شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر  الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
المدونة
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

آخر الأخبار

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث مقاطع الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الأخبار »Tissainayagam


تحرير صحفي سري لانكي في النهاية يوليو 19th، 2010

JS Tissainayagam

تم تحرير JS Tissainayagam ، الصحفي التاميل السريلانكي الذي حكم عليه ظلمًا على 20 سنوات من العمل الشاق في 2009 بتهمة التحريض على العنف ، قبل شهرين ، ومنحته مؤخراً عفواً رئاسياً. وجاء العفو بعد أشهر من الضغوط الدولية من دعاة حقوق الإنسان والحكومة الأمريكية.

تعرض الصحفيون في سريلانكا للتهديد والقتل والاختفاء. ويستمر معظمهم في العمل تحت الرقابة الذاتية.


يوم حقوق الإنسان بمناسبة يوم 100th من الإدانة الجائرة للصحفي التاميل ديسمبر 10th، 2009

صوراليوم ، اليوم العالمي لحقوق الإنسان ، يصادف اليوم المائة من العقوبة القاسية على الصحفي التاميل جيه إس تيسيناياغام. وحكم على تيسيناياجام بعقوبة قاسية لمدة عشرين عاما من العمل الشاق لما اعتبر على نطاق واسع اتهامات ملفقة واعتراف قسري. وقالت السيدة نافانيثيم بيلاي ، مفوضة الأمم المتحدة السامية لحقوق الإنسان ، في بيان في الجلسة 12 لمجلس حقوق الإنسان ،

"ينبغي أن نشعر بالفزع جميعاً من العقوبة الأخيرة بالسجن لمدة عشرين عاماً التي فرضت على الصحفي السريلانكي جيه إس تيسناياغام ، الذي كان ينتقد معاملة الجيش للمدنيين التاميل. وتثير إدانته مخاوف جدية بشأن احترام الحق في حرية التعبير ".

قراءة المزيد عن محنة Tissainayagam هنا

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace & Integrity of Creation

Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate  United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » Tissainayagam


Sri Lankan Journalist Freed at Last July 19th, 2010

J.S. Tissainayagam

J.S. Tissainayagam, the Tamil Sri Lankan journalist who was sentenced unjustly to 20 years hard labor in 2009 on charges of inciting violence, was freed two months ago and recently granted a Presidential pardon. The pardon came after months of international pressure from human rights advocates and the US government.

Journalists in Sri Lanka have been threatened, murdered and disappeared. Most continue to operate under self-censorship.


Human Rights Day Marks 100th Day of Unjust Conviction of Tamil Journalist December 10th, 2009

imagesToday, International Human Rights Day, marks the one hundredth day of the draconian sentence for Tamil journalist J.S. Tissainayagam. Tissainayagam was given a harsh sentence of twenty years of hard labor for what has widely been seen as trumped up charges and a forced confession. Ms. Navanethem Pillay, UN High Commissioner for Human Rights, said in a statement at the 12th session of the Human Rights Council,

“We should all be dismayed by the recent sentence of twenty years’ imprisonment imposed on Sri Lankan journalist J.S. Tissainayagam, who had been critical of the army’s treatment of Tamil civilians. His conviction raises serious concerns about respect for the right to freedom of expression.”

Read more about the plight of Tissainayagam here

Return to Top