شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
جديدنا
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

أخبار الأعلاف

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الأخبار »إيمان ثابت الاستثمار


يومين في جنيف مع الأب. Séamus Finn، OMI 2 فبراير، 2017

"التأمل في التناقض الصارخ في وجهات النظر والرسائل والطموح والأحلام وقراءة التاريخ والحالة الراهنة للعلاقات الدولية في مكان مليء بالتاريخ"

تزامنت زيارتي التي استغرقت يومين في جنيف مع أول يومين كاملين من إدارة ترامب في واشنطن. لقد أصبحت هذه التجربة بمثابة تراجع خلصني في وقت من الأوقات من الاتصال بالعديد من الناس والمؤسسات والأفكار التي شكلت النظام العالمي المتعدد الأطراف واستمرّت فيه على خلفية التهديدات بإلغاء وتعطيل الكثير من الاتفاقات والممارسات التي هي المواضيع التي تم دمجها في نسيج التماسك والتعاون الدولي. لا أعتقد أن أي مدينة أخرى ، كما أعتقد ، من حيث عدد الأشخاص والحكومات التي اجتمعت هنا للتفاوض حول السلام ، لتوقيع الاتفاقيات والمعاهدات ولإصلاح مرة أخرى التمزقات والجروح التي غالبًا ما قسمت القبائل والمقاطعات والمناطق.

شاركت في جلسة متعددة أصحاب المصلحة حول تحسين الوصول إلى الأدوية لعلاج الأمراض المهملة في معهد دراسات التنمية الدولية التي جمعت مجموعة دولية متنوعة للغاية من الباحثين وشركات الأدوية والحكومات ووكالات التنمية والمنظمات غير الحكومية والمستثمرين. اجتمعوا لتقييم التقدم الذي تم إحرازه من خلال هذه العملية التعاونية ، لمناقشة المفاهيم والمبادرات الجديدة التي كان يجري النظر فيها واستكشاف السبل التي من خلالها نجاح هذه يمكن تعزيز الجهود من خلال هذه المنصة التعاونية المفتوحة.


وفي المساء ، اجتمعت مع آخرين كثيرين في كنيسة القديس نيكولاس دي فلو لإقامة صلاة بين الأديان للاحتفال باليوم العالمي للسلام الذي رعاه المراقب الدائم عن الكرسي الرسولي لدى الأمم المتحدة في جنيف. هذا الاحتفال بالذكرى السنوية العاشرة لليوم العالمي للسلام الذي بدأه البابا بولس السادس في 50 وركز هذا العام على موضوع "اللاعنف: نمط من السياسة من أجل السلام". قدم ممثلو التقاليد الدينية المختلفة ، والإسلام ، واليهود ، والبوذيين ، والأرثوذكس ، والبروتستانت والكاثوليك ، تفكيرهم في رسالة هذا العام من البابا فرانسيس ، وتم تقديم الصلوات بست لغات مختلفة. وأضاف جوقات من أفريقيا والفلبين فضلا عن موكب الصلاة على غرار الفيتنامية لهذا العرض.

في اليوم الثاني توجهت إلى مقر الأمم المتحدة في جنيف للمشاركة في حدث رعته منظمات دينية وعلمانية وحكومية للاعتراف بمساهمات الرهبان الدومينيكيين من القرن 15th في تأسيس القانون الدولي والمبادئ عملية من شأنها أن تؤدي في النهاية إلى إنشاء عصبة الأمم والأمم المتحدة. بمناسبة اختتام الاحتفال بالذكرى السنوية العاشرة لذكرى الرهبان الدومينيكيين ، انضم إلى الفريق العام للمجموعة ، بالإضافة إلى عدد من مسؤولي الأمم المتحدة وممثلي الحكومة ، إلى عدد كبير من المدعوين في قاعة المجلس التي أصبحت الآن موطنًا مؤتمر نزع السلاح وتحمل اسم فرانسيسكو دي فيتوريا ، OP.

