شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
جديدنا
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

أخبار الأعلاف

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الأخبار »عمال الملابس


بيان قضية المستثمر بين الأديان حول الذكرى السنوية العاشرة لمأساة رنا بلازا 25 أبريل، 2018

أدى انهيار مبنى Rana Plaza في بنغلاديش في 2013 إلى مقتل 1,100 من عمال الملابس و إصابة 2,600. لفتت هذه المأساة الهائلة الانتباه إلى الانتهاكات المنتظمة لحقوق الإنسان في قطاع الملابس ، فضلاً عن فشل الحكومة البنغلاديشية وبرامج الامتثال للشركات في إنشاء أماكن عمل آمنة وصحية تحترم وتحمي حياة العمال وتحد من المخاطر التي تتعرض لها الشركات و مستثمريها.

احتفالاً بالذكرى السنوية 5th لهذه الكارثة ، أصدر ائتلاف من المستثمرين ، بما في ذلك مبارات مريم العذراء الطاهرة ، بقيادة مركز الأديان المعني بمسؤولية الشركات (ICCR) ، بياناً مستقلاً استقطب فيه شركات 60 في بنغلاديش لتولي مسؤولية المساعدة. لتحويل قطاع الملابس في بنغلاديش. في بيانهم يقترح الائتلاف أربع توصيات رئيسية.

عرض البيان الكامل مع الموقعين هنا.


بيان المستثمر في الذكرى السنوية 4th لمأساة رنا بلازا 24 أبريل، 2017

لقد مرت أربع سنوات منذ انهيار مبنى رانا بلازا في بنغلاديش مما أدى إلى مقتل عمال ملابس 1,100 وإصابة 2,600. وقد لفتت هذه المأساة الهائلة الانتباه إلى الانتهاكات المنتظمة لحقوق الإنسان في قطاع الملابس ، فضلاً عن فشل الحكومة البنجلاديشية وبرامج الامتثال للشركات في إنشاء أماكن عمل آمنة وصحية تحترم وتحمي حياة العمال وتحد من المخاطر التي تتعرض لها الشركات.

عرض البيان الكامل مع الموقعين هنا.


مستثمرون غير راضين عن خطة أمريكا الشمالية من قبل Walmart و GAP وغيرهم بشأن بنغلاديش يوليو 10th، 2013

رصيد الصورة: Emma L. Herman

رصيد الصورة: Emma L. Herman

مبادرة سلامة العمال في بنغلاديش في أمريكا الشمالية غير كافية للحد من مخاطر سلسلة التوريد ، ويقول المستثمرون.

اﻟﻣﺳﺎءﻟﺔ اﻟﻘﺎﻧوﻧﯾﺔ واﻟﻣﺷﺎرﮐﺔ اﻟﮐﺎﻣﻟﺔ ﻷﺻﺣﺎب اﻟﻣﺻﻟﺣﺔ اﻟﻣﺗﻌددﯾن ، ﺑﻣﺎ ﻓﻲ ذﻟك دور ﻧﻘﺎﺑﺎت اﻟﻌﻣﺎل ﻓﻲ ھﯾﮐل اﻟﺣوﮐﻣﺔ ، ﻣذﮐورة ﮐﻌﻧﺎﺻر ﺣﺎﺳﻣﺔ ﺗﻔﺗﻘر إﻟﯽ اﻟﺧطﺔ ﻣﻘﺎﺑل اﺗﻔﺎق ﺑﻧﻐﻼدﯾش ﺣول ﺳﻼﻣﺔ اﻟﺣرﯾق واﻟﺑﻧﺎء

عند المراجعة المبدئية ، وجد أعضاء في مركز الحوار بين الأديان حول المسؤولية المجتمعية (ICCR) ومقره نيويورك ، والمساهمين على المدى الطويل في ماركات الملابس وتجار التجزئة ، المبادرة الجديدة التي قدمها هذا التحالف من أجل سلامة عمال بنغلادش هذا الصباح تفتقر إلى الحماية الكافية للعاملين. وآليات المساءلة. أعضاء ICCR ، بما في ذلك Boston Common Asset Management ، و Calvert Investments ، و Domini Social Investments LLC ، و Transary Oblates of Mary Immaculate و Trillium Asset Management، LLC ، الذين يشتركون في العلامات التجارية الرئيسية للملابس وتجار التجزئة حول حقوق العمال ومخاطر سلسلة التوريد لأكثر من سنوات 15 انظر الخطة الجديدة كبديل أضعف لاتفاق بنغلاديش الموجود سابقاً بشأن السلامة من الحرائق والبناء (الاتفاق).

