شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر  الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
المدونة
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

آخر الأخبار

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث مقاطع الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الأخبار »المؤتمر الأمريكي


أخبر الكونجرس: التخفيضات سوف تكلف الأرواح! نوفمبر 6th، 2012

مع عودة الكونغرس لجلسة عرجاء البط بعد انتخابات تشرين الثاني / نوفمبر 6 ، هناك حاجة إلى صوتك للحفاظ على المساعدة الدولية التي تركز على الفقر خلال مداولات الكونغرس بشأن تشريع تخفيض الديون والتخصيصات. حث أعضاء مجلس الشيوخ وممثلك على تمرير التمويل الدولي (FY) 2013 الذي يركز على الفقر وتمويل التنمية على المستويات التي أقرها مجلس الشيوخ في وقت سابق من هذا العام. بالنسبة لبلدان مثل جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية وهايتي وزامبيا ، فإن هذا المبلغ الصغير من التمويل الذي يمثل أقل من نسبة 1٪ من الميزانية الفيدرالية ينقذ ملايين الأرواح.

اقرأ تنبيه العمل المشترك USCCB و CRS للحصول على تفاصيل حول كيفية اتخاذ إجراء (تنزيل ملف PDF)

 


قطاع البنوك يوليو 24th، 2012

اقرأ الأب. أحدث مدونة لفن على موقع هافينغتون بوست - تعليقه على الانهيار الأخير للقطاع المصرفي. يبدأ…

عادة ما تتميز أشهر الصيف هنا في واشنطن العاصمة بالوتيرة البطيئة المرتبطة بالمدن الجنوبية واندفاع الكونغرس وموظفي الحكومة للحصول على بعض العطلات مع عائلاتهم قبل عيد العمال. حتى أن مراسلي المرور عادة ما يرددون تقاريرهم مع تعليقات حول تدفقات المرور المتدنية أو المخارج المبكرة للشاطئ الشرقي التي تبدأ عادة بعد ظهر يوم الخميس.

لسوء الحظ ، إذا كنت عضوًا في لجنة الخدمات المالية في مجلس النواب أو اللجنة المصرفية في مجلس الشيوخ أو أحد المنظمين للعديد من الشركات التي تعمل في قطاع الخدمات المالية ، فقد كان هناك القليل من الوقت الضائع منذ إعلان JPMC الشهير في أوائل مايو حول خسارة التداول في مكتب رئيس الاستثمار في لندن. ومنذ ذلك الحين ، تضاعف حجم الخسارة ، وتم فتح العديد من التحقيقات في تصرفات الأفراد المتورطين في الخسارة. كل هذه الأنشطة تعد بإبقاء عدد من الأشخاص في مكاتبهم لفترة أطول من المتوقع.

اقرأ المدونة ...

 


يتحد المسيحيون واليهود والمسلمون البارزون لحماية تمويل برامج مساعدة الفقر يوليو 15th، 2011

التحالف بين الأديان يحذر الإدارة والكونغرس من أن دور العبادة ستكون غير قادرة على تعويض الفرق في التمويل الذي تسببه التخفيضات في برامج مكافحة الفقر
.
عبر تمثيل حركة متنامية من الأمريكيين عن قلقهم من قيام الإدارة والكونجرس بسن اتفاقية للميزانية من شأنها أن تضع عبئاً غير مبرر على الفقراء "مع حماية الأغنياء من أي تضحية إضافية" ، أطلق القادة الذين يمثلون الديانات المسيحية واليهودية والإسلامية اليوم حملة لتشجيع صانعي السياسة للحفاظ على التزام الولايات المتحدة القوي لبرامج الفقر المحلية والدولية. الأب وليام أنطون ، OMI انضم إلى قادة الدين الوطنيين الآخرين في إصدار هذه الدعوة.

