شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
جديدنا
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

أخبار الأعلاف

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الأخبار »الأزمة الإنسانية


سريلانكا: لا تسترخ في قصف الجيش للمدنيين مسيرة 25th، 2009

نمور التاميل غير راغبين في إطلاق سراحهم على 150,000 الناس

ذكرت منظمة هيومن رايتس ووتش اليوم الثلاثاء نقلاً عن معلومات جديدة أن الجيش السريلانكي يقصف على الرغم من نفي الحكومة منطقة "عدم إطلاق النار" في شمال سريلانكا حيث يحاصر آلاف من نمور تحرير تاميل إيلام. من المنطقة. وبحسب ما ورد قُتل أكثر من مدنيين من 2,700 خلال الشهرين الماضيين ، وارتفع عدد الضحايا يوميًا.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


الولايات المتحدة تعرب عن قلقها العميق إزاء الوضع الإنساني في سري لانكا مسيرة 14th، 2009

أصدرت وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية بيانًا في مارس 13 يعبر فيه عن "القلق العميق إزاء الأوضاع المتدهورة وتزايد الخسائر في الأرواح في" المنطقة الآمنة "التي حددتها حكومة سريلانكا في شمال سريلانكا". في مكالمة هاتفية مع الرئيس راجاباكسا ، السكرتير وقالت كلينتون "إن الجيش السريلانكي يجب ألا يطلق النار على المناطق المدنية في منطقة النزاع. وقدمت وزيرة الخارجية مساعدات إعادة الإعمار الفورية وما بعد الصراع وقدمت تعازيها لضحايا تفجير مارس 10 خارج مسجد في جنوب سريلانكا. وأدانت أعمال حركة نمور تحرير تاميل إيلام ، التي يقال إنها تحتجز المدنيين كدروع بشرية ، وأن تطلق النار على المدنيين الذين يغادرون مناطق سيطرة حركة نمور تحرير تاميل إيلام. "

دعت الوزيرة كلينتون الرئيس راجاباكسا إلى ابتكار حل سياسي للصراع الدائر. كما حثت الرئيس على منح منظمات الإغاثة الإنسانية الدولية إمكانية الوصول الكامل إلى منطقة النزاع ومخيمات الأشخاص المشردين ، بما في ذلك مراكز الفحص. "

ووفقًا للبيان ، "تعتقد الولايات المتحدة أن السلام الدائم والدائم لن يتحقق إلا من خلال حل سياسي يتعامل مع التطلعات المشروعة لجميع مجتمعات سريلانكا". وتدعو الولايات المتحدة الحكومة السريلانكية إلى "تقديم اقتراح الآن لإشراك التاميل الذين لا يعتنقون العنف أو الإرهاب ، ووضع ترتيبات تقاسم السلطة حتى يمكن تحقيق السلام الدائم والمصالحة ".

وزارة الخارجية. بيان صحفي (تنزيل ملف PDF)


ممثلو الولايات المتحدة يضغطون على وزارة الخارجية لبذل المزيد في سريلانكا لحماية المدنيين مسيرة 12th، 2009

أرسل ثمانية وثلاثون من أعضاء مجلس النواب رسالة إلى وزيرة الخارجية كلينتون تدعو إلى قيادة نشطة لحماية المدنيين في الصراع والضغط على GOSL للسماح لعمال الإغاثة والصحفيين بالدخول إلى منطقة النزاع من أجل تلبية احتياجاتهم. وأرسلت رسالة مماثلة إلى سوزان رايس ، الممثلة الدائمة للولايات المتحدة لدى الأمم المتحدة.

اقرأ الرسالة إلى الوزيرة كلينتون (تنزيل ملف PDF)

اقرأ الرسالة إلى السفير رايس (تنزيل PDF)


السيناتور كيسي يعبر عن الانزعاج من الأزمة الإنسانية في سريلانكا مسيرة 11th، 2009

في خطاب نظمه السيناتور الأمريكي بوب كيسي (D-PA) ، كتب سبعة أعضاء في مجلس الشيوخ الأمريكي رسالة إلى وزيرة الخارجية هيلاري رودهام كلينتون في مارس 11 مع مخاوفهم الحادة من الأزمة الإنسانية المتصاعدة في سريلانكا. ما زال العديد من المدنيين 330,000 محاصرين في منطقة من القتال العنيف بين القوات الحكومية السريلانكية وجبهة نمور تحرير تاميل ايلام (نمور تحرير تاميل ايلام).

وكتب أعضاء مجلس الشيوخ "الوضع في سريلانكا غير مقبول ويجب معالجته بأسرع وقت ممكن."

استمر أعضاء مجلس الشيوخ في الكتابة ، "لا يمكن تحقيق سلام دائم إلا من خلال حل سياسي يعامل الأقلية التاميلية كمواطنين متساوين بموجب القانون. بدون هذا الاتفاق ، فإن العنف سيستمر فقط ".

