شعار أومي
المدونة
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

آخر الأخبار

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث مقاطع الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الأخبار »omi


الاب. Séamus Finn، OMI يقدم صلاة السلام في لقاء الأديان يونيو 23rd، 2022

من منطلق الاهتمام المشترك بالصدمة والحزن اللذين سببتهما الحرب ، اجتمعت منظمة الأديان من أجل السلام و UNIAPAC لتعزيز التعاون متعدد الأديان في خدمة الإنسانية ، واستضافت الصلاة بين الأديان من أجل السلام العالمي يوم الثلاثاء 22 يونيو. دعا Séamus Finn ، OMI ، لتقديم صلاة الشفاعة ، صلى صلاة سلام للقديس فرنسيس الأسيزي.

في مواجهة الصراع العنيف وجشع الخدمة الذاتية ، تدعو منظمة الأديان من أجل السلام و UNIAPAC إلى نموذج بديل ، وهو الأخوة الإنسانية. إنهم يدركون أن الجميع مدعوون لحماية إخوتنا وأخواتنا في الإنسانية ، بغض النظر عن اختلافاتنا في الإيمان ، والعمل معًا لزراعة السلام والازدهار المشترك من خلال الحوار والتعاون.

بينما يعاني الناس في جميع أنحاء العالم من الحروب والحرمان والهشاشة البيئية ، فإنهم يدعون القادة الدينيين في المجتمعات الدينية والروحية في العالم للعمل معًا للصلاة من أجل السلام.

الاتحاد المسيحي الدولي لرجال الأعمال أو UNIAPAC هو منظمة مسكونية لرجال الأعمال المسيحيين.

 


الاب. Séamus Finn، OMI مقابلة بواسطة Berkley Center ، جامعة جورج تاون 20 يونيو، 2022

خلفيّة: برزت سياسات وأولويات الاستثمار للمجتمعات الدينية في الصدارة في السنوات الأخيرة ، حيث عملت جنبًا إلى جنب مع المجتمع على نطاق أوسع سياسات استثمار مسؤولة وتنطوي على جهود نشطة لتشكيل الاتجاهات لتأثير القطاع الخاص. الاب. لعب Séamus أدوارًا نشطة في مبادرات ضمن مجموعته (Oblates of Mary Immaculate) ، والكنيسة الكاثوليكية ، والمجتمعات الدينية على نطاق واسع. تحدث إلى مجموعة من طلاب جامعة جورجتاون وزملاء آخرين في 27 أبريل ، حيث قدم عمله واستكشف القضايا الأساسية المتعلقة بسياسات الاستثمار والإجراءات اللازمة لتشكيلها.

الاب. يجلب Séamus تاريخًا طويلًا من الجهود النشطة لتشكيل سياسات وممارسات استثمارية متسقة. بصفته مديرًا لمكتب العدل والسلام وسلامة الخلق في مقاطعة أوبليتس بالولايات المتحدة ، فإنه ينسق أعمال المناصرة نيابة عن الشعوب والمجتمعات المهمشة التي تعيش في فقر ؛ الأولويات هي "مرافقة المحتاجين" و "التواجد حيث يتم اتخاذ القرارات التي تؤثر على حياة ومستقبل الفقراء" ، في كل من الساحة العامة والقطاع الخاص.

شغل منصب رئيس مجلس إدارة مركز الأديان لمسؤولية الشركات لمدة 5 سنوات ، وهو مدير Faith Consistent Investment في Oblate International Pastoral Investment Trust. يتضمن الأخير برنامج استثمار نشط للمساهمين لكل من مقاطعة الولايات المتحدة والمصلين ، وحضورًا في مختلف المجالات التشريعية وفي المؤسسات الدولية مثل البنك الدولي وصندوق النقد الدولي والأمم المتحدة. وهو عضو في مجالس إدارة العديد من المنظمات التي تركز على أولويات العدالة في مجال السياسة العامة.

