شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر  الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
المدونة
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

آخر الأخبار

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث مقاطع الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الأخبار »الأسلحة النووية


لا مزيد من هيروشيما. لا مزيد من ناغازاكي أغسطس 5th، 2020

بقلم الأب. براد روزيرو OMI

يصادف شهر أغسطس / آب الذكرى 75 لقصف هيروشيما وناجازاكي بالقنابل الذرية. في هذا العام الخامس والسبعين بعد القصف ، أنشأت هاتان المدينتان مؤسسة العالم الخالي من الأسلحة النووية ، وهي هيئة لدعم الناس والجماعات في جميع أنحاء العالم التي تكافح من أجل القضاء على الأسلحة النووية. دعونا نأمل ونصلي أن يكون هذا العام نقطة تحول لفتح طريق لعالم خالٍ من الأسلحة النووية.

قراءة المقال كاملا.


مرافق الأسلحة النووية غير آمنة بشكل مثير للقلق 13 أبريل، 2015

34799967_e01622b1a3_z

نصب هيروشيما التذكاري للسلام ، الذي يُطلق عليه اسم "قبة القنبلة الذرية". توفي مئات الآلاف في اليابان نتيجة للقنبلتين النوويتين اللتين سقطتا على هيروشيما وناغازاكي.

كارل كابات ، OMI ، واحدة من محاريث ثمانية ، ظهرت في مقال في النيويوركر عن الاحتجاجات الدينية ضد الأسلحة النووية التي بدأت في الثمانينيات. أشارت الاحتجاجات الأخيرة المناهضة للأسلحة النووية إلى ضعف المنشآت النووية الأمريكية ذات الأمان العالي.

يقع مجمع الأمن القومي Y-12 في واد ضيق ، وتحيط به التلال المشجرة ، في مدينة أوك ريدج بولاية تينيسي. تم بناء Y-12 و Oak Ridge سرًا ، في غضون عامين تقريبًا ، كجزء من مشروع مانهاتن ، ولم يتم الاعتراف بوجودهما علنًا حتى نهاية الحرب العالمية الثانية. ... [S] في أوائل الثمانينيات من القرن الماضي ، كانت مجموعة صغيرة من نشطاء السلام ، من المؤيدين المخلصين لحركة Plowshares ، تحاول اقتحام مواقع الأسلحة النووية في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة. لقد نجحوا دائمًا تقريبًا. لم تكشف إجراءات Plowshares فقط عن نقاط ضعف خطيرة في أمن المؤسسة النووية الأمريكية ؛ كما سلطوا الضوء على المخاطر الكامنة التي تواجهها كل دولة تمتلك أسلحة دمار شامل. إن امتلاك هذه الأسلحة يخلق فرصًا لا حصر لها للسرقة أو سوء الاستخدام. في الوقت الحالي ، قد يكون احتمال قيام الإرهابيين بهجوم نووي ناجح منخفضًا ، لكن العواقب ستكون عالية بشكل لا يمكن تصوره. وكما أظهر نشطاء Plowshares مرارًا وتكرارًا ، تحدث أشياء غير محتملة في كل وقت ".

اقرأ هذا المقال الرائع والمثير للقلق الذي نُشر مؤخرًا في مجلة New Yorker: "Break-In في Y-12: كيف كشف عدد قليل من دعاة السلام والراهبات ضعف مواقع الأسلحة النووية الأمريكية".

 


Carl Kabat، OMI Protests Nuclear Weapons in Kansas City on July 4 يوليو 5th، 2014

نشكر جاين ستويفر من منظمة "PeaceWorks" ، مدينة كانساس سيتي على هذا المقال حول أعمال الاحتجاج المناهضة للنووي التي قام بها الأب المفوض كارل كابات في يوليو / تموز 4th.

