شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
جديدنا
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

أخبار الأعلاف

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الأخبار »الاستثمار المسؤول اجتماعيا


مهنيو الاستثمار يجتمعون في جامعة ماركيت لمناقشة الاستثمار المسؤول اجتماعيا أكتوبر 10th، 2019

نشر في الأصل من قبل مركز صنع السلام في جامعة ماركيت

كان القس سيموس فين ، OMI ، المتحدث الرئيسي في ندوة ماركيت الأولى حول الاستثمار المسؤول اجتماعيًا. استكشف الفنلندي الرئيسي تاريخ الاستثمار المسؤول اجتماعيا ، بالاعتماد على القصص الشخصية من خلفيته والعمل كرئيس لمجلس إدارة مركز الأديان حول مسؤولية الشركة (ICCR).

أثار الحدث أيضًا تبادل المعرفة المثمر والتواصل بين طلاب وأعضاء هيئة التدريس في ماركويت وخبراء الاستثمار في ميلووكي. بحثت حلقة نقاش واسعة النطاق مجموعة متنوعة من الاستراتيجيات والتحديات في أذهان ممارسي الاستثمار والمدافعين عن المسؤولية الاجتماعية.

تحدث عن الحرم الجامعي المستثمر اجتماعيًا ، حيث حضر ضيفًا فنلنديًا في فصول اللاهوت والتمويل خلال زيارته التي استمرت ثلاثة أيام للحرم الجامعي.

الاستثمار المسؤول اجتماعيا من 1970 إلى اليوم

القس فين يجتمع مع الطلاب في برنامج هدف ماركيت

أشار الفنلندي إلى حدثين على أنه بداية الحركة الحديثة نحو الاستثمار المسؤول اجتماعيًا: الفصل العنصري في جنوب إفريقيا واستخدام الأسلحة الكيميائية في فيتنام. كانت دعوة المساهمين هي الطريقة التي استخدمها المركز في مكافحة هذه المظالم. في كل حالة من هذه الحالات ، أظهر المساهمون القدرة على التأثير على شركات مثل جنرال موتورز وفورد والعديد من البنوك القديمة لدورهم في تأجيج الفصل العنصري في جنوب إفريقيا ، وشركة داو كيميكال لصناعة نابالم ووكيل أورانج المستخدمة في فيتنام.

منذ ذلك الحين ، تعمل ICCR مع العديد من الشركات لتحسين حقوق الإنسان وسلامة الأغذية واستدامتها ، والصحة البيئية ، وسلامة المياه واستدامتها ، والخدمات المالية ، والصحة العالمية والمحلية. على الرغم من أن ICCR ليست منظمة كاثوليكية على وجه الحصر ، فإن تأثير التعليم الاجتماعي الكاثوليكي (CST) واضح في هذه الأولويات. خص الفنلندي بها 1986 رسالة رعوية USCCB حول التعليم الاجتماعي الكاثوليكي والاقتصاد الأمريكي بعنوان "العدالة الاقتصادية للجميع".

لذلك ، كيف تفعل ICCR هذا؟ من خلال مجموعة متنوعة من أشكال الدعوة للمساهمين ، بما في ذلك قرارات المساهمين ، وكلاء التصويت ، حوارات الشركات ، وغيرها من الاستراتيجيات.

بعض الأدوات الفنلندية المقدمة لتشجيع الاستثمار المسؤول اجتماعيا هي الفحص الإيجابي والسلبي ، والفحص القائم على المعايير الدولية ، والتصويت بالوكالة ، وتكامل العوامل البيئية والاجتماعية والمجتمعية والحكومية (ESG) ، والاستثمار تحت عنوان الاستدامة ، والاستثمار / التأثير المجتمعي.

القضايا المعاصرة في الاستثمار المسؤول اجتماعيا

شارك الفنلندي ما يراه بعضًا من أهم القضايا بين المستثمرين المسؤولين اجتماعيًا اليوم:

  1. التغيرات المناخية
  2. السجون الخاصة
  3. الوصول إلى الأسلحة النارية
  4. إدمان المواد الأفيونية
  5. الذكاء الاصطناعي والروبوتات

وأشار فين إلى أن هذه ليست مجرد اهتمامات داخل القطاع المالي / الشركات ، فهي نتيجة الاهتمامات المجتمعية واهتمام المساهمين. علاوة على ذلك ، أشار إلى أن الاهتمام العام بتغير المناخ فريد من حيث أن تأثيره يصل إلى جميع القطاعات.

