شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر  الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
المدونة
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

آخر الأخبار

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث مقاطع الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الأخبار »أمازون


مواد سينودس الأساقفة القادم لمنطقة عموم الأمازون يوليو 3rd، 2019

ملاحظة المحرر: تم الإعلان عن اجتماع خاص في نشرة أصدرها الفاتيكان: "وفقًا لإعلان البابا فرنسيس في 15 أكتوبر 2017 ، دعت الجمعية الخاصة لسينودس الأساقفة إلى التفكير في موضوع: مسارات جديدة للكنيسة ولإيكولوجيا متكاملة ، سيتم عقدها في أكتوبر 2019. يجب تصميم مسارات جديدة للتبشير مع ومع شعب الله الذي يعيش في هذه المنطقة: سكان المجتمعات والمناطق الريفية ، والمدن والعواصم الكبيرة ، والناس الذين يعيشون على ضفاف الأنهار والمهاجرين والمشردين ، وخاصة من أجل الشعوب الأصلية ومعها ".

استعدادا للسينودس ، الاب. قام سيموس فين ، OMI ، مدير OMIUSA JPIC ، بتجميع الموارد التالية.

الموارد الثلاثة التالية (مقالة 1 ومقاطع فيديو 2) هي موارد ممتازة ونحن ندخل المرحلة النهائية من الإعداد للسينودس المقبل ؛ "الأمازون ، مسارات جديدة للكنيسة ولإيكولوجيا متكاملة " 

  • يعد فيلم "حب الطبيعة" تأملًا جذابًا وجذابًا في قصة الكون وكيف وصلنا إلى دائرة كاملة في استيعاب دروس العالم الطبيعي والبناء على تلك الأفكار من خلال أبحاثنا وخيالنا: https://uplift.tv/2019/love-thy-nature/ 
  • يروي فيديو PBS قصة منطقة الأمازون الحيوية وسكانها ولماذا يجب أن نكون حذرين للغاية في الخيارات التي نتخذها بشأن مستقبلها: https://www.pbs.org/video/the-amazon-xs6uil/

 


سنوات 100 في حوض الأمازون أكتوبر 18th، 2012

الأب شيموس الفنلندي OMI مع الأب. Roberto Carrasco Rojas OMI in Iquitos، Peru

ساعدتني رحلة أخيرة إلى منطقة الأمازون في بيرو في تذكيرني بالامتداد الشاسع للمنطقة والتنوع الكبير الذي يعيش داخل حدودها. بينما كنت مستعدًا للحرارة والرطوبة التي تشتهر بها إيكيتوس ، لم أكن مستعدًا تقريبًا للشبكة الكبيرة من الأنهار الرئيسية التي تعد جزءًا أساسيًا من النقل في المنطقة ...

اقرأ الأب. أحدث منشور لشيموس فين على هافينغتون بوست


الدكتورة موريس شرودر ، OMI كرّمت مع درجة الدكتوراه 16 سبتمبر، 2012

د. موريس شرودر ، OMI

منحت جامعة واترلو درجة الدكتوراه الفخرية في القانون عن الدكتور موريس شرودر ، OMI ، في يونيو 14th ، 2012. وقد تم تكريم الدكتور شرودر ، وهو طبيب ، لعمله في مجال المواطنة العالمية ، وعلى وجه الخصوص ، قيادته لمستشفى البعثة في حوض الأمازون في شمال شرق بيرو. وقد خدم المستشفى على 20,000 معظمهم من السكان الأصليين الذين يعيشون في القرى على طول نهر نابو.

أعرف أكثر…


تهديد بالمياه من التعدين في بيرو يحشد الجماهير 5 فبراير، 2012

وقد تحرك آلاف البيروفيين من الأمازون إلى ليما ضد تهديد خطير للمياه في منطقة كاخاماركا في بيرو. يشعر السكان هناك ، ومعظمهم من السكان الأصليين ، بقلق عميق إزاء التهديد الذي تتعرض له مياههم من تطوير التعدين المقترح من قبل الشركة الأمريكية ، نيومونت مينينج. لقد انخرطت الوكالة في الولايات المتحدة مع شركة نيومونت بشأن تأثير عملياتها على المجتمعات التي تتواجد فيها عمليات التعدين. كان منجم ياناكوتشا أولوية في تلك المحادثات على الرغم من أن الاضطرابات الأخيرة في منطقة كاخاماركا ترتبط بالتطوير المقترح لميناس كونغاس وتوسيع مشروع ياناكوتشا. تدعم منظمة Oblates في بيرو مسيرة المياه التي نظمها المجتمع المدني في المناطق المتأثرة.