قراءة المقابلة الكاملة: https://bit.ly/3O9TzHp 


بدأ Laudato Si في العمل في أبرشية القلب المقدس أغسطس 31st، 2020

ننضم إلى العائلة المسكونية العالمية في الصلاة والعمل لموسم الخلق الذي يبدأ في الأول من أيلول (سبتمبر). جاك لاو ، جهود OMI لتحويل رسالة البابا فرانسيس Laudato Si إلى عمل ملموس في Sacred Heart Parish ، أوكلاند ، كاليفورنيا.

قبل سنوات ، تم بناء الحدائق لمدرسة سانت مارتن دي بوريس (التي أصبحت الآن مدرسة ماندرين تشارتر). لكن الحدائق تم التخلي عنها مؤخرًا وعندما تحولت المدرسة إلى التعلم الافتراضي في وقت سابق من هذا العام ، قال الأب. بدأ جاك ، بمساعدة أحد أبناء الرعية ، في إحياء الحدائق.

هنا صورة قبل.

الاب. أكمل جاك مؤخرًا التدريب ليصبح أ Laudato سي الرسوم المتحركة ومع العناية والاهتمام المناسبين ، تنتج الحديقة بالفعل الكثير من الخضروات.

على الرغم من أن الكنائس لا تزال مغلقة في منطقة خليج كاليفورنيا ، إلا أن ساكريد هارت أبرشية تستضيف يوم الأحد جماهير الزوم والتواصل بالسيارة.

مباشرة بعد القداس والتواصل بالسيارة ، تتوفر الخضروات الطازجة من الحدائق المزدهرة الآن لأبناء الرعية الذين ربما تم تسريحهم أو احتياجهم. كأبرشية متعددة الثقافات ، استمتع بعض أبناء الرعية بجولة في الحدائق فقط لتذكير أنفسهم بالبستنة في الفلبين أو فيتنام أو نيجيريا.

الأحد الماضي ، الأب. كالمعتاد ، اختار جاك الخضروات التي كانت جاهزة لمشاركتها مع الرعية بعد القداس وقبل القيادة عبر المناولة. ثم جلب أبناء الأبرشية الخضار من حدائقهم الخاصة ، والخبز القديم والفاكهة للمشاركة أيضًا. هناك تآزر جميل يحدث!

مثل الكثيرين منا ، تشارك أبرشية القلب المقدس طوال شهر سبتمبر في الاعتراف والاحتفال بـ "موسم الخلق".

هل تريد أن تشارك؟

من 1 سبتمبر إلى 4 أكتوبر ، شارك مع المسيحيين في جميع أنحاء العالم في الاحتفال بالاستعادة ونأمل في شفاء علاقاتنا مع الخليقة ومع بعضنا البعض. تعرف على الأحداث والمشاركة فيها من خلال زيارة هذا الرابط: http://bit.ly/JoinSOC2020


تأملات يومية للمجيء للأب رون روليزر ، OMI ديسمبر 16th، 2019

هذه تأملات الصوت المجيء تعمل بين دقيقتين و 2 دقائق لكل منهما

انقر فوق أي تاريخ للاستماع إلى انعكاس ذلك اليوم

1 ديسمبر، 2019  2 ديسمبر، 2019

3 ديسمبر، 2019   4 ديسمبر، 2019   5 ديسمبر، 2019

6 ديسمبر، 2019   7 ديسمبر، 2019   8 ديسمبر 2019

9 ديسمبر، 2019  10 ديسمبر، 2019  11 ديسمبر، 2019 

12 ديسمبر، 2019  13 ديسمبر، 2019  14 ديسمبر، 2019

15 ديسمبر، 2019  16 ديسمبر، 2019   17 ديسمبر، 2019

18 ديسمبر، 2019   19 ديسمبر، 2019   20 ديسمبر، 2019

21 ديسمبر، 2019  22 ديسمبر، 2019  23 ديسمبر، 2019

24 ديسمبر، 2019


2019 World Mission Sunday هو أكتوبر 20 أكتوبر 18th، 2019

"نحن نؤمن بمهمة الكنيسة لمريم أمنا. في اتحاد مع ابنها ، من لحظة التجسد ، انطلقت السيدة العذراء المباركة في طريقها. لقد شاركت بشكل كامل في مهمة يسوع ، وهي المهمة التي أصبحت ملكًا لها عند سفح الصليب: مهمة التعاون ، بصفتها أم الكنيسة ، في إنجاب أبناء وبنات الله الجدد في الروح وفي الإيمان".

