شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر  الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
الأخبار
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

آخر الأخبار

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث مقاطع الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الأخبار »المضاربة على السلع


بالنسبة للراهبات والمحللين على حد سواء ، تعد أرباح سلع البنك لغزًا أغسطس 11th، 2013

1250-Exchange_Traded_Commoditiesتشعر الجهات المعنية بالقلق إزاء عدم إفصاح البنوك عن أنشطة سوق سلعها. الأب سيموس فين ، OMI يحاور نيابة عن Oblates مع المؤسسات المالية الكبرى مثل غولدمان ساكس وجيه بي مورغان تشيس. ونقلت عنه على نطاق واسع في مقال شيكاغو تريبيون الذي يقوم بعمل جيد لوصف هذه القضية. (اقرأ المقال)

بدافع التصميم على الاستثمار بطريقة واعية اجتماعيًا ، كانت مجموعة Finn تشعر بالقلق إزاء أنشطة السلع الأساسية للبنوك منذ عام 2008 ، عندما تسبب ارتفاع في الطاقة والمنتجات الزراعية في أعمال شغب بسبب الغذاء في إفريقيا. القضية هي ما إذا كانت الأنشطة التجارية للبنوك تؤدي بشكل مصطنع إلى ارتفاع أسعار المواد الغذائية. ... بينما يُطلب من أكبر البنوك في البلاد الإفصاح عن أنشطتها في بعض الأعمال التجارية التي تواجه المستهلك مثل الرهون العقارية ، لا يوجد شرط مماثل لهم للقيام بذلك من ناحية السلع. "

 


دعم روبن هود الضرائب أغسطس 7th، 2012

ضريبة صغيرة على وول ستريت يمكن أن تحول الشارع الرئيسي

إن ضريبة "روبن هود" - وهي ضريبة صغيرة على المعاملات المالية - لديها القدرة على جمع مئات المليارات كل عام لتوفير التمويل للوظائف لتحفيز الاقتصاد وإعادة أمريكا للوقوف على قدميها. يمكن أن يساعد في إنقاذ شبكة الأمان الاجتماعي في الولايات المتحدة وحول العالم.

كما يقول مؤيدو: غير معقدة. مجرد رائعة.

وستكون للضريبة فائدة إضافية تتمثل في إبطاء التجارة التدميرية عالية التردد المحوسبة التي لا تضيف قيمة إلى الاقتصاد الحقيقي ، بل تقوض استقرار النظام المالي. إن التداول عالي التردد له القدرة على إحداث فوضى عارمة في الأسواق بالنسبة للسلع مثل القمح والبنزين ، والتي تعتبر أساسية لاقتصاداتنا وحياة مئات الملايين من البشر ورفاههم.

يمكن أن ترفع الضريبة التي تقل عن نصف واحد في المائة مئات المليارات من الدولارات سنوياً. نحن ندفع ضرائب المبيعات ، بينما لا تدفع وول ستريت أي شيء.

دعم ضريبة روبن هود. أظهر دعمك هنا ...

 


مساعدة في مكافحة الجوع في العالم هذا عيد الشكر نوفمبر شنومكرد، شنومكس

إليك شيئين مهمين يمكنك القيام بهما أثناء عطلة عيد الشكر للمساعدة في محاربة الجوع في العالم:

1) اتخذ إجراءات لمواجهة الوجود الهائل لأعضاء جماعات الضغط في وول ستريت في واشنطن الذين يعملون لضمان أرباحهم على حساب الناس - اتصل بأعضاء مجلس الشيوخ واطلب منهم منع المضاربة المفرطة في أسواق السلع.

