شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر  الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
الأخبار
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

آخر الأخبار

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث مقاطع الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الأخبار »Vanni


الكارثة الإنسانية تتكشف في سري لانكا 17 أبريل، 2009

لقد نشرت هيومن رايتس ووتش مونتاج الصور الكارثة الإنسانية في منطقة فاني الشمالية من سري لانكا. قالت الباحثة في هيومن رايتس ووتش ، آنا نيستات ، إن طرفي النزاع في سريلانكا ينتهكان قوانين الحرب ، ويعرضون للخطر حوالي 100,000 ألف مدني محاصر في "منطقة حظر إطلاق النار" التي أعلنتها الحكومة. منع متمردو نمور التاميل المدنيين من مغادرة الشريط الصغير من الأرض ، بينما تقصف القوات الحكومية المنطقة يوميا ، مما أدى إلى وقوع العديد من الضحايا.

الصور في عرض الشرائح هذا مأخوذة من مستشفى مؤقت في بوتوماتالان كان يعالج الناجيات من الهجمات في نيسان 8 و 9 و 2009. وكان العديد من النساء والأطفال الذين كانوا ينتظرون في خط توزيع الطعام في Pokkanai عندما ضربت قذائف المدفعية.

شاهد الفيديو ...


لجنة العلاقات الخارجية في مجلس الشيوخ في جنوب آسيا تعقد جلسة استماع حول سريلانكا 25 فبراير، 2009

كانت غرفة لجنة العلاقات الخارجية بمجلس الشيوخ غرفة واقفة بعد ظهر الثلاثاء فقط لجلسة استماع دعت إليها اللجنة الفرعية لجنوب آسيا حول "الوضع الحالي في سريلانكا". ترأس السناتور بوب كيسي (ديم-با) جلسة الاستماع.

وقدّم الأونورابل جيفري لونستيد ، سفير الولايات المتحدة السابق في سريلانكا ، والدكتورة آنا نيستات ، باحث أول في هيومن رايتس ووتش ، والسيد بوب ديتز ، منسق برامج آسيا ، لجنة حماية الصحفيين ، شهادة. أبرزت الأزمة الإنسانية في الشمال (فاني) ، والمشاكل المرتبطة بالمخيمات الحكومية التي أنشئت لمدنيين يفرون من القتال ، والهجمات الوحشية المتزايدة ضد الصحفيين. وتم التأكيد أيضا على الحاجة إلى حل سياسي دائم للتصدي للمظالم المشروعة لجماعة التاميل في سري لانكا.

شهادة:

الفخامة جيفري ج. لونستيد
سفير الولايات المتحدة السابق في سري لانكا

الدكتورة آنا نيستات
باحث أول
هيومن رايتس ووتش

السيد بوب ديتز
منسق برنامج آسيا
لجنة حماية الصحفيين


لا ملاذ آمن للتاميل في سري لانكا يناير 23rd، 2009

تتسبب الحملة العسكرية الكبيرة التي شنتها الحكومة السريلانكية لهزيمة نمور التاميل - نمور التاميل - في معاناة هائلة وتزايد الخسائر في صفوف المدنيين بين سكان التاميل. اضطر الرجال والنساء والأطفال للفرار من منازلهم لتجنب القتال ، إلى منطقة صغيرة بشكل متزايد في شمال شرق البلاد ، بالقرب من مولايثيفو. مع مطالبة العاملين في المجال الإنساني من قبل الحكومة بمغادرة فاني (شمال) في سبتمبر ، هناك نقص في الإمدادات الغذائية والطبية والمعلومات محدودة.

وما زلنا نسمع من الكهنة وغيرهم ممن بقوا في المنطقة ، وهم يناشدون تدخل الأمم المتحدة لوقف سفك الدماء. اقرأ الرسالة المفتوحة إلى الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة بان كي مون من الكهنة والمتدينين في واني

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace & Integrity of Creation

Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate  United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » vanni


Humanitarian Catastrophe Unfolds in Sri Lanka April 17th, 2009

Human Rights Watch has posted a photo montage of the humanitarian catastrophe in the northern Vanni region of Sri Lanka. Human Rights Watch researcher Anna Neistat says both sides in Sri Lanka’s conflict are violating the laws of war, endangering the roughly 100,000 civilians trapped in a government-declared “no-fire zone.” Tamil Tiger (LTTE) rebels have prevented civilians from leaving the tiny strip of land, while government forces shell the area daily, leading to numerous casualties.

The photos in this slideshow are from a makeshift hospital in Putumattalan that was treating survivors of attacks on April 8 and 9, 2009. Many were women and children who were waiting in a food distribution line in Pokkanai when artillery shells hit.

Watch the video…


Senate Foreign Relations South Asia Subcommittee holds Hearing on Sri Lanka February 25th, 2009

The Senate Foreign Relations Committee room was standing room only on Tuesday afternoon for a Hearing called by the South Asia Subcommittee on “The Present Situation in Sri Lanka.” Senator Bob Casey (Dem-PA) chaired the Hearing.

The Honorable Jeffrey J. Lunstead, former U.S. Ambassador to Sri Lanka, Dr. Anna Neistat, Senior Researcher, Human Rights Watch, and Mr. Bob Dietz, Asia Program Coordinator, Committee to Protect Journalists presented testimony. Highlighted were the humanitarian crisis in the north (Vanni), problems associated with government camps established to intern civilians fleeing the fighting, and the increasingly brutal attacks against journalists. The need for a durable political solution to address the legitimate grievances of the Tamil community in Sri Lanka was also emphasized.

Testimony:

The Honorable Jeffrey J. Lunstead
Former U.S. Ambassador to Sri Lanka

Dr. Anna Neistat
Senior Researcher
Human Rights Watch

Mr. Bob Dietz
Asia Program Coordinator
Committee to Protect Journalists


No Safe Haven for Tamils in Sri Lanka January 23rd, 2009

A major military campaign by the Sri Lankan government to defeat the LTTE – the Tamil Tigers – is causing immense suffering and increasing civilian casualties among the Tamil population. Fleeing their homes to avoid the fighting, men, women and children have been forced into an increasingly small area in the northeast of the country, near Mullaithivu. With humanitarian workers told by the government to leave the Vanni (north) in September, food and medical supplies are in short supply and information is limited.

We continue to hear from priests and others who have remained in the area, and they are appealing for United Nations intervention to stop the bloodshed. Read the Open Letter to UN General Secretary Ban Ki Moon from the Priests and Religious in the Wanni

Click here to read more »

Return to Top