شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر  الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
المدونة
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

آخر الأخبار

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث مقاطع الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الأخبار »مجلس حقوق الإنسان التابع للأمم المتحدة


رئيس مجلس العلاقات الخارجية في مجلس الشيوخ يدعم قرار الأمم المتحدة بشأن التحقيق في جرائم الحرب في سريلانكا مسيرة 19th، 2014

الراهبات

الراهبات الكاثوليك في شمال سريلانكا يحتجون على اعتقال المدافع عن حقوق الإنسان ، بالندران جياكوماري

أرسل السناتور روبرت مينينديز ، رئيس لجنة العلاقات الخارجية بمجلس الشيوخ ، رسالة في وقت سابق اليوم موجهة إلى نافي بيلاي ، مفوضة الأمم المتحدة السامية لحقوق الإنسان. تدعم الرسالة القرار الذي رعته الولايات المتحدة أمام مجلس حقوق الإنسان التابع للأمم المتحدة في جنيف والذي يدعو إلى إجراء تحقيق دولي في الجرائم التي ارتكبت خلال الحرب الأهلية في سريلانكا. وفي رسالته ، قال الرئيس مينينديز أيضًا: "خلال العام الماضي ، لاحظت هذه اللجنة بقلق البيئة المتدهورة للعملية الديمقراطية وحقوق الإنسان في سريلانكا. في حين أن هذا حاد بشكل خاص في الشمال ، هناك أيضًا تقارير مقلقة عن نهج استبدادي متزايد عبر الجنوب والشرق ".

اقرأ رسالة الرئيس مينينديز هنا ...


صدر الاب Praveen OMI وروكي فرناندو! السيدة جاياكوماري لا يزال محتجزًا. مسيرة 19th، 2014

القس الأب. برافين ماهيسان ، OMI

القس الأب. برافين ماهيسان ، OMI

الاب. تم الإفراج عن برافين ماهيسان أو إم آي وروكي فرناندو ، وكلاهما من المدافعين المخلصين عن حقوق الإنسان ، من حجز قسم التحقيقات الجنائية التابع للحكومة السريلانكية في وقت متأخر من ليلة الثلاثاء. كان الاثنان يتابعان اعتقال السيدة باليندران جاياكوماري ، وهي منتقدة صريحة للعديد من حوادث "الاختفاء" ، عندما تم القبض عليهما. السيدة جاياكوماري ، الناشطة التي احتجت بشدة على "اختفاء" التاميل (بمن فيهم ابنها) منذ نهاية الحرب الأهلية في مايو 2009 ، محتجزة حاليًا بموجب أمر اعتقال في سجن بوسا. باستخدام تصريح عمل ، يمكن احتجازها لمدة تصل إلى 18 شهرًا بدون رسوم رسمية. يشعر مكتب Oblate JPIC بقلق عميق على سلامتها ورفاهيتها وينضم إلى المطالب الدولية بالإفراج عنها غير المشروط. يُزعم أن التعذيب شائع في سريلانكا.

روكي فرناندو ، عاملة كاثوليكية ، ومدافعة عن حقوق الإنسان

روكي فرناندو ، عاملة كاثوليكية ، ومدافعة عن حقوق الإنسان

وقد وقعت الاعتقالات في سياق حملة مقلقة على المدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان وغيرهم من المحتجين على مختلف الانتهاكات التي ارتكبتها القوات الحكومية ، وخاصة في السنوات الخمس الماضية.

يرجى قراءة بياننا عن الأحداث الأخيرة هنا ...

يرجى العثور على معلومات أساسية عن السيدة Balendran Jeyakumari هنا ...