في الوقت الذي نتوقف فيه عن تذكر كيف نشكر نحن على الطعام على أطباقنا ، دعنا نساعد على التأكد من أن هذا هو حقيقة للناس في كل مكان. في 2008 ، أدت فقاعات الأسعار في أسعار المواد الغذائية والطاقة إلى إنتاج 4 بنزين في الولايات المتحدة وأجبرت سكان 130 في جميع أنحاء العالم على الجوع ، وفقًا للأمم المتحدة. كان أحد العوامل المهمة وراء هذه الفقاعات السعرية هو المضاربة المفرطة في أسواق السلع الغذائية والطاقة.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


حث مجلس الشيوخ على تضمين لائحة المشتقات في مشروع قانون الإصلاح المالي 25 أبريل، 2010

إصلاح المشتقاتانضم Oblates إلى مجموعة واسعة من المجموعات المهتمة بالمضاربة على السلع في الحث على إدراج مشروع قانون ينظم المشتقات في تشريع الإصلاح المالي الأكبر في مجلس الشيوخ الذي تتم مناقشته هذا الأسبوع. على وجه التحديد ، تطلب المجموعات إدراج "قانون وول ستريت للشفافية والمساءلة" (الذي صدر عن لجنة الزراعة يوم الأربعاء بتصويت من الحزبين) ، في "قانون الاستقرار المالي الأمريكي" (S.3217) - المعروف أيضًا باسم مشروع قانون "إصلاح وول ستريت" الشامل.

وقعت مبارة المبالغة الرسالة التي تم إنشاؤها بواسطة تحالف مراقبة أسواق السلع، تحالف غير رسمي لمجموعات الصناعة ، ودعاة المستهلك والأكاديميين ، يمثلون منتجي السلع الأساسية ، والمجهزين ، والموزعين ، وتجار التجزئة ، والمستخدمين النهائيين في المناطق السكنية والتجارية والصناعية. يعتقد الموقعون على أن السياسة في أسواق تداول السلع ينبغي أن تهدف إلى تعزيز الرقابة والشفافية والاستقرار ، ومعالجة أوجه القصور في أسواق المشتقات الحالية ، سواءً التي يتم تنظيمها أو خارجها. وباعتبارهم حملة أسهم قائمة على الإيمان ، فإن "المباراتين التبشيريين" يضغطون من أجل إدارة أفضل للمشتقات في المناقشات مع قطاع الخدمات المالية لعدد من السنوات.

اقرأ الرسالة ... (تنزيل PDF)


تنضم الامتيازات إلى ائتلاف واسع في الدعوة إلى إصلاح الأسواق المالية 8 فبراير، 2010

كبير بحريتحالف مراقبة أسواق السلع والأمريكيون من أجل الإصلاح المالي دعوة للإصلاحات التي كان يمكن أن تمنع الأزمات الاقتصادية والسلع الفقاعية

ظلت The Missionary Oblates ، التي نشطت منذ فترة طويلة في مناصرة المساهمين ، تضغط من أجل إصلاحات رئيسية في تجارة المشتقات والمضاربة على السلع في حواراتها مع البنوك الكبرى ومؤسسات الخدمات المالية الأخرى. في الآونة الأخيرة ، انضم Oblates إلى ائتلاف واسع يدعو إلى الإصلاح المطلوب للنظام المالي لمنع تكرار الانهيار المالي العام الماضي.

وقد شكل المدافعون عن الإصلاح المالي شراكة قوية مع مصالح تجارية تتراوح بين تجار التجزئة وتجار وقود السيارات إلى مسوقي القطن ، وشركات النقل بالشاحنات إلى شركات الطيران ، ويدعو هذا التحالف الجديد الكونغرس والهيئات التنظيمية الفيدرالية إلى إخراج المشتقات من الظل والدخول إلى ضوء النهار.

اقرأ ملفات التحالف "بيان مشترك للمبادئ المشتركة للإصلاحات المطلوبة في أسواق العقود الآجلة / المشتقات."

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace & Integrity of Creation

Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate  United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » commodities speculation


For Nuns and Analysts Alike, Bank Commodity Earnings are a Mystery August 11th, 2013

1250-Exchange_Traded_CommoditiesThe Oblates are concerned about the lack of disclosure by banks of their commodities market activities. Fr. Seamus Finn, OMI dialogs on behalf of the Oblates with major financial institutions like Goldman Sachs and JP Morgan Chase. He was quoted extensively in a Chicago Tribune article that does a good job of describing the issue. (Read the article)

“Driven by a determination to invest in a socially conscious way, Finn’s group has been concerned about banks’ commodities activities since 2008, when a spike in energy and agricultural products caused food riots in Africa. The issue is whether banks’ trading activities artificially drive up food prices. … While the country’s largest banks are required to disclose their activities in some consumer-facing businesses such as mortgages, there is no similar requirement for them to do so on the commodities side.”