واختتم الفنلندي تصريحاته ببيان مؤثر حول ما هو على المحك في جميع القضايا المستهدفة اجتماعيًا للاستثمار. وعلى الرغم من مستوى المعيشة غير المسبوق الموجود لمعظم الناس في الولايات المتحدة ، حذر الفنلندي من قبول الولايات المتحدة ببساطة باعتبارها "وعدًا" وقال فين ، إنه من الضروري أن نتذكر تكلفة ذلك ، حيث يجب علينا أن نتذكر بتواضع رصين إراقة الدماء التي ساهمت في الرخاء الذي نتمتع به اليوم.

تعد أهمية التعرف على أولئك الذين عانوا والعمل على منع المعاناة في المستقبل جزءًا لا يتجزأ من المشاركة في SRI وتعزيز السلام من خلال قطاع الأعمال.

فريق الاستثمار المسؤول اجتماعيا

القس الفنلندي يجتمع مع طبقة لاهوت ماركيت

بعد خطاب الفنلندي ، انتقلت الندوة إلى لجنة من المحترفين من منطقة ميلووكي. ترأس الجلسة كريستوفر ميركر ، أستاذ المالية المساعد في ماركويت الذي يدرس دورة حول التمويل المستدام. وكان المشاركون في المناقشة لورا غوف (بيرد - استشارات استثمار) ، ناديل غروسمان (جامعة ماركيت - القانون والحكم) ، جو هنزلك (ISS - الاستدامة والحكم) ، ليو هارمون (Mesirow Financial - إدارة الأصول) ، وكونر دارو (جامعة ماركيت - الهدف طالب).

ناقشوا مجموعة متنوعة من المواضيع بما في ذلك:

  • التعاريف الفردية لل SRI
  • الفحص وأهمية ESG في SRI
  • أفكار حول المائدة المستديرة للأعمال
  • القانون الائتماني والالتزامات
  • القوى المحركة في SRI
  • استخدام SRI في صناديق صغيرة / متوسطة الحجم
  • الاتجاهات في مشاركة المساهمين
  • ربط الدفع لنتائج ESG
  • سحب الوقود الأحفوري
  • أفكار قابلة للتنفيذ لتنفيذ SRI

اختتم هذا الحدث بحفل استقبال ، حيث واصل الحاضرون وأعضاء اللجنة والمتحدثون الرئيسيون مناقشة SRI ومجموعة متنوعة من الآثار المترتبة عليه في تعزيز السلام والعدالة على المستوى المحلي والوطني والدولي.

تم تنظيم ندوة الاستثمار المسؤول اجتماعيًا من قبل مركز صنع السلام ، كلية إدارة الأعمال ، الإدارة المالية. قام برعاية الحدث Baird و CFA Society Milwaukee و Mesirow Financial و Sage Advisory و Federated Investors.


أين أنت بنك المسائل 20 أبريل، 2016

أين أنت بنك المسائل ، من قبل الأب. سيموس فين ، OMI

بالتعاون مع ائتلاف الاستثمار المسؤول اجتماعيا (SRIC) ، رعت ICCR مائدة مستديرة بالمعلومات وجذابة حول المصرفية المستدامة في كلية اللاهوت في سان انطونيو في أبريل 6th. كانت فكرة المائدة المستديرة جزءًا من رؤية ورسالة مجموعة الخدمات المالية للجنة الدولية للحقوق المدنية والسياسية وتحققت عندما وجدت المجموعة شريكًا بارزًا ونشطًا في التحالف العالمي للمصارف حول القيم.

قراءة المقال كاملا هنا.


مبانٍ تبشيرية في زيمبابوي: "ثقب البئر للمياه النظيفة" هو حبل النجاة. يوليو 14th، 2015

CIMG1857 [1]

الأب تشارلز رينسبورج ، OMI مع قادة المجتمع Bhomela في زيمبابوي

في الآونة الأخيرة ، تبرعت إحدى الأبرشيات الكاثوليكية في سانت ماري أوف سورز في فرجينيا بالولايات المتحدة للمجتمع المحلي في بوميليه في زمبابوي. وقد أتاحت هذه الهدية السخية للناس من Bhomela الحصول على حفرة للمياه النظيفة والمساعدة في تطوير مبادرات الزراعة المحلية خلال موسم الجفاف المطول. مجتمع Bhomela هي كنيسة بعثة لمرحلة التبشيرية في زيمبابوي Oblates of Mary Immaculate.

"يعاني العديد من الأطفال من الأمراض المولدة بالمياه فضلاً عن سوء التغذية في منطقة Bhomela. إن مشروع حفر الآبار هذا سوف يقطع شوطا طويلا في التخفيف من حدة هذه المشاكل وتطوير مبادرات "المساعدة الذاتية" في حل المشاكل المحلية "، يقول زمبابوي التبشيرية Oblate، Fr. تشارلز رينسبورج ، OMI يتحدث نيابة عن المجتمع المحلي.

