شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر  الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
الأخبار
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

أخبار الأعلاف

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث مقاطع الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيفات الأخبار »الشعوب الأصلية


تقرير من منتدى 18TH الدائم للأمم المتحدة المعني بقضايا الشعوب الأصلية مايو 23rd، 2019

تجمع مئات الشعوب الأصلية من جميع أنحاء العالم في مقر الأمم المتحدة بنيويورك المنتدى الدائم الثامن عشر المعني بقضايا الشعوب الأصلية (UNPFII) التي عقدت في الفترة من 25 أبريل إلى 2 مايو. موضوع منتدى الأمم المتحدة الدائم لعام 2019 هو "المعارف التقليدية: توليد ونقل وحماية". تصف الأمم المتحدة الشعوب الأصلية بأنها ورثة وممارسون لثقافات فريدة وطرق تتعلق بالخصائص الاجتماعية والثقافية والاقتصادية والسياسية للناس والتي تختلف عن تلك الخاصة بالمجتمعات المهيمنة التي يعيشون فيها. أُنشئت UNPFII في عام 2000 ، بقرار من الأمم المتحدة مع تفويض للتعامل مع قضايا السكان الأصليين المتعلقة بالتنمية الاقتصادية والاجتماعية ، والثقافة ، والبيئة ، والتعليم ، والصحة ، وحقوق الإنسان.  

وفقًا لتقرير صادر عن إدارة الشؤون الاقتصادية والاجتماعية بالأمم المتحدة ، فإن ما يقدر بنحو 370 مليون من الشعوب الأصلية الذين يقيمون في حوالي 90 دولة هم من بين أكثر الشعوب تهميشًا في العالم. وأشار التقرير إلى أن الشعوب الأصلية غالبا ما تكون معزولة سياسيا واجتماعيا داخل البلدان حيث يقيمون حسب الموقع الجغرافي لمجتمعاتهم وتاريخهم وثقافاتهم ولغاتهم وتقاليدهم المنفصلة.

لحماية حقوق الإنسان للشعوب الأصلية ، اعتمدت الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة (UNGA) القرار في 2007 بشأن  إعلان الأمم المتحدة بشأن حقوق الشعوب الأصلية. يوفر الإعلان إطارًا شاملاً للمعايير الدنيا للرفاه الاقتصادي والاجتماعي والثقافي وحقوق الشعوب الأصلية في العالم. مرة أخرى ، في عام 2016 ، اعتمدت الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة قرارًا يعلن 2019 عام اللغات الأصلية.

اقرأ أكثر:

منتدى الأمم المتحدة الدائمhttps://bit.ly/2V2B6Rp
السنة الدولية للغات الشعوب الأصلية: https://bit.ly/2PzyCbH.
تقارير عن حقوق الشعوب الأصلية: https://bit.ly/2ZK8UG7

 


9 آب / أغسطس هو اليوم الدولي للشعوب الأصلية في العالم أغسطس 3rd، 2018

Tيتم الاحتفال بيومه في جميع أنحاء العالم وفي مقر الأمم المتحدة في نيويورك كل عام ، حيث يجمع منظمات الشعوب الأصلية ووكالات الأمم المتحدة والدول الأعضاء والمجتمع المدني والأوساط الأكاديمية وعامة الناس. موضوع هذا العام هو "هجرة الشعوب الأصلية وحركتها."سيركز موضوع 2018 على الوضع الحالي لأقاليم الشعوب الأصلية ، والأسباب الجذرية للهجرة ، والحركة عبر الحدود والتشريد ، مع التركيز بشكل خاص على الشعوب الأصلية التي تعيش في المناطق الحضرية وعبر الحدود الدولية.

هناك ما يقدر بنحو 370 مليون من السكان الأصليين في العالم يعيشون في 90 دولة. إنهم يشكلون أقل من 5 في المائة من سكان العالم ، لكنهم يمثلون 15 في المائة من أفقر الناس. إنهم يتحدثون بأغلبية ساحقة من لغات العالم المقدرة بـ 7,000 لغة ويمثلون 5,000 ثقافة مختلفة.

