شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر  الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
http://omiusajpic.org/topic/: آسيا والمحيط الهادئ: سيريلانكا
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

سري لانكا - حقوق الإنسان

هزمت الحكومة السريلانكية جبهة نمور تحرير تاميل إيلام عسكريا بعد 25 عاما من الصراع الأهلي. يُحتجز حالياً حوالي 280,000،XNUMX لاجئ تاميل رغماً عنهم في مخيمات يسيطر عليها الجيش في جميع أنحاء الشمال ، كثير منهم في فافونيا وحولها. الغذاء والمياه والأدوية والعاملين في المجال الطبي والإمدادات الأساسية الأخرى في نوع العرض. تلقينا تقارير عن حالات اختفاء من المعسكرات ، يزعم أنها مجموعات شبه عسكرية التاميل (من فصيل منشق عن حركة نمور تحرير تاميل إيلام) تعمل في المعسكرات بالتنسيق مع الجيش. هناك العديد من انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان المرتبطة بهذه المخيمات. لمزيد من المعلومات حول هذه التطورات الأخيرة وغيرها ، يرجى الاطلاع على صفحتنا على سري لانكا.

تجذر مئات الآلاف من المدنيين بسبب العمليات العسكرية والقصف المكثف في فاني (شمال سريلانكا). لم يتمكنوا من الفرار إلى الجنوب بسبب التوغل العسكري ، فروا إلى أقصى الشمال. عانى ما يقدر بنحو 350,000 مدني من ندرة شديدة في الغذاء والماء والأدوية والإمدادات الأساسية في ما يسمى "منطقة حظر النار" على طول الساحل الشمالي الشرقي لعدة أشهر بينما كان الجيش السريلانكي يضغط على قوة متمردة متمردة. كان الناس غير قادرين على مغادرة المنطقة ، وأجبرتهم على البقاء من قبل نمور تحرير تاميل إيلام الذين استخدمتهم فعليًا كدروع بشرية. قُتل ما يقدر بنحو 20,000 ألف شخص في الفترة من يناير / كانون الثاني إلى نهاية مايو / أيار 2009. وشُوه آلاف آخرون بسبب القصف.

كانت انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان مشكلة خطيرة في سريلانكا لسنوات. حالات الاختفاء والتعذيب والقتل خارج نطاق القانون جعلت الناس ، لا سيما في مناطق التاميل ، يعيشون في حالة دائمة من الخوف. في عامي 2006 و 2007 ، سجل فريق الأمم المتحدة العامل المعني بحالات الاختفاء القسري وغير الطوعي حالات "اختفاء" جديدة من سريلانكا أكثر من أي دولة أخرى في العالم. أولئك الذين يثيرون مخاوف بشأن الانتهاكات يتعرضون لخطر وصفهم بالتخريب والمضايقة أو ما هو أسوأ.

كانت منظمات المجتمع المدني تضغط من أجل وجود مراقب مستقل من قبل مفوضية الأمم المتحدة لحقوق الإنسان. مع انتهاء وقف إطلاق النار ، غادرت بعثة المراقبة التي تقودها النرويج البلاد. على الرغم من الضغوط الدولية ، رفضت الحكومة السريلانكية الموافقة على وجود مستقل للأمم المتحدة. في سبتمبر / أيلول 2008 ، أُجبرت وكالات الإغاثة التابعة للأمم المتحدة واللاجئين على مغادرة الشمال بأمر من حكومة سريلانكا. كان الأساس المنطقي هو أن الحكومة لا تستطيع حماية عمال الإغاثة. من الواضح الآن أن الحكومة أرادت إبعاد أي مراقب دولي من الشمال أثناء قيامها بحملتها العسكرية ضد حركة نمور تحرير إيلام تاميل.

مع قطع الطريق السريع الرئيسي المؤدي إلى شمال التاميل من قبل القوات الحكومية منذ العام الماضي ، فإن العديد من الإمدادات الأساسية كانت نادرة لبعض الوقت في الشمال الشرقي. فقد اختفى آلاف الطلاب وغيرهم في مناطق التاميل واختطفهم تمرد نمور تحرير تاميل إيلام أو "اختفوا" على أيدي القوات الحكومية. أ انفجار قنبلة كليمور في يناير 29 ، 2008 بالقرب من ضريح مادو في شمال غرب سري لانكا، قتل أو شوه عشرات من أطفال المدارس ومعلميهم أثناء مرورهم بالحافلة. ضريح مادو نفسه - لقرون ، كان يُحترم كمنطقة سلام - تم تجاوزه في ربيع عام 2008 من قبل القوات الحكومية. تضرر ممتلكات الكنيسة من جراء القصف ، واضطر مسؤولو الكنيسة إلى المغادرة لعدة أسابيع. تم تجاهل الجهود المبذولة لاستعادة منطقة السلام.