(رسالة البابا فرانسيس لليوم العالمي للرسالة ، أكتوبر 2019)

(قم بتنزيل هذا المورد كمستند PDF)

الأحد العالمي (أكتوبر 20) هو يوم عالمي للكاثوليك للتفكير في دعوة المعمودية للبعثة. المهمة العالمية الأحد هذا العام يندرج ضمن شهر التبشيرية الاستثنائي الخاص. نحن مدعوون من خلال معموديتنا لأن نكون جزءًا من جهود الكنيسة التبشيرية ، من خلال الصلاة والتضحية بالنفس ودعم المهن التبشيرية من خلال المساعدات المادية.

توفر مجموعة Mission Sunday دعمًا حيويًا وتحافظ على تطوير البعثات الكاثوليكية في جميع أنحاء العالم وخاصة للأبرشيات ومراكز الإرساليات في آسيا وإفريقيا وأمريكا اللاتينية وأوروبا وجزر المحيط الهادئ. موضوع 2019 World Mission Sunday هو المعمودية والمرسلة: كنيسة المسيح في مهمة في العالم.

في عالم يفرقنا فيه كثيرًا ، يفرح World Mission Sunday في وحدتنا مثل المبشرين من قبل معموديتنا. وهي توفر فرصة لدعم وجود الكنيسة الواهب للحياة بين الفقراء والمهمشين في أكثر من أبرشيات مهمة 1,111.

المياه المجتمعية لأبرشية ليفينغستون ، زامبيا

أبناء الرعية في أبرشية ليفينغستون الكاثوليكية في زامبيا

تقع أبرشية ليفينغستون في الطرف الجنوبي لزامبيا. تشترك في الحدود مع زيمبابوي وبوتسوانا ناميبيا وأنغولا. لا تتلقى أبرشية ليفينغستون عادة كمية كافية من الأمطار بسبب موقعها بالقرب من صحاريتين: ناميب وكالاهاري.

لطالما واجه المجتمع نقصًا في المياه. لطالما كان الحصول على مياه جارية للاستحمام والطبخ والاحتياجات الأخرى يمثل تحديًا لأن المياه يتم دفعها عبر الأنابيب البالية. في بعض الأحيان لا يوجد ماء على الإطلاق لعدة أيام. ونتيجة لذلك ، يلجأ السكان باستخدام الدلاء إلى جلب المياه من خارج المنزل لأغراض الطهي والنظافة. كما يعتمد على إمدادات المياه الحالية مركز للشباب ومدرسة ثانوية للبنات.

هدفنا هو حفر بئر وإنشاء نظام مياه قوي يمكنه استيعاب خزان سعة 5000 لتر. يقع مقر الأبرشية بين مركز شبيبة الأبرشية ومدرسة سانت ماري الثانوية. بمجرد أن يكون هناك تدفق ثابت للمياه في السكن ، سيستفيد كل من مركز الشباب ومدرسة سانت ماري الثانوية في حالة حدوث ذلك

معظم القس فالنتاين كالومبا ، OMI ، من أبرشية ليفينغستون الكاثوليكية في زامبيا ، كان في الولايات المتحدة مؤخرًا ، وأجرى مقابلات مع بعثات الرعية لجمع الأموال لبعض المشاريع التي تمس الحاجة إليها في أبرشيته.

نفاد المياه كما هو الحال في كثير من الأحيان. يضم مركز الشباب حوالي 250 من الطلاب ، بينما تضم ​​مدرسة St Mary's Secondary طلاب من 700.

يؤثر نقص المياه الحالي في المجتمع بشكل كبير على الطلاب. بدلاً من التركيز على التعلم ، يقلقهم سحب المياه لتلبية الاحتياجات الصحية.

