شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر  الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
المدونة
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

آخر الأخبار

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث مقاطع الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

ارشيف الاخبار »كارل كابات اومي


مرافق الأسلحة النووية غير آمنة بشكل مثير للقلق 13 أبريل، 2015

34799967_e01622b1a3_z

نصب هيروشيما التذكاري للسلام ، الذي يُطلق عليه اسم "قبة القنبلة الذرية". توفي مئات الآلاف في اليابان نتيجة للقنبلتين النوويتين اللتين سقطتا على هيروشيما وناغازاكي.

كارل كابات ، OMI ، واحدة من محاريث ثمانية ، ظهرت في مقال في النيويوركر عن الاحتجاجات الدينية ضد الأسلحة النووية التي بدأت في الثمانينيات. أشارت الاحتجاجات الأخيرة المناهضة للأسلحة النووية إلى ضعف المنشآت النووية الأمريكية ذات الأمان العالي.

يقع مجمع الأمن القومي Y-12 في واد ضيق ، وتحيط به التلال المشجرة ، في مدينة أوك ريدج بولاية تينيسي. تم بناء Y-12 و Oak Ridge سرًا ، في غضون عامين تقريبًا ، كجزء من مشروع مانهاتن ، ولم يتم الاعتراف بوجودهما علنًا حتى نهاية الحرب العالمية الثانية. ... [S] في أوائل الثمانينيات من القرن الماضي ، كانت مجموعة صغيرة من نشطاء السلام ، من المؤيدين المخلصين لحركة Plowshares ، تحاول اقتحام مواقع الأسلحة النووية في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة. لقد نجحوا دائمًا تقريبًا. لم تكشف إجراءات Plowshares فقط عن نقاط ضعف خطيرة في أمن المؤسسة النووية الأمريكية ؛ كما سلطوا الضوء على المخاطر الكامنة التي تواجهها كل دولة تمتلك أسلحة دمار شامل. إن امتلاك هذه الأسلحة يخلق فرصًا لا حصر لها للسرقة أو سوء الاستخدام. في الوقت الحالي ، قد يكون احتمال قيام الإرهابيين بهجوم نووي ناجح منخفضًا ، لكن العواقب ستكون عالية بشكل لا يمكن تصوره. وكما أظهر نشطاء Plowshares مرارًا وتكرارًا ، تحدث أشياء غير محتملة في كل وقت ".

اقرأ هذا المقال الرائع والمثير للقلق الذي نُشر مؤخرًا في مجلة New Yorker: "Break-In في Y-12: كيف كشف عدد قليل من دعاة السلام والراهبات ضعف مواقع الأسلحة النووية الأمريكية".

 


Carl Kabat، OMI Protests Nuclear Weapons in Kansas City on July 4 يوليو 5th، 2014

نشكر جاين ستويفر من منظمة "PeaceWorks" ، مدينة كانساس سيتي على هذا المقال حول أعمال الاحتجاج المناهضة للنووي التي قام بها الأب المفوض كارل كابات في يوليو / تموز 4th.

C Cabat paint، 7.4.14، from north

علامة دخول مرسومة بالرش في منشأة الأسلحة النووية الفيدرالية الجديدة في مدينة كانساس سيتي بولاية ميسوري

كارل كابات ، 80 ، كاهن في وسام مريم الطاهر ، يرسم علامة دخول حرم الأمن القومي في 10 am July 4. هذا هو "العمل المتبادل المتبادل" الرابع على التوالي في يوليو في ما يسمى بالحرم الجامعي ، وهو المقر الجديد لمصنع مدينة كانساس سيتي (في مدينة كانساس سيتي بولاية ماساتشوستس) ، حيث ستبدأ إدارة الأمن النووي الوطني هذا العام في صنع وشراء الأجزاء النووية للأسلحة النووية. في مكالمة هاتفية للأصدقاء في 10: 03 صباحا ، قال كارل ، "هذا النبات الملعون يجب أن يغلق بطريقة ما ، بطريقة ما." وقال إنه اختار الطلاء الأحمر للدلالة على الدم ، وبعد أن كانت اللوحة جالسة بمفردها التوقيع ، في انتظار الاعتقال.

