شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر  الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
المدونة
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

آخر الأخبار

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث مقاطع الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الأخبار »imf


مهمة شبكة Jubilee USA لا تزال حرجة 15 أبريل، 2020

في الوقت الذي تجتمع فيه الكتل التجارية والمؤسسات المالية الكبرى في العالم خلال الأيام القليلة المقبلة للتعامل مع أزمة فيروس كورونا المتنامي ، تحثها العديد من أكبر المؤسسات الدينية على حماية فقراء العالم من خلال توفير إعفاء من الديون وموارد إضافية.

في الأيام الأخيرة ، انضمت OMI JPIC إلى 80 مؤسسة دينية وتجمعات وشركاء في رسالة نظمتها شبكة Jubilee USA لمواجهة أزمة فيروس كورونا. تم تسليم الرسالة إلى البيت الأبيض ومجموعة العشرين وصندوق النقد الدولي.

ينضم الموقعون على الرسالة إلى نداءات البابا فرانسيس والأساقفة الكاثوليك الأمريكيين و 165 من قادة العالم الذين يشجعون موارد إضافية ومساعدات وتخفيف عبء الديون لضمان قدرة جميع البلدان على تحمل الأزمة.

على صعيد إيجابي ، وافق صندوق النقد الدولي في وقت سابق من هذا الأسبوع على 500 مليون دولار لإلغاء ستة أشهر من سداد ديون 25 دولة من أفقر دول العالم: أفغانستان ، بنين ، بوركينا فاسو ، جمهورية إفريقيا الوسطى ، تشاد ، جزر القمر ، جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية. الكونغو ، وغامبيا ، وغينيا ، وغينيا - بيساو ، وهايتي ، وليبيريا ، ومدغشقر ، وملاوي ، ومالي ، وموزامبيق ، ونيبال ، والنيجر ، ورواندا ، وساو تومي وبرينسيبي ، وسيراليون ، وجزر سليمان ، وطاجيكستان ، وتوغو ، واليمن.

وبينما يشيد بهذه الخطوة ، يدفع إريك ليكومبت ، المدير التنفيذي لشبكة Jubilee USA Network ، بتوسيع هذه القائمة لتشمل المزيد من البلدان حيث يعيش الناس في فقر مدقع.

وردًا أيضًا على أحداث هذا الأسبوع ، الأب. لاحظ سيموس فين ، OMI ، مدير شركة Missionary Oblates JPIC ، أن "سلاسل المديونية المالية سجنت الملايين حول العالم لسنوات عديدة. نحن بحاجة إلى مواصلة الضغط بشأن هذه القضية الحاسمة التي تجنبناها باستمرار على مدى عقود ". ويضيف: "قد توفر لنا هذه الأزمة سيناريو" لا خيار آخر "لأننا ندرك أننا جميعًا في هذا معًا".

كان الارساليات التبشيرية مؤسسين ليوبيل الولايات المتحدة وكانوا أعضاء نشطين على مر السنين.

اقرأ المزيد عن الإجراءات الأخيرة لشبكة Jubilee USA Network بواسطة زيارة موقعه على الانترنت


شبكة Jubilee USA تطلب من صندوق النقد الدولي دعم الرعاية الصحية لأشد الناس فقراً في العالم مسيرة 25th، 2020

إجراءات صندوق النقد الدولي التاجية: حماية الضعفاء ومنع الأزمات المالية

الأصدقاء،

يؤثر الفيروس التاجي علينا جميعًا.

عائلتي وجميعنا في Jubilee USA يمسكون بك وعالمنا في الصلاة. نرجو أن تبقينا ومهمتنا الحيوية في أفكارك وصلواتك كذلك.

بينما يقتل الفيروس التاجي حياة ، ويؤثر على الأسواق ، ويؤثر على الرعاية الصحية ويؤدي إلى أزمة مالية عالمية محتملة - هل ستوقع عريضة صندوق النقد الدولي العاجلة لإلغاء الديون وتوسيع المساعدة لتعزيز الرعاية الصحية للبلدان المتضررة من Covid-19؟

عندما تقوم بالتوقيع على عريضتنا ، فإنك تحث على اتخاذ إجراءات يمكن أن تحمينا جميعًا من الأزمة المالية ، ورفع المستضعفين وضمان ظهور عالمنا ليكون أكثر مرونة في مواجهة هذا الوباء.