لمعرفة المزيد عن زيارة الاحتفال الدولية هذهe موقع الأمم المتحدة.

قم بزيارة إدارة الأمم المتحدة للشؤون الاقتصادية والاجتماعية (DESA) صفحة لتنزيل برنامج الحدث والرسائل الرئيسية.

Fr Daniel LeBlanc، OMI، The Moderates NGO Side Event at the 17th UN Permanent Forum on Indigenous issues

مهمة مفعمة بالسكان الأصليين

السكان الأصليون: شعب له ماضي وتاريخ وثقافة


Fr Daniel LeBlanc، OMI، The Moderates NGO Side Event at the 17th UN Permanent Forum on Indigenous issues مايو 3rd، 2018

عقد منتدى الأمم المتحدة الدائم المعني بقضايا الشعوب الأصلية (UNPFII) دورته السابعة عشرة في الفترة من 16 إلى 27 أبريل. وكان موضوع منتدى 2018: "الحقوق الجماعية للشعوب الأصلية في الأراضي والأقاليم والموارد". ووفقًا لمنتدى الأمم المتحدة الدائم ، فإن الشعوب الأصلية ورثة وممارسون لثقافات فريدة وطرق تتعلق بالناس والبيئة. احتفظت الشعوب الأصلية بخصائص اجتماعية وثقافية واقتصادية وسياسية تختلف عن خصائص المجتمعات المهيمنة التي تعيش فيها. تم تمثيل العديد من المجتمعات الأصلية من جميع أنحاء العالم في UNPFII. وقد أتيحت الفرصة للعديد منهم لتقديم بيانات حول القضايا التي تهم مجتمعاتهم المختلفة.

رسم رئيس الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة ، السيد ميروسلاف لاجاك ، في ملاحظاته الافتتاحية في المنتدى ، صورة قاتمة لوضع أكثر من 300 مليون من السكان الأصليين حول العالم. وأشار إلى أنه في حين أن الشعوب الأصلية تشكل حوالي 5 في المائة من سكان العالم ، فإنها تشكل 15 في المائة من أفقر سكان العالم. ووصف الوضع بأنه "مروع". كما سلط السيد لاجاك الضوء على بعض التحديات التي يواجهها السكان الأصليون مثل انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان والتهميش والعنف التي يواجهونها لتأكيد حقوقهم. وبالتركيز على موضوع أراضي الشعوب الأصلية وأقاليمها ومواردها ، أشار السيد لاجاك إلى أن "الشعوب الأصلية تُنتزع من الأراضي التي أطلق عليها أسلافهم وطنهم" ، غالبًا من قبل كبار المزارعين وشركات التعدين من كبار السن ومتعددي الجنسيات.

في تقرير صدر مؤخرًا بواسطة Conselho Indigenista Missionaria ("المجلس التبشيري للسكان الأصليين" - وهو فرع تابع للمؤتمر الوطني لأساقفة البرازيل) ، تشمل بعض التحديات التي يواجهها عدد من مجتمعات السكان الأصليين في البرازيل (وكذلك مجتمعات السكان الأصليين حول العالم) ؛ ارتفاع معدل الانتحار ، قلة النعاسالرعاية الصحية ، ارتفاع معدل وفيات الأطفال ، تعاطي الكحوليات والمخدرات ، قلة تعليم السكان الأصليين ونقص العموم دعم من الدولة.

حدث المنظمات غير الحكوميةر المتحدة الأمم 17th المنتدى الدائم المعني بقضايا الشعوب الأصلية

كجزء من الفعاليات الجانبية العديدة للمنتدى ، أشرف في أبريل / نيسان 18 Fr Daniel LeBlanc ، OMI على جلسة حول "الارتباط الروحي والإشراف الصحيح على الأرض والأقاليم والموارد ، بما في ذلك المياه للشعوب الأصلية ،"مع أعضاء اللجنة التي شملت:

