OMI JPIC logo

Justice, paix et intégrité de la création

Missionnaires Oblats de Marie Immaculée États-Unis

Logo OMI
News
Traduire cette page:

Nouvelles Récentes

News

Archives des actualités


Dernière vidéo et audio

Plus de vidéo et audio>

Archives des actualités »bank of america


Les actionnaires confessionnels poussent Bank of America à renverser la décision de mauvaise gouvernance Novembre 26th, 2014

7165749034_e308b91e14_z

Des activistes protestent contre BofA à Charlotte, NC dans 2012;
Crédit: photo de Flickr JedBrandt@gmail.com;
Certains droits réservés
.

Les Missionnaires Oblats se sont joints à d'autres investisseurs confessionnels pour demander à Bank of America d'exiger que le président du Conseil reste indépendant. BOA a récemment décidé de confier le titre de président au PDG de la Banque, Brian Moynihan.

L'action de BOA annule un changement de règlement approuvé par les actionnaires de 2009 pour séparer les titres. Des investisseurs institutionnels confessionnels et d'autres grands investisseurs institutionnels, dont le California State Teacher's Retirement System et les New York City Pension Funds, ont demandé un vote des actionnaires sur cette question. La poursuite des amendes et des paiements de règlement impliquant la banque depuis la crise financière a incité les actionnaires à plaider pour une plus grande surveillance de la gestion par le Conseil. Donner au chef de la direction l'autorité supplémentaire du président du conseil affaiblit l'indépendance du conseil.

Le père Seamus Finn, OMI, qui préside le Centre interconfessionnel sur la responsabilité d'entreprise, a déclaré que les amendes et règlements en cours de la banque montrent qu'elle doit «examiner sérieusement la culture de l'institution». Il a dit qu'il serait préférable deux rôles ont été séparés.

Les Oblats se sont joints aux Sœurs de la Charité du New Jersey pour co-déposer une résolution sur cette question, et d'autres investisseurs institutionnels confessionnels ont l'intention de faire de même. La presse du Wall Street Journal et d'autres journaux a annoncé que la banque mettrait la question sur le bulletin de vote pour un vote des actionnaires.


Les organisateurs communautaires de l'ICCR et de l'IAF unissent leurs forces contre les saisies 16 septembre 2011

Les membres du Centre interconfessionnel de responsabilité sociétale (ICCR), y compris les Missionnaires Oblats, ont travaillé avec les affiliés de la Metro Industrial Areas Foundation pour que Bank of America et Wells Fargo agissent sur les problèmes de saisie dans le comté de Prince William en Virginie et Milwaukee. Cette collaboration a produit des résultats:

  • À Milwaukee, CommonGround, la filiale de Metro IAF s'est organisée avec succès, forçant des banques comme Wells Fargo et Bank of America à investir $ 15.2 pour financer le retrait de blight, 100 + un nouveau développement de maisons Nehemiah et des emplois dans le quartier de Sherman Park.
  • Dans le comté de Prince William en Virginie, la filiale de Metro IAF, VOICE, a organisé et confronté directement le PDG de Bank of America, Brian Moynihan, à la réunion annuelle des actionnaires de 2011. Les dirigeants de Bank of America ont donc dû réformer leurs pratiques de modification de prêt, ce qui a entraîné la résolution des modifications apportées au 250. Les cadres de la Banque se sont également engagés à négocier sur les demandes de VOICE que Bank of America finance des conseillers en logement et réinvestissent des centaines de millions de dollars pour reconstruire les quartiers du comté de Prince William dévastés par les saisies immobilières.

VOICE organise une action publique 1,000 dimanche, octobre 30th avec le sénateur Mark Warner (Comité bancaire du Sénat) et des représentants des banques.

Regardez cette vidéo émouvante d'un rassemblement anti-forclusion organisé par VOICE en Virginie du Nord en avril dernier:


Les organisateurs communautaires confessionnels confirment la conférence annuelle de Bank of America 13 mai 2011

Les représentants du groupe organisateur de la communauté, Washington Interfaith Network (WIN), ont assisté à la réunion annuelle de la Banque d'Amérique mercredi dernier grâce aux procurations des Oblats de Marie Immaculée et de la Coalition des Trois Etats pour l'Investissement Responsable. Le révérend Clyde Ellis s'est exprimé en faveur d'une proposition d'actionnaire demandant un examen par une tierce partie des activités hypothécaires en difficulté de la banque.

"Le processus de modification d'hypothèque est cassé", a déclaré Rev Ellis. "Je travaille avec des gens qui souffrent tous les jours parce qu'ils ne peuvent pas obtenir le soutien du processus de modification cassé."

