شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر  الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
المدونة
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

آخر الأخبار

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث مقاطع الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الأخبار »مركز حوار الأديان حول مسؤولية الشركات


مقابلات إذاعية الفاتيكان الأب. Séamus Finn على تأثير عمليات التعدين على المجتمعات المحلية أكتوبر 9th، 2015

والد شيموس

قام الأب سيموس فين ، OMI مؤخرًا بإدارة مؤتمر في الفاتيكان لممثلي الكنيسة والموظفين التنفيذيين الرئيسيين في كبرى شركات التعدين لمناقشة تأثير عمليات التعدين على المجتمعات المحلية.

بعد المؤتمر تحدث ديفين واتكينز من راديو الفاتيكان إلى الأب. Séamus في مقابلة واسعة النطاق حول أهداف الاجتماع. استمع للمقابلة في هذا الموقع.

 

 

 

 


تمويل المناخ الذي يمارسه المستثمرون ذوو العقيدة والمستثمرون الاجتماعيون 14 أبريل، 2015

تحاول The Missionary Oblates ، جنبًا إلى جنب مع أعضاء آخرين في ICCR ، الحد من المخاطر المتعلقة بالمناخ من خلال تطوير البحث والاستثمار المخصص في حلول تغير المناخ. يتم متابعة مبادرات تمويل المناخ هذه من قبل المستثمرون الدينيون والمسؤولون اجتماعياً لدفع التحول الذي نحتاجه إلى اقتصاد منخفض الكربون.

ما ينقص هو بيئة سياسية مواتية يمكن أن تضمن عوائد مثالية معدلة حسب المخاطر ، والتي يتعين على المستثمرين ، بصفتهم مؤتمنين ، تحقيقها. على النحو المبين في بيان المستثمر العالمي بشأن تغير المناخ (أقرها 265 مستثمرًا بما في ذلك ICCR ، وتمثل أصولًا بقيمة 24 تريليون دولار) ، لن يتدفق الاستثمار الخاص إلا بالحجم والوتيرة اللازمتين إذا كان مدعومًا بأطر سياسات واضحة وذات مصداقية وطويلة الأجل تحول توازن المخاطر والمكافآت لصالح استثمارات أقل كثافة للكربون. لهذا السبب ، يعمل أعضاء ICCR مع آخرين في مجتمع الاستثمار للضغط من أجل تحولات سياسة المناخ التي ستطلق العنان لهذا التدفق لرأس المال وتحفز الاستثمار في الطاقة النظيفة. في الوقت نفسه ، يسعى الأعضاء إلى تثقيف مجتمع الاستثمار المسؤول الأوسع حول فرص تمويل المناخ الحالية والمستقبلية.

فيما يلي بعض الأمثلة للمبادرات التي نشطت فيها المبارات التبشيرية:

PUTTING CAPITAL للعمل في الاقتصاد الأخضر

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


الوقود الأحفوري: سحب الاستثمار مقابل الخطوبة 13 أبريل، 2015

13637493455_5821f554da_oإن محاولة تحويل الاقتصاد العالمي بعيدًا عن الوقود الأحفوري الملوث والخطير الذي نستخدمه يوميًا - إلى مصادر وقود نظيفة ومتجددة يمكن أن تدعم اقتصادنا جيدًا في المستقبل ، هي مهمة معقدة. في حين أن معدل نمو مصادر الطاقة المتجددة يتزايد بسرعة ، إلا أنه لا يزال بعيدًا جدًا عما نحتاج إليه لتجنب تجاوز حد 2 درجة على زيادة درجة الحرارة. قادت حركة تغير المناخ ، 350.org ، حركة للضغط على المؤسسات ، من المؤسسات الخيرية إلى الجامعات ، للتخلص من أسهم شركات الوقود الأحفوري. في حين أن هناك حججًا مالية جيدة للقيام بذلك ، استنادًا إلى القلق بشأن الأصول المتعثرة ، هناك أيضًا حجة يجب تقديمها من أجل استمرار المشاركة مع شركات النفط والغاز بشأن قضايا تغير المناخ. لورا بيري ، المديرة التنفيذية لمركز التواصل بين الأديان لمسؤولية الشركات (ICCR) ، تطرح قضية المشاركة في رسالة إلى صحيفة الجارديان التي تتخذ من المملكة المتحدة مقراً لها ، رداً على المادة الأخيرة.

