شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر  الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
الأخبار
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

آخر الأخبار

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث مقاطع الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الأخبار »التعذيب


تقرير JPIC Fall / Winter 2014 Issue Now Available On-Line 17 سبتمبر، 2014

JPIC-تقرير-شعارأصبح الإصدار 2014 لتقرير JPIC في الخريف / الشتاء متاحًا الآن كملف PDF. وستتوفر قريبًا في شكل مطبوع.

يرجى الاتصال بـ Mary O'Herron في مكتب JPIC إذا كنت ترغب في إضافتك إلى القائمة البريدية.

يمكنك العثور على جميع مشكلات تقرير JPIC على موقع الويب هذا في قسم الموارد. (قم بتنزيل ملف PDF لأحدث إصدار)

 


NRCAT يحث في الكونجرس: إغلاق غوانتانامو! 10 مايو، 2013

nrcat_logo smإحاطة من الكونغرس ، تبث على C-SPAN, يقدم معلومات مهمة حول الحقائق في غوانتانامو وكيف يمكن للرئيس المضي قدمًا في إغلاق السجن هناك. نحن نشجعك على مشاهدته يستضيف المؤتمر الإعلامي النائب جيم موران وبرعاية مجلس النواب حملة دينية وطنية ضد التعذيب (NRCAT) ، مشروع الدستور ، ومؤسسة أمريكا الجديدة. مكتب Oblate JPIC هو عضو في NRCAT.

يستمر الوضع في معتقل خليج غوانتانامو في التدهور. بعد 4 عامًا من افتتاحه لأول مرة ، وبعد أكثر من 166 سنوات من إعلان الرئيس أوباما إغلاقها ، لا يزال هناك 86 رجلًا محتجزين في غوانتانامو - 100 منهم تمت تبرئتهم بالفعل لنقلهم أو إطلاق سراحهم. حاليا ، XNUMX من المعتقلين ، استجابة للشعور المتزايد باليأس واليأس من استمرار اعتقالهم ، في معظم الحالات دون تهمة أو محاكمة ، يشاركون في إضراب طويل عن الطعام.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


يونيو هو شهر التوعية بالتعذيب 8 يونيو، 2012


أنت مدعو خلال شهر يونيو للانضمام إلى الحملة الدينية الوطنية لمناهضة التعذيب والمنظمات الشريكة لنا في التفكير واتخاذ إجراءات لمواجهة "ثقافة التعذيب".

المكتب التبشيري Oblate JPIC هو عضو في الائتلاف الديني القومي لمناهضة التعذيب (NRCAT) وقد أيدت تحالف دعم إبطال التعذيب والناجين (TASSC)

سيشارك موظفو شركة JPIC في فعالية 21st التي ينظمها TASSC في يونيو / حزيران ويطلق عليها "العدالة من أجل الناجين من التعذيب". سيضم هذا الحدث مقرر الأمم المتحدة الخاص المعني بالتعذيب Juan E. Méndez ، وسيعقد في الجامعة الكاثوليكية الأمريكية.

الموارد:

يرجى حصة على نطاق واسع ...

 

 

 


التعذيب في الفناء الخلفي الخاص بك: الحملة الدينية الوطنية ضد التعذيب مسيرة 20th، 2012

أصدرت الحملة الدينية الوطنية ضد التعذيب (NRCAT) فيلم 20-minute ، الحبس الانفرادي: التعذيب في الفناء الخلفي الخاص بككمصدر للأبرشيات والرعايا الدينية للتعرف على الاستخدام المدمر للحبس الانفرادي لفترات طويلة ولإشراك الأشخاص ذوي الإيمان للدعوة إلى وضع حد للحبس الانفرادي لفترات طويلة في ولايتهم. ويعرض الفيلم عدة سجناء سابقين يناقشون الأضرار العقلية التي تعرضوا لها نتيجة احتجازهم في الحبس الانفرادي ، ويسلط الضوء على الطريقة التي ساعدت بها الجماعة الدينية في ولاية مين في تخفيض نسبة سبعين في المائة من عدد سجناء ماين المحتجزين في الحبس الانفرادي. The Missionary Oblates مكتب JPIC هو عضو في الحملة الدينية الوطنية ضد التعذيب (NRCAT)

 


ديسمبر 10th: يوم حقوق الإنسان ديسمبر 6th، 2011

احتفل بيوم حقوق الإنسان في جمعيتك في نهاية الأسبوع من ديسمبر 9-11. إن الحملة الدينية الوطنية ضد التعذيب (NRCAT) ، التي من بينها التبشيرية (JPAC) عضو ، لها صلوات وعبادة وموارد عمل متاحة ليوم حقوق الإنسان على موقعها على الإنترنت. قم بزيارة NRCAT: يوم حقوق الإنسان والعمل على منع التعذيب.


تنبيه العمل: التعذيب غير مسموح به أبداً يوليو 2nd، 2011

الائتلاف الديني الوطني ضد التعذيب (NRCAT) الذي يدين به عضو JPIC هو عضو ، تشعر بالقلق إزاء تصريحات أدلى بها في شهادة الكونغرس من قبل الجنرال ديفيد بترايوس بشأن التعذيب. في يونيو / حزيران ، في جلسة استماع عقدت أمام لجنة الاستخبارات بمجلس الشيوخ بناء على ترشيحه لمنصب مدير وكالة المخابرات المركزية ، اقترح الجنرال بترايوس أن الولايات المتحدة بحاجة إلى إجراءات لاستخدام "أكثر من الأساليب الطبيعية [للاستجواب]" أثناء انفجار قنبلة موقوتة حادث.