  • أتيلانو ألبرتو سيبالوس لويزا - زعيم في الممارسات الزراعية المستدامة والمدافع عن الأراضي والأراضي في يوكاتان
  • Elvia de Jesús Arévalo Ordóñez - عضو في مجلس حكومة المجتمع CASCOMI (مجتمع الأمازون للعمل الاجتماعي كورديليرا ديل Cóndor ميرادور) ، متكاملة من قبل العائلات والمستوطنين من الرعية Tundayme- الإكوادور
  • أوجوستينا مايان أبيكاي - ولدت زعيمة أواجين الأصلية في كوردونكانكي ، وهي رئيسة منظمة تنمية المجتمعات الحدودية في سينيبا - ODECOFROC. http://odecofroc-es.blogspot.com/p/nuestra-organizacion.html
  • ليلى روشا - غواراني رانديفا ، عضو مجلس إدارة Aty Guasu Guarani و Kaiowá ، ماتو غروسو دو سول
  • Sachem HawkStorm - Schaghticoke First Nations

تم عقد هذا الحدث في مركز الكنيسة الأسقفية في مدينة نيويورك والتي نظمها التبشيريه مبان مريم الطاهر؛ فريق الأمم المتحدة العامل للتعدين لجنة المنظمات غير الحكومية المعنية بحقوق الشعوب الأصلية ؛ مجمع البعثة فيفات الدولية كاريتاس الدولية مؤتمر القيادة الدومينيكية الفرنسيسكان الدولية Red Eclesial Pan Amazónica (REPAM)؛ المجلس التبشيري للسكان الأصليين (CIMI) ؛ جمعية التأمل صن راي

مزيد من المعلومات:

منتدى الأمم المتحدة الدائم المعني بقضايا السكان الأصليين: https://bit.ly/2pvCccv

أخبار الأمم المتحدة بشأن حقوق الأرض للشعوب الأصلية: https://bit.ly/2H4EU1M

تقرير Conselho Indigenista Missionaria عن العنف ضد الشعوب الأصلية في البرازيل باللغات الإنجليزية والإسبانية والبرتغالية: https://bit.ly/2F1w133

 


Chittagong Hill Tracts Accord في انتظار التنفيذ بعد 17 سنوات ديسمبر 2nd، 2014

من الصعب تصديق أن حكومة بنغلاديش تواصل تعنتها حول اتفاق شيتاجونج هيل تراكتس. يبدو وكأنه بالأمس فقط عندما أتيحت لي الفرصة وامتياز لفيستا في شيتاجونج واجتمع مع السكان الأصليين الذين كانوا ضحايا هذا الاتفاق تجاهل وتكسرت. يجب على المجتمع الدولي أن يواصل تسليط الضوء على الشفافية والعدالة على هذا السلوك المهم من قبل الحكومة. - الاب. شيموس فين ، OMI
.............................

قدمت مؤسسة Kapaeeng هذا البيان من لجنة تلال Chittagong Hill Tracts حول تطبيق اتفاقية CHT (صدرت 2 ديسمبر 2014)

مخاوف اللجنة CHTC بسبب عدم التنفيذ الكامل لـ 1997 CHT Accord والمكالمات لخارطة الطريق مع معالم واضحة حول التنفيذ الكامل

دكا: ديسمبر 2 ، 2014. وقد أعربت اللجنة الدولية لمراكز مراقبة تلال شيتاغونغ (CHTC) عن قلقها إزاء افتقار الحكومة إلى الإرادة السياسية مما أدى إلى فشل التنفيذ الكامل لـ CHT Accord 17 بعد سنوات من توقيعها. ودعت اللجنة المذكورة الحكومة إلى اعتماد وتنفيذ خارطة طريق على وجه السرعة ذات معالم واضحة لتنفيذ الاتفاق لضمان المشاركة الكاملة لجميع أصحاب المصلحة.

