شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر  الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
الأخبار
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

أخبار الأعلاف

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث مقاطع الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الأخبار »الإيمان استثمار مسؤول


أخبر الكونجرس: نهاية أكبر من أن تفشل. جعل المصرفية آمنة 17 مايو، 2012

تتحكم البنوك الخمسة الكبرى الآن في نسبة 52 من أصول الصناعة المالية. كان لديهم 17 بالمائة في 1970. تسيطر البنوك الستة الكبرى على أصول تساوي نسبة 62 في المائة من إجمالي الناتج القومي للبلاد. قد لا يكونون أكبر من أن يفشلوا ، بل قد يكونون أكبر من أن يدخروا.

أكبرهم ، Dimmon JPMorgan Chase ، لديه أصول 2.1 تريليون دولار وأكثر من 239,000. إن رهان البنك الأخير السيئ الذي يصل الآن إلى 3 تريليون دولار ، هو مؤشر واضح على الحاجة إلى الإصلاح الجاد.

قدم السناتور شيرود براون والنائب كيث إليسون تدبيرًا لخفض حجم البنوك الكبيرة جدًا إلى الفشل. القانون المصرفي الآمن (الآمن ، المسؤول ، العادل والكفء) من شأنه أن يضع عنصرًا مهمًا مفقودًا في تشريع الإصلاح المالي الذي كان سائداً منذ عامين: وهو الحد الأقصى الذي يمكن أن تحصل عليه البنوك الكبرى. هزم اللوبي البنك جميع الجهود لتشمل حدودا على حجمها.

والآن أصبحت البنوك الستة الكبرى - بقيادة بنك جيه بي مورجان تشيس - أكبر بشكل جماعي وأكثر تركيزًا مما كانت عليه قبل أن تنفجر الاقتصاد ، مع الأصول التي يسيطرون عليها من 6.1 تريليون دولار قبل الانهيار إلى أكثر من $ 8.5 تريليون اليوم ، بيانات الاحتياطي الفيدرالي.

لقد نجحت جماعات الضغط في وول ستريت في تأخير وتخفيف الضوابط التي كان من المفترض أن تتدفق من مشروع قانون إصلاح وول ستريت. والبنوك الكبيرة لديها طرق للضغط على أي حواجز.

نحن بحاجة إلى آمن من الفشل. إذا كان البنك لا يمكن أن يكون كبيرًا جدًا ، فلن يكون أكبر من أن يفشل.

من بين أحكام قانون الخدمات المصرفية الآمنة أنه لا يمكن لأي بنك أن يحتفظ بأكثر من 10 في المائة من جميع الودائع المصرفية المؤمنة في الدولة ، ولا يمكن أن يكون لدى الشركة القابضة للبنوك التزامات غير متعلقة بالودائع تزيد عن 2 في المائة من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي للدولة .

وفقاً للمعايير الواردة في قانون الخدمات المصرفية الآمنة ، فإن أربعة بنوك موجودة حالياً فوق الحد الأقصى للحجم - JPMorgan Chase ، و Bank of America ، و Citigroup و Wells Fargo - ويجب أن تتقلص. سيكون هذا خطوة رئيسية في جعل الأعمال المصرفية رصينة ومملة ، كما ينبغي أن تكون ، مرة أخرى.

انقر هنا لتخبر الكونجرس: افصل البنوك الكبرى! تمرير السناتور شيرود براون و قانون الخدمات المصرفية الآمنة لكيث إليسون. 

بفضل الحملة من أجل مستقبل أمريكا للحصول على معلومات حول هذا القانون. 


أسئلة مملوءة جي بي مورجان / تشيس المدير التنفيذي خايمي ديمون 16 مايو، 2012

الاب. أدلى Seamus Finn ، OMI الذي يمثل Oblates of Mary Immaculate في JP Morgan / Chase AGM أمس في نابولي ، فلوريدا ، بتعليقات واضحة حول الخسائر الفادحة الأخيرة في الشركة. شكك في معارضة ديمون لـ فولكر القاعدة وممارسة ضغوط البنك في معارضة الجوانب الأخرى للوائح المالية التي يتم تطويرها في لجنة الأوراق المالية والبورصات ردًا على تشريع دود فرانك.