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


المستثمرون ذوو العقيدة والمستثمرون الاجتماعيون يحثون بائعي التجزئة الأمريكيين على دعم اتفاقية بنغلاديش 7 يونيو، 2013

يجتمع الناس ورجال الإنقاذ بعد بناء من ثمانية طوابق يضم العديد من مصانع الملابس انهارت في سافار ، بالقرب من دكا ، بنغلاديش ، الأربعاء ، أبريل 24 ، 2013. تستخدم تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. الصورة مجاملة من rijans على فليكر

يجتمع الناس ورجال الإنقاذ بعد بناء من ثمانية طوابق يضم العديد من مصانع الملابس انهارت في سافار ، بالقرب من دكا ، بنغلاديش ، الأربعاء ، أبريل 24 ، 2013.
تستخدم تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. الصورة مجاملة من rijans على فليكر

طلب مركز الحوار بين الأديان بشأن مسؤولية الشركات (ICCR) ، وهي مجموعة من المستثمرين المسؤولين اجتماعيًا والتي تضم الأعضاء الناشطة العضوية ، من بائعي التجزئة الأمريكيين أن يكونوا جزءًا من مبادرة بنجلادش للحرائق والسلامة ، وهو اتفاق عالمي يعزز سلامة عمال الملابس الذين سيكون قانونًا قابلاً للإنفاذ. تم اقتراح المبادرة بعد وفاة أكثر من عمال 1,100 في انهيار مبنى في ضواحي دكا في أبريل 24. يحتوي المبنى المنهار على مصانع ملابس زودت العديد من تجار التجزئة الغربيين.

ما لا يقل عن تجار التجزئة في أمريكا الشمالية 14 بما في ذلك متاجر وول مارت (WMT.N) ، وشركة Macy's (MN) ، وشركة Sears Holdings Corp (SHLD.O) ، وشركة JC Penney Co Inc (JCP.N) وشركة Gap Inc (GPS.N) وقد رفض التوقيع على الاتفاق.

وقالوا إن الاتفاق يمنح النقابات العمالية سيطرة أكبر على ضمان سلامة أماكن العمل واقترح البديل "مبادرة مصنع أكثر أماناً".

وقالت اللجنة الدولية للحقوق المدنية ، التي كانت جزءًا من حملة سحب الاستثمارات من جنوب إفريقيا احتجاجًا على الفصل العنصري ، إن الخطة البديلة يمكن أن تخفف من تأثير الاتفاقية وقد لا تكون قابلة للتنفيذ قانونًا.

وقد دعمت شركات البيع بالتجزئة مثل شركة زارا الأصل Inditex SA (ITX.MC) و H & M (HMb.ST) و PVH Corp (PVH.N) وشركة Tesco Plc البريطانية (TSCO.L) مبادرة بنغلاديش للحرائق والسلامة.

اقرأ بيان ICCR حول هذه القضية ...


دمرت الحياة والاحلام المكسورة والملابس الرخيصة 29 أبريل، 2013

والد شيموسأدى انهيار مصنع ملابس كبير مكون من ثمانية طوابق في سافار على مشارف داكا قبل بضعة أيام إلى العديد من الصور والقصص والتقارير. إن خسارة أكثر من حياة 300 ، معظمهم من الآباء الشباب ، إلى جانب العدد الذي لا حصر له الذين عانوا من إصابات خطيرة ، قد أدى إلى آلام لا حد لها ، ومعاناة وغضب.

للأسف ، هذه ليست المرة الأولى التي يتم فيها توجيه الضوء إلى صناعة الملابس في بنغلاديش.

قراءة الأب. آخر بلوق الفنلندي على هافينغتون بوست ...

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace & Integrity of Creation

Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate  United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » garment workers


Interfaith Investors Issue Statement on the 5th Anniversary of Rana Plaza Tragedy April 25th, 2018

The Rana Plaza building collapse in Bangladesh in 2013 resulted in over 1,100 garment workers killed and 2,600 injured. This massive tragedy drew attention to the systemic human rights abuses in the garment sector, as well as the failure of the Bangladesh government and corporate compliance programs to create safe and healthy workplaces that respect and protect the lives of workers and mitigate the risk to companies and their investors. 