تدعي الحركة "الحق في أن تُستشار ، وأن تُحترم وتُسمع في القرارات المتعلقة بنموذجها التنموي ، والمشاركة الاجتماعية العادلة في النمو الاقتصادي ، وحظر التعدين في منابع الأنهار ، ووقف التعدين باستخدام السيانيد والزئبق. هذا يسبب الكثير من الضرر للأرض والمياه ". يعلن المشاركون في المسيرة حقهم الإنساني في المياه ، ويستقطبون الدعم من الكنائس والمجتمع المدني على حد سواء في مسيرة استمرت عدة أيام من كاخاماركا إلى ليما. بدأت التعبئة الوطنية الكبرى للمياه في الأول من فبراير وستختتم بالدعوة في ليما يومي 1 و 9 فبراير.

اقرأ وصفًا كاملاً للتعبئة (بالترجمة الإنجليزية):

"الأنهار الصغيرة تصنع النهر العظيم للحياة": تعبئة المياه الوطنية الكبرى "

تتوفر المواد باللغة الإسبانية أيضًا تحت قسم الأخبار في القسم الإسباني من هذا الموقع

 


أوقف مشروع سد بيلو مونتي في الأمازون أكتوبر 1st، 2010

شاهد فيديو مدته عشر دقائق على مشروع BELO MONTE DAM على XINGU RIVER في AMAZON الذي يحتوي على 1 / 5 لتدفقات المياه العذبة في العالم ويحافظ على معيشة السكان الهنود 25,000 وأنواع لا تعد ولا تحصى من النباتات والحيوانات. سيكون أكبر سد للكهرباء المائية في العالم في 3rd.

إن مجمع 17Billion سيولد الكهرباء للألمنيوم والنحاس والقصدير والذهب والبوكسيت ومصاهر خام الحديد ، في حين يحول نهر Xingu ويغرق 200,000 هكتارًا من الأراضي. من المتوقع إنشاء ستين سداً خلال العشرين سنة القادمة بما في ذلك السدود في بيرو وبوليفيا والإكوادور. حوض الأمازون سيصبح خزانًا راكداً.

وقع على العريضة طالبة بإلغاء السد.

مزيد من المعلومات:


الشركات تستجيب لطلبات المستهلك على البيئة يوليو 1st، 2010

amazon_deforestationنجحت الحملات التي استهدفت الشركات الناشطة بشكل مفاجئ في تغيير سلوك الشركات وسلسلة التوريد "الخضراء" ، لا سيما فيما يتعلق بالمنتجات الخشبية ومنتجات اللحم البقري. ومع استمرار النجاح ، يحتاج المستهلكون إلى الإشارة إلى تفضيل واضح للسلع المنتجة على نحو مستدام.

A Yale Environment 360 article تفاصيل نجاح حملة واحدة:

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace & Integrity of Creation

Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate  United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » amazon


Fr. Séamus Finn, OMI Interviewed by Law360 on SEC Support of Amazon Investors April 8th, 2022

SEC Backs Amazon Holders On Global Tax Transparency Vote

A Roman Catholic priest told Law360 on Wednesday that he won the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission’s approval for a vote among fellow Amazon.com shareholders on his global tax transparency proposal, bypassing the company’s request to block his measure.

The Rev. Séamus Finn told Law360 that his proposal for a shareholder vote will be included in materials at the corporation’s annual meeting in May, when a landmark vote will take place on whether to force Amazon to publicly disclose tax payments in each country of operation. Finn works on policy and investments for the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate — a 200-year-old congregation based in Aix-en-Provence, France — whose attorney Con Hitchcock said the SEC’s denial of Amazon’s no-action request is a watershed moment in tax transparency.

READ THE FULL ARTICLE.

