شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
جديدنا
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

أخبار الأعلاف

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الأخبار »أخلاقيات حياة متناسقة


عقوبة الإعدام ألغيت في ميريلاند 10 مايو، 2013

في مايو 2 ، وقع حاكم ولاية ماريلاند مارتن أومالي قانونًا يلغي عقوبة الإعدام في الولاية. أعلن أنصار عقوبة الإعدام أنهم سيحاولون تقديم طلب لاستفتاء لإعادة العقوبة. ويستعد معارضو عقوبة الإعدام لحملة تدعم الإلغاء في حالة فرض التوقيعات اللازمة استفتاء.

في بيانه الصحفي الذي اعتبر فيه المؤتمر الكاثوليكي في ولاية ميريلاند هو الإلغاء ، قال: "تعلم الكنيسة الكاثوليكية أن الأخلاق الثابتة للحياة تتطلب احترام كرامة كل حياة بشرية ، بما في ذلك حياة المجرمين المحكوم عليهم بالإعدام".
159 Vickie

واحد من أولئك الذين كرسوا الكثير من الجهد لجهود الإلغاء كانت فيكي شيبر (في الصورة) لل شبكة التعبئة الكاثوليكية لإنهاء استخدام عقوبة الإعدامالتي تحدثت في ورشة عمل خلال مؤتمر الذكرى العاشرة لسلسلة 25th حول تجربتها كأم لضحية جريمة قتل.

لمزيد من المعلومات يرجى زيارة صفحة ويب متناسقة للحياة


Peace & Life Connections: November 16 نوفمبر 16th، 2012

نحن الآن بصدد نشر الرسالة الإخبارية الأسبوعية "السلام والحياة" (Consistent Life) على موقعنا. إذا كنت مهتمًا بالمزيد من المعلومات ، أو في الاشتراك في النشرة الإلكترونية ، يرجى زيارة www.consistent-life.org/

أخلاقيات متناسقة من المؤيدين للحياة ، هل أنت مستعد لقربك؟

تأتي هذه الملاحظة من مجموعة س.س.جورنر الأعضاء في المجموعة: "من أجل مقابلة مقابلة في قضية قادمة ، تخطط مجلة سوجورنرز لمقالة على شبكة الإنترنت تحتوي على مجموعة كبيرة من الأشخاص الذين يعارضون كل أشكال القتل. نحن نحب أن يدرج لك! ما عليك سوى أخذ صورة خاصة بك تحمل لافتة تقول: "أنا [ملء الفراغ] وأؤيد أخلاقيات حياة ثابتة" ، وأرسلها بالبريد الإلكتروني ، مع اسمك ومسقط رأسك ، إلى eramsey@sojo.net بحلول يوم الأربعاء ، نوفمبر 28! نحن نأمل في الحصول على مجموعة متنوعة واسعة من الفراغات - التحررية ، التقدميين ، المحافظين ، الراهبات ، اللاأدريين ، الكويكرز ، شركاء الشاي ، النسويات ، نشطاء LGBT ، سمها ما شئت - لذا يرجى توجيه هذه الدعوة على نطاق واسع. شكرا ، المحررين في Sojourners ".

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


Peace & Life Connections: November 9، 2012 نوفمبر 9th، 2012

نحن الآن بصدد نشر الرسالة الإخبارية الأسبوعية "السلام والحياة" (Consistent Life) على موقعنا. إذا كنت مهتمًا بالمزيد من المعلومات ، أو في الاشتراك في النشرة الإلكترونية ، يرجى زيارة www.consistent-life.org/