تحل المنشأة الجديدة التي تبلغ تكلفتها 687 مليون دولار محل مصنع كانساس سيتي في مجمع بانيستر الفيدرالي ، أيضًا في كانساس سيتي بولاية ميزوري ، حيث وثقت الحكومة الفيدرالية حوالي 900 مادة سامة - الإرث من المواد المشعة وغيرها من المواد المستخدمة في المصنع القديم. يصنع مصنع كانساس سيتي أجزاء مثل الأسلاك والصمامات وأنظمة التوجيه وأجهزة الأمان ومحفز للأسلحة النووية.

ومن المتوقع أن يقضي كارل عطلة نهاية الأسبوع في زنزانة الاحتجاز التابعة لقسم الشرطة بمدينة كانساس سيتي بولاية ميزوري. سيمثل أمام قاضٍ عبر محكمة تلفزيونية يوم الإثنين 7 يوليو ؛ سيتم تحريره وسيُطلب منه العودة إلى كانساس سيتي لجلسة استماع ، حيث سيقول الحقيقة للسلطة.

حوالي الظهر في شهر يوليو 4 ، التقط المحامي هنري ستويفر صوراً لعمل كارل ، ولكن قبل 6 ، عندما ذهبت جين ستويفر للحصول على مزيد من الصور ، كانت الإشارة تحت غطاء. تم تحذير كل من Stoevers لمغادرة أو تهمة مع التعدي على ممتلكات الغير.

وقال كارل في تصريح له أعده كارل قبل إجراء مقاومة يوليو 4 في وقت سابق ، "يمكن لأحد جنودنا مينيوتمان 3 قتل ما يقرب من ثلاثة ملايين من أخواتنا وأخواتنا. ... لقد أتقننا "فن" القتل والحرق. ... يمكن أن يقتل أربعة Minuteman III 12 مليون من الأخوات والأخوات لدينا. ... إن رأي المحكمة الدولية في 1995 ينص على أن الأسلحة النووية هي جريمة ضد الإنسانية! "

في 1980 ، أصبح Kabat واحدًا من أول محاريث Ploughhares ، بعد إتباع إشعياء بـ "ضرب السيوف في محاريث". لقد أمضى حوالي 17 سنوات في السجن لمقاومته للأسلحة النووية. في مكالمة هاتفية قصيرة له في شهر يوليو من هذا العام ، وقع كارل ، "بارك الله! السلام عليك!"

C كابات الطلاء تحت الغطاء

غطى المسؤولون طلاء كارل كابات


انضمت الطلبات إلى الاحتجاجات ضد الأسلحة النووية في مدينة كانساس سيتي يوليو 15th، 2013

رئيس Oblate William Antone ، انضم OMI إلى Carl Kabat ، OMI يوم السبت الماضي في احتجاج ضد الأسلحة النووية في مدينة كانساس سيتي. كانوا من بين أكثر من عشرين متظاهرًا تم اعتقالهم في مسيرة PeaceWorks في مصنع هانيويل. تتم إدارة المصنع وتشغيله بواسطة شركة Honeywell Federal Manufacturing & Technologies ، التي تنتج 85 بالمائة من المواد غير النووية المستخدمة في ترسانة القنابل النووية بالولايات المتحدة.

وكان هؤلاء المعتقلين قد عبروا إلى ممتلكات هانيويل. كان الناس تقريبًا 60 حاضرين ، مع عدد غير قليل من الشباب من مجتمعات العمال الكاثوليك.

نشرت جماعة العمال الكاثوليك صورًا للاحتجاج على Flickr. اعرضها هنا ...

شاهد صور الاحتجاج من KSHB ، محطة إخبارية محلية ...

المراسل الكاثوليكي الوطني لديه قصة جيدة عن الحدث ...

 

 


Carl Kabat، OMI interviewed on St Louis TV Station 11 يناير، 2010

genthumb.ashxكارل كابات ، OMI - سُجن بسبب احتجاج ضد الأسلحة النووية وأفرج عنه قبل عيد الميلاد بقليل - أجرى مقابلة مع محطة تلفزيون سانت لويس في 30 ديسمبر. الاب. أمضى كابات ، البالغ من العمر 76 عامًا ، ما مجموعه 18 عامًا خلف القضبان طوال حياته. لقد دأب على اقتحام منشآت الأسلحة النووية منذ السبعينيات ، في محاولة لإرسال رسالة سلام.