C Cabat paint، 7.4.14، from north

علامة دخول مرسومة بالرش في منشأة الأسلحة النووية الفيدرالية الجديدة في مدينة كانساس سيتي بولاية ميسوري

كارل كابات ، 80 ، كاهن في وسام مريم الطاهر ، يرسم علامة دخول حرم الأمن القومي في 10 am July 4. هذا هو "العمل المتبادل المتبادل" الرابع على التوالي في يوليو في ما يسمى بالحرم الجامعي ، وهو المقر الجديد لمصنع مدينة كانساس سيتي (في مدينة كانساس سيتي بولاية ماساتشوستس) ، حيث ستبدأ إدارة الأمن النووي الوطني هذا العام في صنع وشراء الأجزاء النووية للأسلحة النووية. في مكالمة هاتفية للأصدقاء في 10: 03 صباحا ، قال كارل ، "هذا النبات الملعون يجب أن يغلق بطريقة ما ، بطريقة ما." وقال إنه اختار الطلاء الأحمر للدلالة على الدم ، وبعد أن كانت اللوحة جالسة بمفردها التوقيع ، في انتظار الاعتقال.

تحل المنشأة الجديدة التي تبلغ تكلفتها 687 مليون دولار محل مصنع كانساس سيتي في مجمع بانيستر الفيدرالي ، أيضًا في كانساس سيتي بولاية ميزوري ، حيث وثقت الحكومة الفيدرالية حوالي 900 مادة سامة - الإرث من المواد المشعة وغيرها من المواد المستخدمة في المصنع القديم. يصنع مصنع كانساس سيتي أجزاء مثل الأسلاك والصمامات وأنظمة التوجيه وأجهزة الأمان ومحفز للأسلحة النووية.

ومن المتوقع أن يقضي كارل عطلة نهاية الأسبوع في زنزانة الاحتجاز التابعة لقسم الشرطة بمدينة كانساس سيتي بولاية ميزوري. سيمثل أمام قاضٍ عبر محكمة تلفزيونية يوم الإثنين 7 يوليو ؛ سيتم تحريره وسيُطلب منه العودة إلى كانساس سيتي لجلسة استماع ، حيث سيقول الحقيقة للسلطة.

حوالي الظهر في شهر يوليو 4 ، التقط المحامي هنري ستويفر صوراً لعمل كارل ، ولكن قبل 6 ، عندما ذهبت جين ستويفر للحصول على مزيد من الصور ، كانت الإشارة تحت غطاء. تم تحذير كل من Stoevers لمغادرة أو تهمة مع التعدي على ممتلكات الغير.

وقال كارل في تصريح له أعده كارل قبل إجراء مقاومة يوليو 4 في وقت سابق ، "يمكن لأحد جنودنا مينيوتمان 3 قتل ما يقرب من ثلاثة ملايين من أخواتنا وأخواتنا. ... لقد أتقننا "فن" القتل والحرق. ... يمكن أن يقتل أربعة Minuteman III 12 مليون من الأخوات والأخوات لدينا. ... إن رأي المحكمة الدولية في 1995 ينص على أن الأسلحة النووية هي جريمة ضد الإنسانية! "

في 1980 ، أصبح Kabat واحدًا من أول محاريث Ploughhares ، بعد إتباع إشعياء بـ "ضرب السيوف في محاريث". لقد أمضى حوالي 17 سنوات في السجن لمقاومته للأسلحة النووية. في مكالمة هاتفية قصيرة له في شهر يوليو من هذا العام ، وقع كارل ، "بارك الله! السلام عليك!"

C كابات الطلاء تحت الغطاء

غطى المسؤولون طلاء كارل كابات


عشرة أيام من أجل السلام - 6-15 آب 2013 أغسطس 11th، 2013

نود أن نشارك ما يلي ، الذي أرسله الأب. برادلي روزيرو ، OMI:

هيروشيما ذكرى 2013مستوحاة من رسالة السلام التي قدمها المبارك يوحنا بولس الثاني في هيروشيما في 1981 ، حددت الكنيسة في اليابان أيام 10 بين يوم ذكرى هيروشيما (أغسطس 6) إلى يوم ذكرى نهاية الحرب العالمية الثانية وهو 15th August كفترة خاصة الصلاة من أجل السلام. وتشمل هذه الفترة أيضا يوم ذكرى ناغازاكي (أغسطس 9).

