.

 


Sri Lanka Priests and Religious to UN Body: Adopt International Mechanisms to Address Human Rights Crimes October 6th, 2015

One hundred seventy priests and Religious from North and East of Sri Lanka recently urged the United Nations Human Rights Council to adopt international mechanisms that address the gravity of crimes committed, especially committed in the last phase of war in Sri Lanka.  Writing to the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights, priests and Religious said; “Since the end of the armed conflict many of the structural causes of the conflict remain intact.” The letter was endorsed and signed by several Missionary Oblates and other Catholic priests and religious.

o   Read the letter here: Sri Lanka Priests and Religious to UN body.

Meanwhile Church and human rights activists in Sri Lanka have applauded a resolution the UN Human Rights Council (forty-seven member nation body) approved in Geneva on October 1, that would allow foreign judges and prosecutors to help Sri Lanka try people accused of serious crimes during and after the civil war. The U.N resolution calls for punishment of those responsible for war crimes. It also paves the way for accountability and reconciliation in Sri Lanka.

o   Read more Church & Human Rights Activists applaud in UN Resolution on Sri Lanka


Anglican Bishop of Colombo Supports Priest Attacked by Right-wing Buddhist Group August 19th, 2014

04The Anglican Bishop of Colombo, Rev. R. Canagasabey, today rejected as false, allegations against one of his priests – human rights defender Fr. M. Sathivel – by a mob led by right-wing Buddhist monks (Bodu Bala Sena) which invaded the Oblate-run Center for Society and Religion on August 4. Issuing a statement, the Bishop said,”I do not in any way condone such action against a peaceful gathering and as his Bishop affirm that Rev. M. Sathivel is a long standing and a credible Priest of the Diocese of Colombo with over 25 years of parish and community work with a justice and peace consciousness.”

Read the full statement as a PDF: Bishop of Colombo statement rejecting false allegations against Fr Sathivel-18Aug2014

Learn more about the Centre for Society and Religion, Sri Lanka


Angry Mob Invades Assembly of Families of Disappeared at Oblate Center in Sri Lanka August 12th, 2014

safe_imageOn the afternoon of August 4th, a group of Buddhist monks with a large number of civilians and media personnel forced their way into a meeting being hosted by the Oblate Centre for Peace and Justice in Colombo, Sri Lanka. The mob was intent on disrupting a meeting of families of the disappeared that were meeting in the place to tell their stories to an assembled group of priests, nuns, human rights activists, and representatives of civil society organizations as well as of diplomatic missions. The aim of the meeting was to pinpoint methods and strategies for helping the families of missing people locate their loved ones. The center, which is currently led by Oblate priest, Fr. Ashok Stephen, has been helping civil war victims for years.

Read more at: http://www.ucanews.com/news/sri-lankan-buddhists-up-in-arms-over-papal-visit/71654

Despite repeated requests from the organizers and the diplomatic corp present, the police failed to disperse the mob, but suggested rather that the meeting be disbanded and representatives from both parties attend an inquiry at the police station. Fr. Ashok Stephen, OMI, Director of the CPJ, filed a complaint of criminal trespass against the one Buddhist whose name he was able to determine, but does not think anything will come of it. The families present, which included children, were frightened but the mob, which shouted abuse and took photographs of those present.

Statements on the incident from Fr Ashok Stephen, OMI and Fr Rohan Silva, OMI are available on the website of the Colombo Province.

The Conference of Major Religious Superiors of Sri Lanka have also issued a statement condemning the incident. (Download PDF here)

 

 


California Death Penalty Ruled Unconstitutional July 20th, 2014

An eye for an eye makes the whole world blind...

An eye for an eye makes the whole world blind…

On July 16, a federal judge in California ruled that the state’s death penalty is unconstitutional, based on the lengthy delays involved in executions. The Judge ruled that the “arbitrariness” and “unpredictability” with which the death penalty is carried out violates the constitution’s ban on “cruel and unusual” punishment.

Faith groups and Organizations supporting abolition of death penalty are now starting to assess all the implications of this ruling. The decision is not likely to lead to immediate changes regarding the death penalty in California, as there have been no executions there since 2006. If the State appeals though, the question of whether, and when, problems with a state’s death penalty system can render it unconstitutional will then be decided by a federal appeals court in San Francisco. A ruling from that court (the 9th US Circuit Court of Appeals) in favor of this recent opinion would affect the death penalty in states throughout the west.

The OMI JPIC office will share with you the legal implications arising from this ruling on the death penalty in California, as well as action alerts from the California Catholic Bishops Conference.

The Bishops in California were strong supporters of Proposition 34 to end the use of the death penalty in California. Proposition 34 was defeated as a ballot initiative in 2012.

More information here: California Death Penalty Unconstitutional

Return to Top