مستوحاة من قناعة روحية مشتركة أن الله دعا جميع الأميركيين لحماية الضعفاء وتعزيز كرامة جميع الأفراد الذين يعيشون في المجتمع ، يهدف التحالف بين الأديان إلى حماية أولئك الذين يناضلون من أجل التغلب على الفقر في الولايات المتحدة وفي الخارج واستبعاد البرامج التي حماية الناس في الفقر من مناقشات نقص الموازنة.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


هاري ريد زعيم الأغلبية في مجلس الشيوخ يعد بمشروع قانون جديد للهجرة في 2010 12 أبريل، 2010

DSC_7184-1عاد الكونجرس إلى العمل في واشنطن العاصمة بعد عطلة عيد الفصح ، ووعد زعيم الأغلبية في مجلس الشيوخ هاري ريد بتشريع جديد حول إصلاح الهجرة في 2010. وبدا أن السناتور ريد الذي يواجه حملة إعادة انتخابه قاسية بدا عليها الغضب من حشد الالاف الذين تجمعوا لإصلاح نظام الهجرة في وسط مدينة لاس فيجاس يوم السبت الماضي وقالوا إنه سيبدأ العمل على مشروع قانون جديد للهجرة عندما يعود المشرعون من عطلة عيد الفصح. "سننجح في إصلاح شامل للهجرة" أخبر ريد الحشد. "نحن بحاجة إلى القيام بذلك هذا العام. "لا يمكن أن ندع الأعذار مثل ترشيح المحكمة العليا في طريقنا." وعد ريد بأن يتضمن التشريع أحكامًا لتأمين حدود الشمال والجنوب ، ومراجعات لبرنامج العمال الضيوف ، وأحكام للتعامل مع المهاجرين غير الشرعيين الموجودين بالفعل في البلاد. ومع استمرار الزخم في إدخال إصلاح إصلاحي على إصلاح مجلس الشيوخ ، من المهم معرفة موقف سيناتورك وممثلك من إصلاح الهجرة.


مشروع قانون إصلاح الهجرة في الكونغرس ديسمبر 17th، 2009

النائب جوتيريز يقدم مشروع القانونيشيد مكتب The Missionary Oblates JPIC بقيادة عضو الكونجرس لويس جوتيريز في إدخال الإصلاح الشامل للهجرة من أجل الأمن والازدهار في أمريكا (CIR ASAP) في مجلس النواب ، ويضع مشروع القانون هذا الأساس لإصلاح نظام الهجرة المعطل في عام 2010. وقد تم تقديمه في 15 ديسمبر مع 89 من الرعاة الأصليين بما في ذلك أعضاء في الكونجرس من ذوي الأصول الأسبانية ، والكونجرس الأسود ، والتجمع الأمريكي لآسيا والمحيط الهادئ ، والتجمع التقدمي.

يوفر قانون الإصلاح الشامل للهجرة من أجل الأمن والازدهار في أمريكا (CIR ASA P) لعام 2009 حماية حدودية معززة ، ويسمح لعائلات المهاجرين بلم شملهم ، ويوفر طريقة للعديد من المهاجرين غير المسجلين للحصول على الشرعية. اقرأ ملخصًا لـ CIR ASAP هنا.

تم إصدار قانون الهجرة هذا (CIR ASAP) في الوقت الذي يستعد فيه الكاثوليك الأمريكيون للاحتفال بأسبوع الهجرة الوطني لعام 2010 المقرر عقده في الفترة من 4 إلى 10 يناير تحت شعار ، تجديد الأمل ، السعي لتحقيق العدالة.


ممثلو الولايات المتحدة يضغطون على وزارة الخارجية لبذل المزيد في سريلانكا لحماية المدنيين مسيرة 12th، 2009

أرسل ثمانية وثلاثون من أعضاء مجلس النواب رسالة إلى وزيرة الخارجية كلينتون تدعو إلى قيادة نشطة لحماية المدنيين في الصراع والضغط على GOSL للسماح لعمال الإغاثة والصحفيين بالدخول إلى منطقة النزاع من أجل تلبية احتياجاتهم. وأرسلت رسالة مماثلة إلى سوزان رايس ، الممثلة الدائمة للولايات المتحدة لدى الأمم المتحدة.

اقرأ الرسالة إلى الوزيرة كلينتون (تنزيل ملف PDF)

اقرأ الرسالة إلى السفير رايس (تنزيل PDF)

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace, and Integrity of Creation

A Ministry of the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate

United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » us congress


Tell Congress: Cuts will Cost Lives! November 6th, 2012

As Congress returns for a Lame Duck session after the November 6 elections, your voice is needed to preserve poverty-focused international assistance during Congressional deliberations on debt reduction and appropriations legislation. Urge your Senators and Representative to pass fiscal year (FY) 2013 poverty–focused international relief and development funding at the levels passed by the Senate earlier this year. For Countries such as the Democratic Republic of Congo, Haiti and Zambia, this small amount of funding that represents less than 1% of the federal budget saves millions of lives.