ممر لالسياسيين الكاثوليك؟ يقول ما؟

وقد جادل الكثيرون لصالح الفكرة الغريبة بأن أخلاقيات الحياة المستمرة هي في الواقع مخطط ليبرالي يسمح للكاثوليك بالتصويت لصالح السياسيين الذين لا يعارضون الإجهاض. وهذا أمر غريب بالطبع لأن أي شخص لا يعارض الإجهاض لا يمكن ، بحكم تعريفه ، أن يتبع أخلاقيات الحياة المتسقة. نحن نفعل العكس: إذا كان السياسيون جيدون في حقيقة الأمر بشأن قضايانا الأخرى ، فإننا نتحدى أن يكونوا متسقين في الإجهاض كذلك. ونأمل أيضاً أن يكون من شأن الإشارة إلى روابط العنف أن تساعد في إقناعهم بمعارضة الإجهاض. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، بالطبع ، نحن لسنا كاثوليكيين فحسب ، بل نفتخر بالتنوع الديني والفلسفي الذي نمثله. ميلووكي جورنال سنتينيل قد مقالة نوفمبر 1 جعل هذا النقد ، ومن ثم نشرت أيضا استجابة. نحن نشجع القراء على نشر التعليقات و / أو إرسال رسائل إلى المحرر لتعزيز فهم ما هي أخلاقياتنا فعلاً.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


السلام & لايف اتصالات النشرة الإخبارية أكتوبر 12th، 2012

من الآن فصاعداً ، سوف نعيد إنتاج الرسالة الإخبارية الأسبوعية المستمرة "السلام والحياة" على موقعنا. إذا كنت مهتمًا بالمزيد من المعلومات ، أو في الاشتراك في النشرة الإلكترونية ، يرجى زيارة www.consistent-life.org/

∞ ∞ ∞

أكتوبر هو احترام شهر الحياة

تحدد الكنيسة الكاثوليكية في الولايات المتحدة تشرين الأول / أكتوبر شهر حياة محترم ببرنامج في رعاياها يتضمن توزيع مجموعة من المواد التعليمية. قد غير الكاثوليك العثور على بعض المواد المناسبة كذلك. عادة ما يتم تغطية قضايا الإجهاض والقتل الرحيم وعقوبة الإعدام.

∞ ∞ ∞

أكتوبر هو شهر التوعية بالعنف المنزلي

الإجهاض بالإكراه هو أحد أشكال العنف المنزلي ضد المرأة ، كما أن العنف المنزلي يجعل النساء أكثر عرضة للإجهاض. العنف المنزلي يمكن أن ينتج عن عمليات الإجهاض كذلك ، في أعقاب الضغط العصبي. Feticide هو في حد ذاته شكل من أشكال العنف المنزلي - ارتكاب العنف القاتل القوي ضد الضعفاء.

كما أن القتل الرحيم بالإكراه هو نفسه شكل من أشكال العنف المنزلي ضد المسنين. إن وجود القتل الرحيم ذاته كخيار "طوعي" يمكن أن يشكل ضغطًا ضد الضعفاء ، خاصة أولئك المعرضين بالفعل للإساءة.

نتوقع أن نوفر المزيد حول هذه النقاط في قضايا أكتوبر المقبلة. يمكن لأي شخص لديه مورد أو تعليم محدد في هذه النقطة (أو أي جهة أخرى) مشاركتها معنا على weekly@consistent-life.org.

∞ ∞ ∞

الفقر على مستوى العالم

اليوم تقريبا 1.3 مليار نسمةحوالي خمس البشرية ، يعيشون على ما يعادل أكثر قليلاً من $ 1 في الولايات المتحدة.

كدليل على ذلك ، فكر في منطقة أودايبور الهندية ، حيث يعيش حوالي نصف السكان على مستوى الفقر هذا في 2004: معظم الأسر التي تعيش في هذا الفقر تمتلك سريرًا ولكن أكثر من افتقار 90 إلى كرسي أو طاولة ؛ لا شيء كان في المياه الجارية في الأماكن المغلقة. ال وفيات الرضع وكان معدل 10 في المئة - حقيقة مدهشة لالمؤيدة للحياة.

مثل هذه الأرقام غير مشجعة ، لكن علينا أن نتذكر أيضا أن أكثر من نصف البشر عاشوا في هذا المستوى من الفقر فقط حول 30 منذ سنوات. إذا حققنا تقدما حقيقيا في الماضي في الحد من الفقر ، فلماذا لا نستطيع أن نفعل ذلك في المستقبل؟

∞ ∞ ∞

لا استثناءات

منذ فترة طويلة CL Endorser الدكتورة كارين سوالو بريور قد كتب قطعة تسمى "لا استثناءات: قضية الأخلاق المؤيدة للحياة الثابتة". على الرغم من عنوانه ، يشير الاتساق إلى الإجهاض وحده وليس إلى مسائل أخرى ، ولكنه يشير إلى كونه متسقاً مع الإجهاض.

