OMI-Logo
News
Übersetze diese Seite:

Aktuelle News

Neuigkeiten

Nachrichten Archiv


Neueste Video & Audio

Mehr Video & Audio>

Nachrichtenarchiv »Vater Seamus Finn Omi


Fr. Séamus Finn, OMI, nimmt am dritten Tag der Reflexion über „Bergbau für das Gemeinwohl“ teil May 8th, 2019

Pater Séamus nahm an einem Reflexionstag zum Thema „Bergbau für das Gemeinwohl“ in Rom teil, an dem Papst Franziskus am Freitag, dem 3. Mai, vor den Teilnehmern sprach. Dies ist das 3. Mal, dass das Dicastery for Integral Human Development einen Tag lang über die Rolle des Bergbaus im Vatikan nachgedacht hat. Zwei Veranstaltungen zu einem ähnlichen Thema wurden vom Erzbischof von Canterbury im Lambeth Palace in 2014 und 2016 einberufen.

Alle diese Ereignisse haben sich im Laufe der Geschichte mit der Rolle des Bergbaus auseinandergesetzt und gleichzeitig seine zahlreichen Beiträge zur menschlichen Leistung und seine zerstörerischen und sehr negativen Folgen für bestimmte Regionen des Planeten sowie für die Völker und Gemeinschaften, die einige von ihnen berufen haben, gewürdigt Diese Gebiete sind seit Jahrhunderten zu Hause.

Papst Franziskus hob eine Reihe von Themen und Themen hervor, die der Bergbau für Glaubensüberlieferungen, Regierungen, den Planeten, indigene Völker und die Zivilgesellschaft aufwirft. Er schlug auch einige der Wege und Fragen vor, die wir bei unserer Suche nach Antworten berücksichtigen müssen. Dies ist beides auf der Makroebene der Reform des Wirtschaftssystems, in dem Rohstoffunternehmen tätig sind, und der Einschränkung der verbraucherorientierten Lebensweise, die zu viele von uns verfolgen.

In seiner Ansprache betonte Papst Franziskus auch die Notwendigkeit eines Multi-Stakeholder-Dialogs, an dem alle Parteien beteiligt sind, auch diejenigen, die die Branche sehr kritisch sehen. Er ermutigte alle Teilnehmer, diese Verpflichtungen im Geiste eines echten Dialogs einzugehen, der darauf abzielt, Lösungen zu liefern, die eine echte Fürsorge für „unser gemeinsames Zuhause“ demonstrieren, und sicherstellt, dass diejenigen, die keinen Zugang zu grundlegenden menschlichen Bedürfnissen haben, von den Ressourcen profitieren, die der Bergbau produziert. Er sieht auch eine Rolle für die Religionen darin, diese Art von Dialogen zu fördern, indem er eine Vision formuliert, die Menschen, Planeten und das Transzendente verbindet.

Mehr lesen:

Ansprache von Papst Franziskus an die Teilnehmer am 3. Tag der Reflexion über „Bergbau für das Gemeinwohl“

Papst Franziskus zum Bergbau: Respektieren Sie die Rechte der Ureinwohner

 


Transparenz und Ansehen: Es gibt keinen Platz zum Verstecken April 8th, 2014

Vater-SeamusReputation, Marke und Image sind sehr wichtige Prioritäten für Unternehmen, Organisationen und Institutionen. Diese Merkmale und die von ihnen angebotenen Produkte und Dienstleistungen sind eng miteinander verbunden. Da wir nun in der Lage sind, Reputation, Marke und Image in den meisten Fällen quantitativ zu bewerten, werden sie als wichtig für den Gesamtwert angesehen, wie die Produkte und Dienstleistungen, die ein Unternehmen anbietet.

Willkommen im Zeitalter der Globalisierung, des weltweiten Internets, der sozialen Medien und des 24 / 7-Nachrichtenzyklus.

Lesen Sie den Blog auf Huffington Post…

 

 


Die Ungleichheits-Debatte heizt auf! 14. Februar 2014

Vater-SeamusWas als Slogan begann, der auf dem Höhepunkt der Occupy-Bewegung auftauchte - 1 Prozent gegenüber 99 Prozent -, hat sich in das heiß diskutierte Problem der Ungleichheit, insbesondere der Einkommensungleichheit, verwandelt. In einem breiten Spektrum von Papst Franziskus bis zum Milliardär Tom Perkins wurden verschiedene Überlegungen, Analysen, Erklärungen und Entschuldigungen angeboten.

