شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر  الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
الأخبار
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

أخبار الأعلاف

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث مقاطع الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الأخبار »العدالة الاقتصادية


النرويج تجري أول تدقيق الديون الدائنة أغسطس 20th، 2013

6a00d8341c7ee953ef017d3bfe5cac970cكان 15 أغسطس يومًا تاريخيًا للعدالة الدولية بشأن الديون. أطلقت الحكومة النرويجية أول تدقيق في العالم بتكليف من أحد الدائنين ، والذي قيم الديون المستحقة على البلدان النامية للنرويج. ووجد التقرير أن أربعة عقود من أصل 34 لا تتماشى مع مبادئ الأمم المتحدة لتعزيز الإقراض والاقتراض السيادي المسؤول من مؤتمر الأمم المتحدة للتجارة والتنمية (مبادئ الأونكتاد).

تعلم المزيد من Eurodad ...

 


حذر المنظمون من السماح للإقراض التعسفي يوم الدفع مسيرة 22nd، 2013

numbers_payday_loansانضم مكتب Oblate JPIC إلى ما يقرب من ثلاثمائة منظمة وطنية ، ومنظمات حكومية ومحلية ، والأفراد المعنيين في خطاب ضد منتهكي الإقراض يوم الدفع الذي ينظمه مركز الإقراض المسؤول.

ووفقًا للرسالة ، فإن القروض "المقدمة مقدمًا" المقدمة من قبل مجموعة من البنوك ، بما في ذلك Wells Fargo و American Bank و Fifth Third و Regions و Bank of Oklahoma والأقسام المصرفية ذات الصلة بها وبنك الضمان ، تكون منظمة وتعمل تمامًا مثل القروض من مخازن القروض يوم الدفع - تحمل تكلفة عالية جنبا إلى جنب مع سداد بالون قصير الأجل. لقد أظهرت الأبحاث منذ فترة طويلة أن قروض يوم الدفع تقبض على المقترضين في دورة من الديون طويلة الأجل باهظة الثمن ، مما يتسبب في أضرار مالية خطيرة للمقترضين ، بما في ذلك زيادة احتمال الإفلاس ، ودفع ديون بطاقات الائتمان وغيرها من الفواتير المتأخرة ، وتأخر الرعاية الطبية ، وفقدان الخدمات المصرفية الأساسية. امتيازات بسبب تكرار السحب على المكشوف. يؤثر الإقراض يوم الدفع تأثيراً سلبياً بشكل خاص على الأميركيين الأفارقة واللاتينيين ، حيث تأتي حصة غير متناسبة من المقترضين يوم الدفع من مجتمعات ملونة. لقد حدد المنظمون منذ فترة طويلة من قبل المنظمين التكلفة العالية ، وسداد مدفوعات بالون قصيرة الأجل ، وما يترتب على ذلك من سلسلة من القروض المكررة ، كميزات للإقراض المفترس.

اقرأ الرسالة ... (تنزيل PDF)

 


التأسيس الروحي للاقتصاد أبريل شنومست، شنومكس

الأب مارسيلو باروس ، OSB

نود أن نشارك مقالة مثيرة للاهتمام حول الاقتصاد (مترجمة من البرتغالية) من قبل الأب مارسيلو باروس ، OSB ، الكاتب و اللاهوتي البرازيلي. يتناول المقال مفهوم الاقتصاد الروحي وأهمية ربط احتياجات الإنسان وتطلعاته بالمبرر الأساسي لأي اقتصاد:

“كما هو الحال في جميع ميادين الحياة والنشاط البشري ، يجب أن تعطي الروحانية الروح للاقتصاد. بدون روح ، يسمح الاقتصاد لنفسه بالهيمنة على السوق باعتباره معبودًا. والمال يحول نفسه إلى صنم. السوق ، الذي هو في حد ذاته مؤسسة إنسانية للتبادل والعلاقات بين الأشخاص وبين المجموعات ، أصبح مطلقا ومنفصلا عن البقية. إلى هذه النقطة التي يمكن أن نشجبها مع يسوع: "السوق صنع للبشر وليس البشر للسوق". في العقود الأخيرة من القرن العشرين ، أصبح الاقتصاد أكثر تركيزًا من أي وقت مضى في المال وألقاب رأس المال ، مع النيوليبرالية السلطوية والهيمنة (الغطرسة) ".