قال كابات: "عليك أن تضع نفسك في مكان ما تكون فيه كلماتك - وإلا فأنت تحب أن ترفرف بفكك ...".

عندما لا يكون خلف القضبان ، يقضي الأب كابات معظم وقته في مجتمع نورث سانت لويس في خدمة التوعية للفقراء.

شاهد الفيديو هنا.


إطلاق سراح كارل كابات من السجن - اتخذ موقفا دفاعا عن نفسه ديسمبر شنومكرد، شنومكس

كارل-clownfenceتم إطلاق سراح كارل كابات ، OMI - المسجون بسبب احتجاج ضد الأسلحة النووية في كولورادو - يوم الثلاثاء. اتخذ الموقف دفاعًا عن نفسه ، وحُكم عليه بالمدة التي قضاها وأفرج عنه.

الاب. أقال كابات محاميه وقرر أن يقول سلامه على المنصة. في سؤال مكتوب أثناء عمليات الحذف ، سأل أحد المحلفين لماذا لا يفضل مجرد الاحتجاج خارج محيط السياج بسلام.

"لماذا في (عصر) الحقوق المدنية ساروا في الشارع عندما قالوا ،" لا يمكنك السير في الشارع؟ " أجاب كابات. "أعتقد أن الأمر متروك لنا لمحاولة التخلص من هذه الأشياء."

سأله نائب المدعي العام ديفيد سكاركا ببساطة: "هل أنت فوق القانون؟

أجاب كابات: "كل قانون خاطئ ، نعم. قانون الله فوق كل هذه الأشياء التي صنعها الإنسان ".

اقرأ أكثر…

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace & Integrity of Creation

Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate  United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » carl kabat omi


Nuclear Weapons Facilities are Troublingly Insecure April 13th, 2015

34799967_e01622b1a3_z

Hiroshima Peace Memorial, commonly called the Atomic Bomb Dome. Hundreds of thousands in Japan died as a result of the two nuclear bombs dropped on Hiroshima and Nagasaki.

Carl Kabat, OMI, one of the Ploughshares Eight, is featured in a New Yorker article on the faith-based protests against nuclear weapons that started in the 1980’s. Recent anti-nuclear weapons protests have pointed out the vulnerability of high security US nuclear facilities.

“The Y-12 National Security Complex sits in a narrow valley, surrounded by wooded hills, in the city of Oak Ridge, Tennessee. Y-12 and Oak Ridge were built secretly, within about two years, as part of the Manhattan Project, and their existence wasn’t publicly acknowledged until the end of the Second World War. … [S]ince the early nineteen-eighties a small group of peace activists, devout supporters of the Plowshares movement, have been trying to break into nuclear-weapons sites throughout the United States. They’ve almost always succeeded. Plowshares actions have not only revealed serious vulnerabilities in the security of America’s nuclear enterprise; they’ve also shed light on the inherent risks faced by every nation that possesses weapons of mass destruction. Having these weapons creates endless opportunities for theft or misuse. At the moment, the probability of terrorists staging a successful nuclear attack may be low, but the consequences would be unimaginably high. And, as Plowshares activists have demonstrated again and again, improbable things happen all the time.”

Read this fascinating and troubling article recently published in the New Yorker magazine: “Break-In at Y-12: How a handful of pacifists and nuns exposed the vulnerability of America’s nuclear-weapons sites”.

 


Carl Kabat,OMI Protests Nuclear Weapons in Kansas City on July 4 July 5th, 2014

Our thanks go to Jane Stoever of PeaceWorks, Kansas City for this article on the anti-nuclear protest action by Oblate Father Carl Kabat on July 4th.