Malgré le soutien de grands fonds de pension, la proposition a échoué, mais le PDG de BOA, Brian Moynihan, s'est engagé à ce que ses hauts dirigeants rencontrent les représentants de WIN au sujet des saisies dans le comté de Prince William, en Virginie. La présence de manifestants à l'extérieur et les questions soulevées lors de la réunion ont contribué à cette promesse de dialogue.


Strong 39% vote à Bank of America pour la résolution par procuration des actionnaires religieux maintient la pression croissante pour plus de divulgation des dérivés à Wall Street 28 avril 2010

Vote à l'assemblée annuelle de BofA vient sur le talon du soutien de pourcentage de 30 chez Citigroup sur la même résolution; Plus d'informations sur Vital chez BofA étant donné que la mauvaise gestion des CDO a explosé Merrill Lynch de BofA.

bank_of_americaDans le deuxième vote important des actionnaires 2010 exhortant plus de divulgation des dérivés, un pourcentage 39 beaucoup plus élevé que prévu des actions de Bank of America (BofA) ont été exprimés aujourd'hui à l'appui d'une résolution parrainée par des investisseurs institutionnels confessionnels appartenant au Centre interconfessionnel sur la responsabilité d'entreprise (ICCR), membre de 300. Le vote des actionnaires de BofA a eu lieu alors que le Congrès débat du sort de la réforme de la réglementation financière, y compris l'augmentation de la divulgation des dérivés.

Le vote des actionnaires de Bank of America s'améliore sur un niveau de support 30 en pourcentage pour la même résolution de proxy chez Citigroup le 10 avril 20, 2010. La résolution parrainée par les membres de l'ICCR a permis aux actionnaires de Bank of America, comme à Citigroup, d'exprimer leurs préoccupations quant au manque de transparence du marché des produits dérivés qui a contribué de manière significative à la crise financière.

Cliquez ici pour en lire plus "


Bank of America est 2nd Institution financière américaine majeure devant faire face à un vote par procuration des actionnaires 26 avril 2010

Banque d'AmériqueLe verdict lors de la réunion annuelle du mercredi de BofA vient sur les talons d'un énorme soutien de 30 pourcentage à Citigroup sur la même résolution. Des quatre résolutions de divulgation des dérivés déposées, celle avec BofA peut être la plus révélatrice, considérant comment la mauvaise gestion des Credit Default Swaps (un type de dérivé) a fait trébucher Merrill Lynch de BofA.

Avec un 30 beaucoup plus élevé que prévu des actions de Citigroup votées en avril 20th en faveur d'une plus grande divulgation des pratiques de dérivés, l'attention se tourne maintenant vers Bank of America (BofA), où les actionnaires voteront mercredi (28th d'avril) sur le même résolution parrainée par des investisseurs institutionnels confessionnels appartenant au Centre interconfessionnel sur la responsabilité d'entreprise (ICCR), membre de 300. Le vote de BofA aura lieu alors que le Congrès débat du sort de la réforme de la réglementation financière, y compris l'augmentation de la divulgation des dérivés.

La résolution donne aux actionnaires, comme à Citigroup, la possibilité d'exprimer leurs inquiétudes quant au manque de transparence du marché des produits dérivés qui a contribué de manière significative à la crise financière. Le vote des actionnaires de Citigroup a été plus élevé que prévu, même si le gouvernement des États-Unis, qui contrôle 27 pour cent de Citigroup à la suite des renflouements bancaires, n'a pas pleinement soutenu la résolution.

Cliquez ici pour en lire plus "

retourner en haut

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace, and Integrity of Creation

A Ministry of the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate

United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » bank of america


Faith-Based Shareholders Pushes Bank of America to Reverse Poor Governance Decision November 26th, 2014

7165749034_e308b91e14_z

Activists protest BofA in Charlotte, NC in 2012;
Credit: photo from Flickr JedBrandt@gmail.com;
Some Rights Reserved
.

The Missionary Oblates have joined other Faith-based investors in asking Bank of America to require the Chair of the Board to remain independent. BOA recently decided to give the title of Chairman to the Bank’s CEO, Brian Moynihan.

BOA’s action rolls back a bylaw change approved by shareholders in 2009 to separate the titles. Faith-based and other large institutional investors, including the California State Teacher’s Retirement System and the New York City Pension Funds, have called for a shareholder vote on the issue. Continuing fines and settlement payments involving the bank since the financial crisis have shareholders arguing for greater oversight of management by the Board. Giving the CEO the additional authority of Board Chair weakens the independence of the Board.

Fr Seamus Finn, OMI who is Board Chair of the Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility, said the bank’s ongoing fines and settlements show that it needs “to take a serious look at the culture of the institution.” He said it would be better if the two roles were separated.

The Oblates have joined the New Jersey-based Sisters of Charity in co-filing a resolution on this issue, and other faith-based institutional investors plan to do the same. Press coverage in the Wall Street Journal and other newspapers has analysts predicting that the bank will put the issue on the ballot for a vote by shareholders.