Die Exekutivdirektorin des Internationalen Währungsfonds, Frau Christine Lagarde, trat in das Gespräch auf makroökonomischer Ebene ein, als sie kürzlich in Davos erklärte: „Die Kluft hat sich insbesondere in den letzten zehn Jahren enorm vergrößert und hat sich in allen Ecken vergrößert. Sie sehen die US-Wirtschaft. Sie sehen die brasilianische Wirtschaft. Sie sehen einige der Entwicklungsländer zwar in geringerem Maße, aber es tut… dass die Ungleichheit zugenommen hat. “

Lesen Sie Fr. Seamus Finns neuester Blog über die Huffington Post….

 

 


Papst Franziskus und die soziale Verantwortung von Unternehmen Dezember 20th, 2013

Vater-SeamusFr. Seamus Finn, OMI, argumentiert, dass die „jüngste Ablenkung über die angeblichen„ marxistischen “Überzeugungen von Papst Franziskus, die von Menschen ausgesprochen wurde, die sich offensichtlich nicht die Zeit genommen haben, seine jüngste Ermahnung„ Evangelii Gaudium “(Die Freude am Evangelium) zu lesen, genau das ist , eine Ablenkung."

Die wirkliche Nachricht, die absichtlich durch diese Ablenkung begraben wurde, ist, dass ein wachsender Teil der Geschäftswelt anerkennt, dass ihre „soziale Betriebsgenehmigung“, ihre Unternehmenscharta und ihr Engagement für eine „gute Staatsbürgerschaft“ die Integration der sozialen Werte und Richtlinien erfordern Der Heilige Vater und andere Mitglieder der Glaubensgemeinschaft setzen sich für ihre Geschäftsmodelle ein. “

Lesen Sie mehr darüber, wie der Unternehmenssektor auf die Forderungen nach ethischeren und nachhaltigeren Praktiken reagiert. Lesen Sie Fr. Finns neuester Blog über die Huffington Post. 


ICCR-Aktionäre konfrontieren Banken über jüngste Skandale Dezember 20th, 2013

bank90wDie Bemühungen der Oblatenmissionare und anderer religiöser ICCR-Aktionäre, die Großbanken nach einer Flut von Rechtsskandalen und aufsichtsrechtlichen Untersuchungen zur Verantwortung zu ziehen, haben die Aufmerksamkeit der Medien erregt.

Ein Artikel in der Market Watch des Wall Street Journal beleuchtet die Vorschläge von Aktionären, die von religiösen Aktionärsgruppen bei JP Morgan Chase & Co. JPM, der Bank of America Corp. BAC und Wells Fargo & Co. WFC eingereicht wurden und um einen Bericht über „Geschäftsstandards“ bitten. . In dem Vorschlag heißt es: „Wir glauben, dass die Aktionäre einen vollständigen Bericht darüber verdienen, was die Bank getan hat, um diese unethischen Aktivitäten zu beenden, die Glaubwürdigkeit wiederherzustellen und neue starke, effektive Checks and Balances innerhalb der Bank bereitzustellen“, schreiben die Aktionäre im Wells Fargo-Vorschlag. mit ähnlicher Sprache für die beiden anderen Banken. "Während Pressemitteilungen spezifische Siedlungen oder neue Reformen beschreiben, wurde das Gesamtbild den Aktionären nicht angemessen berichtet."

Pater Seamus Finn, Vorstandsmitglied von ICCR und Aktionärsführer mehrerer Banken, nannte die Anfragen "eine Win-Win-Situation" für die Banken und Aktionäre und gab ihnen die Gelegenheit zu zeigen, wie sie "die vielen Probleme angehen" des Tages."

Mehr erfahren. Lies den WSJ Artikel ...

Zum Seitenanfang

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace, and Integrity of Creation

A Ministry of the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate

United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » father seamus finn omi


Fr. Séamus Finn, OMI, Participates in Third Day of Reflection on “Mining for the Common Good” May 8th, 2019

Fr Séamus participated in a Day of Reflection on “Mining for the Common Good” in Rome, Italy where Pope Francis addressed participants at the event on Friday, May 3rd. This marks the 3rd time a day of reflection on the role of mining has been convened at the Vatican by the Dicastery for Integral Human Development. Two events on a similar theme were convened by the Archbishop of Canterbury at Lambeth Palace in 2014 and 2016.

All these events have wrestled with the role of mining throughout history while recognizing both its numerous contributions to human achievement and at the same time its destructive and very negative consequences for certain regions of the planet, and for the peoples and communities who have called some of these areas home for centuries.

Pope Francis highlighted a number of themes and issues that mining raises for faith traditions, governments, the planet, indigenous peoples and civil society. He also suggested some of the avenues and questions we need to consider in our search for answers. These are both on the macro scale of reforming the economic system in which extractive companies operate and curtailing the consumerist waste-generating lifestyles that too many of us follow.