بسبب عملنا معًا ، أنشأنا عمليات عالمية لتعزيز الرعاية الصحية في العالم النامي عندما تنتشر الكوارث وتنتشر الأمراض الفتاكة. قبل عشر سنوات ، عندما أهلكت الزلازل هايتي ، انتقلنا إلى صندوق النقد الدولي لإيجاد عملية لتخفيف ديون هايتي وتعزيز أنظمة الصحة والتعليم في هايتي. في عام 2014 ، حيث دمر وباء الإيبولا غينيا وليبيريا وسيراليون ، نجحنا في تحويل عملية صندوق النقد الدولي. أنشأ صندوق الاحتواء والإغاثة من الكارثة منح رعاية صحية مبتكرة ، وتخفيف عبء الديون ومئات الملايين من الدولارات لمكافحة فيروس إيبولا ووضع عيادات أفضل.

قالت رئيسة صندوق النقد الدولي أمس لمجموعة العشرين أنها تريد زيادة قدرة عملية الإغاثة من الكارثة التي يمكن أن تساعد البلدان الفقيرة على مواجهة الآثار الصحية والاقتصادية للفيروس التاجي.

هذه اخبار مرحب بها

الآن نحن بحاجة لمساعدتكم لضمان وصول المزيد من البلدان إلى هذا وعمليات صندوق النقد الدولي الأخرى التي تقدم المساعدة ، وتلغي الديون وتساعد عالمنا على التخفيف من الآثار الاقتصادية والصحية للفيروس التاجي. تطالب عريضتنا بوقف سداد الديون بينما تحارب الدول الفيروس التاجي وتأثيراته الاقتصادية.

وبالأمس - شجع رئيس البنك الدولي مجموعة العشرين على وقف سداد ديون البلدان شديدة الفقر.

دعا وزراء المالية الأفارقة إلى تعليق مدفوعات الديون لتحرير 44 مليار دولار لمكافحة Covid-19. كما طالب كونغرس الإكوادور حكومتها بالتوقف عن سداد الديون.

يوم الاثنين ، كتبت قيادة يوبيل الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية رئيس صندوق النقد الدولي وحثت:

  • تعزيز الرعاية الصحية في البلدان النامية المتأثرة بـ Covid-19 من خلال زيادة تخفيف عبء الديون والمساعدات من خلال صندوق احتواء الكوارث والإغاثة والعمليات الموسعة الأخرى

  • تعبئة موارد تمويل إضافية لدعم جميع البلدان المتأثرة بالآثار الاقتصادية والصحية لفيروس كورون

  • تعزيز إعادة هيكلة الديون ، وإصدار الوقف الاختياري لسداد الديون ، وإنشاء عمليات سريعة لإعادة تصميم الديون للبلدان المتأثرة بفيروس كورونا

  • تقديم المشورة للبلدان للخروج من الأزمة بمزيد من المرونة من خلال تشجيع السياسات والاتفاقات لزيادة حماية الضعفاء ، وغرس قدر أكبر من الشفافية في الميزانية العامة ، وتنفيذ الأزمات المالية وحماية السوق ، وتعزيز الإقراض والاقتراض المسؤولين والحد من الفساد والتهرب الضريبي

 ذكرت اللجنة التنفيذية في Jubilee USA ، القس ستيف هيردر ، سيليست دريك ، الحاخام ماثيو كاتلر ، القس أنيدي أوكيور وأنا في رسالتنا إلى رئيس صندوق النقد الدولي:

تحذر التوقعات الاقتصادية من أن الأزمة المالية المحتملة أو الكساد الناجم عن فيروس كورونا قد يكون أسوأ من الأزمة المالية لعام 2008. ودُفع ما يقرب من 100 مليون شخص ، معظمهم من النساء والأطفال ، إلى براثن الفقر المدقع وفقد 22 مليون وظيفة في جميع أنحاء العالم في أزمة عام 2008. تقول منظمة العمل الدولية إن عدد الوظائف المفقودة يمكن أن يتجاوز 50 مليونًا نتيجة لأزمة مالية جديدة وأعمق ... يمكن للاستجابة المصممة جيدًا والمنسقة عالميًا من المجتمع الدولي أن تقطع شوطًا طويلاً لمنع وتخفيف آثار أزمة Covid-19 ودفعنا نحو مسار التعافي ".