تعلم المزيد (تنزيل نسخة PDF من المقال)

الأب رُسِم باروس إلى الكهنوت في 1969 بواسطة Dom Helder Camara ، وعمل لمدة تقرب من عشر سنوات ، من 1967 إلى 1976 ، وعمل سكرتيراً ومستشارًا لـ Dom Helder في الشؤون المسكونية. وهو مؤلف ستة كتب على الأقل ، وكان عضواً نشطاً في الجمعية المسكونية لعلماء اللاهوت في العالم الثالث (EATWOT).

 


قانون لوقف الإقراض يوم الدفع الرهيبة! فبراير 23rd، 2012

يتلقى المنظمون في الولايات المتحدة رسالة من منظمات 250 والأفراد الذين يقدمون قروضا مربحة.
انضمت أكثر من 250 منظمة ومدافعين فرديين - بما في ذلك Oblates وغيرها من المجموعات الدينية - إلى الدعوة لمنع البنوك من تقديم قروض يوم الدفع الجارحة. تحمل هذه القروض معدلات فائدة سنوية ثلاثية تصل إلى 400٪.

يمكن للمستهلكين الانضمام إلى الدعوة إلى المنظمين لوقف الإقراض يوم الدفع المصرفي عن طريق التوقيع على عريضة في: http://rspnsb.li/vZb3iH

تعرف على مشكلة الإقراض المفترض في يوم الدفع في هذا الفيديو من مركز الإقراض المسؤول.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


11 يناير 2012 - يوم التوعية بالاتجار بالبشر 5 يناير، 2012

الأربعاء ، كانون الثاني / يناير 11 ، 2012 هو يوم التوعية بشأن الاتجار بالبشر في الولايات المتحدة ، وذلك بفضل إصدار قرار من مجلس الشيوخ في يونيو 22 ، جعل 2007 يناير 11th يومًا من الوعي واليقظة بالنسبة لعدد لا يحصى من ضحايا الاتجار بالبشر في جميع أنحاء العالم.

ينطوي الاتجار بالبشر على تجنيد الأشخاص ونقلهم واحتجازهم بالقوة إما من بلد إلى آخر أو داخل البلدان. تعتبر التهديدات والقوة و / أو الخداع نموذجية. أما المستغِلون ، فهم إما غير مدفوعي الأجر ، أو يدفعون مبلغاً ضئيلاً جداً مقابل عملهم ، أو البغاء أو غيرهم من الاستغلال الجنسي ، وهم ليسوا أحراراً في ترك هذه الحالات المسيئة. في كل عام ، يوجد بين 600,000 و 800,000 أشخاص يتم الاتجار بهم عبر الحدود في جميع أنحاء العالم. هناك الكثير من الأشخاص الذين يتم الاتجار بهم في غضون الدول كذلك. الولايات المتحدة ليست محصنة ضد هذه المشكلة. يتم الاتجار بالكثير منها داخل حدود الولايات المتحدة ، وكذلك في الولايات المتحدة من الخارج.

الاتجار بالبشر ينمو بسرعة ، على الرغم من جهود العديد من السيطرة عليه. أينما يوجد الفقر ، أو الحرب ، أو الفيضانات ، أو المجاعة ، أو أي نوع من الاضطرابات ، فإن الناس عديمي الضمير يفتقرون إلى الضعفاء. تتأثر النساء والأطفال بشكل خاص ، ولكن العديد من الرجال كذلك.

كثير منا لا يدركون عدد العبيد (نعم ، العبيد) الذي نستخدمه للحفاظ على أسلوب حياتنا. اذهب إلى www.slaveryfootprint.org لسلسلة من الأسئلة التي ستوضح عدد العبيد التي تحتاجها للحفاظ على الطريقة التي تعيش بها.

للحصول على أفكار حول ما يجب القيام به ، راجع موقع Breaking the Snares - مورد للأبرشيات لاستخدامه في مكافحة الاتجار بالبشر من قبل راهبات المخلص الإلهي ؛ انظر مواردهم الرعية.