سوف يزيل البئر كل هذه المشاكل ويقلل من حدوث الأمراض التي تنقلها المياه.

هناك العديد من الطرق التي يمكننا من خلالها الرد على هذه المكالمة:

مواصلة الصلاة من أجل البعثات ، ويرجى إعطاء بسخاء في يوم الأحد العالمي. إذا كنت ترغب في مساعدة أبرشية ليفينغستون على تحسين نظامها المائي ، فيرجى تقديم تبرعك من خلال هذا الرابط وإخراجه إلى: أبرشية ليفينغستون الكاثوليكية في زامبيا  https://www.omiusa.org/index.php/oblate-ministries/support-our-mission/

إن عمل الإرساليات التبشيرية لمريم الطاهرة في إيصال الإنجيل إلى أفقر الفقراء هو استجابة لدعوة البعثة والروح. تكرس التبشير التبشيري لتقديم الأخبار السارة للفقراء في أكثر من بلدان 60 من خلال الحياة في المجتمع وبالتعاون مع الرجال والنساء من جميع الأديان.

 

 


حضور مميّز في السينودس الخاص لـ Amazon 2019 أكتوبر 10th، 2019

الفاتيكان

عندما أعلن البابا فرانسيس في أكتوبر 15 ، 2017 سينودس خاص جديد لمنطقة عموم الأمازون، وجدت عملية الاستماع والحوار برمتها مع شعوب الأمازون في تسع دول (البرازيل ، بيرو ، بوليفيا ، كولومبيا ، إكوادور ، فنزويلا ، غيانا ، سورينام وغويانا الفرنسية) دفعة لا يمكن أن تأتي إلا من أولئك الذين يعرفون هذه الصرخات والمخاوف ، هذه المقترحات والتحديات. يدعونا بابا أمريكا اللاتينية مع سينودس الأمازون هذا إلى الحوار والتمييز والاستماع والسؤال عن الله لإيجاد طرق جديدة للكنيسة ولإيكولوجيا متكاملة.

وقد دعاهم الأب الأقدس للمشاركة كآباء سينودس من أكتوبر 6 إلى 27 في روما، حيث سيقام هذا الحدث الكنسي الهام ، يجمع أكثر من 250 من الناس. ومن بين هؤلاء الأساقفة والمبشرين والأشخاص العاديين والخبراء والضيوف الخاصين ، والذين سيتولون على مدى ثلاثة أسابيع مهمة التمييز مع البابا فرانسيس حول كيفية تطبيقه مبشر الإنجيلية و نشيد سي.

ننقل هذا الفرح العظيم لجميع أفراد عائلة مازنوديان بأن اثنين من إخواننا سيشاركان في السينودس لتبادل شهاداتهم الحية مع شعوب الأمازون.

الأسقف جان كوت، أسقف أبرشية زي دوكا ، إحدى أراضي الأمازون البرازيلية هو أحد هؤلاء الأساقفة الذين يمثلون منطقة عموم الأمازون. الأب روبرتو كاراسكو، من الوفد العام لبيرو ، تم انتخابه كأب سينودس من قائمة مندوبي اتحاد الرؤساء العامين.

الأسقف كوت مبشر مفلطح من بولندا. كان كاهن أبرشية القسيس في سيدلس ، بولندا ، قبل وصوله إلى البرازيل في 1994. ثم خدم كاهن أبرشي ، أولاً في يوسارفال ثم في فيتوريا دي سانتو أنتاو ، أبرشية أوليندا وريسيفي. وكان أيضًا كاهن أبرشية رعية قلب مريم المقدس في أليغري دو فيدالجو ، في أبرشية سان ريموندو نوناتو. منذ 2014 ، كان يشغل منصب أسقف أبرشية زي دوكا ، مباشرة في منطقة الأمازون في البرازيل.