ونقلت عنه مورين دود اليوم في عمودها في نيويورك تايمز:

قام القس سيموس فين ، ممثلاً بالمساهمين من المنظمة التبشيرية الكاثوليكية "مبشر مريم العذراء" ، بالضغط بلطف على الرئيس: "نحن نتساءل ، السيد ديمون ، بالنظر إلى ما تعلمناه ، هل ما زلت تعتقد أن الشركة قادرة على وأضاف: "علاوة على ذلك ، ينبغي على الشركة أن تنفق بالفعل أموال المساهمين على نحو 10 مليون دولار أمريكي في العام الماضي وحده ، على الجهود المبذولة لإحباط قانون دود-فرانك وعمل المنظمين لكتابة القواعد النابعة من هذا التشريع؟
 
وخلص الكاهن إلى أن حملة الأسهم "مرهقين بالأخطاء" والتعهدات بالإصلاح ، يتساءلون عما إذا كان ديمون يستمع.

الأب كما تم اقتباس الفنلندي في الحارس، وفي CNBC.com, تلغراف, كرين نيويورك بيزنس، و ال timesfreepress.com


مركز الأديان من أجل مسؤولية الشركات: الاحتفاء بتراث وإعادة تجديد الوعد! أكتوبر 12th، 2011

تبحث أحدث مدونة لشيموس فين على هافينغتون بوست في إرث 40 عامًا لمركز التواصل بين الأديان حول مسؤولية الشركات (ICCR):

في عام 1971 قررت مجموعة صغيرة من المؤمنين إنشاء مركز عبر الأديان لمسؤولية الشركات لتسهيل وتنسيق جهودهم لإشراك وتحدي الشركات الأمريكية التي لها وجود في جنوب إفريقيا. كان نظام الفصل العنصري في الحكومة راسخًا بالفعل وكانوا يبحثون عن الأدوات والفرص التي يمكن أن تنضم إلى جوقة المدافعين الذين كانوا يعملون على تفكيك نظام الفصل العنصري. كان هدفهم بسيطًا جدًا. اطلب ودافع عن انسحاب الشركات الأمريكية من جنوب إفريقيا وبالتالي حرمان الحكومة من أي من المنتجات أو الإيرادات الضريبية التي مكّنت نظام حكومتها من الاستمرار ".

اقرأ المدونة ...


Oblates الاحتفال بالذكرى الأربعين لـ ICCR! 29 سبتمبر، 2011

المجموعة التي تمثل Oblates في حدث الذكرى 40 لـ ICCR الذي عقد في نيويورك في 22 سبتمبر 2011 من اليسار إلى اليمين هم: آن فان دايك ؛ أندرو سمول ، OMI ؛ جورج نجولوي شيموس فين ، OMI ؛ كريستينا هيرمان ماري أوهيرون دانيال ليبلانك ، OMI.

 

يحتفل مركز الأديان المعني بمسؤولية الشركات بالذكرى السنوية 40th لهذا العام. وانضم موظفو Oblate JPIC ، الذين يشاركون بعمق في أعمال الدعوة التي يقوم بها حملة الأسهم على أساس ديني ، إلى الاحتفال الذي أعقب أسبوعًا من وضع الاستراتيجيات حول قضايا متنوعة مثل الاتجار بالبشر ، والهجرة ، والتعدين ، والتمويل المسؤول ، والمياه ، والحصول على الأدوية.