يرجى الانضمام إلينا الآن وحث صندوق النقد الدولي على اتخاذ إجراءات.

في الأيام والأسابيع المقبلة ، ستقدم شركة Jubilee USA المزيد من التحليل والتوصيات لصناع القرار الأمريكيين والدوليين. نحن نعتمد عليك أكثر من أي وقت مضى لاتخاذ إجراءات والانضمام إلى حملاتنا.

مع انضمام أصواتنا معًا ، يمكننا التعافي من هذه اللحظة وبناء مجتمع عالمي أكثر مرونة.

على امل،

إريك لي كومبت


صندوق النقد الدولي يصدر خططًا لوقف صناديق التحوّط التحوّطية أكتوبر 6th، 2014

vulturemanأصدر صندوق النقد الدولي (IMF) مقترحات جديدة لمنع صناديق التحوط المفترسة والمستثمرين المحتجزين من منع إعادة هيكلة الديون. وتقترح الورقة سلسلة من الإصلاحات لعقود الديون ، بما في ذلك بنود العمل الجماعي المعززة وتعديل شرط المنفعة الذي تستخدمه صناديق التحوط التي لا تزال قيد التحكيم في مقاضاة الأرجنتين.

صرح إريك ليكومبت ، المدير التنفيذي للتحالف الديني لمكافحة الفقر ، شبكة Jubilee USA Network: "في أعقاب إعادة هيكلة الديون في الأرجنتين واليونان ، يشعر صندوق النقد الدولي بقلق بالغ إزاء الصناديق الانتهازية". يدافع صندوق النقد الدولي عن نهج السوق ، لكننا نحتاج أيضًا إلى نهج قانوني. نحن بحاجة إلى تغيير كل من العقود والقوانين ".

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


ورقة صندوق النقد الدولي: تجنب الضرائب على الشركات يضر بالاقتصاد العالمي والدول الفقيرة 25 يونيو، 2014

يوم الضرائبأصدر صندوق النقد الدولي (IMF) ورقة عمل تشير إلى أن تجنب ضرائب الشركات يؤثر سلبًا على جميع الاقتصادات ، ولكنه يضر بالدول النامية أكثر من غيره. يأتي إصدار صندوق النقد الدولي في الوقت الذي تسعى فيه مجموعة العشرين ومنظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية وهيئات الأمم المتحدة إلى إيجاد وسائل لتقليل التهرب الضريبي على الشركات.

صرح إريك ليكومبت ، المدير التنفيذي للمجموعة الدينية لمكافحة الفقر ، شبكة Jubilee USA Network: "يخسر العالم النامي في التهرب الضريبي للشركات أكثر مما يتلقاها من مساعدات من الدول المتقدمة". "تظهر الورقة أنه عندما تحول الشركات متعددة الجنسيات أرباحها إلى بلد آخر لدفع ضرائب أقل ، فإننا نرى مستويات أعلى من عدم المساواة العالمية."

ورقة صندوق النقد الدولي بعنوان "الآثار غير المباشرة في ضرائب الشركات الدولية". "التداعيات" هي تأثير سياسات دولة ما على دولة أخرى. من خلال تحويل الأرباح إلى البلدان ذات المعدلات الضريبية المنخفضة (التي يطلق عليها غالبًا "الملاذات الضريبية") ، تتجنب الشركات دفع ضرائبها في البلدان التي تحقق فيها هذه الأرباح. تشير الورقة إلى أن هذه مشكلة كبيرة بشكل خاص في البلدان النامية ، التي تحتاج إلى ضرائب على الشركات لتمويل الخدمات الاجتماعية. تجادل الورقة بأن "العديد من البلدان النامية ... بحاجة إلى حماية أفضل ضد تجنب الضرائب على مكاسب رأس المال على الموارد الطبيعية".