الأب روبرتو كاراسكو يكمل شهادة في الاتصالات الاجتماعية في جامعة ساليسيان البابوية في روما. هو عملت لمدة أربع سنوات في بعثة Aucayacu ، أبرشية Huánuco ، مدير راديو Amistad. ثم انتقل إلى مهمة سانتا كلوتيلد ، نهر نابو ، حيث شغل منصب نائب الرعية لمدة سبع سنوات. في الحواري الرسولي للقديس يوسف الأمازون شغل منصب منسق الرعوية الأصليين. وهو يقود حاليا مبادرة مشتركة تسمى "الأمازون: Casa Común" مساحة حيث تتفاعل مختلف الطوائف الدينية ومنظمات الكنيسة ومنظمات المجتمع المدني رقميا في عملها مع الشعوب الأمازون. لقد قاموا بإعداد أكثر من مائة نشاط سيتم تنفيذها بغرض مرافقة السينودس في أكتوبر 2019.

كلا الاب روبرتو كاراسكو و Msgr. يان كوت ، بروح وجاذبية القديس يوجين دي مازنود ، حاضرون لتطوير سينودس الأمازون ، ويعيشون ويتشاركون في هذا الزملاء الذي لا يعدو كونه "المشي معًا" لكنيسة لها أيضًا وجهًا أمازونًا .

العودة للقمة

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » omi


Fr. Séamus Finn, OMI Offers Peace Prayer at Interfaith Gathering June 23rd, 2022

Out of shared concern for the trauma and sorrow wrought by war, Religions for Peace and UNIAPAC came together to promote multireligious collaboration in service of humanity, hosting an Interfaith Prayer for World Peace on Tuesday, June 22.  Fr. Séamus Finn, OMI, invited to offer a prayer of intercession, prayed the Peace Prayer of St. Francis of Assisi.

In the face of violent conflict and self-serving avarice, Religions for Peace and UNIAPAC are advocating for an alternative paradigm, human fraternity. They recognize that all are called to protect our brothers and sisters in humanity, irrespective of our differences in faith, and work together to cultivate peace and shared flourishment through dialogue and cooperation.

As people around the globe suffer from wars, deprivation and ecological precarity, they are calling on faith leaders of the world’s religious and spiritual communities to come together to pray for peace.

The International Christian Union of Business Executives or UNIAPAC is an ecumenical organization for Christian businesspeople.

 


Fr. Séamus Finn, OMI Interviewed by Berkley Center, Georgetown University June 20th, 2022

Background: Investment policies and priorities for faith communities have come to the fore in recent years, working alongside wider socially responsible investment policies and involving active efforts to shape directions for private sector impact. Fr. Séamus has played active roles in initiatives within his order (Oblates of Mary Immaculate), the Catholic Church, and faith communities broadly. He spoke to a group of Georgetown University students and other colleagues on April 27, presenting his work and exploring underlying issues related to investment policies and action to shape them.

Fr. Séamus brings a long history of active efforts to shape faith consistent investment policies and practice. As director of the Oblates’ United States Province Office of Justice, Peace, and Integrity of Creation, he coordinates their advocacy work on behalf of marginalized peoples and communities living in poverty; the priorities are “accompanying those in need” and “being present where decisions affecting the lives and the futures of the poor are made”, in both the public arena and the private sector.

He served as chair of the Interfaith Center for Corporate Responsibility’s board of directors for 5 years and is the Director of Faith Consistent Investing for the Oblate International Pastoral Investment Trust. The latter includes an active shareholder investment program both for the U.S. province and for the congregation, and a presence at different legislative arenas and at international institutions like the World Bank, IMF and the UN. He serves on the boards of several organizations focused on justice priorities in the public policy arena.

Read the full interview: https://bit.ly/3O9TzHp 


Laudato Si Put Into Action at Sacred Heart Parish August 31st, 2020

We join the global ecumenical family in prayer and action for the Season of Creation which begins on September 1. We are also inspired by Fr. Jack Lau, OMI’s efforts to turn Pope Francis’ Laudato Si message into concrete action at Sacred Heart Parish, Oakland, CA.

Years ago gardens were built for St. Martin’s de Porres School (now a Mandarin immersion charter school). But the gardens were recently abandoned and when the school switched to virtual learning earlier this year, Fr. Jack, with help from a parishioner,  got to work reviving the gardens.

