شعار أومي
المدونة
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

آخر الأخبار

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث مقاطع الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الاخبار »بنك امريكا


حملة الأسهم القائمة على الإيمان يدفع بنك أمريكا لإلغاء قرار الحكم السيئ نوفمبر 26th، 2014

7165749034_e308b91e14_z

نشطاء يحتجون على BofA في شارلوت ، NC في 2012.
الائتمان: الصورة من Flickr JedBrandt@gmail.com ؛
بعض الحقوق محفوظة
.

انضمت The Missionary Oblates إلى مستثمرين آخرين من ذوي الأصول الدينية في مطالبة بنك أوف أمريكا بمطالبة رئيس مجلس الإدارة بالاستقلالية. قرر مجلس إدارة البنك مؤخرًا منح لقب رئيس مجلس الإدارة للرئيس التنفيذي للبنك ، بريان موينيهان.

يعمل إجراء BOA على التراجع عن تغيير اللائحة الداخلية الذي وافق عليه المساهمون في عام 2009 لفصل العناوين. وقد دعا المستثمرون القائمون على العقيدة وغيرهم من المؤسسات الكبيرة ، بما في ذلك نظام تقاعد المعلمين في ولاية كاليفورنيا وصناديق المعاشات التقاعدية لمدينة نيويورك ، إلى تصويت المساهمين بشأن هذه القضية. استمرار دفع الغرامات والتسويات التي تورط فيها البنك منذ الأزمة المالية جعل المساهمين يطالبون بمزيد من الإشراف على الإدارة من قبل مجلس الإدارة. يؤدي منح الرئيس التنفيذي سلطة إضافية لرئيس مجلس الإدارة إلى إضعاف استقلالية المجلس.

قال الأب شيموس فين ، OMI ورئيس مجلس إدارة مركز Interfaith حول مسؤولية الشركات ، إن الغرامات والتسويات المستمرة للبنك تظهر أنه بحاجة إلى "إلقاء نظرة جادة على ثقافة المؤسسة". قال إنه سيكون من الأفضل لو تم الفصل بين الدورين.

انضمت منظمة Oblates إلى منظمة راهبات أخوية مقرها نيوجيرسي ، حيث شاركت في تقديم قرار حول هذه القضية ، بينما يخطط مستثمرون مؤسسيون آخرون على نفس النهج. التغطية الصحفية في صحيفة "وول ستريت جورنال" وغيرها من الصحف تشير إلى أن المحللين سيطرحون هذه المسألة على ورقة الاقتراع للتصويت عليها من قبل المساهمين.


ICCR و IAF منظمو المجتمع الانضمام إلى قوات ضد التعويقات 16 سبتمبر، 2011

يعمل أعضاء مركز Interfaith حول مسؤولية الشركات (ICCR) ، بما في ذلك Missionary Oblates ، مع الشركات التابعة لمؤسسة Metro Industrial Area للحصول على Bank of America & Wells Fargo لاتخاذ إجراءات بشأن قضايا الرهن في مقاطعة Prince William ، VA و Milwaukee ، WI. أسفر هذا التعاون عن نتائج:

  • في Milwaukee ، قامت CommonGround ، شركة Metro التابعة لـ IAF بتنظيم بنجاح ، مما أجبر البنوك بما في ذلك Wells Fargo و Bank of America على تخصيص مبلغ 15.2 مليون دولار لتمويل إزالة الطين ، وتطوير منازل NeNNNIA الجديدة 100 + ، وتأثر الوظائف في حي Sherman Park بشدة جراء حبس الرهن.
  • في مقاطعة الأمير وليام ، فرجينيا ، التابعة لمترو IAF ، VOICE ، نظمت وجهت الرئيس التنفيذي لبنك أمريكا Brian Moynihan مباشرة في اجتماع المساهمين السنوي 2011. وقد نتج عن ذلك القيادة العليا لبنك أمريكا التي تتطلب إصلاحًا لممارسات تعديل القروض التي أسفرت عن حل التعديلات المتراكمة على 250. كما تعهد المسؤولون التنفيذيون في البنك بالتفاوض على مطالب VOICE بأن يقوم بنك أمريكا بتمويل مستشارين في الإسكان وإعادة استثمار مئات الملايين من الدولارات لإعادة بناء أحياء الأمير وليام التي دمرها حبس الرهن.