In his address, Pope Francis also highlighted the need for multi-stakeholder dialogue that includes all parties, including those very critical of the industry. He encouraged all participants to enter into these engagements in a spirit of genuine dialogue that seeks to deliver solutions that demonstrate genuine care for “our common home” and ensures that those without access to basic human needs benefit from the resources that mining produces. He also sees a role for religions in fostering these types of dialogues,  by articulating a vision that connects people, planet and the transcendent.

Read more:

Pope Francis’ address to participants at the 3rd Day of Reflection on “Mining for the Common Good”

Pope Francis to mining industry: Respect the rights of indigenous people

 


Transparency and Reputation: There Is No Place to Hide April 8th, 2014

Father-SeamusReputation, brand and image are very important priorities for corporations, organizations and institutions. These characteristics and the products and services that they provide are closely related. Because we are now able, in most instances, to put a quantitative value on reputation, brand and image, they are considered as important to overall worth as the products and services that a corporation offers.

Welcome to the age of globalization, the worldwide web, social media and the 24/7 news cycle.

Read the blog on Huffington Post…

 

 


The Inequality Debate Heats Up! February 14th, 2014

Father-SeamusWhat started out as a slogan that surfaced at the height of the Occupy movement — the 1 percent vs the 99 percent — has morphed into the hotly debated issue of inequality, especially income inequality. Across a broad spectrum ranging from Pope Francis to billionaire Tom Perkins, a variety of reflections, analysis, explanation and apologies have been offered.

The executive director of the International Monetary Fund, Ms. Christine Lagarde, entered the conversation at the macroeconomic level when she stated recently at Davos, “The gap has been widening tremendously, particularly over the last ten years and it has widened in all corners. You look at the U.S. economy. You look at the Brazilian economy. You look at some of the developing countries although to a lesser degree, but it does… that inequality has expanded.”

Read Fr. Seamus Finn’s latest blog on Huffington Post….

 

 


Pope Francis and the Social Responsibility of Corporations December 20th, 2013

Father-SeamusFr. Seamus Finn, OMI argues that the “recent distraction about the purported “Marxist” beliefs of Pope Francis pronounced by people who have obviously not taken the time to read his recent exhortation “Evangelii Gaudium”, (The Joy of the Gospel) is just that, a distraction.”

The real news, intentionally buried by this distraction, is that a growing portion of the business community acknowledges that their “social license to operate”, their corporate charter and their commitment to “good citizenship” demands that they integrate the social values and policies that the Holy Father and others in the faith community espouse into their business models.”

Read more about how the corporate sector is responding to the demands for more ethical and sustainable practices. Read Fr. Finn’s latest blog on Huffington Post. 


ICCR Shareholders Confront Banks Over Recent Scandals December 20th, 2013

bank90wThe efforts of the Missionary Oblates and other ICCR faith-based shareholders to call the major banks to account in the wake of a flood of legal scandals and regulatory investigations, has won the attention of the media.

An article in the Wall Street Journal’s Market Watch, highlights the shareholder proposals filed by religious shareholder groups with J.P. Morgan Chase & Co. JPM , Bank of America Corp. BAC and Wells Fargo & Co. WFC asking for a report on “business standards”. The proposal says, “We believe shareholders deserve a full report on what the bank has done to end these unethical activities, to rebuild credibility and provide new strong, effective checks and balances within the bank,” the shareholders write in the Wells Fargo proposal, with similar language for the other two banks. “While press releases describe specific settlements or new reforms, the overall picture has not been reported adequately to shareholders.”

Father Seamus Finn, a board member of ICCR, and a shareholder lead with several of the banks, called the requests “a win-win” for the banks and shareholders, giving them an opportunity to showcase how they’re addressing “the many issues of the day.”

Learn more. Read the WSJ article…


A Strong Dose of Mo Needed August 23rd, 2013

Father-SeamusFive years after the near meltdown of the global financial system, federal regulators are still struggling to institute reforms, and build in protections for the millions of ordinary consumers exposed to risk due to a lack of regulation. They are up against the banks and other financial firms, which have spent billions on lobbying against the proposed regulations.

In this recent blogpost, Fr. Seamus Finn, OMI calls on everyone to remember how close the global system came to utter disaster, and how much the lives of ordinary people were turned upside down.

He argues, “We need to get the rules and regulations that respond to real needs and to the needs of communities across the country. The social purpose of the financial system and the institutions that operate in that space must be given priority over quarterly profit goals and expectations.”

“This would be a good time for all banks and their trade associations to work more constructively with regulators to keep the momentum going in the right direction, to restore confidence and rebuild trust.”

Read the blog here…

Follow Rev. Seamus P. Finn, OMI on Twitter: www.twitter.com/SeamusPFinn 

Return to Top