عندما غادرت قاعة المجلس واتجهت نحو الخروج من أرضية الأمم المتحدة ، كنت أسير في الطريق إلى جانب صفوف من أعلام البلد التي كان يجري إزعاجها في بعض الأحيان بنسيم لطيف في هذه الليلة الباردة. ووجدت نفسي أتأمل في المناقشات ونعم الحلول الوسط والقادة الذين ساهموا في تأسيس عصبة الأمم ثم الأمم المتحدة وأصول المؤسسات والمنظمات الدولية العديدة الموجودة اليوم. ما هو حلمهم ورؤيتهم التأسيسية ومهمتهم التوجيهية؟ ما هي المشاكل والمشاكل والتحديات التي كانوا يأملون في حلها أو حلها؟ ما كان مصدر إلهام أو شجاعة أو تفاني العديد من الأفراد من جميع أنحاء العالم الذين ساهموا في هذا العمل العظيم. بينما نتخطى عدد سكان العالم من 7.5 بليون ونصارع برعاية بيتنا المشترك الهش والجميل ، كما ذكرنا البابا فرانسيس ، تساءلت أين وكيف سنجد الحكمة والمهندسين المعماريين لبناء المؤسسات والعلاقات التي ستكون اللازمة للحفاظ على نظامنا معا.

إن تنصيب إدارة ترامب يقدم تحديا عميقا في العديد من النواحي لرؤية نظام عالمي وعالمي متجذر في الاعتقاد بأن روح الثقة والتعاون المتبادلين يمكن أن ترتكز على مبادئ القانون الدولي وتحكمها المؤسسات التي تستند على تلك المبادئ. وإذا أخذنا البلد بطرق معينة من شبكة العلاقات الدولية هذه ونخفف من ثقة المرء والتزامه في المؤسسات القائمة لتعزيز الانسجام السلمي ، فإن حل الخلافات وتوفير مكان للنقاش العام والتعاون يبدو متهورا ويفتقر إلى البصيرة. على الأقل ، هناك اختلاف كبير في اتجاه وتمزيق البروتوكولات التي ظلت قائمة منذ عقود.

في الوقت الذي يحدث فيه اضطراب كبير في سياساتنا في الولايات المتحدة وفي أماكن أخرى ، يُترك لنا أن ننظر مرة أخرى إلى أسسنا وأن نجد الاتجاه والمعنى والحياة في دعوتنا. لقد ذكّرتنا الديانة المنزلية في ليتورجيا الرعية المحلية يوم الأحد الماضي بعناية أنه في التطويبات يمكن أن نجد الميثاق للعيش حياة مسيحية وتجربة النعمة مليئة بحضور الله الحي. قد يكون كذلك!


الأب Seamus Finn تعليقات على معايير الأعمال ويلز فارجو ديسمبر 12th، 2016

frseamusiccrwellsfargo

يواصل أعضاء ICCR الضغط على Wells Fargo على معالجة الأبعاد الأخلاقية لبيان الرؤية والقيم وتعزيز الثقافة التي تعطي الأولوية لخدمة العملاء الحقيقية والسلعة العامة كأولويات.

Sr Nora Nash OSF و Fr Séamus Finn OMI أخلاقيات العمل على ما تريد ويلز فارجو القيام به. http://business-ethics.com/2016/12/10/where-wells-fargo-goes-from-here/


الأب سيموس فين ، OMI يتحدث عن الإيمان والتنمية المستدامة في مؤتمر 2016 للتعدين العالمي أكتوبر 25th، 2016

file-2016-10-20-11-25-48-pm-1

المؤتمر العالمي للتعدين هو حدث دولي يقام كل ثلاث سنوات. يقودها أمانة تابعة للأمم المتحدة. حدث هذا العام في ريو دي جانيرو ، البرازيل من أكتوبر 18 - 21. يهدف هذا الحدث إلى تشجيع ودعم التعاون من الناحيتين التقنية والعلمية في التنمية الوطنية والدولية للمناطق والموارد المعدنية. تنفيذ شبكة معلومات عالمية تتعلق بعلوم المعادن والتكنولوجيا والاقتصاد والصحة والسلامة المهنية وحماية البيئة.