To mark the 5th anniversary of this disaster a coalition of investors, including the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate, and led by the Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility (ICCR) issued an investor statement appealing to over 60 companies sourcing in Bangladesh to assume responsibility for helping to transform the Bangladesh apparel sector. In their statement the coalition proposes four main recommendations. 

View the full statement with signatories here. 

 


Investor Statement on the 4th Anniversary of the Rana Plaza Tragedy April 24th, 2017

Four years have passed since the collapse of the Rana Plaza building in Bangladesh resulting in over 1,100 garment workers killed and 2,600 injured. This massive tragedy drew attention to the systemic human rights abuses in the garment sector, as well as the failure of the Bangladesh government and corporate compliance programs to create safe and healthy workplaces that respect and protect the lives of workers and mitigate the risk to companies.

View the full statement with signatories here.


Investors Unhappy with North American Plan by Walmart, GAP and others on Bangladesh July 10th, 2013

Photo credit: Emma L. Herman

Photo credit: Emma L. Herman

North American Bangladesh Worker Safety Initiative Insufficient in Curbing Supply Chain Risk, Say Investors. 

Legal accountability and full multi-stakeholder participation, including trade union role in governance structure, cited as critical elements lacking in plan versus Bangladesh Accord on Fire and Building Safety.

Upon initial review, members of the Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility (ICCR) based in New York, and long-term shareholders in apparel brands and retailers found the new initiative put forward this morning by the Alliance for Bangladesh Worker Safety lacking in sufficient worker protections and accountability mechanisms. ICCR members, including Boston Common Asset Management, Calvert Investments, Domini Social Investments LLC, the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate and Trillium Asset Management, LLC, who have been engaging major apparel brands and retailers on worker rights and supply chain risk for over 15 years, view the new plan as a weaker alternative to the pre-existing Bangladesh Accord on Fire and Building Safety (the Accord).

Click here to read more »


Faith-Based and Socially Responsible Investors Urge U.S. Retailers to Back Bangladesh Accord June 7th, 2013

People and rescuers gather after an eight-story building housing several garment factories collapsed in Savar, near Dhaka, Bangladesh, Wednesday, April 24, 2013. Used under Creative Commons license; photo courtesy of rijans on flickr

People and rescuers gather after an eight-story building housing several garment factories collapsed in Savar, near Dhaka, Bangladesh, Wednesday, April 24, 2013.
Used under Creative Commons license; photo courtesy of rijans on flickr

The Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility (ICCR), a group of socially responsible investors of which the Oblates are active members, has asked US retailers to be part of the Bangladesh Fire and Safety initiative, a global accord that promotes the safety of garment workers that would be legally enforceable. The initiative was proposed after more than 1,100 workers died in a building collapse on the outskirts of Dhaka on April 24. The collapsed building housed garment factories that supplied to several Western retailers.

At least 14 North American retailers including Wal-Mart Stores Inc (WMT.N), Macy’s Inc (M.N), Sears Holdings Corp (SHLD.O), JC Penney Co Inc (JCP.N) and Gap Inc (GPS.N) have declined to sign the accord.

They have said the accord gives labour unions too much control over ensuring workplace safety and have proposed the alternative “Safer Factory Initiative”.

ICCR, which was part of the Divestment from South Africa campaign in protest against Apartheid, said the alternative plan could dilute the impact of the accord and may not be legally enforceable.

Retailers such as Zara parent Inditex S.A. (ITX.MC), H&M (HMb.ST), PVH Corp (PVH.N) and Britain’s Tesco Plc (TSCO.L) have supported the Bangladesh fire and safety initiative.

Read the ICCR Statement on the issue…


Lives Destroyed, Dreams Crushed and Cheap Clothes April 29th, 2013

Father-SeamusThe collapse of a large eight-story garment factory in Savar on the outskirts of Dhaka a few days ago has resulted in numerous images, stories and reports. The loss of more that 300 lives, most of them young parents, alongside the countless number that have suffered serious injuries, has resulted in immeasurable pain, suffering and anger.

Unfortunately, this is not the first time that the spotlight has been directed on the garment industry in Bangladesh.

Read Fr. Finn’s latest blog on Huffington Post…

 

Return to Top