ووقعت رابطة عوامي على الاتفاق مع PCJSS في ديسمبر 2 و 1997 وتعهدت حكومة رابطة عوامي الحالية بشكل متكرر بتنفيذ الاتفاق ، سواء على المستوى الوطني من خلال كل بياناتها الانتخابية حتى الآن وعلى المستوى الدولي خلال المراجعات الدورية العالمية في 2009 و 2013. ومع ذلك ، استمرت حالة السلام والاستقرار في مناطق هضبة شيتاغونغ (CHT) في التدهور طوال فترة ولايتين ، حيث ظلت الحكومة في منصبه ولم تكن هناك أية جهود لتعزيز المؤسسات المحلية وضمان إنهاء النزاع على الأراضي الذي أدى إلى تدهور الأوضاع. حالة حقوق الإنسان في المنطقة.

تعديل قوانين HDC والفشل في إجراء الانتخابات

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


منظمات غير حكومية تثير انذار حول السد الكهرومائي في غواتيمالا أكتوبر 15th، 2014

في أغسطس من 2013 ، تعرض المجتمع لهجوم وقتل طفلين في الانتقام لشكاوى حقوق الإنسان المقدمة من المجتمع.

Iفي أغسطس من 2013 ، تعرض المجتمع لهجوم وقتل طفلين في انتقام لشكاوى حقوق الإنسان التي قدمها المجتمع.

انضم مكتب الإرسالية Oblate JPIC إلى المنظمات الدولية الأخرى في رسالة قلق إلى المقرر الخاص للأمم المتحدة المعني بحقوق الشعوب الأصلية بشأن بناء سد سانتا ريتا الكهرومائي في غواتيمالا. تم تسجيل السد كمشروع في إطار آلية التنمية النظيفة (CDM) - التي تم إنشاؤها بموجب بروتوكول كيوتو للأمم المتحدة - في يونيو 2014. وفقًا للرسالة ، "تم الإبلاغ عن العديد من الانتهاكات ضد مجتمعات Q'eqchi´ و Poqomchí الأصلية قبل ومنذ الموافقة على المشروع ، كان آخرها حوادث عنف في الفترة من 14 إلى 16 آب / أغسطس 2014 أسفرت عن العديد من الإصابات والوفيات ".

وتشير الرسالة إلى أن مقرر لجنة البلدان الأمريكية لحقوق الإنسان المعني بحقوق الشعوب الأصلية اعترف "بأن التراخيص الحالية لمنشآت التعدين والطاقة الكهرومائية مُنحت دون أن تكون الدولة قد نفذت مشاورات مسبقة ومجانية ومستنيرة مع مجتمعات الشعوب الأصلية المتضررة ، وهي ملزمة بذلك بموجب المعاهدات الدولية التي وقعتها غواتيمالا ".

اقرأ الرسالة…

 


منتدى حول الشعوب الأصلية في بنجلاديش يسلط الضوء على الاحتياجات البارزة أغسطس 19th، 2014

kapaeeng_dhaka-300x200في أغسطس / آب ، عقدت 11 ، 2014 ، مؤسسة Kapaeeng في بنغلاديش منتدى حول "العقد الدولي الثاني للسكان الأصليين وحالتهم في بنغلاديش" في قاعة المتحف الوطني في دكا. تم تنظيم الاجتماع للاحتفال باليوم الدولي للشعوب الأصلية 2014.

وأشرف على ترحيبه رئيس مجلس شيتاغونغ هيل تراكتس الإقليمي ورئيس منتدى الشعوب الأصلية في بنغلاديش ، والسيد جيوتيرندرا بوديبريا لارماواس ، ضيف الشرف ، بينما ترأس السيد رابيندراناث سورين ، تشايبرسون من مؤسسة كاباينغ البرنامج.

وكان من بين المتحدثين والضيوف الخاصين السيد رام عبيد المكتادر شودري ، رئيس مجلس النواب ، اللجنة الدائمة للبرلمان في وزارة شيتاغونغ لشؤون قطع الأشجار. السيد فاضل حسين بادشا ، عضو البرلمان ؛ بير فضل الرحمن مصباح ، عضو البرلمان ؛ الأستاذ الدكتور صادق حليم ، مفوض الإعلام السابق ؛ السيد سنيهال في سونيجي ، المدير القطري لمنظمة أوكسفام ؛ السيد غونزالو سيرانو دي لا روزا ، ممثل الاتحاد الأوروبي ؛ السيد ميكا كانرفافوري ، ممثل الأمم المتحدة ؛ السيد سانجيب دريغ ، الأمين العام ، منتدى الشعوب الأصلية في بنغلاديش. Sanjeeb Drong هو متعاون وثيق مع Oblates في بنغلاديش.