ضعف قرار الأمم المتحدة بشأن سري لانكا يخلق مشاكل مسيرة 12th، 2014

في تحليل منطقي للحالة في سريلانكا ،  يجادل بأن قرار الأمم المتحدة الذي قدمته الولايات المتحدة في مجلس حقوق الإنسان التابع للأمم المتحدة بحاجة إلى تعزيز من أجل تجنب خلق مشاكل إضافية في سريلانكا. وفقًا للصحفي السريلانكي الحائز على جوائز ، فإن "القرار الذي ينشئ هيئة تحقيق ضعيفة لن يؤدي إلا إلى عدم فاعلية ما يقول المجتمع الدولي إنه يعمل من أجله - تعزيز حقوق الإنسان لتعزيز المصالحة في بلد يتعافى من الحرب". والأسوأ من ذلك ، من المرجح أن يؤدي القرار الضعيف إلى حماية أقل للمدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان ويثبط عزيمة أولئك الذين يعملون من أجل العدالة. كما أنه سيقوض شرعية وأهمية الحزب السياسي الذي صوت إلى السلطة في الشمال ، الأمر الذي دعا إلى تحقيق موثوق كأساس للتفاوض على حل سياسي.

اقرأ المقال في AsianCorrespondent.com ...


دعم الدعوة للمقرر الخاص المعني بالموارد البشرية وتغير المناخ 25 مايو، 2012

أصدرت مجموعة من المنظمات غير الحكومية ، بما في ذلك منظمة فيفات الدولية ، عريضة تدعو إلى مقرر خاص معني بحقوق الإنسان وتغير المناخ في مجلس حقوق الإنسان. شركة VIVAT International ، التي تعتبر منظمة Oblates عضوًا فيها ، مؤيد قوي لهذه العريضة وتطلب من أعضاء شبكتنا دعم المبادرة.

نشجعك على تسجيل الدخول كفرد أو بالنيابة عن جماعتك ، إذا تم تفويضك للقيام بذلك.

لقراءة العريضة والتوقيع عليها يرجى زيارة الرابط التالي: http://www.petitions24.com/sr_human_rights_and_climate_change

ووفقًا للأمم المتحدة ، فإن "الاحترار العالمي سيؤثر على العناصر الأساسية للحياة لملايين الأشخاص حول العالم وسيؤثر على ذلك بالفعل. وتشمل التأثيرات تواترًا متزايدًا لظواهر الطقس المتطرفة ، وارتفاع مستويات البحار ، والجفاف ، وزيادة نقص المياه ، وانتشار الأمراض المولدة بالمناخ والولادة. "

"مشاهدة البيانات من خلال عدسة حقوق الإنسان ، من الواضح أن التأثيرات المتوقعة المرتبطة بتغير المناخ تهدد التمتع الفعلي بمجموعة من حقوق الإنسان ، مثل الحق في الحصول على مياه وآمنة وكافية ، والحق في الصحة والسكن الملائم . وبالمثل ، فإن منظور حقوق الإنسان يركز على أن تغير المناخ سيضرب أشد البلدان والمجتمعات فقراً ".

"تعمل معايير حقوق الإنسان الدولية كدليل لإجراءات التصدي لتغير المناخ ، وتؤكد الالتزامات الأخلاقية والقانونية الأساسية لحماية وتشجيع التمتع الكامل بالحقوق المكرسة في الإعلان العالمي لحقوق الإنسان وفي المعاهدات العالمية الأساسية لحقوق الإنسان. "

معلومات اكثر… 

 

 

 


قرار سريلانكا يقر مجلس الأمم المتحدة لحقوق الإنسان مسيرة 26th، 2012

صوت مجلس حقوق الإنسان التابع للأمم المتحدة يوم الخميس الماضي (مارس 22nd) لصالح قرار يدعو حكومة سريلانكا إلى وضع حد للإفلات من العقاب على انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان. إن ادعاءات جرائم الحرب التي ارتكبت في المراحل الأخيرة من النزاع الأهلي الذي دام لعقود داهمت الحكومة في كولومبو.