تتيح "عشرة أيام من أجل السلام" الفرصة للمسيحيين لتنظيم مختلف برامج السلام. يجتمع الناس من مختلف أنحاء اليابان وكذلك من الخارج ليس فقط للتذكير والصلاة من أجل قتلى الحرب ، ولكن أيضا للاستماع إلى تجارب الحرب للناجين من هيروشيما وناغازاكي.

كنت هذا الأسبوع في هيروشيما لحضور بعض أحداث السلام. في كنيسة السلام التذكارية في هيروشيما ، احتفل المطران مايدا من هيروشيما بقداس جيد التنظيم من أجل السلام. وكان الضيوف الموقرون رئيس أساقفة اليابان جوزيف تشينوث والكاردينال تركسون الذي يترأس المجلس البابوي للعدالة والسلام. حضر الاحتفال القرباني الأساقفة والكهنة والراهبات والكاثوليك والمسيحيون من مختلف الطوائف.

الشموعفي متنزه السلام التذكاري ، كان من الممتع التحدث والاستماع إلى بعض الأطفال والكبار الذين تحدوا حرارة الغناء والحديث والرقص والصلاة من أجل السلام. فقط ليكون في الحشد والسماح لنفسه أن يستحم في هذا الجو كله في حد ذاته هو تجربة. رائحة البخور وصوت غونغ وعرض الزهور تجعلك تفكر في الماضي الذي لا ينسى ، تذكرت هنا الحاضر أثناء الصلاة من أجل مستقبل أفضل.

ألقى الكاردينال بيتر ك. أ. تركسون من المجلس البابوي للعدالة والسلام عظة في هيروشيما في 5 أغسطس. (اقرأ الوثيقة)


انضمت الطلبات إلى الاحتجاجات ضد الأسلحة النووية في مدينة كانساس سيتي يوليو 15th، 2013

رئيس Oblate William Antone ، انضم OMI إلى Carl Kabat ، OMI يوم السبت الماضي في احتجاج ضد الأسلحة النووية في مدينة كانساس سيتي. كانوا من بين أكثر من عشرين متظاهرًا تم اعتقالهم في مسيرة PeaceWorks في مصنع هانيويل. تتم إدارة المصنع وتشغيله بواسطة شركة Honeywell Federal Manufacturing & Technologies ، التي تنتج 85 بالمائة من المواد غير النووية المستخدمة في ترسانة القنابل النووية بالولايات المتحدة.

وكان هؤلاء المعتقلين قد عبروا إلى ممتلكات هانيويل. كان الناس تقريبًا 60 حاضرين ، مع عدد غير قليل من الشباب من مجتمعات العمال الكاثوليك.

نشرت جماعة العمال الكاثوليك صورًا للاحتجاج على Flickr. اعرضها هنا ...

شاهد صور الاحتجاج من KSHB ، محطة إخبارية محلية ...

المراسل الكاثوليكي الوطني لديه قصة جيدة عن الحدث ...

 

 


اتصالات السلام والحياة في 31 مايو 2013 31 مايو، 2013

نقوم بإعادة إنتاج النشرة الأسبوعية "اتصالات الحياة والسلام" الأسبوعية على هذا الموقع. إذا كنت مهتمًا بمزيد من المعلومات ، أو بالاشتراك في النشرة الإخبارية الإلكترونية مباشرةً ، يرجى زيارة www.consistent-life.org/ يرجى ملاحظة أننا لا نقوم بتحرير محتوى هذا المنشور.

162 lifepeacejusticeمؤتمر شباب الحياة / السلام / العدالة

بدأت Aimee Murphy of Life Matters Journal ، وهي عضو في المجلس الاستشاري CL ، مؤتمر CLE الإقليمي في منطقة فيلادلفيا: "الحياة / السلام / العدالة: مؤتمر حول قضايا الحياة". وسيعقد مارس 29 ، 2014 في فيلانوفا جامعة. انها لجميع الأعمار مع مكون كبير من الطلاب الجامعيين. شارك العديد من أعضاء CL في التخطيط.