بالإضافة إلى استكشاف ما يلي:

  • وقف النشرة الإخبارية للإتجار وموارد أخرى: http://www.stopenslavement.org/archive.htm#handouts
  • إنهاء بغاء الأطفال والاتجار بهم: www.ecpat.net (الموقع متاح أيضا باللغتين الفرنسية والإسبانية)
  • جوجل الجانب المظلم من الشوكولاته للعثور على العديد من المواقع التي تظهر كيف يشارك الأطفال في أفريقيا في الشوكولاتة المتوفرة لدينا.
إذا كنت تشك في أن شخصًا ما قد يكون ضحيةً للاتجار بالبشر ، فاتصل بـ: معلومات الإتصالات والإحالة الخط الساخن للإحالة 1-888-373-7888

 


اقتراحات الفاتيكان للإصلاح المالي ناقش نوفمبر 8th، 2011

الاب. يجادل سيموس فين في صحيفة وول ستريت جورنال بأن التغييرات التنظيمية العالمية التي اقترحها الفاتيكان يمكن أن تساعد النظام المالي العالمي على العمل بشكل أكثر إنصافًا:

"روبرت أ. سيريكو "حكمة الفاتيكان النقدية" (افتتاحية ، 27 أكتوبر) يشيد بشكل صحيح بتحليل أسباب الأزمة المالية التي تضمنها بيان الفاتيكان حول إصلاح النظام المالي. يوضح رفضه الموجز للردود المقترحة في الوثيقة بوضوح أنه لا توجد سلطة تنظيمية سيادية أو دولية على مستوى مهمة تنظيم الجهات الفاعلة الرئيسية في القطاع المالي. هل نحن إذن نصدق أنهم سيفعلون ذلك بأنفسهم؟

ألم نختبر للتو عواقب إلغاء القيود والمراجحة التنظيمية واعتقال المسؤولين والجمعيات المنتخبين من قبل البنوك والجمعيات الصناعية؟ إن زيادة التعاون والتنسيق والتعاون بين الجهات الرقابية والسلطات السيادية ، كما اقترح الفاتيكان ، هي خطوة في الاتجاه الصحيح إذا كان للجمهور أن يكون لديه نظام مالي آمن ومستقر وعادل يستحق ثقتهم ومعاملاتهم.

The Rev. Seamus P. Finn OMI

 

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace, and Integrity of Creation

A Ministry of the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate

United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » Economic Justice


Norway Conducts First Creditor Debt Audit August 20th, 2013

6a00d8341c7ee953ef017d3bfe5cac970cAugust 15 was an historic day for international debt justice. The Norwegian government launched the world’s first audit commissioned by a creditor, which evaluated the debt that developing countries owe to Norway. The report found that four of the 34 contracts were not in line with the UN Principles for Promoting Responsible Sovereign Lending and Borrowing from the UN Conference for Trade and Development (the UNCTAD Principles).

Learn more from Eurodad …

 


Regulators Warned Against Allowing Abusive Payday Lending March 22nd, 2013

numbers_payday_loansThe Oblate JPIC Office joined nearly three hundred national organizations, state and local organizations, and concerned individuals in a letter against payday lending abusers organized by the Center for Responsible Lending.

According to the letter, “Direct deposit “advance” loans offered by a handful of banks, including Wells Fargo, US Bank, Fifth Third, Regions, Bank of Oklahoma and its related banking divisions, and Guaranty Bank, are structured and function just like loans from payday loan stores – carrying a high-cost combined with a short-term balloon repayment. Research has long shown that payday loans trap borrowers in a cycle of expensive long-term debt, causing serious financial harm to borrowers, including increased likelihood of bankruptcy, paying credit card debts and other bills late, delayed medical care, and loss of basic banking privileges because of repeated overdrafts. Payday lending has a particularly adverse impact on African Americans and Latinos, as a disproportionate share of payday borrowers come from communities of color. High cost, short-term balloon repayments, and the consequent series of repeat loans, have long been identified by regulators as features of predatory lending.

