شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر  الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
الأخبار
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

أخبار الأعلاف

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث مقاطع الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الاخبار »شريف جميل


موظفو شركة JPIC يزورون بنجلاديش مايو 3rd، 2013

قرية خاسيزارت كريستينا هيرمان ، مديرة مكتب JPIC ، بنجلاديش في أواخر مارس / أوائل أبريل. رافقت ابنتها ، إيما ، وأخذت آلاف الصور والملاحظات الغزيرة. الأب جوزيف غوميس ، OMI استضافت رحلة مدتها عشرة أيام حول منطقة سيلهيت في بنغلاديش الشرقية ، والتي قدمت نظرة رائعة على حياة شعب خاسي الأصلي والقضايا التي تواجه قراهم. بدأت بعثة Oblate في بنغلاديش في منطقة سيلهيت ، وهناك عدد من الأبرشيات بين الشعوب الأصلية في المنطقة.

كانت الضربات القومية المتكررة (أو الهارتلات) التي دعت إليها معارضة سياسية مصممة على تقويض الحكومة قد جعلت الرحلة صعبة ، لكن المجموعة غطت الكثير من الأرضية.

شريف جميل ، Buriganga RiverKeeper

شريف جميل ، Buriganga RiverKeeper

في دكا ، تعاونت كريستينا مع حارس المياه البنغلاديشي ، شريف جميل ، في دراسة القضايا البيئية والعمالية المتعلقة بصناعات تصدير الجلود والملابس. لقد زاروا نهر بوريجانجا ، ومدابغ الجلود شمال المدينة ، ومصنع ملابس ضخم ، وعقدوا عددًا من الاجتماعات التثقيفية مع أصحاب المصانع والمديرين ، ومنظمي النقابات العمالية ، وعلماء البيئة.

ماء ملوث من دباغة الجلود

تتدفق المياه الملوثة من دباغة الجلود إلى نهر بوريجانجا

تعتبر المدابغ مصدرًا كبيرًا لتلوث النهر الرئيسي الذي يتدفق عبر دكا ، وهي مدينة ضخمة تقدر بنحو 18 مليون شخص. يعتمد الملايين على الأنهار في الاستحمام وغسل الملابس والمواصلات ، ومع ذلك فهي ملوثة بشدة بالنفايات الصناعية والبشرية. أصدرت منظمة هيومن رايتس ووتش مؤخرًا دراسة عن الآثار الصحية للمدابغ ، تطابق نتائج هذه الرحلة. النفايات الصناعية غير المعالجة المتدفقة من مصانع الملابس شائعة. عامل كبير في التلوث هو عدم وجود معالجة كافية لمياه الصرف الصحي لسكان المدينة المتزايدين.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


ناشطون بنجلادش في مجال البيئة يطالبون بحماية نهر بوريجانجا في داكا مسيرة 20th، 2012

شريف جميل ، الاب. جوزيف جوميز ، OMI ، الأب. سيموس فين ، OMI وزميل على قارب Buriganga RiverKeeper في دكا

طالب نشطاء البيئة يوم السبت بتنفيذ حكم سابق للمحكمة العليا لإنقاذ نهر بوريجانجا من التلوث والتعدي. أصدرت المحكمة العليا في 2011 توجيهًا من ثلاث نقاط للحكومة لإنقاذ النهر.

ومن بين أولئك الذين كانوا يحثون على اتخاذ إجراء لعكس التلوث الشديد في Buriganga كان شريف جميل ، وهو متعاون وثيق مع Oblates في بنغلاديش. شريف هو Buriganga Riverkeeperوجزء من الدولية تحالف Waterkeeper.

تعلم المزيد - قراءة المقال ...


شريف جميل ، مسؤول البيئة في بنغلاديش: مقابلة فيديو 30 يونيو، 2011

"إنقاذ بيئة السكان الأصليين في بنغلاديش" هي قصة تسلط الضوء على العمل التعاوني لـ Missionary Oblates في بنغلاديش مع أحد قادة البيئة في البلاد في الاستجابة للجهود التي تبذلها الشعوب الأصلية في بنغلاديش للحفاظ على نمط حياتهم وثقافتهم التقليدية.

شريف جميل ناشط بيئي بنغلاديشي يعمل عن كثب مع منسق Oblate JPIC في بنغلاديش وأب. جوزيف جوميز ، OMI. شريف هو المنسق الوطني لـ APRA (أديباسي Poribesh Roskhya Andolon أو حفظ حركة السكان الأصليين للبيئة) ، السكرتير المشترك لـ BAPA (بنغلاديش Poribesh Andolon أو بنغلادش حركة بيئية) ، و Buriganga Riverkeeper. BAPA هي أكبر حركة بيئية وطنية في بنغلاديش.

شريف ، الاب. وقد عمل يوسف وآخرون مع مجتمعات غارو وخاسي لمنع قطع الأشجار بصورة غير مشروعة في غاباتهم التي يعتمدون عليها في بقائهم.


انتصار بعد قتال طويل لإنقاذ قرى وبنغلاديش من السكان الأصليين 20 يناير، 2010

Alia protest (4) Nov 15 08وقد حقق شعب الخاسسي الأصليين في بنغلاديش نصرا كبيرا بعد صراع طويل من أجل حماية الغابات التي يعتمدون عليها في بقائهم. نظمت جماعة السكان الأصليين ضد عمليات قطع الأشجار المنتشرة من مالك أحد مالكي الشاي المحليين الذين حصلوا على إذن لتسجيل الغابة المزعومة من خلال صلاته السياسية. وسيتم إنقاذ الآلاف من الأشجار والعديد من قرى خاسى نتيجة لذلك.