الأب تحدث سيموس فين ، OMI ، على لوحة Kellogg Innovation Network (KIN) ، لماذا الشراكة من أجل التنمية هي مستقبل التعدين.

واستكشف الفريق الأبعاد الاجتماعية والاقتصادية والبيئية التي تعتبر حيوية للغاية لصناعة التعدين النابضة بالحياة ومستقبل يوفر التوزيع العادل للمنافع لجميع أصحاب المصلحة.

الأب سيموس فين ، OMI: تعليقات في مؤتمر التعدين العالمي ريو ، أكتوبر 20th 2016

بدأت مشاركة الكنيسة مع قطاع التعدين وبالتحديد مع مبادرة شركاء التنمية وتحفزها ثلاثة عوامل مختلفة.

  1. لقد باركنا البابا الكاريزمي والممزق المسؤول عن إعداد المنشور لاوداتو سي حيث تقدم لنا رؤية ملهمة للترابط والترابط القائم بين جميع الكائنات الحية ومنزلنا المشترك ، كوكب الأرض الذي يعتمد على تعليم أسلافه والتعليم الاجتماعي الكاثوليكي (CST). كما ندعو إلى قيام البابا فرانسيس بمهمة من أجل الطرق التي فشلنا في أن نعتني بها ، ونزرع ونقدر موهبة العالم الطبيعي ، وبدلاً من ذلك أساءنا معالجة هذا الكوكب وفشلنا نتيجة لمسؤوليتنا بين الأجيال تجاه أطفالنا. .
  2. توجد مصليات وكنائس ومنازل للعبادة منتشرة في جميع أنحاء العالم وخاصة في المناطق النائية حيث توجد العديد من المناجم وغيرها من الموارد الطبيعية المرغوبة مثل النفط والغاز والأخشاب. لقد كان قادة الإيمان على مستويات مختلفة منذ سنوات يسمع من العديد من الناس الذين يعيشون في هذه المناطق والعديد من القصص التي يرويها عن تجاربهم في التعدين ليست إيجابية للغاية. لقد فقدت الكثير من المساهمات التي قدمتها الصناعة للتقدم والتنمية.
  3. تمتلك الكنائس الأصول وتدعمها لدعم مبادراتها المختلفة ، وهي مساهمين في العديد من الشركات النشطة في قطاع التعدين. إنهم يريدون أن يقوموا بهذه الاستثمارات في الصناعات والشركات التي تكون مسؤولة ويسهمون مساهمة بناءة في المجتمعات والمجتمعات التي يعملون فيها. كما أنهم يريدون تجنب الاستثمار في الشركات التي لديها سجل سيئ فيما يتعلق بحماية البيئة ، في احترام حقوق الإنسان وتعزيزها وفي الوفاء بترخيصها الاجتماعي للعمل.

هناك ثلاثة مواضيع أساسية لرسالة الكنيسة ومعظم التقاليد الدينية التي تتقاطع فيها مهمة التقاليد الدينية وتقاطع صناعة التعدين مع التنمية المستدامة ، ورعاية بيتنا المشترك وحماية حقوق الإنسان.