للحفاظ على انخفاض التكاليف ، تساهم المجموعات الراعية في التبرع. تكاليف الرعاية الذهبية تكلف $ 1000. نحن نحاول جمع الأموال الخاصة فوق التبرعات العادية لتغطية كل أو جزء من هذه التكلفة. الأموال التي يتم التبرع بها هنا تذهب مباشرة نحو المؤتمر ، وتعود إلى حسابنا. نحن نقدر دعمكم لهذا الجهد الهام.

+ = = = +

تشريع لحماية دافعي الضرائب الأمريكيين من تمويل العنف

قد يرغب مشتركونا في الولايات المتحدة في الاتصال بممثليهم ، وقد يكون لدى المشتركين خارج الولايات المتحدة أصدقاء أمريكيين لنشر الخبر حول طرق الحصول على الأموال التي يتم اقتطاعها من الميزانية الفيدرالية من الأماكن التي لا تملك الميزانية الفيدرالية فيها تمويلًا تجاريًا في البداية. مكان:

لا تمويل دافع الضرائب من قانون الإجهاض (HR 7 في البيت و SB 946 في مجلس الشيوخستحل محل جميع السائقين السنويين والتعديلات المبعثرة بقاعدة واحدة دائمة: لا يدفع دافعو الضرائب تكاليف الإجهاض. هذا لا يحمي دافعي الضرائب فقط ؛ تنخفض أعداد حالات الإجهاض بشكل كبير عندما لا يتوفر تمويل دافع ضريبي لها. (نرى شارك في رعاية هذا البيت و رعاة مشاركين في مجلس الشيوخ)

النهج الأذكى لقانون النفقات النووية (SANE) (HR 1506) سيخفض مليارات الدولارات والعديد من البرامج من الأسلحة النووية. انظر رعاة مجلس النواب ومجلس الشيوخ.

ستظهر تعديلات مختلفة خلال عملية الموازنة لخفضها البذخ الباذخ في وقت يتم فيه قطع برامج مكافحة الفقر التي تمس الحاجة إليها. من الجيد أن ننقل المبدأ إلى الممثلين - المال الذي يذهب للعنف ويؤخذ بعيداً عن خدمات تأكيد الحياة يشكل ضربة مزدوجة ضد الضعفاء.

+ = = = +

قدسية الحياة البشريةنشرت CL Endorser David Gushee كتابًا جديدًا ، قدسية الحياة الإنسانية: لماذا تعتبر الرؤية الإنجيلية القديمة مفتاحًا لمستقبل العالم. من دعاية الناشر: "تتبع مفهوم قدسية الحياة البشرية من الكتاب المقدس عبر تاريخ الكنيسة حتى يومنا هذا ، يجادل ديفيد جوش في أن النظر إلى الحياة البشرية على أنها مقدسة هو أحد أثمن ميراث الإيمان الكتابي - وإن كان ذلك من قبل الكنيسة في كثير من الأحيان فشل في التمسك. إلى جانب تقديم مسح تاريخي بارع ، تغطي مناقشة Gushee العديد من التحديات الأخلاقية الحالية ووجهات النظر التي ستؤثر على بقاء وازدهار الحياة البشرية ، بما في ذلك التكنولوجيا الحيوية ، وعقوبة الإعدام ، والإجهاض ، وحقوق الإنسان ، والأسلحة النووية ، ونظرية الحرب العادلة ، وحقوق المرأة ، والعناية بالخلق ".

كذلك نشرت مجموعة إيفانجيليكالز من أجل العمل الاجتماعي ، وهي أحد أعضاء مجموعة CL ، استعراضاً (ولدينا نسخة واحدة في رسالتنا الإخبارية المطبوعة ، التي ستصدر في يونيو / حزيران).