مشروع قانون الحزبين حول حقوق الإنسان المخاطر في سلاسل التوريد أغسطس 16th، 2011

في أغسطس 1 ، 2011 ، قدمت عضو الكونغرس كارولين مالوني (D-NY) قانون الشفافية التجارية بشأن الاتجار والرق (قانون 2759). إذا تم سن القانون ، فإن مشروع القانون يتطلب من الشركات الكشف عن الجهود لتحديد ومعالجة مخاطر الاتجار بالبشر ، والعمل القسري ، والرق ، وأسوأ أشكال عمل الأطفال في سلاسل التوريد الخاصة بهم. ويشرف على مشروع القانون النائب كريستوفر سميث (ر - نيوجيرسي) ، ورئيس اللجنة الفرعية لمجلس النواب الأمريكي لأفريقيا والصحة العالمية.

ستطلب شركة HR 2759 من الشركات إدراج هذه الإفصاحات في تقاريرها السنوية إلى لجنة الأوراق المالية والبورصة (SEC). يشمل الإفصاح سياسات لتحديد وإزالة مخاطر العمل القسري ، والعبودية ، والاتجار بالبشر ، وأسوأ أشكال عمل الأطفال ضمن سلاسل التوريد الخاصة بهم. كما يتطلب من الموردين التصديق على أن المواد المدمجة في المنتجات تتوافق مع القوانين المتعلقة بالقضايا المذكورة أعلاه في البلد أو البلدان التي يزاولون فيها أعمالهم.

ستكون الإفصاحات متاحة على موقع SEC والشركة. وقد أحيل مشروع القانون إلى لجنة مجلس النواب للخدمات المالية لمزيد من الدراسة التشريعية. ترقبوا موقع JPIC الإلكتروني للحصول على تحديثات بشأن هذا التشريع المهم.

 


ICCR تحتفل بالذكرى السنوية 40th! 6 يونيو، 2011

كان مركز الحوار بين الأديان بشأن مسؤولية الشركات (ICCR) ، التي ينتمي إليها الأعضاء الناشطون ، يعمل على إشراك الشركات في القضايا المتعلقة بالصالح العام منذ أربعين عامًا.

اقرأ عن ICCR وبعض مبادرات الأعضاء الناجحة الحديثة.

 

 

 

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace & Integrity of Creation

Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate  United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » faith responsible investing


Tell Congress: End Too-Big-To-Fail. Make Banking SAFE May 17th, 2012

The top five banks now control 52 percent of the financial industry’s assets; they had 17 percent in 1970. The six largest banks control assets equal to 62 percent of the nation’s gross national product. They may be not only too big to fail, but also too big to save.

The biggest of them, Dimon’s JPMorgan Chase, has $2.1 trillion in assets and more than 239,000 employees. The bank’s recent bad bet that now amounts to $3 trillion, is a clear indication of the need for serious reform.

Sen. Sherrod Brown and Rep. Keith Ellison have introduced a measure to cut too-big-to-fail banks down to size. The SAFE (Safe, Accountable, Fair and Efficient) Banking Act would put in place an important element missing from the financial reform legislation of two years ago: a cap on how big banks can get. The bank lobby defeated all efforts to include a limit on their size.

Now the six largest banks – led by JPMorgan Chase – are collectively larger and more concentrated than they were before they blew up the economy, with the assets they control growing from $6.1 trillion before the collapse to more than $8.5 trillion today, according to Federal Reserve data.

Wall Street lobbyists have successfully delayed and diluted regulations that were supposed to flow from the Wall Street reform bill. And the big banks have ways to push their way around any barriers.

We need a fail-safe. If a bank can’t be too big, then it can’t be too big to fail.

Among the provisions of the Safe Banking Act are that no bank could hold more than 10 percent of all of the insured bank deposits in the country, nor could a bank holding company have non-deposit liabilities greater than 2 percent of the nation’s gross domestic product.

By the standards in the SAFE Banking Act, four existing banks are currently above the size cap—JPMorgan Chase, Bank of America, Citigroup and Wells Fargo—and would have to shrink. This would be a major step in making banking sober—and boring, as it should be—once again.

Click here to tell Congress: Break up the big banks! Pass Sen. Sherrod Brown and Rep. Keith Ellison’s SAFE Banking Act. 