قال سانجيب درونج إن حقوق السكان الأصليين هي حقوق إنسان. إذا لم تفي الحكومة بحقوق السكان الأصليين ، فلا يمكننا القول إن وضع حقوق الإنسان قد تطور في بنغلاديش. لذلك يتعين على الحكومة حماية وتعزيز حقوق الملكية الفكرية. وقال أيضًا: "الأرض هي حياة الشعوب الأصلية. لكن الشعوب الأصلية تفقد أراضيها يومًا بعد يوم. لحماية أرض IPs ، أطلب إنشاء لجنة منفصلة للأراضي لشركاء IP ".

كما ذكر أنه "نحن جميعاً بشر ، وعلى الرغم من هذا نواجه التمييز والظلم".

قراءة حساب كامل للمنتدى هنا (تنزيل ملف PDF) أو قم بزيارة موقع الويب الخاص بـ مؤسسة Kapaeeng.

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace, and Integrity of Creation

A Ministry of the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate

United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » indigenous peoples


Fr Daniel LeBlanc, OMI, Moderates NGO Side Event at the 17th UN Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues May 3rd, 2018

The United Nations Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues (UNPFII) held it’s seventeenth session from April 16 – 27. The theme for the 2018 forum was; “Indigenous Peoples’ Collective Rights to Lands, Territories and Resources.” According to the UNPFII, indigenous peoples are inheritors and practitioners of unique cultures and ways of relating to people and the environment. Indigenous Peoples have retained social, cultural, economic and political characteristics that are distinct from those of the dominant societies in which they live. Several indigenous communities from around the globe were represented at the UNPFII. Many of them had opportunities to present statements on issues of concern to their different communities.

The President of the UN General Assembly, Mr. Miroslav Lajčák, in his opening remarks at the forum, painted the grim picture of the situation of the over 300 million Indigenous Peoples around the world. He noted that while Indigenous Peoples make up about 5 percent of the world’s population, they comprise 15 percent of the world’s poorest people. A situation he described as ‘shocking.’ Mr. Lajčák also highlighted some of the challenges faced by Indigenous Peoples as violations of their human rights, marginalization, and violence they face for asserting their rights. Focusing on the theme of indigenous land, territories and resources, Mr. Lajčák pointed out that, “Indigenous Peoples are being dispossessed of the lands their ancestors called home,” often by big time and multi-national farmers and mining corporations.

In a recent report by Conselho Indigenista Missionaria (“Indigenous Missionary Council” – a subsidiary of the National Conference of Bishops of Brazil), some of the challenges faced by a number of indigenous communities in Brazil (as well as indigenous communities around the world) include; high rate of of suicide, lack of health care, high child mortality, alcohol and drug abuse, lack of indigenous education and lack of general support from the State.

NGO Event at United Nations 17th Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues

As part of the Forum’s many side events, on April 18 Fr Daniel LeBlanc, OMI, moderated a session on “Spiritual Connection and Right Stewardship of Land, Territory, and Resources, including Water for Indigenous Peoples,” with panelists that included:

  • Atilano Alberto Ceballos Loeza – Leader in sustainable agricultural practices and defender of land and territory in Yucatan
  • Elvia de Jesús Arévalo Ordóñez – Member of the Council of Government of the Community CASCOMI (Amazon Community of Social Action Cordillera del Cóndor Mirador), integrated by native families and settlers of the parish Tundayme-Ecuador
  • Augostina Mayán Apikai – Awajún indigenous woman leader born in Cordoncanqui is the president of the Development Organization of Border Communities of Cenepa – ODECOFROC. http://odecofroc-es.blogspot.com/p/nuestra-organizacion.html
  • Leila Rocha – Guarani Ñandeva, member of the board of Aty Guasu Guarani and Kaiowá, Mato Grosso do Sul
  • Sachem HawkStorm – Schaghticoke First Nations