ICCR and IAF Community Organizers Join Forces Against Foreclosures September 16th, 2011

Interfaith Center on Corporate responsibility (ICCR) members, including the Missionary Oblates, have been working with Metro Industrial Areas Foundation affiliates to get Bank of America & Wells Fargo to take action on foreclosure issues in Prince William County, VA and Milwaukee, WI. This collaboration has produced results:

  • In Milwaukee, CommonGround, Metro IAF’s affiliate has organized successfully, forcing banks including Wells Fargo and Bank of America to commit $15.2 million to finance blight removal, a 100+ new Nehemiah homes development, and jobs in the Sherman Park neighborhood hard hit by foreclosure.
  • In Prince William County, VA, Metro IAF’s affiliate, VOICE, organized and directly confronted Bank of America CEO Brian Moynihan at the 2011 annual shareholders meeting. This resulted in Bank of America senior leadership requiring reform of loan modification practices that has resulted in 250 backlogged modifications being resolved. Bank executives also committed to negotiate on VOICE’s demands that Bank of America fund housing counselors and reinvest hundreds of millions of dollars to rebuild Prince William County neighborhoods devastated by foreclosures.

VOICE is organizing a 1,000 person public action on Sunday, October 30th with Senator Mark Warner (Senate Banking Committee) and bank officials.

Watch this moving video of an anti-foreclosure rally organized by VOICE in Northern Virginia last April:

 

 

 


Faith-Based Community Organizers Confront Bank of America at Annual Meeting May 13th, 2011

Representatives of the community organizing group, Washington Interfaith Network (WIN), attended the Bank of America Annual Meeting last Wednesday thanks to proxies from the Oblates of Mary Immaculate and the Tri-State Coalition for Responsible Investment. The Rev. Clyde Ellis spoke in support of a shareholder proposal to asking for a third-party review of the bank’s troubled mortgage business.

“The mortgage modification process is broken,” said Rev Ellis. “I work with people every day [who are] hurting because they can’t get support from the broken modification process.”

Despite support from large pension funds, the proposal failed, but BOA CEO Brian Moynihan committed to have his top executives meet with WIN representatives about foreclosures in Prince William County, VA. The presence of demonstrators outside, and questions raised inside the meeting were instrumental in getting this promise of dialog.


Strong 39% Vote at Bank of America for Religious Shareholders’ Proxy Resolution Maintains Growing Pressure for More Derivatives Disclosure on Wall Street April 28th, 2010

Vote at BofA’s Annual Meeting Comes on Heels of 30 Percent Support at Citigroup on Same Resolution; More Disclosure Vital at BofA Given How Mishandling of CDOs Tripped Up BofA’s Merrill Lynch.

bank_of_americaIn the second major 2010 shareholder vote urging more derivatives disclosure, a much higher-than-expected 39 percent of Bank of America (BofA) shares were cast today in support of a resolution sponsored by faith-based institutional investors belonging to the 300-member Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility (ICCR). The BofA shareholder vote took place as Congress debates the fate of financial regulatory reform, including increased derivatives disclosure.

The Bank of America shareholder vote improves on a 30 percent support level for the same proxy resolution at Citigroup on April 20, 2010. The ICCR member-sponsored resolution gave Bank of America shareholders an opportunity, as it did at Citigroup, to express their concerns about the lack of transparency in the derivatives market that contributed significantly to the financial crisis.

Click here to read more »


Bank of America is 2nd Major U.S. Financial Institution to Face Derivatives Proxy Vote By Shareholders April 26th, 2010

bank-of-americaThe verdict at BofA’s Wednesday Annual Meeting comes on the heels of a huge 30 percent support at Citigroup on the same Resolution. Of the four derivatives disclosure resolutions being filed, that with BofA may be the most telling, considering how the mishandling of Credit Default Swaps (a type of derivative) tripped up BofA’s Merrill Lynch.

With a much higher-than-expected 30 percent of Citigroup shares voted on April 20th in favor of more disclosure of derivatives practices, the focus now shifts to Bank of America (BofA), where shareholders will vote Wednesday (April 28th) on the same resolution sponsored by faith-based institutional investors belonging to the 300-member Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility (ICCR). The BofA vote will take place as Congress debates the fate of financial regulatory reform, including increased derivatives disclosure.

The resolution gives shareholders an opportunity, as they did at Citigroup, to express their concerns about the lack of transparency in the derivatives market that contributed significantly to the financial crisis. The higher-than-expected vote from Citigroup shareholders resulted even though the United States government, which controls 27 percent of Citigroup as a result of the bank bailouts, failed to fully support the resolution.

Click here to read more »

Return to Top