Thanks to the Campaign for America’s Future for the information on this bill. 


Oblate Questions JP Morgan/Chase CEO Jaime Dimon May 16th, 2012

Fr. Seamus Finn, OMI representing the Oblates of Mary Immaculate at the JP Morgan/Chase AGM yesterday in Naples, Florida, made pointed comments about the latest heavy losses at the company. He questioned Dimon’s opposition to the Volcker Rule and the bank’s lobbying in opposition to other aspects of the financial regulations being developed at the SEC in response to the Dodd-Frank legislation.

He was quoted today by Maureen Dowd in her NY Times column:

The Rev. Seamus Finn, representing shareholders from the Catholic organization Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate, did gently press the boss: “We’re wondering, Mr. Dimon, given what we’ve learned, do you still believe a company can self-regulate when trading on their own accounts?” He added: “Furthermore, should our company really be spending shareholder funds on, some $7 million last year alone, on lobbying efforts to thwart the Dodd-Frank legislation and the work of regulators to write the rules stemming from that legislation?”
 
The priest concluded that the shareholders, “weary of mistakes” and pledges to reform, wonder if Dimon is listening.

Fr. Finn was also quoted in The Guardian, on CNBC.com, The Telegraph, Crain’s New York Business, and the timesfreepress.com


Interfaith Center For Corporate Responsibility: Celebrating A Legacy And Renewing A Promise! October 12th, 2011

Seamus Finn’s latest blog on Huffington Post looks at the 40 year legacy of the Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility (ICCR):

“In 1971 a small group of believers decided to establish the Interfaith Center for Corporate Responsibility to facilitate and coordinate their efforts to engage and challenge US corporations who had a presence in South Africa. The apartheid system of government was already well entrenched and they were searching for tools and opportunities that could join the chorus of advocates that were working to dismantle the apartheid system. Their objective was very simple; ask and advocate that US companies withdraw from South Africa and therefore deprive the government of any of the products or tax revenues that enabled their system of government to continue.”

Read the blog…


Oblates Celebrate ICCR’s 40th Anniversary! September 29th, 2011

The group representing the Oblates at the ICCR 40th Anniversary event held in New York on September 22, 2011 from left to right are: Anne Van Dyke; Andrew Small, OMI; George Ngolwe; Seamus Finn, OMI; Christina Herman; Mary O'Herron; Daniel LeBlanc, OMI.

 

The Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility celebrates its 40th Anniversary this year. The Oblate JPIC staff, which is deeply engaged in the work of faith-based shareholder advocacy, joined in the celebration which followed a week of strategizing on issues as diverse as human trafficking, immigration, mining, responsible finance, water and access to medicines.


Bipartisan Bill on Human Rights Risks in Supply Chains August 16th, 2011

On August 1, 2011, Congresswoman Carolyn Maloney (D-NY) introduced the Business Transparency on Trafficking and Slavery Act (H.R. 2759). If enacted into law, the bill would require companies to disclose efforts to identify and address the risks of human trafficking, forced labor, slavery, and the worst forms of child labor in their supply chains. The bill is co-sponsored by Rep. Christopher Smith (R-NJ), the Chairman of the US House Subcommittee on Africa and Global Health.

H.R. 2759 would require companies to include such disclosures in their annual reports to the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). Disclosure would include policies to identify and eliminate risks of forced labor, slavery, human trafficking, and the worst forms of child labor within their supply chains. It would also require suppliers to certify that materials incorporated into the products comply with laws regarding the above issues in the country or countries in which they are doing business.

The disclosures would be available on the SEC and company websites. The bill has been referred to the House Committee on Financial Services for further legislative consideration. Stay tuned to the JPIC website for updates on this important legislation.

 


ICCR Celebrates 40th Anniversary! June 6th, 2011

The Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility (ICCR), of which the Oblates are active members, has been engaging corporations on issues related to the common good for forty years.

Read about ICCR and some recent successful member initiatives.

 

 

 

Return to Top