وأشار LeCompte إلى أن "هذه" الآثار غير المباشرة "أشبه بالفيضان". "مقابل كل دولار واحد تحصل عليه البلدان الفقيرة في شكل مساعدات رسمية ، يخرج ما يقرب من 1 دولارات بسبب الفساد والتهرب الضريبي"

اقرأ ورقة صندوق النقد الدولي.

 

بفضل اليوبيل الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية لهذه المعلومات.

 


تحالف واسع النطاق لخبراء السياسة يحث الكونغرس على تمرير إصلاحات صندوق النقد الدولي مسيرة 11th، 2014

اقتصاد أوكرانيا والقيادة الأمريكية على المحك

0013729e42ea0b75991708ألقى خبراء سياسة 190 وقادة الأعمال والقادة الأكاديميون والمعينون السابقون المعتمدون في مجلس الشيوخ والذين تولوا مسؤوليات إشرافية لمنظمات مثل صندوق النقد الدولي (IMF) والبنك الدولي أمس رسالة موحدة إلى الكونجرس: سرعان ما يسنّون تشريع إصلاح الحصص لدى صندوق النقد الدولي. الأب سيموس الفنلندي ، OMI وقعت على الرسالة نيابة عن مبان مملوءة مريم الطاهرة. وقد دعمت Oblates منذ فترة طويلة قواعد جديدة للتمويل العالميالذي يعمل لإصلاحات أساسية في صندوق النقد الدولي.

تأتي رسالة الحزبين الجمهوري والديمقراطي ذات القاعدة العريضة إلى رئيسة مجلس النواب بوينر وأغلبية الزعيم ريد في وقت يدرس فيه الكونغرس حزمة مساعدات طارئة ثنائية بقيمة عشرة ملايين دولار لأوكرانيا لمساعدة البلاد على استقرار اقتصادها أثناء الأزمة مع روسيا. عرض رئيس لجنة العلاقات الخارجية في مجلس الشيوخ روبرت مينينديز (D-NJ) وعضو الترتيب بوب كوركر (R-TN) البصيرة والقيادة المشتركة للرد بقوة على الأزمة الأوكرانية من خلال تقديم مشروع قانون الإغاثة في أوكرانيا ، والذي يتضمن تشريع إصلاح حصص صندوق النقد الدولي. وتسعى أوكرانيا أيضا للحصول على مساعدة صندوق النقد الدولي مباشرة.

وكلاء وزارة الخزانة ، تيم آدامز ، وديفيد ماكورميك ، وديفيد مولفورد ، وجيفري شيفر ، وخمسة مديرين تنفيذيين في صندوق النقد الدولي خدموا في ظل الإدارات الجمهورية ، من بين كبار المسؤولين الحكوميين السابقين الآخرين ، يدعمون قانون إصلاح صندوق النقد الدولي. لقد لعب صندوق النقد الدولي دوراً حاسماً في النهج العالمي للأزمات المالية الأخيرة وفي توجيه الاقتصاد العالمي من خلال التهديدات الشديدة. بينما الولايات المتحدة على طريق الانتعاش ، لا تزال التهديدات… وقد تمت دعوة صندوق النقد الدولي لدعم الإصلاح في أوكرانيا. في مثل هذه الأوقات ، يكون إنشاء صندوق النقد الدولي المعزز والإصلاح مالياً في مصلحة الولايات المتحدة ".

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


تعود أرباح بيع الذهب في صندوق النقد الدولي على الفقراء في العالم أكتوبر 1st، 2012

Jubilee USA Supporters Picket the IMF

وافق المجلس التنفيذي لصندوق النقد الدولي على مبلغ 2.7 مليار دولار النهائي من أرباح بيع الذهب الأخيرة لدعم أفقر دول العالم. وصل إجمالي المكاسب المفاجئة من مبيعات الذهب الآن إلى ما يقرب من 4 مليارات دولار لفائدة الفئات الأكثر ضعفاً. قررت واحدة من أقوى المؤسسات في العالم الطريق الصحيح لأن الناس العاديين اهتموا - وتصرفوا.