الدكتورة كارين سوالو بريور

∞ ∞ ∞

اقتباس من الأسبوع

أكتوبر 2012 احترام بيان الحياة ، مؤتمر الولايات المتحدة للأساقفة الكاثوليك

"الإيمان يفتح عيوننا للحياة البشرية بكل عظمتها وجمالها"

"بالإضافة إلى فتح الباب للإجهاض بناء على طلب الحمل طوال التسعة أشهر ، فإن قرار المحكمة العليا قد أدى إلى تآكل احترام الحياة البشرية وأدى إلى قبول متزايد للوفاة" كحل "للمشكلات الشخصية والمجتمعية.

يتم الترويج الآن للقتل الرحيم ومساعدة الانتحار كرد على تراجع الصحة والإعاقة. إن أبحاث الخلايا الجذعية الجنينية البشرية ، التي يتم فيها التضحية بأجنة عمرها الأسبوع ، تُدعى كوسيلة لعلاج المرض. لحل مشكلة انخفاض معدل الخصوبة ، يقوم العديد من الأطباء بتكوين أجنة بشرية في عياداتهم ، مع العلم تمامًا أن أجنة قليلة ستظل على قيد الحياة حتى الولادة وسيتم التخلص من الأغلبية أو الموت. ولا تزال عقوبة الإعدام تُدافع بقوة كإجابة للجريمة العنيفة.

العدد #130 10.05.12 صفحة ويب متناسقة للحياة/ انضم أو تبرع / الإصدارات السابقة / فهرس


تضغط لجنة JPIC الأمريكية في غودفري ، إلينوي أكتوبر 19th، 2009

زيارة أعضاء اللجنة الأمريكية JPIC وأعضاء هيئة التدريس Shed المخصصة لداريل Rupiper ، OMI على CSA في غودفري ، IL

أعضاء اللجنة الأمريكية وأعضاء هيئة موظفي JPIC يزورون السقيفة المخصصة لـ Darrell Rupiper، OMI في مشروع الزراعة المدعومة من المجتمع في Godfrey، IL

في أكتوبر 15 و 16 ، عقدت لجنة مقاطعة الأمريكتين للعدالة والسلام والنزاهة (JPIC) اجتماعًا استراتيجيًا سنويًا في غودفري بولاية إلينوي لمراجعة ومشاركة التقدم ومناقشة كيفية مواصلة عمل JPIC بأقصى فعالية. تضمن جزء من جدول الأعمال تحديثات موجزة من موظفين من مكتب واشنطن JPIC ، ومبادرة Oblate Ecological المبنية في Godfrey ومكتب الخدمات العامة في روما. أعضاء اللجنة أيضا تقريرا عن عمل JPIC بهم.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


الأب دوايت على مفترق طرق- مهمة من أجل الحياة يوليو 7th، 2009

القس دوايت-hoeberechtsفي الصيف 15th على التوالي ، يسير الطلاب من الكليات والجامعات في جميع أنحاء البلاد مع Crossroads على ثلاثة مسارات متزامنة للحياة في جميع أنحاء أمريكا. الأب Dwight Hoeberechts ، OMI ، هو الكاهن الوحيد بينهم.

بدأ الأب دوايت "The Southern Walk" في لوس أنجلوس يوم الجمعة ، مايو 22nd وسيكمل المسيرة عبر أمريكا عندما يصل إلى مبنى الكابيتول في واشنطن العاصمة في أغسطس 15th. كما يحتوي Crossroads أيضًا على مسار كندي يبدأ من تورونتو في شهر يوليو 31st وينتهي في Ottowa في البرلمان الكندي في شهر أغسطس 15th.

من ساحل المحيط الهادئ إلى المحيط الأطلسي ، ستغطي هذه المسارات المتزامنة مدى الحياة مدى الأميال 11,000 ، وتمر عبر ولايات 38 ، ومحافظ 2 وآلاف البلدات والمدن.