 

 


Materials for Upcoming Synod of Bishops for the Pan-Amazon Region July 3rd, 2019

EDITOR’S NOTE: A special assembly has been announced in a bulletin issued by the Vatican:  “In accordance with the proclamation by Pope Francis on October 15, 2017, the Special Assembly of the Synod of Bishops, called to reflect on the theme: New Paths for the Church and for an Integral Ecology, will take place in October 2019. New paths for evangelization must be designed for and with the People of God who live in this region: inhabitants of communities and rural areas, of cities and large metropolises, people who live on river banks, migrants and displaced persons, and especially for and with indigenous peoples.”

In preparation for the synod, Fr. Séamus Finn, OMI, Director of OMIUSA JPIC, has assembled the following resources.

The following three resources (1 article and 2 videos) are excellent resources as we enter the final phase of preparation for the forthcoming synod; Amazonia, New paths for the Church and for an Integral Ecology” 

  • The ‘love-the Nature’ film is a very attractive and engaging meditation on the Story of the Cosmos and how we have come full circle in absorbing the lessons of the natural world and building on those insights through our research and imagination: https://uplift.tv/2019/love-thy-nature/ 

 


100 Years in the Amazon Basin October 18th, 2012

Fr. Seamus Finn OMI with Fr. Roberto Carrasco Rojas OMI in Iquitos, Peru

A recent trip to the Peruvian Amazon served to remind me of the vast expanse of the region and the great diversity that lives within its boundaries. While I was ready for the heat and humidity that Iquitos is known for, I was hardly prepared for the great network of major rivers that are an essential part of transportation in the region…

Read Fr. Seamus Finn’s latest post on Huffington Post


Dr. Maurice Schroeder, OMI Honored with Doctoral Degree September 16th, 2012

Dr. Maurice Schroeder, OMI

The University of Waterloo conferred an Honorary Doctor of Laws degree on Dr. Maurice Schroeder, OMI, on June 14th, 2012. Dr. Schroeder, a medical doctor, was recognized for his global citizenship work and, in particular, his leadership of a mission hospital in the Amazon Basin of northeastern Peru. The hospital has served over 20,000 mostly indigenous people living in villages along the Napo River.

Learn more…


Threat to Water from Mining in Peru Mobilizes Masses February 5th, 2012

Thousands of Peruvians from the Amazon to Lima have mobilized against a serious threat to the water in the Cajamarca region of Peru. Residents there, mostly indigenous peoples, are deeply concerned about the threat to their water from a proposed mining development by the American company, Newmont Mining. Oblates in the US have engaged Newmont about the impact of their operations on communities where they have mining operations. The Yanacocha mine has been a priority in those conversations though the recent turmoil in the Cajamarca region is related to the proposed development of Minas Congas and extension of the Yanacocha project. The Oblates in Peru are supporting the March for Water that has been organized by civil society in the impacted areas.

The movement claims “the right to be consulted, to be respected and heard in decisions about its development model, for socially-just participation in economic growth, the prohibition of mining in the headwaters of rivers, and a stop to mining with cyanide and mercury that is causing so much damage to land and water.” The marchers are proclaiming their human right to water, and drawing support from churches and civil society alike in a several day march from Cajamarca to Lima. The Great National Water mobilization began on February 1st and will conclude with a convocation in Lima on February 9-10.

Read a full description of the mobilization (in English translation):

“SMALL STREAMS MAKE THE GREAT RIVER OF LIFE”: THE GREAT NATIONAL WATER MOBILIZATION”

Materials in Spanish are also available under News in the Spanish section of this website

 


Stop the Belo Monte Dam Project in the Amazon October 1st, 2010

Watch a ten-minute video on the BELO MONTE DAM project on the XINGU RIVER in the AMAZON which contains 1/5 of the worlds fresh water flows and sustains the livelihood of 25,000 Indian populations and innumerable species of plants and animals. It would be the 3rd largest hydro-electric dam in the world.

The $17Billion complex would generate electricity for aluminum, copper, tin, gold, bauxite and iron ore smelters, while diverting the Xingu River and flooding 200,000 hectares of land. Sixty dams are projected over the next twenty years including dams in Peru, Bolivia and Ecuador. The Amazon basin would become a stagnant reservoir.

Sign the petition asking for the cancellation of the Dam.

More information:

Return to Top