في البداية ، اعترف صندوق النقد الدولي بالكاد بالربح وافترض أنه يمكن أن يظل في احتياطياته العامة. تسربت كلمة حول عمليات تجديد رئيسية محتملة لمساحة مكتب صندوق النقد الدولي في واشنطن العاصمة.

ردا على ذلك ، قدمت Jubilee USA ، التي تنتمي إليها منظمة Oblates ، عشرات الآلاف من الالتماسات ونظمت شركاء 60 العالميين لدفع صندوق النقد الدولي نحو تخفيف الديون. في نهاية شهر فبراير (2012) ، اتخذ مجلس صندوق النقد الدولي قرارًا بشأن أول توزيع لـ 1.1 مليار دولار بعد Jubilee ، وحملة ONE ، و ActionAid ، و Oxfam International ، التقوا مع موظفي صندوق النقد الدولي.

دفعت هذه الجهود صندوق النقد الدولي إلى الموافقة على توزيع 1.1 مليار دولار الأول والثاني توزيع 2.7 مليار دولار لدعم الإقراض الميسر في صندوق استئصال الفقر والنمو (PRGT) وتمديد نسبة الفائدة 0٪ التي ستجعل هذه الثقة متاحة للأجيال القادمة بعد 2014. في حين أن الكثير منا لديهم مخاوف بشأن الإقراض من صندوق النقد الدولي ، فإن هذا التمديد على القروض الحالية سيعني زيادة حقيقية لملايين الأشخاص ويترجم إلى دعم مباشر للبلدان منخفضة الدخل.

لمزيد من المعلومات حول Jubilee USA ، يرجى زيارة موقع الويب الخاص بهم - والتورط! اذهب إلى: www.jubileeusa.org

 

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace & Integrity of Creation

Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate  United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » imf


The Mission of Jubilee USA Network Remains Critical April 15th, 2020

As the world’s major trade blocs and financial institutions convene over the next few days to deal with the growing coronavirus crisis, many of the largest religious institutions are urging them to protect the world’s poor by providing debt relief and additional resources.

In recent days,  OMI JPIC joined 80 national religious institutions, congregations and partners in a letter organized by Jubilee USA Network to confront the coronavirus crisis. The letter was delivered to the White House, G20 and IMF.

Signers of the letter join calls from Pope Francis, the US Catholic Bishops and 165 world leaders encouraging additional resources, aid and debt relief to ensure all countries can withstand the crisis.

On a positive front, earlier this week the International Monetary Fund approved $500 million to cancel six months of debt payments for 25 of the world’s most impoverished countries: Afghanistan, Benin, Burkina Faso, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Gambia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mozambique, Nepal, Niger, Rwanda, São Tomé and Príncipe, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Tajikistan, Togo and Yemen.

While applauding this move, Eric LeCompte, executive director of Jubilee USA Network is pushing for an expansion of this list to include more countries where people live in extreme poverty.

Also reacting to this week’s events, Fr. Séamus Finn, OMI, Missionary Oblates JPIC director remarked, “the chains of financial indebtedness have imprisoned millions around the world for too many years. We need to continue to press on this critical issue which we have dodged consistently over the decades.” “This crisis may be providing us with ‘no other choice’ scenario as we recognize that we are all in this together,” he  adds.

The Missionary Oblates were founders of Jubilee USA and have been active members over the years.

Read more about Jubilee USA Network’s recent actions by visiting their website


Jubilee USA Network Petitions IMF to Bolster Healthcare for World’s Poorest People March 25th, 2020

IMF Coronavirus Action: Protect Vulnerable, Prevent Financial Crisis

Friends,

The coronavirus impacts all of us.

My family and all of us at Jubilee USA are holding you and our world in prayer. Please keep us and our vital mission in your thoughts and prayers as well.

As the coronavirus takes lives, impacts the markets, affects health care and drives a potential global financial crisis – will you sign our urgent IMF petition to cancel debt and expand aid to bolster healthcare for countries affected by Covid-19?