وقال جيم نولان ، رئيس كروسرودز: "بدأت مفترق الطرق استجابة لدعوة الراحل يوحنا بولس الثاني إلى شباب أمريكا في اليوم العالمي للشباب في دنفر ، كولورادو ، من أجل" بناء ثقافة الحياة ". "تحدى شباب أمريكا والعالم بـ" لا تخافوا ".

مزيد من المعلومات:

قراءة الأب. مدونة Hoeberechts
تعرف على مفترق طرق

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace & Integrity of Creation

Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate  United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » consistent life ethic


Death Penalty Abolished in Maryland May 10th, 2013

On May 2, Maryland Governor Martin O’Malley signed a law repealing the state’s death penalty. Supporters of the death penalty have announced they will try to to petition for a referendum to re-instate the penalty. Death penalty opponents are gearing up for a campaign supporting the repeal should the needed signatures force a referendum.

In its press release hailing the repeal, the Maryland Catholic Conference stated, “The Catholic Church teaches that a consistent ethic of life demands respect for the dignity of every human life, including those of criminals on death row.”
159 Vickie

One of those who devoted much effort to the repeal effort was Vicki Schieber (pictured) of the Catholic Mobilizing Network to End the Use of the Death Penalty, who spoke at a workshop during the Consistent Life 25th Anniversary Conference on her experience as a mother of a murder victim.

For more information please visit the  Consistent Life web page


Peace & Life Connections: November 16 November 16th, 2012

We are now reproducing the Consistent Life “Peace & Life Connections” weekly newsletter on our website. If you are interested in more information, or in subscribing to the e-newsletter, please visit www.consistent-life.org/

Consistent ethic of life supporters, are you ready for your close-up?

This note comes from CL member group Sojourners: “To go along with an interview in an upcoming issue, Sojourners magazine is planning a web-extra photo-essay focused on the wide variety of people who oppose all forms of killing. We’d love to include you! Just take a pic of yourself holding a sign that says, “I’m a [fill in the blank] and I support a consistent ethic of life,” and email it, along with your name and hometown, to eramsey@sojo.net by Wednesday, November 28! We’re hoping for a wide variety of fill-in-the-blanks—libertarians, progressives, conservatives, nuns, agnostics, Quakers, Tea Partiers, feminists, LGBT activists, you name it—so please forward this invitation widely. Thanks, the editors at Sojourners.”

Click here to read more »


Peace & Life Connections: November 9, 2012 November 9th, 2012

 We are now reproducing the Consistent Life “Peace & Life Connections” weekly newsletter on our website. If you are interested in more information, or in subscribing to the e-newsletter, please visit www.consistent-life.org/

A Pass to Catholic Politicians? Say What? 

Many have argued in favor of the bizarre notion that the consistent life ethic is actually a liberal scheme to allow Catholics to vote for politicians who don’t oppose abortion. This is strange, of course, since anyone who doesn’t oppose abortion cannot, by definition, be following the consistent life ethic. We do the opposite: if politicians are in fact good on our other issues, we challenge them to be consistent on abortion as well. We also hope that pointing out the connections of violence may help persuade them to oppose abortion. Additionally, of course, we’re not just Catholic, but pride ourselves on the religious and philosophical diversity we represent.
The Milwaukee Journal Sentinel had a November 1 article making this criticism, and then also published a response. We encourage our readers to post comments and/or send in letters to the editor to strengthen the understanding of what our ethic really is.

Click here to read more »


Peace & Life Connections Newsletter October 12th, 2012

From now on, we will be reproducing the Consistent Life “Peace & Life Connections” weekly newsletter on our website. If you are interested in more information, or in subscribing to the e-newsletter, please visit www.consistent-life.org/

 

∞     ∞     ∞

October is Respect Life Month

The Catholic Church in the U.S. designates October as Respect Life Month with a program in its parishes that includes distribution of a set of educational materials. Non-Catholics may find some of the materials suitable as well. Issues of abortion, euthanasia, and the death penalty are normally covered.

∞     ∞     ∞

 

October is Domestic Violence Awareness Month

Coerced abortion is one of many forms of domestic violence against women, and domestic violence also makes women more likely to seek abortions. Domestic violence can result from abortions as well, in the stressful aftermath. Feticide is itself a form of domestic violence – the strong committing lethal violence against the weak.