وهنا ردها:

يعمل أعضاء مركز التواصل بين الأديان حول مسؤولية الشركات ، وهو تحالف يضم أكثر من 300 مؤسسة دينية تمثل أكثر من 100 مليار دولار من رأس المال المستثمر ، على إشراك صناعة الوقود الأحفوري لمعالجة تغير المناخ منذ ما قبل صياغة المصطلح. يمكنك القول إنهم قدامى المحاربين في مشاركة المساهمين مع صناعة ، مثل التبغ ، وهذا "في حالة توقف" بسبب عرض منتج لا يزال الطلب عليه مرتفعًا ومع ذلك فمن المعروف على نطاق واسع أنه يمثل مخاطر صحية عامة واضحة. المعضلة التي يواجهها أصحاب هذه الشركات المسؤولون ليست جديدة ؛ إنه توتر واجهوه منذ عقود. إن مناقشة التجريد / الانخراط التي أثارتها مقالتك (يفقد نشطاء المناخ ثقتهم في قيمة التعامل مع شركات الوقود الأحفوري ، theguardian.com ، 7 أبريل) ، والذي يسعى إلى المبالغة في تبسيط القضية وتقسيم نشطاء المناخ ، يؤكد فقط على تعقيدات المشكلة والمهام الصعبة حقًا التي نواجهها جميعًا في تحويل صناعة الطاقة واقتصادنا إلى مسار أكثر استدامة. هل مشاركة المساهمين صعبة وبطيئة؟ بالتأكيد. هل هذا يكفي؟ بالطبع لا. لكن هل ما زلنا نعتقد أن المشاركة أداة قوية للتغيير الاجتماعي؟ نحن نفعل. "

"ينشر المستثمرون المسؤولون جميع أدواتهم - سحب الاستثمارات والمشاركة وكل شيء بينهما - لتعزيز حلول الطاقة الخضراء لأننا نؤمن بأن هناك حاجة إلى استراتيجيات متعددة وجماعية ، داخلية وخارجية لما يعتبر مهمة شاقة. هل أفضل ما يخدم القضية هو تشويه سمعة منهجيات حلفائنا أو الاستفادة من أوجه التكامل؟ هل يجب أن نركز على اختلافاتنا التكتيكية أو نركز طاقاتنا الجماعية على أعدائنا المشتركين في مجال تغير المناخ: عدم مبالاة المستثمرين والجمود السياسي؟ نقترح الأخير ".

لورا بيري

المدير التنفيذي ، مركز الأديان المعني بمسؤولية الشركات


Fr Seamus Finn ، OMI منتخب رئيس مجلس إدارة ICCR سبتمبر 2nd، 2014

الأب سيموس فين ، OMI و Sr. جودي بايرون ، OP في اجتماعات ICCR

الأب Seamus Finn، OMI and Sr. Judy Byron، OP
في اجتماعات ICCR في نيويورك

وقد تم انتخاب شركة سيموس فين ، وهي شركة OMI ، رئيسة لمجلس إدارة مركز الأديان المعني بمسؤولية الشركات. وهذا اعتراف ليس فقط بخبرته الكبيرة في مجال الإيمان المستمر والاستثمار المسئول اجتماعياً ، ولكن أيضاً عن قيمة تفكيره الاستراتيجي في هذا المجال ، بالنسبة إلى ICCR وغيرها من مبادرات الاستثمار القائمة على الدين.

تعرف على المزيد حول ICCR هنا.

 

 


إشراك الشركات لوقف الاتجار بالبشر أكتوبر 17th، 2012

الاتجار بالبشر - تجنيد الأشخاص أو نقلهم أو إيواؤهم أو تلقيهم بالقوة أو الإكراه أو الاحتيال - يستهدفون الأشخاص الضعفاء الذين يتم استغلالهم بعد ذلك عن طريق العمل القسري أو العمل المستعبدين (الدَّين) أو البغاء أو الاستغلال الجنسي الآخر ، أو كجنود أطفال. إنها جريمة بلا حدود. لقد تم التطرق إلى كل بلد في العالم من خلال الاتجار بالبشر ، سواء كبلد منشأ أو عبور أو مقصد للضحايا.

هكذا يبدأ مقال عن الاتجار بالبشر يصف عمل أعضاء مركز الأديان حول مسؤولية الشركات (ICCR). "الاستفادة من قوة الشركات في مكافحة الاتجار بالبشر" ، يشرح كيفية عمل ICCR على معادن الصراع ، وقانون كاليفورنيا للشفافية في سلاسل التوريد ، وعمل المستثمرين حول أولمبياد لندن ، مما ساعد على تقليل حالات الاتجار بالبشر ، وزيادة الوعي هذه القضية المفجعة.