When you sign our petition, you urge actions that can protect all of us from financial crisis, lift the vulnerable and ensure our world emerges to be more resilient in the face of this pandemic.

Because of our work together, we created global processes to bolster healthcare in the developing world when disaster strikes and deathly diseases spread. Ten years ago, when earthquakes decimated Haiti, we moved the International Monetary Fund to create a process to relieve Haiti’s debt and strengthen Haiti’s health and education systems. In 2014, as the Ebola epidemic devastated Guinea, Liberia and Sierra Leone, we successfully transformed that IMF process. The Catastrophe Containment and Relief Trust created innovative healthcare grants, debt relief and hundreds of millions of dollars to fight Ebola and put better clinics in place.

Yesterday the head of the IMF told the G20 she wanted to raise the capacity of this catastrophe relief process that can help poor countries wrestling with the health and economic impacts of the coronavirus.

This is very welcome news.

Now we need your help to ensure that more countries can access this and other IMF processes that deliver aid, cancel debt and help our world mitigate the economic and health impacts of the coronavirus. Our petition calls for debt payments to stop while countries battle the coronavirus and its economic impacts.

And yesterday – the President of the World Bank encouraged the G20 to stop debt payments for very poor countries.

African Finance Ministers called for suspension of debt payments to free up $44 billion to fight Covid-19. Ecuador’s Congress also demanded its government stop paying debt.

On Monday, the leadership of Jubilee USA wrote the head of the IMF and urged:

  • Bolstering healthcare in developing countries affected by Covid-19 by increasing debt relief and aid through the Catastrophe Containment and Relief Trust and other expanded processes

  • Mobilizing additional financing resources to support all countries impacted by the economic and health impacts of the coronavirus

  • Enhancing debt restructuring, issuing debt payment moratoriums and creating expedient debt reprofiling processes for countries impacted by the coronavirus

  • Advising countries to emerge from the crisis with more resilience by encouraging policies and agreements to increase protections for the vulnerable, instill greater public budget transparency, implement financial crisis and market protections, promote responsible lending and borrowing and curb corruption and tax evasion

 Jubilee USA’s executive committee, Reverend Steve Herder, Celeste Drake, Rabbi Matthew Cutler, Reverend Aniedi Okure and myself noted in our letter to the head of the IMF:

“Economic forecasts warn that a possible financial crisis or depression, spurred by the coronavirus, could be worse than the 2008 financial crisis. Nearly 100 million people, mostly women and children, were pushed into extreme poverty and 22 million jobs were lost worldwide in the 2008 crisis. The International Labor Organization says the numbers of jobs lost could surpass 50 million as a result of a new, deeper financial crisis… A well-designed, globally-coordinated response from the international community can go a long way to prevent and mitigate the impacts of the Covid-19 crisis and move us towards a recovery path.”

Please join us now and urge International Monetary Fund action.

In the coming days and weeks, Jubilee USA will offer more analysis and recommendations for US and international decision makers. More than ever, we are counting on you to take action and join our campaigns.

With our voices joined together, we can recover from this moment and build a more resilient global community.

In hope,

Eric LeCompte


International Monetary Fund Releases Plans to Stop Predatory Hedge Funds October 6th, 2014

vulturemanThe International Monetary Fund (IMF) released new proposals for preventing predatory hedge funds and hold-out investors from blocking debt restructurings. The paper proposes a series of reforms to debt contracts, including strengthened collective action clauses and a modification of the pari passu clause that hold-out hedge funds used to sue Argentina.

“In the wake of debt restructurings in Argentina and Greece, the IMF is incredibly concerned about vulture funds,” stated Eric LeCompte, the Executive Director of the religious anti-poverty coalition, Jubilee USA Network. “The IMF is advocating a market approach, but we also need a statutory approach. We need to change both the contracts and the laws.”

Click here to read more »


IMF Paper: Corporate Tax Avoidance Hurts Global Economy and Poor Countries June 25th, 2014

tax dayThe International Monetary Fund (IMF) released a staff paper noting that corporate tax avoidance negatively impacts all economies, but hurts developing countries the most. The IMF’s release comes as the G20, the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development and United Nations bodies seek vehicles to diminish corporate tax avoidance.