The event was held at the Episcopal Church Center in New York City and organized by Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate; UN Mining Working Group; NGO Committee on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples; Congregation of the Mission; VIVAT International; Caritas International; Dominican Leadership Conference; Franciscans International; Red Eclesial Pan Amazónica (REPAM); Indigenous Missionary Council (CIMI); Sunray Meditation Society

Learn more:

UN Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues: https://bit.ly/2pvCccv

UN News on Indigenous Peoples’ land rights: https://bit.ly/2H4EU1M

Conselho Indigenista Missionaria report on violence against indigenous peoples in brazil in English, Espanol and Portugese: https://bit.ly/2F1w133

 


Chittagong Hill Tracts Accord Awaits Implementation After 17 Years December 2nd, 2014

It is difficult to believe that the government of Bangladesh continues its intransigence around the Chittagong Hill Tracts Accord. It seems like only yesterday when I had the opportunity and privilege to vista in Chittagong and meet with the indigenous who have been the victims of this ignored and broken agreement. The international community must continue to shine a spotlight of transparency and justice on this negligent behavior by the government. – Fr. Seamus Finn, OMI
………………………..

Kapaeeng Foundation forwarded this statement of the Chittagong Hill Tracts Commission on the implementation of the CHT Accord (issued 2 December 2014)

CHTC concerns over the failure to fully implement the 1997 CHT Accord and calls for roadmap with clear milestones on full implementation

Dhaka: December 2, 2014. The International Chittagong Hill Tracts Commission (CHTC) has expressed concern over the Government’s lack of political will leading to the failure of full implementation of the CHT Accord 17 years after its signing. The CHTC has called upon the Government to urgently adopt and enforce a roadmap with clear milestones for implementation of the Accord ensuring full participation of all stakeholders.

The Awami League signed the Accord together with PCJSS on December 2, 1997 and the present Awami League government has repeatedly pledged to implement the Accord, both nationally through each of its election manifestos to date and internationally during the Universal Periodic Reviews in 2009 and 2013. Yet the state of peace and stability in the Chittagong Hill Tracts (CHT) has continued to deteriorate throughout the two terms the government has held office and there have been no efforts to strengthen local institutions and ensure end to land conflict which has led to the deterioration of the human rights situation in the area.

Amendment of the HDC Acts and failure to hold elections

Click here to read more »


NGOs Raise Alarm About Hydroelectric Dam in Guatemala October 15th, 2014

In August of 2013, the community was attacked and two children were killed in retribution for human rights complaints filed by the community.

In August of 2013, the community was attacked and two children were killed in retribution for human rights complaints filed by the community.

The Missionary Oblate JPIC Office has joined other international organizations in a letter of concern to the UN Special Rapporteur on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples about construction of the Santa Rita Hydroelectric Dam in Guatemala. The dam was registered as a project under the Clean Development Mechanism (CDM) – established under the UN’s Kyoto Protocol – in June 2014. According to the letter, “Numerous violations against the indigenous Q’eqchi´ and Poqomchí communities have been reported prior to and since project approval, most recently in violent incidents from 14 to 16 August 2014 resulting in several injuries and deaths.”

The letter notes that the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights’ Rapporteur on indigenous peoples’ rights recognized “that the current licenses for mining and hydroelectric plants were granted without the State having implemented prior, free, and informed consultation with affected indigenous communities, as it is obligated to do under international treaties signed by Guatemala”.

Read the letter…

 


Forum on Indigenous Peoples in Bangladesh Highlights Outstanding Needs August 19th, 2014

kapaeeng_dhaka-300x200On August 11, 2014, Kapaeeng Foundation of Bangladesh held a forum on the “Second International Decade and Situation of Indigenous Peoples in Bangladesh” at the National Museum auditorium in Dhaka. The meeting was organized to celebrate International Indigenous Peoples Day 2014.