يدعو القرار سريلانكا إلى "التحقيق بمصداقية" في الانتهاكات المزعومة التي ارتُكبت في نهاية الحرب الأهلية المريرة في البلاد ، ويطلب من الحكومة شرح كيفية معالجتها للانتهاكات المزعومة للقانون الإنساني الدولي ، وكذلك كيف ستنفذ سريلانكا توصيات تحقيق داخلي في الحرب. كما يشجع مكتب حقوق الإنسان التابع للأمم المتحدة على تقديم المشورة والمساعدة لسريلانكا ، كما يشجع الحكومة على قبول النصيحة.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


دليل الناس لحقوق الإنسان للأمم المتحدة في المياه والصرف الصحي يونيو 21st، 2011

الصورة من المياه الحية الدولية

أصدر مجلس الكنديين تقريرا جديدا بعنوان حقنا في الماء: دليل شعبي لتنفيذ الاعتراف بالحق في المياه والصرف الصحي في الأمم المتحدة. كتب الرئيس مود بارلو التقرير ، متاح من مجلس الكنديين.

في يوليو 28 ، أصدرت 2010 الجمعية العامة قرارًا غير ملزم يعترف بحق الإنسان في المياه والصرف الصحي. بعد شهرين ، أقر مجلس حقوق الإنسان التابع للأمم المتحدة بحق الإنسان في المياه والصرف الصحي في قرار مماثل ، يحدد بدقة ما يستلزمه هذا الحق الجديد للحكومات. ولأن قرار مجلس حقوق الإنسان يستند إلى معاهدتين قائمتين ، فإنه يجعل من الحق الأول في قرار المياه الذي أصدرته الجمعية العامة. بعبارة أخرى ، كما تعترف الأمم المتحدة ، "إن الحق في الماء والصرف الصحي هو حق من حقوق الإنسان ، مساوٍ لكل حقوق الإنسان الأخرى ، مما يعني أنه قابل للتقاضي وقابل للتنفيذ".

"جميع الحكومات ملتزمة الآن بهذه القرارات التاريخية للأمم المتحدة. سواء صوتوا أو لم يصوتوا لصالح القرارين ، فإن كل دولة عضو في الأمم المتحدة ملزمة الآن بقبول حق الإنسان في المياه والصرف الصحي والاعتراف به ووضع خطة عمل على أساس الالتزام بالاحترام ، والالتزام بالحماية. يقول بارلو: "الالتزام بالوفاء بهذه الحقوق الجديدة".

أعرف أكثر…

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace, and Integrity of Creation

A Ministry of the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate

United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » un human rights council


Senate Foreign Relations Chair Supports UN Resolution on Sri Lankan War Crimes Investigation March 19th, 2014

nuns

Catholic Nuns in northern Sri Lanka protest the arrest of human rights defender, Balendran Jeyakumari

Senator Robert Menendez, Chair of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee, sent a letter earlier today addressed to Navi Pillay, UN High Commissioner for Human Rights. The letter supports the US-sponsored Resolution before the UN HR Council in Geneva calling for an international investigation into crimes committed during the Sri Lankan civil war. In his letter, Chairman Menendez also said: “Over the past year, this committee has noted with concern the deteriorating environment for the democratic process and human rights in Sri Lanka. While this is particularly acute in the north, there are also disturbing reports of an increasingly authoritarian approach across the South and East.”

Read Chairman Menendez’s letter here…


Fr Praveen OMI and Ruki Fernando Released! Ms Jayakumari Still Held. March 19th, 2014

Rev. Fr. Praveen Maheesan, OMI

Rev. Fr. Praveen Maheesan, OMI

Fr. Praveen Mahesan OMI and Ruki Fernando, both staunch human rights defenders, were released from custody of the Criminal Investigation Division (CID) of the Sri Lankan government late Tuesday night. The two had been following up on the arrest of Ms Balendran Jayakumari, an outspoken critic of numerous ‘disappearances’, when they themselves were arrested. Ms Jayakumari, an activist who has vigorously protested the ‘disappearance’ of Tamils (including her son) since the end of the civil war in May 2009, is presently being held under a detention order in Boosa prison. By using a DO, she can be held for up to 18 months without formal charges. The Oblate JPIC Office is deeply concerned for her safety and well-being and joins an international demand for her unconditional release. Torture is alleged to be common in Sri Lanka.

Ruki Fernando, Catholic lay worker, and human rights defender

Ruki Fernando, Catholic lay worker, and human rights defender

The arrests have taken place in the context of an alarming crackdown on human rights defenders and others protesting various abuses by government military forces, especially in the past five years.