Here is a before photo.

Fr. Jack recently completed training to become a Laudato Si Animator and with proper care and attention, the garden is already producing a bounty of vegetables.

Although churches remain closed in the California Bay area, Sacred Heart Parish hosts Sunday zoom Masses and drive-thru communion.

Immediately after Mass and drive-thru communion, fresh vegetables from the now flourishing gardens are available for parishioners who may have been laid off or otherwise in need. As a multicultural parish, some parishioners have enjoyed touring the gardens just to remind themselves of gardening back in the Philippines, Vietnam or Nigeria.

This past Sunday, Fr. Jack as usual picked what vegetables were ready to share with the parish after Mass and before drive through communion. Parishioners then brought in vegetables from their own gardens, day old bread and fruit for sharing as well.  A beautiful synergy is taking place!

Like many of us, throughout the month of September Sacred Heart Parish joins in acknowledging and celebrating “the Season of Creation.”

WANT TO BECOME INVOLVED?

From September 1 to October 4, participate with Christians around the world in a celebration of restoration and hope to heal our relationships with creation and with each other. Learn about and participate in events by visiting this link: http://bit.ly/JoinSOC2020


Daily Reflections for Advent by Fr. Ron Rolheiser, OMI December 16th, 2019

These audio Advent Reflections run between 2 and 3 minutes each

Click On Any Date to Hear That Day’s Reflection

December 1, 2019  December 2, 2019

December 3, 2019   December 4, 2019   December 5, 2019

December 6, 2019   December 7, 2019   December  8, 2019

December 9, 2019  December 10, 2019  December 11, 2019 

December 12, 2019  December 13, 2019  December 14, 2019

December 15, 2019  December 16, 2019   December 17, 2019

December 18, 2019   December 19, 2019   December 20, 2019

December 21, 2019  December 22, 2019  December 23, 2019

December 24, 2019


2019 World Mission Sunday is October 20 October 18th, 2019

We entrust the Church’s mission to Mary our Mother. In union with her Son, from the moment of the Incarnation the Blessed Virgin set out on her pilgrim way. She was fully involved in the mission of Jesus, a mission that became her own at the foot of the Cross: the mission of cooperating, as Mother of the Church, in bringing new sons and daughters of God to birth in the Spirit and in faith.”

(Message of Pope Francis for World Mission Day, October 2019)

(Download this resource as a PDF document)

World Mission Sunday (October 20) is a worldwide day for Catholics to reflect on the baptismal call to mission. World Mission Sunday this year falls within a special Extraordinary Missionary Month. We are called through our baptism to be part of the Church’s missionary efforts, through prayer, self-sacrifice and support of missionary vocations through material aid.

Mission Sunday collection provides vital support and sustains developing Catholic missions around the world especially for dioceses and mission centers in Asia, Africa, Latin America, Europe, and the Pacific Islands.   The theme for 2019 World Mission Sunday is Baptized and Sent: The Church of Christ on Mission in the World.

In a world where so much divides us, World Mission Sunday rejoices in our unity as missionaries by our Baptism. And it provides an opportunity to support the life-giving presence of the Church among the poor and marginalized in more than 1,111 mission dioceses.

Community Water for Livingstone Diocese, Zambia

Parishioners at the Catholic Diocese of Livingstone in Zambia

Livingstone diocese is at the southern tip of Zambia. It shares borders with Zimbabwe, Botswana Namibia, and Angola. Livingstone diocese does not usually receive adequate rainfall due to its location near two deserts: Namib and Kalahari.

The community has long been facing a water shortage.  It has always been a challenge to get running water for bathing, cooking and other needs because the water is pushed through worn out pipes. Sometimes there is no water at all for days. As a result, using buckets residents resort to fetching water from outside the house for cooking and hygiene needs. Also relying on the current water supply are a youth center and girls’ secondary school.