  1. لقد كان تعزيز التنمية على جدول أعمال الكنيسة لقرون ، وقد أبرزته بشكل خاص المؤسسات العالمية مثل الأمم المتحدة منذ البداية. في العقود الأخيرة ، تمت إضافة صفة "مستدامة" التي نوقشت كثيرًا إلى المحادثة حيث تم انتقاد وتقييم إنجازات مشاريع وبرامج التنمية المختلفة وفشلها. تدخل البابا بولس السادس في 1967 للتدخل المهم في النقاش حول التنمية Populorum Progressio عندما دعا إلى تعزيز "التنمية البشرية المتكاملة" وسعى إلى إدراج أكثر بكثير من مجرد قياس أو ببساطة قياس التنمية وفق شروط اقتصادية بحتة. غالبًا ما كانت صناعة التعدين جزءًا من العديد من مبادرات التنمية من خلال مساهماتها في المجتمعات المحلية خاصة في المناطق المحيطة بمواقع تشغيلها وفي المجتمعات المتأثرة بعمليات سلسلة التوريد الخاصة بها.
  1. في المنشور له Laudato Síوقد دعا البابا فرانسيس كلنا إلى رعاية وطننا المشترك ، وهو أن الأرض الأم التي أشار إليها قد تضررت بشدة بسبب الكثير من النشاط البشري خاصة في العصر الصناعي. ويسارع إلى الإشارة إلى أنه لا يوجد حل سريع للأزمة البيئية التي نواجهها ، لكن كل منا من الأفراد والمجتمعات والمؤسسات والمنظمات والقطاعين العام والخاص يتحملون مسؤولية ودور يلعبونه في عكس هذه الاتجاهات. .
  1. تشكل حماية حقوق الإنسان والكرامة الإنسانية وتعزيزها محور مهمة الكنيسة المنصوص عليها في القانون الدولي. يتم ترميزها أكثر فأكثر في التشريع ويتم تبنيها طواعية من قبل مختلف الجهات الفاعلة في مجتمع الأعمال وخاصة من قبل أصحاب المصلحة والمساهمين في الشركات المتداولة علناً. تستخدم المؤسسات الإيمانية والمؤسسات المسؤولة اجتماعيًا والمستثمرون الأفراد الذين يعملون بجد لمواءمة طرق إدارة هذه الأصول مع تقاليدهم الدينية ومع قيمهم هذه العدسة نفسها لاختيار الشركات والقطاعات الصناعية التي يرغبون في الاستثمار فيها .

في أيام التأمل التي انعقدت في الفاتيكان وقصر لامبيث ، في أيام الحوار الشجاع التي انعقدت في كيب تاون وفي الاجتماعات الأخرى التي جمعت بين الإيمان وقادة الصناعة والمجتمع المدني وممثلي المجتمعات المحلية ، لدينا نموذج يمكن أن يساعد في معالجة بعض التحديات التي تواجهها المجتمعات المحلية والصناعة وأولئك الذين يريدون دعم التنمية المستدامة. يجب أن يكون الالتزام بالرعاية وحماية وطننا المشترك أولويتنا الأولى. لا يمكننا أن نرتاح حتى نجد السبل والتكنولوجيا اللازمة للقيام بذلك ، وفي نفس الوقت استخدام الموارد المتعددة والغنية الموجودة أمامنا لدعم السكن البشري على هذا الكوكب.


Laudato سي 'في الممارسة - الاب. Séamus Finn ، OMI ، على راديو الفاتيكان 18 مايو، 2016

FrSeamusبعد ما يقرب من عام من إطلاق سراح البابا فرانسيس 'Laudato Si' الدوري ، تحدث ديفين واتكينز من إذاعة الفاتيكان إلى الأب. Séآموس الفنلندي عن كيفية تطبيق تحديات البابا على الاقتصاد العالمي.

كرئيس لمركز التبادل بين الأديان حول مسؤولية الشركة ورئيس الاستثمار في الإيمان المتناسق يساعد شيموس الشركات والمؤسسات الدينية في الاستثمار والعمل بطريقة إيمانية واعية. وقال إن هناك عدة مشاريع تهدف إلى وضع تعاليم البابا فرانسيس موضع التطبيق.

استمع للمقابلة واقرأ المقال هنا.


الأب سيموس فين ، OMI ، اعتدال الخدمة المصرفية المستدامة في مدرسة اللاهوت المفلت 7 أبريل، 2016

OSTRoundtable.JJPG

من اليسار إلى اليمين: جوش الداخليةالرئيس التنفيذي ICCR ، آنا فالكنبرج، ED SRIC ، Rev Seamus P. Finn OMI OIP Trust ، فنسنت صقلية، الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة New Resource Bank ، لوري شبنغلرالرئيس والمدير التنفيذي دارين إل. ويليامز، الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة Southern Bancorp ، جان بيرس، استبعاد


في أبريل 6 الثقة OIP
www.oiptrust.org joined مع مركز الأديان حول مسؤولية الشركة www.ICCR.org , ال تحالف الاستثمار المسؤول اجتماعيا في سان انطونيو www.SRIC-south.org و التحالف العالمي للمصارف حول القيم www.gabv.org لرعاية مائدة مستديرة حول الخدمات المصرفية المستدامة. أدار هذا الحدث من قبل القس سيموس فين ، OMI ، وعقد في مركز وايتلي اللاهوتي في كلية Oblate للاهوت في سان أنطونيو ، تكساس.