+ = = = +

اقتباس من الأسبوع

كيلسي هازارد

العالم الكاثوليكي "الملحد ، العلماني ، المؤيد للحياة" يناير

لدى التاريخ العديد من الدروس حول البشر الذين لم يكونوا "أشخاصًا" قانونيين. ويبدو أن هذا الأمر يبدو منطقياً لجيل واحد - "بالطبع الزنوج ليسوا أشخاصًا حقيقيين" - إنه أمر مروع بالنسبة للجيل القادم. ما هي المعايير التي يمكننا إعدادها والتي تمنع حدوث ذلك؟ يمكن أيضًا استخدام كل معيار مقترح لاستبعاد الشخص الذي لم يولد بعد لاستبعاد الآخرين. . . في نهاية المطاف ، حقوق الإنسان لكل البشر. إذا لم نحميهم لأضعف الناس فينا ، فهم لا قيمة لهم ".

162 العلمانية

العدد #162 05.31.13 صفحة ويب متناسقة للحياة / انضم أو تبرع / الإصدارات السابقة / فهرس

 

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace, and Integrity of Creation

A Ministry of the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate

United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » nuclear weapons


Nuclear Weapons Facilities are Troublingly Insecure April 13th, 2015

34799967_e01622b1a3_z

Hiroshima Peace Memorial, commonly called the Atomic Bomb Dome. Hundreds of thousands in Japan died as a result of the two nuclear bombs dropped on Hiroshima and Nagasaki.

Carl Kabat, OMI, one of the Ploughshares Eight, is featured in a New Yorker article on the faith-based protests against nuclear weapons that started in the 1980’s. Recent anti-nuclear weapons protests have pointed out the vulnerability of high security US nuclear facilities.

“The Y-12 National Security Complex sits in a narrow valley, surrounded by wooded hills, in the city of Oak Ridge, Tennessee. Y-12 and Oak Ridge were built secretly, within about two years, as part of the Manhattan Project, and their existence wasn’t publicly acknowledged until the end of the Second World War. … [S]ince the early nineteen-eighties a small group of peace activists, devout supporters of the Plowshares movement, have been trying to break into nuclear-weapons sites throughout the United States. They’ve almost always succeeded. Plowshares actions have not only revealed serious vulnerabilities in the security of America’s nuclear enterprise; they’ve also shed light on the inherent risks faced by every nation that possesses weapons of mass destruction. Having these weapons creates endless opportunities for theft or misuse. At the moment, the probability of terrorists staging a successful nuclear attack may be low, but the consequences would be unimaginably high. And, as Plowshares activists have demonstrated again and again, improbable things happen all the time.”

Read this fascinating and troubling article recently published in the New Yorker magazine: “Break-In at Y-12: How a handful of pacifists and nuns exposed the vulnerability of America’s nuclear-weapons sites”.

 


Carl Kabat,OMI Protests Nuclear Weapons in Kansas City on July 4 July 5th, 2014

Our thanks go to Jane Stoever of PeaceWorks, Kansas City for this article on the anti-nuclear protest action by Oblate Father Carl Kabat on July 4th.

C Kabat paint, 7.4.14, from north

Spray-painted entry sign at the new federal nuclear weapons facility in Kansas City, Missouri

Carl Kabat, 80, a priest in the Order of Mary Immaculate, spray-painted the National Security Campus entry sign at 10 a.m. July 4. This is Carl’s fourth consecutive “interdependence action” in July at the so-called campus, the new home for the Kansas City Plant (in Kansas City, Mo.), where the National Nuclear Security Administration this year will begin making and procuring non-nuclear parts for nuclear weapons. In a phone call to friends at 10:03 a.m., Carl said, “This damned plant has got to be closed somehow, some way.” He chose red paint to signify blood, he said, and after painting was sitting alone by the huge sign, awaiting arrest.

The new $687 million facility replaces the Kansas City Plant at Bannister Federal Complex, also in Kansas City, Mo., where the federal government has documented about 900 toxins–the legacy from radioactive and other substances used at the old plant. The Kansas City Plant makes parts such as wiring, fuses, guidance systems, security devices, and the trigger for nuclear weapons.