Read the USCCB and CRS joint Action Alert for  details on how to take action (Download PDF)

 


The Imploding Banking Sector July 24th, 2012

Read Fr. Finn’s latest blog on Huffington Post – his commentary on the latest implosion of the banking sector. It begins…

Summer months here in Washington, D.C. are generally characterized by the slower pace that is associated with southern cities and the rush of Congress and government employees to get in some vacationing with their families before Labor Day. Even the traffic reporters usually sprinkle their reports with comments about the decreased traffic flows or the early exits for the eastern shore that usually start on Thursday afternoon.

Unfortunately, if you are on the House Financial Services Committee or the Senate Banking committee or one of the regulators for the numerous corporations that operate in the financial services sector, there has been very little down time since the famous early May JPMC announcement about the huge trading loss in their Chief Investment Office in London. Since then the amount of the loss has more than doubled and numerous investigations into the actions of individuals involved in the loss have been opened. All of these activities promise to keep a number of folks at their desks for longer than expected.

Read the blog…

 


Prominent Christians, Jews and Muslims Unite to Protect Funding for Poverty Assistance Programming July 15th, 2011

Interfaith Coalition Warns Administration, Congress that Houses of Worship Will Be Unable to Make Up the Difference in Funding Caused by Cuts to Poverty Programs
.
Representing a growing movement of Americans concerned that the Administration and Congress are enacting a budget deal that will place an undue burden on the poor “while shielding the wealthiest from any additional sacrifice,” leaders representing the Christian, Jewish and Muslim faiths today launched a new campaign to encourage policymakers to maintain a robust U.S. commitment to domestic and international poverty programs. Fr. William Antone, OMI joined the other national faith leaders in issuing this call.

Inspired by a common spiritual conviction that God has called on all Americans to protect the vulnerable and promote the dignity of all individuals living in society, the interfaith coalition is aiming to protect those struggling to overcome poverty in the U.S. and abroad and to exclude programs that protect people in poverty from the budget deficit debates.

Click here to read more »


Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid Promises New Immigration Bill in 2010 April 12th, 2010

DSC_7184-1Congress is back to work in Washington D.C. after the Easter recess, and Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid has promised new legislation on immigration reform in 2010. Senator Reid, facing a tough re-election campaign, appeared elated by the crowd of thousands rallying for immigration reform in downtown Las Vegas last Saturday, and said he would start work on a new immigration bill when lawmakers returned from the Easter recess. “We are going to pass comprehensive immigration reform,” Reid told the crowd. “We need to do this this year. We can’t let excuses like a Supreme Court nomination get in the way.” Reid promised the legislation would include provisions to secure the north and south borders, revisions to a guest worker program, and provisions to deal with illegal immigrants already in the country.” As momentum to introduce a senate version immigration reform overhaul continues, it is important to know where your Senator and Representative stand on Immigration Reform….


Immigration Reform Bill Introduced in Congress December 17th, 2009

Rep Gutierrez introduces billThe Missionary Oblates JPIC office applauds Congressman Luis Gutierrez’s leadership in introducing the Comprehensive Immigration Reform for America’s Security and Prosperity Act (CIR A.S.A.P.) in the House of Representatives, This bill lays a foundation to fix the broken immigration system in 2010. It was introduced on December 15 with 89 original co-sponsors including members of the Congressional Hispanic Caucus, Black Caucus, Asian Pacific American Caucus, and Progressive Caucus.

The Comprehensive Immigration Reform for America’s Security and Prosperity (CIR A.S.A. P) Act of 2009 offers enhanced border protection, allows for immigrant families to reunite, and provides a way for many undocumented immigrants to earn legalization. Read a summary of the CIR A.S.A.P here.

This immigration bill (CIR A.S.A.P) is released just as U.S. Catholics prepare to celebrate National Migration Week 2010 scheduled for January 4 – 10 under the theme, Renewing Hope, Seeking Justice.


US Representatives Press the State Department to do more in Sri Lanka to Protect Civilians March 12th, 2009

Thirty-eight members of the House of Representatives sent a letter to Secretary of State Clinton calling for active leadership to protect civilians in the conflict and to press the GOSL to allow aid workers and journalists into the conflict area to minister to their needs. A similar letter was sent to Susan Rice, Permanent Representative of the United States to the United Nations.

Read the letter to Secretary Clinton (Download PDF)

Read the letter to Ambassador Rice (Download PDF)

Return to Top