Coerced euthanasia is also itself a form of domestic abuse against the elderly. The very presence of euthanasia as a “voluntary” option can be pressure against the vulnerable, especially those already subjected to abuse.

We anticipate having more to offer on these points in future October issues. Anyone who has a specific resource or education on this point (or any other) can share it with us at weekly@consistent-life.org.

∞     ∞     ∞

World-wide Poverty

Today roughly 1.3 billion people—about one-fifth of humanity—live on what would be equivalent to a little over $1 in the United States.

As an illustration, consider the Indian district of Udaipur, where about half the population lived at this poverty level in 2004: most households living in such poverty owned a bed but more than 90 percent lacked a chair or table; none had indoor running water. The infant mortality rate was 10 percent—a striking fact for pro-lifers.

Such figures are discouraging, but we should also remember that more than half of humanity lived at roughly this level of poverty only about 30 years ago. If we have made genuine progress in the past in reducing poverty, why can we not do so in the future?

∞     ∞     ∞

No Exceptions

Long-time CL Endorser Dr. Karen Swallow Prior has written a piece called “No Exceptions: The Case for a Consistent Pro-Life Ethic.” Despite its title, the consistency does refer to abortion alone and not other issues, but it does refer to being consistent on abortion.

Dr. Karen Swallow Prior

∞     ∞     ∞

Quotation of the Week

October 2012 Respect Life Statement, United States Conference of Catholic Bishops

“Faith Opens Our Eyes to Human Life in All Its Grandeur and Beauty”

“In addition to opening the door to abortion on request for all nine months of pregnancy, the Supreme Court’s decision eroded respect for human life and led to a growing acceptance of death as the “solution” to personal and societal problems.

Euthanasia and assisted suicide are now promoted as answers to declining health and disability. Human embryonic stem cell research, in which week-old embryos are sacrificed, is championed as a means to cure disease. To solve the problem of low fertility, many doctors create human embryos in their clinics, knowing full well that few embryos will survive to birth and the majority will be discarded or die. And the death penalty is still vigorously defended as the answer to violent crime.”

Issue #130 10.05.12; Consistent Life web page/ Join or Donate / Previous Issues / Index

 


Oblate US JPIC Committee Gathers in Godfrey, Illinois October 19th, 2009

US JPIC Committee Members and Staff Visit Shed Dedicated to Darrell Rupiper, OMI on the CSA at Godfrey, IL

US JPIC Committee Members and Staff Visit the Shed Dedicated to Darrell Rupiper, OMI on the Community Supported Agriculture Project at Godfrey, IL

On October 15 and 16, the United States Province Oblate Justice, Peace and Integrity of Creation (JPIC) committee held a bi-annual strategy meeting in Godfrey, Illinois to review, share progress and discuss how to continue the JPIC work most effectively. Part of the agenda included brief updates from staff from the Washington JPIC office, the Oblate Ecological Initiative based in Godfrey and the General Service office in Rome. Committee members also reported on their JPIC work.

Click here to read more »


Father Dwight at a Crossroads- A Mission for Life July 7th, 2009

rev-dwight-hoeberechtsFor the 15th summer in a row, students from colleges and universities across the country are walking with Crossroads on THREE simultaneous pro-life walks across America. Fr. Dwight Hoeberechts, OMI, is the only priest among them.

Father Dwight started “the Southern Walk” in Los Angeles on Friday, May 22nd and will complete the walk across America when he arrives at the US Capitol in Washington, DC on August 15th. Crossroads also has a Canadian walk starting in Toronto on July 31st and ending in Ottowa at the Canadian Parliament on August 15th.

From the Pacific coast to the Atlantic, these simultaneous walks for life will cover over 11,000 miles, pass through 38 states, 2 provinces and thousands of towns and cities.

“Crossroads was started in response to the late John Paul II’s call to the youth of America at the World Youth Day in Denver, Colorado to ‘build a Culture of Life'” said Jim Nolan, president of Crossroads. “He challenged the youth of America and the world to ‘Be not afraid’.

Learn more:

Read Fr. Hoeberechts’ blog
Find out about Crossroads

Return to Top