The Honorable Chairman of Chittagong Hill Tracts Regional Council and President of Bangladesh Indigenous Peoples Forum, Mr. Jyotirindra Bodhipriya Larmawas presented as the guest of honor, while Mr. Rabindranath Soren, Chaiperson of Kapaeeng Foundation presided over the program.

Speakers and special guests included Mr. R A M Obaidul Muktadir Chowdhury MP, Honorable Chairman, Parliamentary Standing Committee on Ministry of Chittagong Hill Tracts Affairs; Mr. Fazle Hossain Badsha, MP; Pir Fazlur Rahman Misbah, MP; Professor Dr. Sadeka Halim, Former Information Commissioner; Mr. Snehal V Soneji, Country Director, Oxfam; Mr. Gonzalo Serano De La Rosa, representative of the European Union; Mr. Mika Kanervavuori, representative of UN; Mr. Sanjeeb Drong, General Secretary, Bangladesh Indigenous Peoples Forum. Sanjeeb Drong is a close collaborator of the Oblates in Bangladesh.

Sanjeeb Drong said, the rights of indigenous people are human rights. If government does not fulfill the rights of indigenous peoples, we cannot say the human rights situation is developed in Bangladesh. So the government has to protect and promote the rights of IPs. He also said, “Land is the life of indigenous peoples. But day-by-day, indigenous peoples are losing their land. To protect the land of IPs, I demand to setup separate land commission for IPs.”

He also mentioned that, “We all are humans, and despite this we face discriminations and injustice.”

Read a full account of the forum here (Download PDF) or visit the website of the Kapaeeng Foundation.


Dialogue on Life and Mining from Latin America December 10th, 2013

Religious and Lay representatives from Latin America, “moved by the critical situation of our peoples vis-à-vis the extractive industry”, met in Lima in November 2013. Concerned that mining is a source of “constant and serious conflict” in many countries of Latin and Central American countries, the attendees wanted to develop a vigorous and supportive set of local and international networks to help address the destructive impacts of mining. The Missionary Oblates were represented by Fr. Gilberto Pauwels OMI from Bolivia, and Fr. Seamus Finn OMI from the United States and through their participation in VIVAT, a coalition of religious congregations with ECOSOC status at the United Nations.

There are a number of outcomes from the gathering that included reaching out to a larger number of communities affected by mining, engaging with the Pontifical Council for Justice and Peace at the Vatican and convening a broader consultation on the challenges of extractives in the second half of 2014.

Extractives, mining oil and gas exploration, play an important role across the world while also imposing great intrusion and damage in local communities and on the environment where they operate. The search for a way forward that addresses the most serious of those negative impacts has been taken up by a number of different initiatives in the academic, business, stakeholder and shareholder and NGO sectors. Hopefully gatherings like the meeting in Lima can make a constructive contribution to that process.

Read the statement: Dialogue on Life and Mining: Open letter from religious and lay stewards of the goods of creation in Latin America


United Nations Opportunities November 4th, 2013

united-nations-headquarters_smThrough the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate and the VIVAT International NGO Office, persons in our network are able to participate in major UN meetings in New York City. There is no fee to attend these sessions, but participants are responsible for their own transportation and room and board. If you are interested in attending a major UN meeting in New York in 2014, contact Daniel LeBlanc OMI as soon as possible at dlkomijpic@yahoo.com

February 11 – 21, 2014: 52nd Commission on Social Development (CSocD 52)

Theme: Promoting empowerment of people in achieving poverty eradication, social integration and full employment and decent work for all.

March 10 – 21, 2014: 58th Commission on the Status of Women (CSW 58)

Theme: Challenges and achievements in the implementation of the Millennium Development Goals for women and girls. 

May 12 – 23, 2014: 13th Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues (UNPFII 13)

Theme: Principles of good governance consistent with the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples. 

Action Through Words

Helpful Resource: Action Through Words

Action through Words is an online study course that helps users deepen their knowledge of the history and workings of the United Nations while expanding their knowledge of the English language and communication skills. This program is designed for anyone wanting to explore the work of the UN, especially those working where access to formal language training is limited. Go to: www.unepd.info/index.html

 

Return to Top