اقرأ المقال…

هل تهتم بمزيد من المعلومات حول كيفية تعامل الشركات مع المشكلة؟ قراءة استراتيجيات الشركات لمعالجة الاتجار بالبشر ، والمنشور المشترك لخدمات كريستيان براذرز للاستثمار ، ICCR و ECCR. 


Oblates نشط في ICCR AGM في بوسطن 10 يونيو، 2012

كلية سيمونز ، بوسطن ، ماساتشوستس

شارك Oblates في الاجتماع السنوي العام لمركز Interfaith حول مسؤولية الشركات (ICCR) الذي اجتمع في Simmons College في بوسطن في الفترة من 4 إلى 8 يونيو. تم تقييم ارتباطات الشركات خلال موسم الوكيل الأخير - مع الاحتفال بالنجاحات ووضع الخطط لموسم 2012-2013. المجالات التي ينشط فيها Oblates تشمل: الوصول إلى التمويل ، والصناعات الاستخراجية ، والوصول العالمي إلى الصحة ، والمياه ، والاتجار بالبشر ، والمواد الكيميائية السامة ، وإدارة الشركات وقضايا سلسلة التوريد (العمالة). تم تكريم جون روجي ، الأستاذ في كلية كينيدي بجامعة هارفارد والمقرر الخاص للأمم المتحدة المسؤول عن مبادئ الأمم المتحدة التوجيهية بشأن حقوق الإنسان والأعمال التجارية في حفل استقبال مساء الأربعاء.

العمل على الخدمات المالية لا يزال القطاع يمثل أولوية عالية بالنسبة لأعضاء اللجنة الدولية للحقوق المدنية والسياسية ولّد اهتمامًا كبيرًا من جانب وسائل الإعلام. تستمر قرارات وبيانات المستثمرين الدينيين في لفت الانتباه إلى المسؤوليات الأخلاقية والأخلاقية الواسعة التي يفترضها ممثلو الشركات في هذا المجال. التأثير الدائم لتدمير ما يقرب من تريليون دولار من الثروة منذ الأزمة المالية القريبة من سبتمبر 17 هو مبرر واضح للحاجة لمثل هذا اليقظة. وقد دعم هذا العمل الذي قام به أعضاء اللجنة الدولية للحقوق المدنية والسياسية بقوة جهود العديد من مالكي المنازل في أماكن مثل سان فرناندو فالي كالفورنيا ومقاطعة الأمير وليام في فيرجينيا للبقاء في منازلهم واستعادة مجتمعاتهم المحلية.

الأب Seamus Finn، OMI and Sr. Judy Byron، OP in ICCR

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace & Integrity of Creation

Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate  United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » interfaith center on corporate responsibility


Vatican Radio interviews Fr. Séamus Finn on the impact of mining operations on local communities October 9th, 2015

Father-Seamus

Father Séamus Finn, OMI recently moderated a conference in the Vatican for Church representatives and Chief Executive Officers (CEOs) of major mining conglomerates to discuss the impact of mining operations on local communities.

After the conference Devin Watkins of Vatican Radio spoke to Fr. Séamus  in a wide-ranging interview about the goals of the meeting. Listen to the interview at this website.

 

 

 

 


Climate Finance Pursued by Faith-Based and Socially-Responsible Investors April 14th, 2015

The Missionary Oblates, along with other ICCR members, are trying to limit climate-related risk by advancing research and dedicated investment in climate change solutions. These Climate Finance initiatives are being pursued by faith-based and socially responsible investors to propel the shift we need to a low-carbon economy.

What is lacking is a favorable policy environment that can ensure optimal risk-adjusted returns, which, investors, as fiduciaries, are required to achieve. As articulated in the Global Investor Statement on Climate Change (endorsed by 265 investors including ICCR, and representing $24 trillion in assets), private investment will only flow at the scale and pace necessary if it is supported by clear, credible and long-term policy frameworks that shift the risk-reward balance in favor of less carbon-intensive investment. For this reason, ICCR members are working with others in the investment community to press for the climate policy shifts that will unleash this flow of capital and drive clean energy investment. At the same time, members are seeking to educate the broader responsible investment community about both current and future climate finance opportunities.

Here are some examples of initiatives in which the Missionary Oblates have been active:

PUTTING CAPITAL TO WORK IN THE GREEN ECONOMY

Click here to read more »


Fossil Fuels: Divestment vs Engagement April 13th, 2015

13637493455_5821f554da_oTrying to shift the global economy away from polluting, dangerous fossil fuels that we use very day – to clean, renewable fuel sources that can power our economy well into the future, is a complicated task. While the rate of growth of renewable energy sources is increasing rapidly, it is still far behind what we need to avoid pushing past a 2degree limit on temperature increase. The climate change movement, 350.org, has spearheaded a movement to pressure institutions, from charitable Foundations to universities, to divest from stocks of fossil fuel companies. While there are good financial arguments for doing so, based on concern about stranded assets, there is also an argument to be made for continued engagement with oil and gas companies on climate change issues. Laura Berry, Executive Director of the Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility (ICCR), makes the case for engagement in a letter to the UK-based Guardian newspaper, in response to a recent article.