جمعت المائدة المستديرة بين المصرفيين المحليين والمستثمرين المتدينين والأكاديميين ومديري الأصول. وساعد أعضاء اللجنة على تحديد وتوضيح نماذج من الخدمات المصرفية المستدامة التي تتوافق مع أنواع البنوك التي يستمر البابا فرانسيس في الدعوة إليها ، حيث يدعو المجتمع العالمي إلى إنشاء نظام الرأسمالية 2.0 الذي يقدم الخدمات اللازمة للجميع وخاصة الفقراء والمهمشين. ويضع أولوية أعلى بكثير على "رعاية منزلنا المشترك".


مضمن ظهرت على قناة أخبار الأعمال الدولية 11 يناير، 2016

شيموس بى فينالأب Seamus Finn، OMI يناقش مقترحًا يدعو إلى مستوى أكبر من الشفافية ومشاركة حاملي الأسهم مع Viacom ...

قراءة المقال كاملا.

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace, and Integrity of Creation

A Ministry of the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate

United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » faith consistent investing


Two Days in Geneva with Fr. Séamus Finn, OMI February 2nd, 2017

“Pondering the stark contrast in perspectives, messaging, ambition, dreams, reading of history and the current state of the international relations in a place that is filled with history”

My two day visit to Geneva paralleled the two first full days of the Trump administration in Washington. The experience became like a retreat that at once brought me into contact with so many of the people, institutions and ideas that have formed and sustained the international multilateral system against the background of threats to repeal and disrupt many of the agreements and practices that are the threads that have been knit together into the tapestry of international cohesion and cooperation. It is like no other city, I think, in terms of the numbers of people and governments that have gathered here to negotiate peace, to sign agreements and treaties and to repair again the ruptures and wounds that have often divided tribes and counties and regions.

I participated in a multi stakeholder session on improving access to medicines for the treatment of neglected diseases at the Institute of International Development Studies that brought together a very diverse international set of researchers, pharmaceutical companies, governments, development agencies, NGOs and investors. They came together to evaluate the progress that has been made through this collaborative process, to discuss new concepts and initiatives that were being considered and to explore avenues whereby the success of these efforts might be enhanced through this open collaborative platform.


In the evening I gathered with many others at the church of St. Nicolas de Flüe for an interfaith prayer service to mark the World Day of Peace that was sponsored by the Permanent Observer of the Holy See to the United Nations in Geneva. This marked the 50th anniversary of the World Day of Peace that was initiated by Pope Paul VI in 1967 and focused this year on the theme of “Non Violence: A style of politics for peace”. One by one the representatives of different faith traditions, Islam, Jewish, Buddhist, Orthodox, Protestant and Catholic, offered their reflection on this year’s message from Pope Francis and prayers were offered in six different languages. Choirs from Africa and the Philippines as well as a Vietnamese style prayer procession added to the offering.

On the second day I made my way to the UN headquarters in Geneva to participate in an event that was sponsored by religious, secular and government organizations to recognize the contributions of a 15th century Dominican friar to the foundation of International Law and to the principles and process that would eventually lead to the establishment of the League of Nations and the United Nations. On the occasion of the conclusion of the celebration of the 800th anniversary of the Dominican friars, the Master general of the congregation as well as a number of UN officials and government representatives joined a large number of invitees in the Council Chamber that is now home to the conference on Disarmament and bear the name of Francisco de Vitoria, OP.