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


السيناتور ليهي يدعو كلا الجانبين في نزاع سريلانكا لاحترام حقوق المدنيين 12 فبراير، 2009

أصدر السناتور ليهي بيانا هاما للحكومة و جبهة نمور تحرير تاميل إيلام في الحرب الأهلية المستمرة في سريلانكا. بالتفصيل تصرفات الجانبين التي تتسبب في معاناة لا توصف للشعب ، يدعو السيناتور ليهي إلى وقف فوري لإطلاق النار ، والحاجة إلى معالجة الحكومة ، "في المفاوضات التي تشمل جميع أحزاب التاميل والمسلمين الرئيسية ، والقضايا الأساسية التي غذت الصراع بما في ذلك القوانين والسياسات التي تميز بشكل غير عادل ضد الأقليات في سريلانكا ".

اقرأ الرسالة (تنزيل PDF)

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace, and Integrity of Creation

A Ministry of the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate

United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » humanitarian crisis


Sri Lanka: No Let-Up in Army Shelling of Civilians March 25th, 2009

Tamil Tigers Unwilling to Release Their Hold on 150,000 People

The Sri Lankan army, despite government denials, is indiscriminately shelling the “no-fire zone” in northern Sri Lanka where thousands of civilians are trapped by the Liberation Tigers of Tamil Eelam (LTTE), Human Rights Watch said on Tuesday, citing new information from the region. More than 2,700 civilians have reportedly been killed over the last two months, and the number of casualties rises daily.

Click here to read more »


US Expresses Deep Concern about Humanitarian Situation in Sri Lanka March 14th, 2009

The US State Department issued a statement on March 13 expressing “deep concern over the deteriorating conditions and increasing loss of life occurring in the Government of Sri Lanka‐designated “safe zone” in northern Sri Lanka.” In a call to President Rajapaksa, Secretary Clinton “stated that the Sri Lankan Army should not fire into the civilian areas of the conflict zone. The Secretary offered immediate and post‐conflict reconstruction assistance and she extended condolences to the victims of the March 10 bombing outside a mosque in southern Sri Lanka. She condemned the actions of the Liberation Tigers of Tamil Eelam (LTTE) who are reported to be holding civilians as human shields, and to have shot at civilians leaving LTTE areas of control.”

Secretary Clinton called on President Rajapaksa to devise a political solution to the ongoing conflict. She further urged the President to give international humanitarian relief organizations full access to the conflict area and displaced persons camps, including screening centers.”

According to the Statement, “The United States believes that a durable and lasting peace will only be achieved through a political solution that addresses the legitimate aspirations of all of Sri Lanka’s communities.” The US calls on the Sri Lankan Government “to put forward a proposal now to engage Tamils who do not espouse violence or terrorism, and to develop power sharing arrangements so that lasting peace and reconciliation can be achieved.”

State Dept.  Press Release  (Download PDF)


US Representatives Press the State Department to do more in Sri Lanka to Protect Civilians March 12th, 2009

Thirty-eight members of the House of Representatives sent a letter to Secretary of State Clinton calling for active leadership to protect civilians in the conflict and to press the GOSL to allow aid workers and journalists into the conflict area to minister to their needs. A similar letter was sent to Susan Rice, Permanent Representative of the United States to the United Nations.

Read the letter to Secretary Clinton (Download PDF)

Read the letter to Ambassador Rice (Download PDF)


Senator Casey Expresses Alarm Over Humanitarian Crisis in Sri Lanka March 11th, 2009

In a letter organized by U.S. Senator Bob Casey (D-PA), seven U.S. Senators wrote a letter to Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton on March 11 with their acute concerns over the escalating humanitarian crisis in Sri Lanka. As many as 330,000 civilians remain trapped in an area of intense combat between Sri Lankan government forces and the Liberation Tigers of Tamil Eelam (LTTE).

“The situation in Sri Lanka is unacceptable and must be remedied as quickly as possible,” the Senators wrote.

The Senators went on to write, “An enduring peace can be achieved only through a political solution that treats the Tamil minority as equal citizens under the law. Without such an agreement, the violence will only continue.”

Click here to read more »


Senator Leahy Calls for Both Sides in the Sri Lanka Conflict to Respect the Rights of Civilians February 12th, 2009

Senator Leahy has issued an important statement to the government and the LTTE in the on-going civil war in Sri Lanka. Detailing the actions of both sides that are causing untold suffering to the people, Senator Leahy calls for an immediate cease-fire, and the need for the government to address, “in negotiations which include all the main Tamil and Muslim parties, the core issues that have fueled the conflict including laws and policies that unfairly discriminate against Sri Lanka’s minorities.”

Read the letter (Download PDF)

Return to Top