شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
مناطق التركيز: سلامة الخلق
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

تغير المناخ

"كأفراد ، كمؤسسات ، كشعب ، نحتاج إلى تغيير في القلب للحفاظ على الكوكب وحمايته لأطفالنا وللأجيال التي لم تولد بعد".

- تغير المناخ العالمي: نداء من أجل الحوار والحكمة والسلعة المشتركة والأساقفة الكاثوليك في الولايات المتحدة ، 2001

تغير المناخ يجري بالفعل. وقد شعرت آثاره من نيو أورليانز إلى بنغلاديش. في جميع أنحاء العالم ، تشمل إشارات الإنذار المبكر ذوبان الأنهار الجليدية ، وتحويل النطاقات من النباتات والحيوانات وبداية الربيع المبكر. تشير الكنائس في الدول الجزرية الصغيرة في المحيط الهادئ إلى أن شبابها يغادرون - لتأسيس حياة لن تغمرهم مياه البحار.

تصبح الضرورة الملحة التي يجب أن نتصرف بها أكثر وضوحًا مع كل دراسة علمية جديدة. يحدث ذوبان الصفائح الجليدية وتفككها في القطب الشمالي والقطب الجنوبي بشكل أسرع من المتوقع. درجات الحرارة المرتفعة تجعل الأماكن الباردة أكثر دفئا ، ولكنها تجعل الأماكن الدافئة أكثر جفافا. الزراعة المزروعة بالمياه في أفريقيا معرضة للخطر بشكل خاص. حتى انخفاض صغير في هطول الأمطار يمكن أن يكون له تأثير سلبي كبير

تشمل تأثيرات تغير المناخ ما يلي:

  • مزيد من موجات الحرارة الشديدة والجفاف
  • ارتفاع منسوب مياه البحر
  • نشاط عاصف أشد قسوة (تثير مياه المحيط الأدفأ عواصف أكثر شراسة)
  • سوف يقل ذوبان الأنهار الجليدية ، مما يؤثر سلبًا على إمدادات المياه الجوفية. سوف يتأثر الملايين ، لا سيما في جنوب آسيا.

ما هو الاحترار العالمي؟

سبب الاحترار العالمي هو وجود فائض من انبعاثات ثاني أكسيد الكربون وغيرها من الغازات الحرارية في الغلاف الجوي. وينتج ذلك في المقام الأول عن حرق الوقود الأحفوري وتطهير الغابات - 75٪ و 20٪ ، على التوالي ، من إجمالي انبعاثات CO2 التي يسببها الإنسان كل عام. تبقى هذه الغازات في غلافنا الجوي لمدة مائة عام أو أكثر.

حتى الآن ، تصرف المحيط وكأنه حوض كبير ، يمتص الكربون من الغلاف الجوي ، ولكنه قريب من التشبع. لقد جعل امتصاص الكربون من المحيطات أكثر حموضة - وهو تهديد للشعاب المرجانية ، التي تعرضت بالفعل لخطر شديد في العديد من المناطق. تسبب الحموضة التبييض وموت المرجان. وسيكون لتدمير الشعاب المرجانية مزيد من التأثير المدمر على مصايد الأسماك في جميع أنحاء العالم.

في الولايات المتحدة - مناطقنا الساحلية ، وإنتاجية مزارعنا ومصائد الأسماك والغابات بالإضافة إلى قابلية العيش لمدننا - معرضة للخطر. لكن التأثير السلبي الأكبر للاحترار سيقع على الدول الفقيرة الأقل قدرة على التكيف. ومن المرجح أن أولئك الذين أسهموا في المشكلة على أقل تقدير يتحملون وطأة ذلك.

استجابة الجماعة الدينية

لقد عملت الجالية الدينية بجد لإعادة إيقاظ رؤية دينية للعالم ككون حي مترابطة يرشدها الروح من أجل التمتع ورعاية جميع المخلوقات. نشطت المجتمعات الدينية في حث صانعي السياسة على أن يكونوا منفتحين على تلك الرؤية وأن يتصرفوا بسرعة وفاعلية وأن يأخذوا في الاعتبار التأثيرات على الأقل قدرة على التأقلم ، سواء في الولايات المتحدة أو في الخارج. كل من التخفيف (الحد من غازات الدفيئة) والتكيف (القدرة على التكيف مع التغيرات التي لا مفر منها الآن) ضروريان. وكلما أسرعنا في العمل ، انخفض السعر الذي علينا دفعه جميعًا.

مواقع الويب الرائعة حول تغير المناخ:

العهد الكاثوليكي للمناخ
حملة تغير المناخ في المجلس الوطني للكنائس البيئية
حملة 1 Sky
اتحاد العلماء المهتمين

العودة للقمة

Home | En Español

Justice, Peace, and Integrity of Creation - Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate

Follow JPIC OMI!

YouTube Facebook Twitter

Current and past action alerts >

Climate Change

“As individuals, as institutions, as a people, we need a change of heart to preserve and protect the planet for our children and for generations yet unborn.”

– Global Climate Change: A Plea for Dialogue, Prudence and the Common Good, US Catholic Bishops, 2001

Climate Change is under way already. Its effects have been felt from New Orleans to Bangladesh. Across the globe, early warning signs include melting glaciers, shifting ranges of plants and animals and the earlier onset of spring. Churches in small island nations in the Pacific report their young people are leaving – to establish lives where they won’t be inundated by rising seas.

The urgency with which we must act becomes clearer with every new scientific study. The melting and breakup of ice sheets in the Arctic and the Antarctic is happening faster than predicted. Rising temperatures make cold places warmer, but they also make warm places dryer. Rain-fed agriculture in Africa is particularly at risk. Even a small decrease in rainfall can have a large negative effect

Climate Change impacts include:

  • More extreme heat waves and droughts
  • Rising sea levels
  • More severe storm activity (warmer ocean waters spawn fiercer storms)
  • Glacier melt will lessen, adversely affecting ground water supplies. Millions, particularly in South Asia, will be affected.

What is Global Warming?

Global warming is caused by an excess of carbon dioxide emissions and other heat-trapping gases in the atmosphere. These are emitted primarily by the burning of fossil fuels and the clearing of forests – 75% and 20%, respectively, of total human-caused CO2 emissions each year. These gases remain in our atmosphere for a hundred years or more.

Until now, the ocean has acted like a great sink, absorbing carbon from the atmosphere, but it is close to saturation. Oceanic absorption of carbon has caused it to become more acidic – a threat to coral reefs, already severely compromised in many areas. The acidity causes bleaching and death of the coral. Further coral reef destruction would have a devastating impact on fisheries around the world.

In the United States – our coastal areas, the productivity of our farms, fisheries and forests as well as the livability of our cities – is at risk. But the greatest negative impact of warming will fall on poor countries least able to adapt. Those who contributed least to the problem will likely bear the brunt of it.

Response of the Religious Community

The religious community has been working hard to re-awaken a religious vision of the world as a living interconnected cosmos guided by the Spirit for the enjoyment and nurture of all creatures. Faith communities have been active in urging policy makers to be open to that vision and to act quickly, effectively and to take into consideration the impacts on those least able to cope, both in the US and abroad. Both mitigation (the reduction of greenhouse gases) and adaptation (the ability to cope with the changes that are now inevitable) are both necessary. And, the sooner we act, the lower the price we will all have to pay.

Great websites on Climate Change:

Catholic Coalition on Climate Change
National Council of Churches Eco-Justice Climate Change Campaign
1 Sky Campaign
We Can Solve It
Union of Concerned Scientists

Return to Top