OMI-Logo
News
Übersetze diese Seite:

Aktuelle News

Neuigkeiten

Nachrichten Archiv


Neueste Video & Audio

Mehr Video & Audio>

News Archives transparency - Justice, Peace, and Integrity of Creation


Oblate auf dem International Business News Channel January 11th, 2016

Seamus P. FinnFr. Seamus Finn, OMI, erörtert mit Viacom einen Vorschlag, der ein höheres Maß an Transparenz und Beteiligung der Aktionäre fordert.

Lesen Sie den vollständigen Artikel.

 

 

 

 

 


FACT startet Podcast-Serie August 11th, 2014

Neues Programm zur Untersuchung von Problemen, Förderung der Arbeit von Partnern

Cropped-Logo1Um seine Botschaft weiter zu verbreiten, sendet die FACT (finanzielle Rechenschaftspflicht und Corporate Transparency) Koalition, Das JPIC-Büro von Oblate ist Mitglied und startet eine Podcast-Reihe, die sich mit den Kernfragen der Vermeidung von Unternehmenssteuern, der Transparenz der Unternehmensverantwortung und der Bekämpfung der Geldwäsche befasst.

Der FACT Podcast wird zunächst monatlich veröffentlicht, und häufiger als politische Entwicklungen und die Nachrichten des Tages, wenn die Ereignisse dies rechtfertigen.

Der erste Podcast, Wer wir sind, was wir tun und warum es wichtig ist, ist verfügbar auf der FACT Webseite, bietet eine Einführung in die FACT Coalition und die Arbeit, die sie bei der Steuervermeidung von Unternehmen, mehr Transparenz bei Unternehmenseigentum und der Bekämpfung der Geldwäsche leistet. Die kommenden Podcasts werden diese Probleme einzeln und detaillierter untersuchen. Spätere Podcasts werden Interviews mit Fachexperten enthalten und die Arbeit ihrer Organisationen hervorheben.

"Dies ist eine aufregende neue Ergänzung des FACT-Informationsarsenals zu diesen lebenswichtigen Themen", sagte Nicole Tichon, Executive Director von FACT. "Der FACT-Podcast bietet eine neue Möglichkeit, noch mehr Menschen zu erreichen, und das ist gut so."

Wie bereits erwähnt, ist der Podcast auf der FACT-Website verfügbar. Benutzer können es auch über einen RSS-Feed erhalten.


Transparenz und Ansehen: Es gibt keinen Platz zum Verstecken April 8th, 2014

Vater-SeamusReputation, Marke und Image sind sehr wichtige Prioritäten für Unternehmen, Organisationen und Institutionen. Diese Merkmale und die von ihnen angebotenen Produkte und Dienstleistungen sind eng miteinander verbunden. Da wir nun in der Lage sind, Reputation, Marke und Image in den meisten Fällen quantitativ zu bewerten, werden sie als wichtig für den Gesamtwert angesehen, wie die Produkte und Dienstleistungen, die ein Unternehmen anbietet.

Willkommen im Zeitalter der Globalisierung, des weltweiten Internets, der sozialen Medien und des 24 / 7-Nachrichtenzyklus.

Lesen Sie den Blog auf Huffington Post…

 

 


Diverse Koalition fordert Transparenz, da der Senat eine umfassende Steuerreform durchführt 26. Juli 2013

wordle-4-Transparenz-camp20101Die Missionsoblaten schlossen sich einer vielfältigen Gruppe von Organisationen der Zivilgesellschaft an, die besorgt darüber waren, dass die Korrespondenz des Senats über eine umfassende Steuerreform 50 Jahre lang geheim gehalten werden würde. Die Gruppen forderten mehr Transparenz bei den Beratungen des Senats und argumentierten in einem Brief an die Leiter des Finanzausschusses des Senats: „Transparenz ist für die Glaubwürdigkeit Ihres Endprodukts gegenüber der Öffentlichkeit von wesentlicher Bedeutung. Steuerzahler in den Vereinigten Staaten haben das Recht zu wissen, was ihre gewählten Beamten befürworten und was ihre Rechtfertigung ist. Wir empfehlen Ihnen dringend, diesen Ansatz zu überdenken, der nach Backroom-Deals riecht. Das House Ways & Means Committee forderte Gesetzgeber und externe Interessen auf, ihre Prioritäten vorzulegen, und machte sie öffentlich. Wir fordern einen ähnlichen Ansatz. “