C Kabat paint, 7.4.14, from north

Spray-painted entry sign at the new federal nuclear weapons facility in Kansas City, Missouri

Carl Kabat, 80, a priest in the Order of Mary Immaculate, spray-painted the National Security Campus entry sign at 10 a.m. July 4. This is Carl’s fourth consecutive “interdependence action” in July at the so-called campus, the new home for the Kansas City Plant (in Kansas City, Mo.), where the National Nuclear Security Administration this year will begin making and procuring non-nuclear parts for nuclear weapons. In a phone call to friends at 10:03 a.m., Carl said, “This damned plant has got to be closed somehow, some way.” He chose red paint to signify blood, he said, and after painting was sitting alone by the huge sign, awaiting arrest.

The new $687 million facility replaces the Kansas City Plant at Bannister Federal Complex, also in Kansas City, Mo., where the federal government has documented about 900 toxins–the legacy from radioactive and other substances used at the old plant. The Kansas City Plant makes parts such as wiring, fuses, guidance systems, security devices, and the trigger for nuclear weapons.

It is expected that Carl will spend the weekend in the Kansas City, Mo., Police Department’s holding cell; will come before a judge via TV court on Monday, July 7; will be freed; and will be told to return to Kansas City for a hearing, where he’ll speak truth to power.

About noon on July 4, lawyer Henry Stoever took pictures of Carl’s handiwork, but by 6 p.m., when Jane Stoever went for more pictures, the sign was under cover. Both Stoevers were warned to leave or be charged with trespass.

In a statement Carl prepared before an earlier July 4 resistance action, Carl said, “One of our Minuteman III’s could kill approximately three million of our sisters and brothers. … We have perfected the ‘art’ of killing and burning. … Four Minuteman III’s could kill 12 million of our sisters and brothers. … The opinion of the International Court in 1995 states that nuclear weapons are a Crime Against Humanity!”

In 1980, Kabat became one of the first Plowshares, following Isaiah’s mandate to “beat swords into plowshares.” He has spent about 17 years in prison for resisting nuclear weapons. In his short phone call this July 4, Carl signed off, “God bless! Peace on you!”

C Kabat paint under cover

Carl Kabat’s paint covered over by officials


Oblates Join Anti-Nuclear Protest in Kansas City July 15th, 2013

Oblate Superior William Antone, OMI joined Carl Kabat, OMI last Saturday in at an anti-nuclear weapons protest in Kansas City. They were among two dozen protestors who were arrested at the PeaceWorks rally at the Honeywell Plant. The plant is managed and operated by Honeywell Federal Manufacturing & Technologies, which produces 85 percent of the nonnuclear material used in the United States nuclear bomb arsenal.

Those arrested had crossed onto Honeywell property. Roughly 60 people were present, with quite a few young people from Catholic Worker communities.

The Catholic Worker Community has posted photos of the protest on Flickr. View them here…

See pictures of the protest from KSHB, a local news station…

National Catholic Reporter has a good story on the action…

 

 


Carl Kabat, OMI interviewed on St Louis TV Station January 11th, 2010

genthumb.ashxCarl Kabat, OMI – jailed for an anti-nuclear protest and released just before Christmas – was interviewed by a St. Louis TV station on December 30th. Fr. Kabat, 76 years old, has spent a total of 18 years behind bars off and on throughout his life. He has been breaking into nuclear weapons facilities since the 1970’s, trying to send a message of peace.

“You have to put yourself where your words are – otherwise you’re just kind of like flapping your jaws…,” said Kabat.

When he’s not behind bars, Father Kabat spends most of his time in the North St. Louis community doing outreach ministry to the poor.

Watch the video here.


Carl Kabat Released from Jail – Took Stand in His Own Defense December 23rd, 2009

carl-clownfenceCarl Kabat, OMI – jailed for an anti-nuclear protest in Colorado – was released on Tuesday. He took the stand in his own defense, and was sentenced to time served and released.

Fr. Kabat fired his attorneys and decided to say his peace on the stand. In a written question during their delliberations, one juror asked why he wouldn’t rather just protest outside the perimeter of the fence peacefully.

“Why in the Civil Rights (era) did they march down the street when they said, ‘You can’t march down the street?’ Because it’s wrong,” Kabat answered. “I guess I think it’s up to us to try to get rid of these things.”

Deputy District Attorney David Skarka asked him simply, “Are you above the law?

Kabat replied: “All wrong law, yes. God’s law is above all these man-made things.”

Read more…

Return to Top