As I left the Council Chamber and headed toward the exit of the UN grounds I walked down the avenue and alongside the rows of country flags that were being occasionally disturbed by a gentle breeze on this chilly night. I found myself pondering both the discussions and yes compromises and the leaders that had contributed to the establishment of the League of Nations and then United Nations and the origins of the numerous international institutions and organizations that exist today. What was their dream, their founding vision and their guiding mission? What issues, problems and challenges were they hoping to address or solve? What inspiration, courage or dedication informed the numerous individuals from all over the world who contributed to this great work. As we surpass a world population of 7.5 billion and wrestle with the care of our fragile and beautiful common home, as Pope Francis reminded us, I wondered where and how we will find the wisdom and the architects to build the institutions and relationships that will be needed to hold our system together.

The inauguration of the Trump administration is offering in many ways a profound challenge to the vision of an international and global system that was rooted in the belief that a spirit of mutual trust and collaboration could be grounded in the principles of international law and governed by institutions that were based on those principles. Taking the country in some ways out of that web of international relationships and reducing one’s trust and commitment in the institutions that exist to promote harmony peacefully, resolve differences and provide a venue for public debate and cooperation appears reckless and lacking in foresight. At a minimum it is a significant divergence in direction and disruptive of the protocols that have been in place for decades.

At a time of significant disruption in our politics in the US and elsewhere we are left to look again to our foundations and to find direction and meaning and life in our vocation. The homilist at the local parish liturgy last Sunday carefully reminded us that in the Beatitudes we can find the Charter for living a Christian life and experience the grace filled presence of the Living God. May it be so!


Fr. Seamus Finn Comments on Wells Fargo’s Business Standards December 12th, 2016

frseamusiccrwellsfargo

ICCR members continue to press Wells Fargo on addressing ethical dimensions of their vision and values statement and strengthening a culture that prioritizes true customer service and the common good as priorities.

Sr Nora Nash OSF and Fr Séamus Finn OMI speak to Business Ethics on what Wells Fargo needs to dohttp://business-ethics.com/2016/12/10/where-wells-fargo-goes-from-here/

 


Fr. Seamus Finn, OMI Speaks on Faith & Sustainable Development at 2016 World Mining Congress October 25th, 2016

file-2016-10-20-11-25-48-pm-1

The World Mining Congress is an international event that takes place every three years. It is led by a secretariat and affiliated with the United Nations. This year’s event took place in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil from October 18 – 21. The event aims to promote and support, both technically and scientifically, the cooperation for the national and international development of mineral areas and resources; implement a global information network concerning mineral science, technology, economy, occupational health and safety and environmental protection.

Fr. Seamus Finn, OMI, spoke on the Kellogg Innovation Network (KIN) panel, Why Partnering For Development is the Future of Mining.

The panel explored the social, economic and environmental dimensions that are so vital for a vibrant mining industry and a future that provides for an equitable distribution of benefits to all stakeholders.

Fr. Seamus Finn, OMI: Comments at World Mining Congress Rio, October 20th 2016

The church’s engagement with the mining sector and specifically with the Development Partner Initiative was initiated and motivated by three different factors.

  1. We have been blessed with a charismatic and disruptive pope who is responsible for the preparation of the encyclical Laudato Sí where we are presented with an inspiring vision of the interdependence and inter-relatedness that exists between all living beings and our common home, planet earth that builds on the teaching of his predecessors and of Catholic Social Teaching (CST). We are also called to task by Pope Francis for the ways in which we have failed to care for, cultivate and appreciate the gift of the natural world and instead mistreated the planet and failed as a consequence in our inter-generational responsibility to our children’s children.
  2. There are chapels and churches and houses of worship scattered across the world and especially in the remote regions where many of the mines and other desirable natural resources like oil, gas and timber are located. Faith leaders at different levels have for years been hearing from many of the people that live in these regions and many of the stories that they tell about their experiences of mining are not very positive. Many of the contributions that the industry has made to progress and development have been lost.
  3. The churches own and manage assets to support their various initiatives and they are shareholders in many companies that are active in the mining sector. They want to make those investments in industries and companies that are responsible and make a constructive contribution to the communities and societies where they operate. They also want to avoid investing in corporations that have a poor record on protecting the environment, in respecting and promoting human rights and in fulfilling their social license to operate. 

Three themes that are central to the mission of the church and of most faith traditions where the mission of the faith traditions and the mining industry intersect are promoting sustainable development, caring for our common home and protecting human rights.