Our goal is to drill a borehole and set up a strong water system which can hold a 5000 liter-tank. The diocesan residence is between the diocesan youth center and St Mary’s Secondary School.  Once there is steady water flow at the residence, both the youth center and St Mary’s Secondary School will benefit in the event they

Most Rev. Valentine Kalumba, OMI, of the Catholic Diocese of Livingstone in Zambia, was recently in the U.S.and gave interviews about parish missions to raise funds for some critically-needed projects in his diocese.

run out of water as is frequently the case. The youth center has about 250 students and St Mary’s Secondary School has 700 girl students.

The current community water shortage greatly affects the students. Instead of concentrating on learning they worry about drawing water for sanitary needs.

A borehole will eliminate all these problems and reduce the incidence of water-borne illnesses.

There are many ways we can respond to this call:

Continue to pray for Missions and please give generously on World Mission Sunday. If you would like to help the Livingstone diocese improve their water system please make your donation through this link and make it out to: Catholic Diocese of Livingstone, Zambia  https://www.omiusa.org/index.php/oblate-ministries/support-our-mission/

The work of the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate in bringing the Gospel to the poorest of the poor is an answer to this call of the Mission and Spirit. Missionary Oblates are dedicated to bringing the good news to the poor in over 60 countries through life in community and in collaboration with men and women of all faiths.

 

 


Oblate presence at the Special Synod for Amazon 2019 October 10th, 2019

VATICAN

When Pope Francis announced on October 15, 2017 a new Special Synod for the Pan-Amazon Region, the whole process of listening and dialogue with the Amazonian peoples of nine countries (Brazil, Peru, Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador, Venezuela, Guyana, Suriname and French Guyana) found a push that could only come from those who know these cries and concerns, these proposals and challenges. The Latin American Pope with this Pan-Amazonian Synod invites us to dialogue, to discern, to listen, to ask God in order to find new ways for the Church and for an integral ecology.

The Holy Father has called them to participate as Synod Fathers from October 6 to 27 in Rome, where this important ecclesial event will take place, bringing together more than 250 people. They include bishops, missionaries, lay people, experts and special guests, who for three weeks will have the task of discerning with Pope Francis how to put into practice Evangelium gaudium and Laudate sí.

We transmit this great joy to all belonging to the Mazenodian family that two of our brothers will be participants of the Synod to share their lived testimonies with the Amazonian peoples.

Bishop Jan KOT, Bishop of the Diocese of Zé Doca, a territory of the Brazilian Amazon is one of those bishops who represent the Pan-Amazonian Region. Fr. Roberto CARRASCO, of the General Delegation of Peru, has also been elected as a Synod Father from the list of delegates of the Union of Superiors General.

Bishop Kot is an Oblate missionary from Poland. He was the vicar parish priest in Siedlce, Poland, before he arrived in Brazil in 1994. He then served as parish priest, first in Jussarval and then in Vitória di Santo Antão, Archdiocese of Olinda and Recife. He was also the parish priest of the Parish of the Sacred Heart of Mary in Alegre do Fidalgo, in the diocese of San Raimundo Nonato. Since 2014, he has been serving as the Bishop of the Diocese of Zé Doca, right in the Amazonian region of Brazil.

Fr. Roberto Carrasco is completing a degree in Social Communications at the Salesian Pontifical University in Rome. He worked for four years in the Mission of Aucayacu, Diocese of Huánuco, as director of Radio Amistad. He then moved to the Mission of Santa Clotilde, Napo River, where for seven years he served as the parish vicar. In the Apostolic Vicariate of St. Joseph of the Amazon he served as coordinator of the Indigenous Pastoral as well. He is currently leading a joint initiative called “Amazonia: Casa Común” a space where various religious congregations, Church organizations and civil society organizations interact digitally in their work with the Amazonian peoples. They have prepared more than one hundred activities that will be carried out with the purpose of accompanying the Synod this October 2019.

Both Fr. Roberto Carrasco and Msgr. Jan Kot, with the spirit and charism of St. Eugene De Mazenod are present for the development of the Pan-Amazonian Synod, living and sharing that collegiality which is nothing but “walking together” for a Church that also has an Amazonian face to it.

Return to Top