"لا يمكن للكلمات أن تبدأ في وصف فرحة المجتمع في تلقي" خط الحياة "من الماء للقرية بأكملها. ستقوم المجتمعات الكاثوليكية المحلية بالحفاظ على بئر المياه بينما يتم في نفس الوقت الوصول الكامل إلى القرية بكاملها فوق سكان 3000 ".


المشاركة في منتدى جامعة 10th في جامعة هارفارد حول التمويل الإسلامي 20 أبريل، 2012

الأب شارك Séamus Finn ، OMI في منتدى جامعة 10th حول التمويل الإسلامي الذي عقد في كامبريدج ، ماساتشوستس في مارس 24-25 ، 2012. كان عضوا في الجلسة العامة حول الاستثمار القائم على الإيمان والمسؤولية الاجتماعية.

قدم كتيب المنتدى هذا الملخص للإجراءات:

يضم المنتدى العاشر ثلاث جلسات موازية رئيسية تعكس ثلاثة مواضيع رئيسية في موضوع التنمية الاقتصادية. وتشمل هذه مساهمة القطاع المالي الإسلامي في التنمية الاقتصادية العالمية ، والتمويل الإسلامي وتطوير الشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة (SMEs) ، والاستثمار الديني والمسؤولية الاجتماعية. وإلى جانب هذه الجلسات الثلاث الرئيسية ، هناك جلسات موازية حول التمويل الإسلامي وحركات الربيع العربي ، وجهات نظر عالمية حول التمويل الإسلامي ، والتمويل الإسلامي ، والتفكير الاقتصادي البديل ، والأبحاث الأكاديمية الحالية حول تطوير المنتجات في صناعة التمويل الإسلامي. من خلال مكبرات الصوت 50 و 30 الممثلة ، يجذب المنتدى كبار الممارسين من الأوساط الأكاديمية والصناعة لمناقشة القضايا المذكورة أعلاه بشكل نقدي بهدف اقتراح خطط التنمية المستدامة لصناعة التمويل الإسلامي بشكل عام. لا شك في أن هذا الحقل المتطور بسرعة في النظام المالي العالمي يتطلب تدقيقًا وثيقًا لتسخيره إلى أقصى حد لتنمية الاقتصاد العالمي.

معرفة المزيد عن مشروع التمويل الإسلامي ...


الأراضي الاستيلاء في أفريقيا ترك المجتمعات الفقيرة 5 أبريل، 2012

مشكلة الاستيلاء على الأراضي في أفريقيا وآسيا من قبل شركات الاستثمار والشركات متعددة الجنسيات هي مشكلة خطيرة ومتنامية. وتتعامل الحكومات مع شركات كبيرة متعددة الجنسيات في حين أن الآلاف من المزارعين الفقراء يعانون من عدم كفاية التعويض ، والأجور المنخفضة ، والمياه الملوثة والتعرض للمواد الكيميائية الزراعية السامة التي تسبب مشاكل صحية.

في حين أن المشاكل مع الاستيلاء على الأراضي تكثر ، SOCFIN الزراعة. شركة هي شركة فاضحة للغاية. يمتلك الملياردير الفرنسي فينسنت بولور مجموعة SOCFINAF وتدير مزارع المطاط ونخيل الزيت والقهوة في إندونيسيا وكمبوديا وكينيا والكاميرون ونيجيريا وكوت ديفوار (ساحل العاج) وليبيريا. قامت SOCFIN مؤخرًا بتأمين 6,500 هكتارًا من الأراضي الزراعية لإنتاج زيت المطاط / النخيل في سيراليون.

جميع معهد أوكلاندوقد قام هذا المركز ، وهو مؤسسة فكرية مقرها في ولاية كاليفورنيا ، بتفصيل نمط من الإكراه ، وعدم التشاور ، والفشل في التعويض إلى حد ما عن ملاك الأراضي في سيراليون الذين تعرضوا لضغوط للتنازل عن أراضيهم للشركة العملاقة. شاهد هذا الفيديو على عمليات SOCFIN's Sierra Leone:

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


تأملات من رحلة حديثة إلى آسيا 14 فبراير، 2012

سيموس فين ، OMI ينعكس على تجاربه وملاحظاته خلال رحلته الأخيرة إلى آسيا والآثار المترتبة على عمل Oblate مع الشركات. وينظر إلى الأسئلة التي أثارتها حقائق الحياة التي يعيشها الناس العاديون ، من مزارع الشاي والبنوك في بنغلاديش ، إلى اللاجئين البورميين في تايلند ، والكمبوديين الذين يتعاملون مع الآثار الطويلة الأجل للألغام الأرضية.