 


Support the Robin Hood Tax August 7th, 2012

A small tax on Wall Street that could transform Main Street

The “Robin Hood” Tax – a small tax on financial transactions – has the power to raise hundreds of billions every year to provide funding for jobs to kickstart the economy and to get America back on its feet. It could help save the social safety net in the US and around the world.

As proponents say: Not complicated. Just brilliant.

The tax would have the added benefit of slowing down the destructive computerized high frequency trading that doesn’t add value to the real economy, but rather undermines the stability of the financial system. High frequency trading has the potential to cause havoc in markets for commodities like wheat and gasoline, which are central to our economies and the lives and well being of hundreds of millions of people.

A tax of less than a half of one percent could raise hundreds of billions of dollars a year. We pay sales taxes, while Wall Street pays nothing.

Support the Robin Hood tax. Show your support here…

 


Help Fight World Hunger This Thanksgiving November 23rd, 2010

Here are two important things to do during your Thanksgiving holiday to help fight world hunger:

1) Take action to counteract the massive presence of Wall Street lobbyists in Washington working to insure their profits at the expense of people – call your Senators and ask them to prevent excessive speculation in commodity markets.

At a time when we stop to remember how thankful we are for food on our plates, let’s help make sure that this is a reality for people everywhere. In 2008, price bubbles in food and energy prices led to $4 gasoline in the U.S. and forced over 130 million people world-wide to go hungry, according to the UN. An important factor behind those price bubbles was excessive speculation in the food and energy commodity markets.

Click here to read more »


Senate Urged to Include Derivatives Regulation in Financial Reform Bill April 25th, 2010

Derivatives ReformThe Oblates joined a broad array of groups concerned about commodity speculation in urging the inclusion of a bill regulating derivatives in the larger Senate financial reform legislation being debated this week. Specifically, the groups are asking that the “Wall Street Transparency and Accountability Act” (reported out of the Agriculture Committee on Wednesday by a bipartisan vote), be incorporated into the “American Financial Stability Act” (S.3217) – otherwise known as the comprehensive “Wall Street Reform” bill.

The Missionary Oblates signed a letter generated by the Commodity Markets Oversight Coalition, an informal alliance of industry groups, consumer advocates and academics, representing commodity producers, processors, distributors, retailers, and residential, commercial and industrial end-users. The signatories believe that policy in the commodity trading markets should aim to strengthen oversight, transparency and stability, and to address inadequacies in the existing derivatives markets, both regulated and over-the-counter. As faith-based shareholders, the Missionary Oblates have been pressing for better management of derivatives in discussions with the financial services sector for a number of years.

Read the letter… (Download PDF)


Oblates Join Broad Coalition in Call for Reform of Financial Markets February 8th, 2010

big-boardCommodity Markets Oversight Coalition and Americans for Financial Reform Call for Reforms that Could Have Prevented Economic Crisis and Commodities Bubbles

The Missionary Oblates, long active in shareholder advocacy, have been pressing for major reforms in derivatives trading and commodity speculation in their dialogs with major banks and other financial services institutions. Recently, the Oblates joined a broad coalition calling for needed reform of the financial system to prevent a repeat of last year’s financial meltdown.

Advocates for financial reform have formed a powerful partnership with business interests ranging from heating and motor fuels retailers to cotton marketers, and trucking companies to airlines, and this new alliance is calling on Congress and Federal Regulators to bring derivatives out of the shadows and into the daylight.

Read the Coalition’s “Joint Statement of Shared Principles for Needed Reforms in the Futures/Derivatives Markets.”

Click here to read more »

Return to Top