  1. Promoting development has been on the agenda of the church for centuries and has been specifically highlighted by global institutions like the United Nations from the beginning. In recent decades the much debated adjective “sustainable” has been added to the conversation as the accomplishments and the failures of various development projects and programs have been critiqued and evaluated. A significant intervention into the development debate was made by Pope Paul VI in 1967 the encyclical Populorum Progressio when he called for the promotion of “integral human development” and sought to include much more than having more or simply measuring development in purely economic terms. The mining industry has often been a part of many development initiatives through their contributions to local communities especially in regions surrounding their operating sites and in communities that are impacted by the operations of their supply chain.
  1. In his encyclical Laudato Sí, Pope Francis has called all of us to care for our common home, Mother Earth that he points out has been critically damaged by much of human activity especially in the industrial age. He is quick to point out that there is no quick solution to the ecological crisis that we face but that each of us individuals and communities, institutions and organizations, the public and the private sector have a responsibility and a role to play in reversing these trends.
  1. The protection and promotion of human rights and human dignity are at the center of the church’s mission and enshrined in international law. They are more and more being encoded in legislation and being voluntarily embraced by different actors in the business community and particularly by stakeholders and shareholders in publicly traded corporations. Faith institutions and socially responsible institutions and individual investors that are working diligently to align the ways in which they manage these assets with their faith traditions and with their values are using this same lens to choose the companies and the industry sectors that they want to invest in.

In the Days of Reflection that were convened at the Vatican and at Lambeth palace, in the Days of Courageous conversation that were convened in Cape town and in the other convenings that have brought together faith and industry leaders, civil society and representatives of local communities, we have a model that can help to address some of the challenges that are faced by local communities, industry and those who want to support sustainable development. The commitment to care for and cultivate and protect our common home must be our number one priority. We cannot rest until we have found the avenues and the technology to do this and at the same time use the multiple and rich resources that are before us to support human habitation on the planet.


Laudato Si’ in Practice – Fr. Séamus Finn, OMI, on Vatican Radio May 18th, 2016

FrSeamusNearly a year after the release of Pope Francis’ encyclical Laudato Si’, Devin Watkins of Vatican Radio spoke to Fr. Séamus Finn about how the Holy Father’s challenges to the global economy have been put into practice.

As Chair of the Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility and Chief of Faith Consistent Investment at the Missionary Oblates, Fr. Seamus assists corporations and religious institutions in investing and operating in a faith-conscious manner. He said there are several projects, which aim at putting Pope Francis’ teachings into practice.

Listen to the interview and read the article here.

 

 

 


Fr. Seamus Finn, OMI, Moderates Sustainable Banking Rountable at Oblate School of Theology April 7th, 2016

OSTRoundtable.JJPG

From L to R: Josh Inner, CEO ICCR, Anna Falkenberg, ED SRIC, Rev Seamus P. Finn OMI OIP Trust, Vincent Siciliano, CEO New Resource Bank, Laurie Spengler, President & CEO Enclude, Darrin L. Williams, CEO Southern Bancorp, Jan Pierce, Enclude


On April 6 the OIP Trust
www.oiptrust.org joined with the Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility www.ICCR.org , the Socially Responsible Investing Coalition of San Antonio www.SRIC-south.org and the Global Alliance for Banking on Values www.gabv.org to sponsor a roundtable on Sustainable Banking. The event was moderated by Rev. Seamus Finn, OMI, and took place at the Whitley Theological Center at Oblate School of Theology in San Antonio, TX.

The roundtable brought together local bankers, faith consistent investors, academics and asset managers. The panelists helped to identify and demonstrate models of sustainable banking that are consistent with the kinds of banks that Pope Francis continues to call for as he calls the global community to the creation of a Capitalism 2.0 that offers needed services to all especially the poor and marginalized and places a much higher priority on “care for our common home”.


Oblate featured on International Business News Channel January 11th, 2016

Seamus P. FinnFr. Seamus Finn, OMI discusses a proposal that calls for a greater level of transparency and shareholder participation with Viacom…

Read the full article.

 

 

 

 

 

Return to Top