Lies den Brief…

 


EU-Parlament verabschiedet neue Transparenzregeln für Öl-, Gas- und Bergbauunternehmen June 13th, 2013

pwyp_foee_ft_advert_nov2012_banner_2Vor dem G8-Gipfel verabschiedete das Europäische Parlament neue Transparenzregeln, nach denen Öl-, Gas-, Bergbau- und Holzunternehmen verpflichtet sind, Unternehmenszahlungen an Regierungen in Ländern zu erklären, in denen sie tätig sind - ähnlich wie im Dodd-Frank-Gesetz, Abschnitt 1504. Auf dem G8-Gipfel Führer der reichsten Nationen müssen die Meldepflichten für alle multinationalen Unternehmenszahlungen an Regierungen berücksichtigen. Diese Art der „länderspezifischen“ Berichterstattung über Gewinne und Steuern kann die Vermeidung von Unternehmenssteuern sowohl für arme als auch für wohlhabende Länder eindämmen.

Eric LeCompte, Executive Director von Jubilee USA Network, einer auf Glauben basierenden Anti-Armuts-Organisation, veröffentlichte die folgende Erklärung:

„Hut ab vor der Europäischen Union für die Förderung von Transparenz und Unternehmensverantwortung. Hoffen wir, dass dies die Minister bei den bevorstehenden G8-Treffen dazu inspiriert, die Vermeidung von Unternehmenssteuern einzudämmen und die Transparenz für alle multinationalen Unternehmen zu fördern.

„Die Glaubensgemeinschaft glaubt, dass die Vermeidung von Unternehmenssteuern einen Diebstahl der ärmsten und am stärksten gefährdeten Menschen der Welt darstellt. Wenn sich die G8 in Nordirland mit diesem Thema befasst, können sie einen echten Einfluss auf die globale Armut haben.

„Es ist klar, dass der G8-Gastgeber, der britische Premierminister David Cameron, eine multinationale Vermeidung von Unternehmenssteuern wünscht. Hoffentlich bringt er die Energie aus der EU in die G8. Wir müssen so handeln, dass arme Länder jedes Jahr mehr durch Steuerhinterziehung verlieren, als sie als Hilfe erhalten. “

Lesen Sie die EU-Transparenzregeln hier.

Zum Seitenanfang

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace & Integrity of Creation

Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate  United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » transparency


Oblate featured on International Business News Channel January 11th, 2016

Seamus P. FinnFr. Seamus Finn, OMI discusses a proposal that calls for a greater level of transparency and shareholder participation with Viacom…

Read the full article.

 

 

 

 

 


FACT Launches Podcast Series August 11th, 2014

New Program to Examine Issues, Promote Work of Partners

cropped-logo1Looking to more widely broadcast its message, the FACT (Financial Accountability and Corporate Transparency) Coalition, of which the Oblate JPIC Office is a member, is launching a podcast series to focus on its core issues of corporate tax avoidance, transparency in corporate ownership, and combatting money laundering.

The FACT Podcast will be released initially on a monthly basis, and more frequently as policy developments and the news of the day as events warrant.

The first podcast, Who We Are, What We Do, and Why It Matters, is available on the FACT website, provides an introduction to the FACT Coalition and the work that it does on corporate tax avoidance, more transparency in corporate ownership, and combating money laundering. Upcoming podcasts will examine these issues individually and in more detail. Later podcasts will feature interviews with subject-matter experts and highlight the work that their organizations are doing.