Read the letter… (Download PDF)

 


Spiritual Grounding for Economics April 1st, 2012

Father Marcelo Barros, OSB

We would like to share a very interesting article on economics (translated from the Portugese) by Father Marcelo Barros, OSB, Brazilian writer and theologian. The article examines the concept of a spiritual economy and the importance of linking human needs and aspirations with the basic rationale of any economy:

“As in all fields of life and human activity, spirituality must give a soul to the economy. Without the spirit, the economy lets itself dominate the market as an idol. And money transforms itself into a fetish. The market, that in itself is a human institution of interchange and of relations between persons and between groups, has become an absolute and disconnected from the rest. To such a point that we could denounce with Jesus: “the market was made for human beings and not human beings for the market”. In the last decades of the twentieth century, the economy became more than ever centered in money and in capital titles, with authoritarian neoliberalism and predominance (arrogance).”

Learn more (Download PDF of the article)

Fr. Barros was ordained to the priesthood in 1969 by Dom Helder Camara , and for nearly ten years, from 1967 to 1976 , served as secretary and adviser to Dom Helder for ecumenical affairs. He is the author of at least six books, and has been an active member of the Ecumenical Association of Third World Theologians (EATWOT).

 


Act to Stop Usurious Payday Lending! February 23rd, 2012

US Regulators receive letter from over 250 organizations and individuals on usurious loans.
Over 250 organizations and individual advocates – including the Oblates and other faith-based groups – have joined the call to stop banks from extending predatory payday loans. These loans carry triple-digit annual interest rates of as much as 400 percent.

Consumers can join the call for regulators to stop bank payday lending by signing a petition at: http://rspnsb.li/vZb3iH

Learn about the problem of predatory payday lending in this video from Center for Responsible Lending.

Click here to read more »


January 11, 2012 — Human Trafficking Awareness Day January 5th, 2012

Wednesday, January 11, 2012 is Human Trafficking Awareness Day in the U.S., thanks to passage of a resolution by the Senate on June 22, 2007 making January 11th a day of awareness and vigilance for the countless victims of Human Trafficking around the world.

Human Trafficking involves the recruitment, transportation, and forceful detention of people either from one country to another, or within countries. Threats, force and/or deception are typical. Those being exploited are either unpaid, or given a very small payment for their work, prostitution or other sexual exploitation, and are not free to leave these abusive situations. Each year, there are between 600,000 and 800,000 people trafficked across borders throughout the world. There are many more trafficked within countries as well. The United States is not immune to this problem; Many are trafficked within U.S. borders, as well as into the U.S. from outside.

Human Trafficking is rapidly growing, despite the efforts of many to control it. Wherever there is poverty, war, flood, famine, or any kind of upheaval, unscrupulous people prey on the vulnerable. Women and children are especially affected, but many men are as well.

Many of us are unaware of the number of slaves (yes, slaves) we use to maintain our lifestyles. Go to www.slaveryfootprint.org for a series of questions that will show how many slaves it takes to maintain the way you live.

For ideas on what to do, check out the website for Breaking the Snares – A resource for parishes to use in combating Human Trafficking by the Sisters of the Divine Savior; see their parish resource.

In addition, explore the following:

  • Stop Trafficking Newsletter and other resources: http://www.stopenslavement.org/archive.htm#handouts
  • End Child Prostitution and Trafficking: www.ecpat.net (Website also available in French and Spanish)
  • Google The Dark Side of Chocolate to find several sites that show how children in Africa are involved in the chocolate that is so available to us.
If you suspect someone may be a victim of human trafficking call: Trafficking Information and Referral Hotline 1-888-373-7888

 


Vatican Suggestions for Financial Reform Debated November 8th, 2011

Fr. Seamus Finn argues in The Wall Street Journal that global regulatory changes suggested by the Vatican could help the global financial system function more fairly:

“Robert A. Sirico’s “The Vatican’s Monetary Wisdom” (op-ed, Oct. 27) correctly praises the analysis of the causes of the financial crisis that was included in the Vatican’s statement on reforming the financial system. His summary dismissal of the suggested responses in the document clearly states that no sovereign or international regulatory authority is up to the task of regulating the major actors in the financial sector. Are we then to believe that they will do it themselves?

Haven’t we just experienced the consequences of deregulation, regulatory arbitrage and the capture of elected officials and assemblies by banks and industry associations? Greater cooperation, coordination and collaboration among sovereign regulators and authorities, as the Vatican suggested, is a step in the right direction if the public is to have a safe, stable and fair financial system that is worthy of their trust and their transactions.”

The Rev. Seamus P. Finn OMI

 

Return to Top