كانت Oblates داعمة للجهود المبذولة لحماية الغابة ، مع الأب. جوزيف جوميز ، OMI يعمل عن كثب مع شعب Khasi. APRA (أديباسي Poribesh Roskhya Andolon أو حفظ حركة البيئة الأصلية) من BAPA (بنغلاديش Poribesh Andolon أو حركة البيئة بنغلاديش). الأب وانضم إلى جوميز شريف جميل ، المنسق الوطني ، APRA ، السكرتير المشترك ، BAPA في المناداة بنجاح نيابة عن شعب Khasi أمام لجنة حكومية مكلفة بالتحقيق في جدل قطع الأشجار.

قراءة الحساب بالكامل ...

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace & Integrity of Creation

Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate  United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » sharif jamil


JPIC Staff Visits Bangladesh May 3rd, 2013

Khasi VillageChristina Herman, JPIC Office Associate Director, visited Bangladesh in late March/early April. Her daughter, Emma, accompanied her, taking thousands of photos and copious notes. Fr. Joseph Gomes, OMI graciously hosted a ten day trip around the Sylhet region of NE Bangladesh, which provided a fascinating look at the lives of the indigenous Khasi people and the issues confronting their villages. The Oblate mission in Bangladesh started in the Sylhet region, and there are a number of parishes among the indigenous peoples of the area.

Frequent national strikes (or hartals) called by a political opposition determined to undermine the government made the trip challenging, but the group covered a lot of ground.

Sharif Jamil, Buriganga RiverKeeper

Sharif Jamil, Buriganga RiverKeeper

In Dhaka, Christina teamed up with the Bangladesh WaterKeeper, Sharif Jamil, in an examination of environmental and labor issues related to the leather and garment export industries. They visited the Buriganga River, leather tanneries north of the city, a massive garment factory, and had a number of informative meetings with factory owners and managers, labor union organizers, and environmentalists.

Polluted Water from Leather Tanneries

Polluted Water from Leather Tanneries flows into the Buriganga River

The tanneries are a large source of pollution for the main river flowing through Dhaka, a megacity of an estimated 18 million people. Millions depend on the rivers for bathing, washing clothes, and transportation, yet they are heavily polluted with industrial and human waste. Human Rights Watch recently issued a study of the health impacts of the tanneries, which matched the findings of this trip. Untreated industrial waste flowing from the garment factories is common. A huge factor in the pollution is the lack of adequate sewage treatment for the city’s burgeoning population.

Click here to read more »


Bangladeshi Environmental Activists Demand Protection of Dhaka’s Buriganga River March 20th, 2012

Sharif Jamil, Fr. Joseph Gomes, OMI, Fr. Seamus Finn, OMI and a colleague on the Buriganga RiverKeeper boat in Dhaka

Environmental activists on Saturday demanded immediate execution of an earlier High Court order to save the River Buriganga from pollution and encroachment. 
The High Court in 2011 issued a three-point directive to the government to save the river.

Among those demanding action to reverse the severe pollution of the Buriganga was Sharif Jamil, a close collaborator of the Oblates in Bangladesh. Sharif is the Buriganga Riverkeeper, and part of the international Waterkeeper Alliance.

Learn more – read the article…


Sharif Jamil, Bangladeshi Environmentalist: Video Interview June 30th, 2011

“Saving the Indigenous people’s environment in Bangladesh” is a story which highlights the collaborative work of the Missionary Oblates in Bangladesh with one of the country’s environmental leaders in responding to the efforts of indigenous peoples in Bangladesh to preserve their traditional lifestyle and culture.

Sharif Jamil is a Bangladeshi environmental activist who works closely with the Oblate JPIC Coordinator in Bangladesh, Fr. Joseph Gomes, OMI. Sharif is National Coordinator of APRA (Adibasi Poribesh Roskhya Andolon or Save Indigenous Environment Movement), Joint Secretary of BAPA (Bangladesh Poribesh Andolon or Bangladesh Environment Movement), and the Buriganga Riverkeeper. BAPA is the largest national environmental movement in Bangladesh.

Sharif, Fr. Joseph and others have been working with the Garo and Khasi communities to prevent illegal logging in their forests, on which they depend for their survival.


Victory after Long Fight to Save Bangladeshi Indigenous Villages and Forest January 20th, 2010

Alia protest (4) Nov 15 08The indigenous Khasi people of Bangladesh have won a significant victory after a long struggle to protect the forest on which they depend for their survival. The indigenous community organized against rampant logging from a local tea estate owner who had secured permission to log the forest allegedly through his political connections. Thousands of trees and many Khasi villages will be saved as a result.

The Oblates have been supportive of the efforts to protect the forest, with Fr. Joseph Gomes, OMI working closely with the Khasi people. APRA (Adibasi Poribesh Roskhya Andolon or Save Indigenous Environment Movement) of BAPA (Bangladesh Poribesh Andolon or Bangladesh Environment Movement). Fr. Gomes was joined by Sharif Jamil, National Coordinator, APRA, Joint Secretary, BAPA in successfully arguing on behalf of the Khasi people before a government panel charged with investigating the logging controversy.

Read the full account…

Return to Top