It is expected that Carl will spend the weekend in the Kansas City, Mo., Police Department’s holding cell; will come before a judge via TV court on Monday, July 7; will be freed; and will be told to return to Kansas City for a hearing, where he’ll speak truth to power.

About noon on July 4, lawyer Henry Stoever took pictures of Carl’s handiwork, but by 6 p.m., when Jane Stoever went for more pictures, the sign was under cover. Both Stoevers were warned to leave or be charged with trespass.

In a statement Carl prepared before an earlier July 4 resistance action, Carl said, “One of our Minuteman III’s could kill approximately three million of our sisters and brothers. … We have perfected the ‘art’ of killing and burning. … Four Minuteman III’s could kill 12 million of our sisters and brothers. … The opinion of the International Court in 1995 states that nuclear weapons are a Crime Against Humanity!”

In 1980, Kabat became one of the first Plowshares, following Isaiah’s mandate to “beat swords into plowshares.” He has spent about 17 years in prison for resisting nuclear weapons. In his short phone call this July 4, Carl signed off, “God bless! Peace on you!”

C Kabat paint under cover

Carl Kabat’s paint covered over by officials


‘Ten days for Peace’ – August 6 – 15, 2013 August 11th, 2013

We would like to share the following, which was sent to the US JPIC Office by  Fr. Bradly Rozairo, OMI:

hiroshima remembrance 2013Inspired by the peace message delivered by Blessed John Paul II in Hiroshima in 1981, the Church in Japan has designated 10 days between Hiroshima memorial day (Aug. 6) to the memorial day of the end of WWII which is 15th August as a special period of prayer for peace. This period also includes the memorial day of Nagasaki (Aug. 9).

‘Ten days for Peace’ gives an opportunity to Christians to organize various peace programs. People from different parts of Japan and also from abroad come together not only to remember and pray for the war dead, but also to listen to the war experiences of the survivors of Hiroshima and Nagasaki.

This week I was in Hiroshima to attend some of the peace events. At the Peace Memorial Church in Hiroshima, a well organized Mass for Peace, was celebrated by Bishop Maeda of Hiroshima. The distinguished guests were the Nuncio of Japan Archbishop Joseph Chennoth and Cardinal Turkson who heads the Pontifical Council for Justice & Peace. The Eucharistic celebration was well attended by the Bishops, priests, nuns, Catholics and Christians of different denominations.

candlesAt the Peace Memorial Park, it was interesting to talk and listen to some children and adults, who braved the heat to sing, talk, dance and pray for peace. Just to be in the crowd and allow oneself to be bathed in that whole atmosphere in itself is an experience. The smell of incense, the sound of the gong and the offering of flowers make you think of the unforgettable past, remembered here the present while praying for a better future.

Cardinal Peter K.A. Turkson of the Pontifical Council for Justice and Peace gave a homily in Hiroshima on August 5th. (Read the document)


Oblates Join Anti-Nuclear Protest in Kansas City July 15th, 2013

Oblate Superior William Antone, OMI joined Carl Kabat, OMI last Saturday in at an anti-nuclear weapons protest in Kansas City. They were among two dozen protestors who were arrested at the PeaceWorks rally at the Honeywell Plant. The plant is managed and operated by Honeywell Federal Manufacturing & Technologies, which produces 85 percent of the nonnuclear material used in the United States nuclear bomb arsenal.

Those arrested had crossed onto Honeywell property. Roughly 60 people were present, with quite a few young people from Catholic Worker communities.

The Catholic Worker Community has posted photos of the protest on Flickr. View them here…

See pictures of the protest from KSHB, a local news station…

National Catholic Reporter has a good story on the action…

 

 


Peace & Life Connections for May 31, 2013 May 31st, 2013

We reproduce the Consistent Life “Peace & Life Connections” weekly newsletter on this website. If you are interested in more information, or in subscribing to the e-newsletter directly, please visit www.consistent-life.org/ Please note that we do not edit the content of this publication.