ومع ذلك ، كما يشير NRCAT في تنبيه إجرائي ، لا توجد مواقف - حتى قنبلة موقوتة - يكون فيها التعذيب مسموحًا به أو أخلاقيًا أو قانونيًا. لقد فتح الجنرال بترايوس الباب الذي يحتاج هو والرئيس أوباما إلى إغلاقه. يرجى الكتابة إلى الرئيس أوباما واطلب منه رفض شهادة الجنرال بترايوس في 23 يونيو بشأن أساليب الاستجواب "أكثر من المعتاد".

غالباً ما يشير الأشخاص الذين يؤيدون التعذيب إلى "قنبلة زمنية موقوتة" افتراضية لإثبات جدالهم. ومع ذلك ، فإن التعذيب دائمًا ما يكون خاطئًا دائمًا وغير قانوني.

ونحن ، بوصفنا أهل إيمان ، نعلم أنه قبل كل شيء ، يجب أن يتصرف بلدنا بشكل أخلاقي. قد يكون الجنرال بترايوس قد أخطأ موقفه الخاص ، ولكن عليه والرئيس أوباما أن يؤكدان على الفور معارضتهما المطلقة للتعذيب في جميع الحالات.

يرجى الكتابة إلى الرئيس أوباما اليوم وطلب أن يعيد هو والجنرال بترايوس تأكيد معارضتهما للتعذيب وغيره من أساليب الاستجواب المسيئة.

 

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace & Integrity of Creation

Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate  United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » torture


JPIC Report Fall/Winter 2014 Issue Now Available On-Line September 17th, 2014

JPIC-Report-logoThe Fall/Winter 2014 issue of JPIC Report is now available on line as a PDF. It will soon be available in print form.

Please contact Mary O’Herron in the JPIC Office if you want to be added to the mailing list.

You can find all issues of JPIC Report on this website in the Resources section. (Download a PDF of the latest issue)

 


NRCAT Urges in Congress: Close Guantanamo! May 10th, 2013

nrcat_logo smA Congressional Briefing, broadcast on C-SPAN, offers important information about the realities at Guantanamo and how the President can move forward with closing the prison there.  We encourage you to watch it.  The briefing is hosted by Rep. Jim Moran and is sponsored by the National Religious Campaign Against Torture (NRCAT), The Constitution Project, and the New America Foundation. The Oblate JPIC Office is a member of NRCAT.

The situation at the Guantanamo Bay Detention Center continues to deteriorate.  Eleven years after it first opened, and more than 4 years after President Obama mandated its closure, there are still 166 men being held at Guantanamo – 86 of whom have already been cleared for transfer or release.  Currently, 100 of the detainees, responding to a growing sense of hopelessness and despair over their continued detention, in most cases without charge or trial, are engaged in a prolonged hunger strike.

Click here to read more »


June is Torture Awareness Month June 8th, 2012


You are invited during the month of June to join the National Religious Campaign Against Torture and our partner organizations in reflecting and taking action to confront the “Culture of Torture.”

The Missionary Oblate JPIC Office is a member of the National Religious Coalition against Torture (NRCAT) and has endorsed the Torture Abolition and Survivors Support Coalition International (TASSC)

JPIC staff will participate in a June 21st event organized by TASSC, called Justice for Survivors of Torture. This event will feature the UN Special Rapporteur on Torture Juan E. Méndez, and will be held at Catholic University of America.

Resources:

Please share widely…

 

 

 


Torture in Your Backyard: National Religious Campaign Against Torture March 20th, 2012

The National Religious Campaign Against Torture (NRCAT) has released a 20-minute film, Solitary Confinement: Torture in Your Backyard, as a resource for parishes and religious congregations to learn about the destructive use of prolonged solitary confinement and to engage people of faith to call for an end to prolonged solitary confinement in their state. The film features several former prisoners discussing the mental harm they endured as a result of being held in solitary confinement and highlights how the religious community in Maine helped secure a seventy percent reduction in the number of Maine prisoners held in solitary confinement. The Missionary Oblates JPIC office is a member of the National Religious Campaign Against Torture (NRCAT)

 


December 10th: Human Rights Day December 6th, 2011

Celebrate Human Rights Day in your congregation the weekend of December 9-11. The National Religious Campaign Against Torture (NRCAT), of which Missionary Oblates JPIC is a member, has prayers, worship and action resources for Human Rights Day available on their website. Visit NRCAT: Human Rights Day and work to prevent torture.


Action Alert: Torture is Never Permissible July 2nd, 2011

The National Religious Coalition Against Torture (NRCAT) of which Oblate JPIC is a member, is concerned about statements made in Congressional testimony by General David Petraeus regarding torture. On June 23, in a hearing before the Senate Intelligence Committee on his nomination to be the Director of the CIA, General Petraeus suggested that the U.S. needed procedures for using “more than the normal [interrogation] techniques” during a ticking time bomb-like incident.

Yet, as NRCAT points out in an action alert, there are no situations — even a ticking time-bomb — in which torture is permissible, moral, or legal. General Petraeus has opened a door that he and President Obama need to close. Please write to President Obama and ask him to publicly reject General Petraeus’ June 23rd testimony on “more than normal” interrogation techniques.

People who support torture often refer to the hypothetical “ticking time bomb” to make their argument. Yet torture is always wrong and always illegal.

As people of faith, we know that, above all, our country must act morally. General Petraeus may have misstated his own position, but he and President Obama need to immediately reaffirm their unequivocal opposition to torture in all instances.

Please write to President Obama today and ask that he and General Petraeus immediately reaffirm their opposition to torture and other abusive interrogation techniques.

 

Return to Top