كانت Oblates توثق حالات الاختفاء - خاصة للطلاب. اختفاء الاب. لم يتم حل جيم براون ، وهو كاهن أبرشي كاثوليكي يُخشى أن يُقتل قبل ثلاث سنوات.

أعرف أكثر …

ضريح مادو:

  • SRI LANKA: نداء لحماية ضريح سيدة Madhu من جميع التواجد والعمليات العسكرية في أبريل 1 و 2008 (تحميل PDF)

تقارير حقوق الإنسان:

من اهتمام …

روابط ...

العودة للقمة

Home | En Español

Justice, Peace, and Integrity of Creation - Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate

Follow JPIC OMI!

YouTube Facebook Twitter

Current and past action alerts >

Sri Lanka – Human Rights

The Sri Lankan government has defeated the LTTE militarily after a 25 year civil conflict.  Some 280,000 Tamil refugees are currently being held against their will in military-controlled camps throughout the north, many in and around Vavuniya. Food, water, medicines, medical personnel and other basic supplies are in sort supply. We have received reports of disappearances from the camps, purportedly by Tamil paramilitary groups (from a breakaway LTTE faction) operating in the camps in coordination with the military. There are numerous human rights violations  associated with these camps. For more information on these and other recent developments, please see our page on Sri Lanka.

Hundreds of thousands of civilians were up-rooted due to military operations and massive bombardment in the Vanni (northern Sri Lanka). Unable to escape to the south due to the military incursion, they fled ever farther north. An estimated 350,000 civilians suffered severe scarcity of food, water, medicines and basic supplies in the so-called “No-Fire Zone” along the northeast coast for months while the Sri Lankan Army pressed in on a recalcitrant rebel force. People were unable to leave the zone, forced to remain by the LTTE  who effectively using them as a human shield. An estimated 20,000 people died from January to the end of May 2009. Thousands more were maimed by shelling.

Human rights abuses have been a serious problem in Sri Lanka for years. Disappearances, torture, and extra-judicial killings have had people, especially in Tamil areas, living in a constant state of fear. In 2006 and 2007, the United Nations Working Group on Enforced and Involuntary Disappearances recorded more new “disappearance” cases from Sri Lanka than from any other country in the world. Those raising concerns about abuses risk being labeled subversive and harassed or worse.

Civil Society Organizations have been pressing for an independent monitoring presence from the UN Commission on Human Rights. With the end of the cease-fire, the Norwegian-led monitoring mission left the country. Despite international pressure, the Sri Lankan government has refused to agree to an independent UN presence. In September 2008, even UN relief and refugee agancies were forced to leave the north by order of the Sri Lanka government. The rationale given was that the government could not protect the aid workers. It now seems clear that the government wanted to remove any international observors from the north while it conducted its military campaign against the LTTE.

With the main highway to the Tamil north cut off by government forces since last year, many essential supplies have been scarce for some time in the northeast. Thousands of students and others in Tamil areas have disappeared, abducted by the LTTE insurgency or ‘disappeared’ by government forces. A claymore bomb blast on January 29, 2008 near the Madhu Shrine in northwestern Sri Lanka, killed or maimed scores of school children and their teachers as they rode by in a bus. The Madhu Shrine itself – for centuries, respected as a zone of peace – was over-run in the Spring of 2008 by government forces. The church property was damaged by shelling, and church officials were forced to leave for several weeks. Efforts to restore a peace zone have been ignored.

Oblates have been documenting disappearances – particularly of students. The disappearance of Fr. Jim Brown, a diocesan Catholic priest feared killed three years ago, has not yet been solved.

Learn More …

Madhu Shrine:

  • SRI LANKA: Appeal to protect the shrine of our lady of Madhu from all military presence and operations April 1, 2008 (Download pdf)

Human Rights Reports:

Of Interest …

Links …

Return to Top