162 lifepeacejusticeLife/Peace/Justice Youth Conference

Aimee Murphy of Life Matters Journal, a member of the CL Advisory Board, has initiated a regional CLE conference in the Philadelphia area: “Life/Peace/Justice: A Conference on Life Issues.” It will be held March 29, 2014 at Villanova University. It’s for all ages with a large university student component. Several CL Board members have been involved with the planning.

To keep costs low, sponsoring groups are contributing funds. Gold Sponsorship costs $1000. We’re trying to raise special funds above normal donations to cover all or part of that cost. Funds donated here go directly towards the conference, and are credited towards our sponsorship. We greatly appreciate your support for this important effort.

+ = = = +

Legislation to Protect U.S. Taxpayers from Funding Violence

Our U.S. subscribers might want to contact their representatives, and subscribers outside the U.S. might have U.S. friends to spread the word about these ways of having the money that’s being cut from the federal budget come from places the federal budget has no business funding in the first place:

No Taxpayer Funding of Abortion Act (H.R. 7 in the House and S.B. 946 in the Senate) would replace all the annual riders and scattered amendments with one permanent rule: taxpayers don’t pay for abortions. This doesn’t just protect taxpayers; the numbers of abortions drop dramatically when there’s no taxpayer funding available for them. (See co-sponsors in the House and co-sponsors in the Senate)

The Smarter Approach to Nuclear Expenditures Act (SANE) (H.R. 1506) would cut billions of dollars and several programs out of nuclear weapons. See House and Senate co-sponsors.

Various amendments will come up during the budget process to cut Pentagon extravagance at a time when desperately needed anti-poverty programs are being cut instead. It’s a good idea to communicate the principle to representatives – money going for violence and taken away from life-affirming services is a double whammy against the vulnerable.

+ = = = +

Sacredness of Human LifeCL Endorser David Gushee has published a new book, The Sacredness of Human Life: Why an Ancient Biblical Vision is Key to the World’s Future. From the publisher’s blurb: “Tracing the concept of the sacredness of human life from Scripture through church history to the present day, David Gushee argues that viewing human life as sacred is one of the most precious legacies of biblical faith — albeit one that the church has too often failed to uphold. Besides providing a masterful historical survey, Gushee’s discussion covers the many current ethical challenges and perspectives that will impact the survival and flourishing of human life, including biotechnology, the death penalty, abortion, human rights, nuclear weapons, just war theory, women’s rights, and creation care.”

CL member group Evangelicals for Social Action has also published a review (and we have one coming up in our print newsletter, due out in June).

+ = = = +

Quotation of the Week

Kelsey Hazzard

The Catholic World “Atheist, Secular, and Pro-Life,” January 24, 2013

History has many lessons about human beings who were not legal “persons.” What seems like common sense to one generation—“Of course Negroes aren’t real people”—is horrific to the next. What criteria can we set that will prevent this from happening? Every criterion proposed to exclude the unborn can also be used to exclude others . . . At the end of the day, human rights are for all humans. If we don’t protect them for the weakest among us, they’re rather worthless.”

162 Secular

issue #162 05.31.13 Consistent Life web page / Join or Donate / Previous Issues / Index

 


Consistent Life: Peace & Life Connections March 15, 2013 March 16th, 2013

We reproduce the Consistent Life “Peace & Life Connections” weekly newsletter on this website. If you are interested in more information, or in subscribing to the e-newsletter directly, please visit www.consistent-life.org/ Please note that we do not edit the content of this publication.

Template 2013

Another “Good News” Segment:

Drones – the “flying robots that kill children” – are not getting by unnoticed. Senator Rand Paul did a 13-hour speaking filibuster and got attention for it. Paul has connected opposition to both abortion and war before, and this was an occasion on which civil libertarians of both left and right could be pleased. (The American Conservative also has an excellent article against drones from a pro-life perspective.) Let’s hope we see more objections to these appalling targeted killing machines.

Click here to read more »

Return to Top