قراءة الأب. آخر بلوق الفنلندي على هافينغتون بوست ...

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace & Integrity of Creation

Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate  United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » socially responsible investing


Investment Professionals Convene at Marquette University to Discuss Socially Responsible Investing October 10th, 2019

Originally Published by The Center for Peacemaking at Marquette University

Rev. Séamus Finn, OMI, was the keynote speaker at Marquette’s first symposium on Socially Responsible Investing. Finn’s keynote explored the history of socially responsible investing, drawing on personal stories from his background and work as board chair of the Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility (ICCR).

The event also sparked fruitful knowledge sharing and networking among Marquette students and faculty, and Milwaukee investment professionals. A wide-ranging panel discussion examined a variety of strategies and challenges on the minds of socially responsible investing practitioners and advocates.

Talk of socially responsible investing permeated campus as Finn guest lectured in Theology and Finance classes during his three-day visit to campus.

Socially Responsible Investing from the 1970’s to today

Rev. Finn meets with students in Marquette’s AIM Program

Finn noted two events as the genesis of the modern movement toward socially responsible investing: apartheid in South Africa and the use of chemical weapons in Vietnam. Shareholder advocacy was the method the ICCR used to combat these injustices. In each of these cases, shareholders demonstrated the ability to influence companies such as General Motors, Ford, and various legacy banks for their role fueling apartheid in South Africa, and Dow Chemical for manufacturing Napalm and Agent Orange used in Vietnam.

Since then, the ICCR has engaged with numerous corporations to improve human rights, food safety and sustainability, environmental health, water safety and sustainability, financial services, and global and domestic health. Though ICCR is not an exclusively Catholic organization, the influence of Catholic Social Teaching (CST) is evident in these priorities. Finn singled out the USCCB’s 1986 Pastoral Letter on Catholic Social Teaching and the U.S. Economy titled “Economic Justice for All.”

So, how does ICCR do this? Through a variety of forms of shareholder advocacy, including stockholder resolutions, voting proxies, corporate dialogues, and other strategies.

Some tools Finn offered for promoting socially responsible investing are positive and negative screening, international norms-based screening, proxy voting, integration of environmental, societal, and governmental (ESG) factors, sustainability themed investing, and impact/community investing.

Contemporary issues in Socially Responsible Investing

Finn shared what he sees as some of the most important issues among socially responsible investors today:

  1. Climate change
  2. Private prisons
  3. Access to firearms
  4. Opioid addiction
  5. Artificial intelligence and robotics

These are not only concerns within the financial/corporate sector, Finn noted, they are a result of societal concern and shareholder interest. Furthermore, he noted that public interest in climate change is unique in that its impact reaches across all sectors.

Finn concluded his remarks with a poignant statement on what is at stake across all of the issues socially responsible investing targets.Despite the unprecedented standard of living present for most people in the United States, Finn cautioned against simply accepting the United States as a “promised land of political freedom and economic opportunities.” It’s imperative to remember the cost of this, Finn said, as we must recall with a sober humility the bloodshed that has contributed to the prosperity we enjoy today.

The importance of recognizing those who have suffered and working to prevent future suffering is integral to participating in SRI and to promoting peace through the business sector.

Socially Responsible Investing Panel

Rev. Finn meets with a Marquette theology class

Following Finn’s speech, the symposium transitioned into a panel of professionals from the Milwaukee area. The panel was moderated by Christopher Merker, an adjunct professor of finance at Marquette who teaches a course on sustainable finance. The panelists were Laura Gough (Baird — Investment Consulting), Nadelle Grossman (Marquette University — Law & Governance), Joe Henzlik (ISS — Sustainability & Governance), Leo Harmon (Mesirow Financial — Asset Management), and Conner Darrow (Marquette University — AIM Student).

They discussed a variety of topics including:

  • Individual definitions of SRI
  • Screening and the importance of ESG in SRI
  • Thoughts on the Business Roundtable
  • Fiduciary law and obligations
  • Driving forces in SRI
  • Using SRI in small/mid-cap funds
  • Trends in shareholder engagement
  • Linking pay to ESG results
  • Fossil fuel divestment
  • Actionable ideas to implement SRI

The event concluded with a reception, where the attendees, panelists, and keynote speakers continued to discuss SRI and the variety of implications that it has in the promotion of peace and justice on a local, national, and international level.