Please read our statement of the recent events here…

Please find background information on Ms Balendran Jeyakumari here…


Weak UN Resolution on Sri Lanka Creates Problems March 12th, 2014

In a well-reasoned analysis of the situation in Sri Lanka,  argues that the UN resolution put forward by the United States at the UN Human Rights Council needs to be strengthened in order to avoid creating additional problems in Sri Lanka. According to the award-winning Sri Lankan journalist, “A resolution that establishes a weak investigating body will only render ineffectual what the international community says it is working for – strengthening human rights to promote reconciliation in a country recovering from war.” Even worse, a weak resolution is likely to lead to less protection for human rights advocates and discourage those who have been working for justice. It would also undermine the legitimacy and relevance of political party voted into power in the north, which has called for a credible investigation as the basis for negotiation of a political solution.

Read the article in AsianCorrespondent.com…


Support the Call for a Special Rapporteur on HR and Climate Change May 25th, 2012

A group of NGOs, including VIVAT International, has issued a petition calling for a Special Rapporteur on Human Rights and Climate Change at the Human Rights Council. VIVAT International, of which the Oblates are a member, is a strong supporter of this petition and is asking members of our network to support the initiative.

We encourage you to sign on as an individual or on behalf of your congregation, if you are delegated to do so.

To read and sign the petition please visit the following link: http://www.petitions24.com/sr_human_rights_and_climate_change

According to the UN, “global warming will affect, and already is affecting, the basic elements of life for millions of people around the world. Effects include an increasing frequency of extreme weather events, rising sea levels, droughts, increasing water shortages, and the spread of tropical and vector born diseases.”

“Viewing the data through a human rights lens, it is clear that projected climate change-related effects threaten the effective enjoyment of a range of human rights, such as the right to safe and adequate water and food, the right to health and adequate housing. Equally, the human rights perspective brings into focus that climate change is set to hit the poorest countries and communities the hardest.”

“The international human rights standards serve as a guide for measures to tackle climate change, underscoring the fundamental moral and legal obligations to protect and promote full enjoyment of the rights enshrined in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and in the core universal human rights treaties.”

More information… 

 

 

 


Sri Lanka Resolution Passes UN Human Rights Council March 26th, 2012

The UN Human Rights Council voted Last Thursday (March 22nd) in favor of a resolution calling on the government of Sri Lanka to end impunity for human rights abuses. Allegations of war crimes committed in the final stages of the decades-long civil conflict have dogged the government in Colombo.

The resolution calls on Sri Lanka to “credibly investigate” alleged abuses committed toward the end of the country’s bitter civil war and asks the government to explain how it addresses alleged violations of international humanitarian law, as well as how Sri Lanka would implement the recommendations of an internal inquiry into the war. It also encourages the UN human rights office to provide Sri Lanka with advice and assistance and for the government to accept the advice.

Click here to read more »


People’s Guide to the UN Human Right to Water and Sanitation June 21st, 2011

Photo by Living Water International

The Council of Canadians has released a new report titled Our Right to Water: A People’s Guide to Implementing the United Nations’ Recognition of the Right to Water and Sanitation. Chairperson Maude Barlow wrote the report, available from the Council of Canadians.

On July 28, 2010 the General Assembly passed a non-binding resolution recognizing the Human Right to Water and Sanitation. Two months later, the UN Human Rights Council recognized the human right to water and sanitation in a similar resolution, setting out exactly what this new right entails for governments. Because the Human Rights Council resolution is based on two existing treaties, it rendered binding the first right to water resolution passed by the General Assembly. In other words, as the UN acknowledges, “The right to water and sanitation is a human right, equal to all other human rights, which implies that it is justiciable and enforceable.”

“All governments are now bound by these historic UN resolutions. Whether or not they voted for the two resolutions, every member nation of the UN is now obligated to accept and recognize the human right to water and sanitation and come up with a plan of action based on the obligation to respect, the obligation to protect and the obligation to fulfil these new rights,” says Barlow.

Learn more…

Return to Top