“This is an exciting new addition to the FACT arsenal of information on these vital issues,” said Nicole Tichon, Executive Director of FACT. “The FACT podcast provides a new way to reach even more people and that’s a good thing.”

As mentioned above, the podcast is available on the FACT website. Users can also receive it via an RSS feed.


Transparency and Reputation: There Is No Place to Hide April 8th, 2014

Father-SeamusReputation, brand and image are very important priorities for corporations, organizations and institutions. These characteristics and the products and services that they provide are closely related. Because we are now able, in most instances, to put a quantitative value on reputation, brand and image, they are considered as important to overall worth as the products and services that a corporation offers.

Welcome to the age of globalization, the worldwide web, social media and the 24/7 news cycle.

Read the blog on Huffington Post…

 

 


Diverse Coalition Calls for Transparency as the Senate Undertakes Comprehensive Tax Reform July 26th, 2013

wordle-4-transparency-camp20101The Missionary Oblates joined a diverse group of civil society organizations concerned about reports that Senate correspondence on comprehensive tax reform would be kept secret for 50 years. The groups called for greater transparency in the Senate deliberations, arguing in a letter sent to Senate Finance Committee leaders, that “transparency is essential for your final product to have credibility with the public…. Taxpayers across the United States have a right to know what their elected officials are advocating and what their justification is. We strongly urge you to reconsider this approach that smacks of backroom deals. The House Ways & Means Committee urged lawmakers and outside interests to submit their priorities and made them public. We urge a similar approach.”

Read the letter…

 


EU Parliament Adopts New Transparency Rules for Oil, Gas and Mining Companies June 13th, 2013

pwyp_foee_ft_advert_nov2012_banner_2Ahead of the G8 Summit, the European Parliament adopted new transparency rules to require oil, gas, mining and logging companies to declare corporate payments to governments in countries where they operate – much like the Dodd-Frank Act Section 1504. At the G8 summit, leaders of the wealthiest nations are to consider reporting requirements for all multinational corporate payments made to governments. This kind of “country-by-country” reporting of profits and taxes can stem corporate tax avoidance to both poor and wealthy nations.

Eric LeCompte, Executive Director of Jubilee USA Network, a faith-based antipoverty organization, released the following statement:

“Hats off to the European Union for promoting transparency and corporate accountability. Let’s hope it inspires ministers at the upcoming G8 meetings to curb corporate tax avoidance and promote transparency for all multinationals.

“The faith community believes that corporate tax avoidance constitutes a theft from the world’s poorest and most vulnerable people. When the G8 addresses this issue in Northern Ireland, they can have a real impact on global poverty.

“It’s clear that the G8 host, UK Prime Minister David Cameron, wants multinational corporate tax avoidance to be addressed. Hopefully he’ll take the energy from the EU to the G8. We’ve got to act as every year poor countries lose more to tax dodging than they receive in aid.”

Read the EU transparency rules here.


World Bank Increases Transparency June 1st, 2012

The Jubilee USA Network, of which the Missionary Oblates is a member, commends the World Bank for promoting an anti-corruption and anti-fraud position.
 

WASHINGTON, DC – The World Bank made an important move to promote transparency as they released this week’s sanctions board decisions on fraud, corruption and collusion cases. Jubilee USA commends the World Bank’s policy change to publicly disclose why they decide to sanction companies and individuals for corruption and fraud.

“This is a great move by the World Bank and everyone wins with this decision,” noted Eric LeCompte, Executive Director of Jubilee USA Network. “NGOs, businesses and governments can now better monitor patterns of fraud and corruption. Most importantly, the poor will benefit as this reporting further helps curb this behavior and ensures that resources are not stolen from the developing world.”

The sanctions board is an independent tribunal led by mainly external members and acts as the final decision-maker in all contested cases of World Bank funded projects. Historically, the World Bank only disclosed summaries of past board decisions but this new change in policy will give an in-depth review of every appeal and the logic behind deciding where misconduct occurred and what sanctions should be administered.

 

Return to Top