The Socially Responsible Investing Symposium was organized by the Center for Peacemaking, College of Business Administration, and Finance Department. The event was sponsored by Baird, CFA Society Milwaukee, Mesirow Financial, Sage Advisory, and Federated Investors.


Where You Bank Matters April 20th, 2016

Where You Bank Matters, by Fr. Seamus Finn, OMI

In collaboration with the Socially Responsible Investment Coalition (SRIC), ICCR sponsored an informative and engaging roundtable on sustainable banking at the Oblate School of Theology in San Antonio on April 6th. The idea for the roundtable was part of the vision and mission of the ICCR financial services caucus and was realized when the group found an accomplished and energetic partner in the Global Alliance for Banking on Values.

Read the full article here.


Missionary Oblates in Zimbabwe: “borehole for clean water” is a lifeline delivered. July 14th, 2015

CIMG1857[1]

Fr. Charles Rensburg,OMI with Bhomela community leaders in Zimbabwe

Recently, a Catholic parish of St. Mary of Sorrows in Virginia,United States donated to the local community in Bhomela in Zimbabwe. This generous gift has enabled people of Bhomela to get a borehole for clean water supply and help in development of local farming initiatives during the prolonged dry season. Bhomela community is a mission church for the Zimbabwe Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate.

“Many children suffer from water-born diseases as well as malnutrition in Bhomela area. This borehole project will go a long way in alleviating these problems and developing ‘self-help’ initiatives in solving local problems,”

says Zimbabwe Missionary Oblate, Fr. Charles Rensburg, OMI speaking on behalf of the local community.

“Words cannot begin to describe the community’s joy in having received a ‘life-line’ of water for the whole village.

 The borehole will be maintained by the local Catholic community whilst at the same time, complete access has been given to the whole village of over 3000 people.”


Oblates Participate in 10th Harvard University Forum on Islamic Finance April 20th, 2012

Fr. Séamus Finn, OMI participated in the 10th Harvard University Forum on Islamic Finance held in Cambridge, Massachusetts on March 24-25, 2012. He was a panelist in the plenary session on Faith-Based Investment and Social Responsibility.

The Forum brochure offered this summary of the proceedings:

The Tenth Forum features three main parallel sessions, which reflect three major themes within the topic of economic development. These include the Islamic financial sector’s contribution to global economic development, Islamic finance and the development of Small and Medium-sized Enterprises (SMEs), and faith-based investment and social responsibility. Apart from these three main sessions, there are also parallel sessions on Islamic finance and the Arab Spring movements, global perspectives on Islamic finance, Islamic finance and alternative economic thinking, and current academic research on product development in the Islamic finance industry. With over 50 speakers and 30 nationalities represented, the forum attracts the leading practitioners from academia and the industry to critically discuss the issues highlighted above with a view to proposing sustainable developmental plans for the Islamic finance industry in general. There is no doubt that this rapidly developing field of the global financial system requires a close scrutiny to maximally harness it for the development of the global economy.

 Learn more about the Islamic Finance Project…


Land Grabs in Africa Leave Communities Impoverished April 5th, 2012

The problem of land grabbing in Africa and Asia by investment firms and multinational corporations is a serious and growing problem. Governments make deals with large multinational companies while thousands of poor farmers are left with inadequate compensation, low wages, polluted water and exposure to toxic agricultural chemicals that cause health problems.

While problems with land grabs abound, SOCFIN Agriculture. Co. is a particularly egregious company. Owned by French billionaire Vincent Bollore, SOCFINAF Group owns and operates plantations of rubber, oil palm and coffee in Indonesia, Cambodia, Kenya, Cameroon, Nigeria, Cote d’Ivoire (Ivory Coast) and Liberia. SOCFIN recently has secured 6,500 hectares of farmland for rubber/palm oil production in Sierra Leone.

The Oakland Institute, a California-based think-tank, has detailed a pattern of coercion, lack of consultation, and failure to fairly compensate Sierra Leonean landowners who have been pressured into ceding their land to the corporate giant. Watch this video on SOCFIN’s Sierra Leone’s operations:

Click here to read more »


Reflections from a Recent Trip to Asia February 14th, 2012

Seamus Finn, OMI reflects on his experiences and observations during a recent trip to Asia and the implications for the Oblate work with corporations. He looks at questions raised by the realities of life experienced by ordinary people, from Bangladeshi tea plantation and garment workers, to Burmese refugees in Thailand, and Cambodians dealing with the long-term impacts of land mines.

Read Fr. Finn’s latest blog on Huffington Post…

 

Return to Top