“The developing world loses more in corporate tax avoidance than it receives in aid from developed countries,” stated Eric LeCompte, Executive Director of the religious anti-poverty group, Jubilee USA Network. “The paper shows that when multinational corporations shift their profits to another country to pay less taxes, we see higher levels of global inequality.”

The IMF paper is entitled “Spillovers in International Corporate Taxation.” “Spillovers” are the impact of one country’s policies on another country. By shifting profits to countries with low tax-rates (often so-called “tax havens”), corporations avoid paying their taxes in the countries where they make those profits. The paper notes that this is a particularly large problem in developing countries, which need corporate taxation to fund social services. The paper argues that “many developing countries…need to be better protected against the avoidance of tax on capital gains on natural resources.”

“These ‘spillovers’ are more like a flood,” noted LeCompte. “For every $1 poor countries are receiving in official aid, nearly $10 is leaving through corruption and tax avoidance.”

Read the IMF paper.

 

Thanks to Jubilee USA for this information.

 


Broad-Based Coalition of Policy Experts Urges Congress to Pass IMF Reforms March 11th, 2014

Ukraine Economy and US Leadership at Stake

0013729e42ea0b75991708190 policy experts, business and academic leaders, and former Senate-confirmed appointees who had oversight responsibilities for organizations like the International Monetary Fund (IMF) and World Bank yesterday delivered a unified message to Congress: promptly enact IMF quota reform legislation. Fr. Seamus Finn, OMI signed the letter on behalf of the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate. The Oblates have long supported New Rules for Global Finance, which works for fundamental reforms at the IMF.

The broad-based bipartisan letter to Speaker Boehner and Majority Leader Reid comes at a time when Congress is considering a $1 billion bilateral emergency assistance package for Ukraine to help the country stabilize its economy during its crisis with Russia. Senate Foreign Relations Committee Chairman Robert Menendez (D-NJ) and Ranking Member Bob Corker (R-TN) displayed the foresight and joint leadership to respond strongly to the Ukraine crisis by introducing the Ukraine relief bill, which includes the IMF quota reform legislation. Ukraine is also seeking IMF assistance directly.

Treasury Under Secretaries Tim Adams, David McCormick, David Mulford, and Jeffrey Shafer, and five IMF Executive Directors that served under Republican Administrations, among other former senior government officials, support the IMF reform legislation. “The IMF has played a crucial role in the global approach to recent financial crises and in navigating the world economy through severe threats. While the United States is on a path to recovery, threats remain…and the IMF has been called upon to support reform in Ukraine. In times like these, a financially strengthened and reformed IMF is in the U.S. interest,” notes the letter.

Click here to read more »


IMF Gold Sale Profits Benefit the World’s Poor October 1st, 2012

Jubilee USA Supporters Picket the IMF

The International Monetary Fund Executive Board has approved the final 2.7 billion dollars from recent gold sale profits to support the world’s poorest. The total gold sales windfall has now reached nearly 4 billion dollars to benefit the most vulnerable. One of the most powerful institutions in the world decided the right way because ordinary people cared – and acted.

At first, the IMF barely acknowledged the profit and assumed it could remain in their general reserves. Word leaked out about possible major renovations of the IMF office space in Washington, DC.

In response, Jubilee USA, of which the Oblates are a member, delivered tens of thousands of petitions and organized 60 global partners to push the IMF towards debt relief. At the end of February 2012, the IMF Board made a decision on the first distribution of 1.1 billion dollars after Jubilee, the ONE Campaign, ActionAid and Oxfam International met with the IMF staff.

These efforts pushed the IMF to approve the first 1.1 billion dollar distribution AND the second 2.7 billion dollar distribution to support concessional lending in the Poverty Reduction and Growth Trust (PRGT) and extend a 0% interest rate that will make this trust available for future generations beyond 2014. While many of us have concerns about IMF lending, this 0% extension on existing loans will mean real relief for millions of people and translate into direct support for low-income countries.

For more information about Jubilee USA, please visit their website – and get involved! Go to: www.jubileeusa.org

 

Return to Top