Here is her response:

“Members of the Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility, a coalition of more than 300 faith-based institutions representing more than $100bn in invested capital, have been engaging the fossil fuel industry to address climate change since before the term was coined. You could say they are gnarled veterans of shareholder engagement with an industry, like tobacco, that is “on the ropes” due to a product offering that continues to be in high demand yet is widely known to present clear public health risks. The conundrum responsible owners of these companies face is not new; it is a tension that they have faced for decades. The divest/engage debate fuelled by your article (Climate campaigners losing faith in value of engaging with fossil fuel firms, theguardian.com, 7 April), which seeks to oversimplify the issue and to divide climate activists, only underscores the complexities of the problem and the genuinely difficult tasks we all face in shifting the energy industry, and our economy, on to a more sustainable path. Is shareholder engagement difficult and slow? Most definitely. Is it enough? Of course not. But do we still believe engagement is a powerful tool for social change? We do.”

“Responsible investors are deploying all their tools – divestment, engagement and everything between – to advance green energy solutions because we believe multiple and collective, inside and outside strategies are needed for what is a herculean task. Is the cause best served by discrediting the methodologies of our allies or leveraging the complementarities? Should we focus on our tactical differences or concentrate our collective energies on our common climate change enemies: investor apathy and policy inertia? We propose the latter.”

Laura Berry

Executive Director, Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility


Fr Seamus Finn, OMI Elected Chair of ICCR Governing Board September 2nd, 2014

Fr. Seamus Finn, OMI and Sr. Judy Byron, OP at the ICCR meetings

Fr. Seamus Finn, OMI and Sr. Judy Byron, OP
at ICCR meetings in NY

Our own Seamus Finn, OMI has been elected Chair of the Governing Board of the Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility. This is an acknowledgement not only of his substantial experience in the field of faith constant and socially responsible investing, but also of the value of his strategic thinking in this area, for ICCR and other faith-based investing initiatives.

Learn more about ICCR here.

 

 


Engaging Corporations to Stop Human Trafficking October 17th, 2012

Human trafficking – the recruiting, transport, harboring or receiving of persons through force, coercion or fraud – targets vulnerable people who are then exploited through forced labor, bonded (debt) labor, prostitution or other sexual exploitation, or as child soldiers. It is a crime without borders; every country in the world has been touched by human trafficking, whether as a country of origin, transit, or destination for victims.

Thus begins an article on human trafficking describing the work of members of the Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility (ICCR). “Leveraging Corporate Power in the Fight Against Human Trafficking,” explains how ICCR work on conflict minerals, the California Transparency in Supply Chains Act, and investor work around the London Olympics has helped to reduce the incidence of human trafficking, and to raise awareness of this heartbreaking issue.

Read the article…

Interested in more information on how corporations can address the issue? Read Corporate Strategies to Address Human trafficking, a joint publication of Christian Brothers Investment Services, ICCR and ECCR. 


Oblates Active in ICCR AGM in Boston June 10th, 2012

Simmons College, Boston, MA

The Oblates participated in the Annual General Meeting of the Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility (ICCR) that met at Simmons College in Boston from June 4-8. The corporate engagements over the last proxy season were evaluated – with successes celebrated, and plans laid for the 2012-2013 season. Areas in which the Oblates are active include: access to finance, extractives, global access to health, water, human trafficking, toxic chemicals, corporate governance and supply chain (labor) issues. John Ruggie, Professor at Harvard’s Kennedy School and the UN Special Rapporteur behind the UN Guiding Principles on Human Rights and Business was honored at a reception Wednesday evening.

The work on the financial services sector continues to be a high priority for ICCR members and has generated significant media attention. Resolutions and statements by religious investors continue to draw attention to the extensive moral and ethical responsibilities that corporate actors in this space assume. The enduring impact of the destruction of nearly 17 trillion dollars of wealth since the near financial meltdown of September 2008 is a clear justification of the need for such vigilance. This work by ICCR members has strongly supported the efforts of numerous homeowners in places like the San Fernando Valley CA and Prince William County in VA to stay in their homes and restore their communities.

Fr. Seamus Finn, OMI and Sr. Judy Byron, OP at ICCR

Click here to read more »

Return to Top