ينظم VOICE إجراءً عامًا لـ 1,000 يوم الأحد ، أكتوبر 30th مع السيناتور Mark Warner (اللجنة المصرفية في مجلس الشيوخ) ومسؤولين في البنك.

شاهد هذا الفيديو المؤثر لرالي مضاد للرهن ينظمه VOICE في ولاية فرجينيا الشمالية في أبريل الماضي:

 

 

 


منظمو المجتمع القائم على الإيمان يواجهون بنك أمريكا في الاجتماع السنوي 13 مايو، 2011

حضر ممثلو مجموعة تنظيم المجتمع ، شبكة واشنطن بين الأديان (WIN) ، الاجتماع السنوي لبنك أمريكا يوم الأربعاء الماضي بفضل وكلاء من Oblates of Mary Immaculate و Tri-State Coalition for Responsible Investment. تحدث القس كلايد إليس لدعم اقتراح المساهمين لطلب مراجعة طرف ثالث لأعمال الرهن العقاري المتعثرة للبنك.

قال القس إليس "إن عملية تعديل الرهن العقاري معطلة". "أعمل كل يوم مع أشخاص [الذين] يتأذون لأنهم لا يستطيعون الحصول على الدعم من عملية التعديل المعطلة."

على الرغم من الدعم المقدم من صناديق التقاعد الكبيرة ، فشل الاقتراح ، لكن بريان موينيهان الرئيس التنفيذي لبنك أوف أميركا ملتزم باجتماع كبار المسؤولين التنفيذيين مع ممثلي WIN حول حالات حبس الرهن في مقاطعة الأمير وليام بولاية فيرجينيا. كان وجود المتظاهرين في الخارج ، والأسئلة التي أثيرت في الاجتماع مفيدة في الحصول على هذا الوعد بالحوار.


تصويت قوي من 39٪ في Bank of America للمساهمين المتميزين يحافظ على ضغوط متزايدة لمزيد من الإفصاح عن المشتقات في وول ستريت 28 أبريل، 2010

التصويت في الاجتماع السنوي لشركة BofA يأتي في أعقاب دعم 30 في سيتي جروب بنفس الدرجة ؛ المزيد من الإفصاح الحيوي في شركة BofA نظرًا لأن سوء تعامل التزامات الدين المضمونة أدى إلى تعثر شركة ميريل لينش من شركة BofA.

bank_of_americaفي تصويت المساهمين 2010 الرئيسي الثاني لحث المزيد من الإفصاح عن المشتقات ، أكثر من المتوقع 39 في المئة من أسهم بنك أوف أميركا (BofA) تم طرحها اليوم لدعم قرار يرعاه مستثمرون مؤسّسون على أساس ديني ينتمون إلى مركز حوار الأديان التابع لمنظمة 300 حول مسؤولية الشركة (ICCR). تم إجراء تصويت المساهمين في BofA أثناء مناقشة الكونغرس لمصير الإصلاح التنظيمي المالي ، بما في ذلك زيادة الكشف عن المشتقات المالية.

يتحسن تصويت مساهم بنك أمريكا على مستوى دعم 30 في المائة لنفس قرار الوكيل في Citigroup في أبريل 20 ، 2010. أعطى القرار الذي رعته لجنة ICCR لمالكي بنك أوف أميركا فرصة ، كما فعل في سيتي جروب ، للإعراب عن مخاوفهم بشأن عدم الشفافية في سوق المشتقات التي ساهمت بشكل كبير في الأزمة المالية.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


بنك أوف أميركا هو 2nd مؤسسة مالية أمريكية كبرى تواجه مشتقات البروكسي من قبل المساهمين 26 أبريل، 2010

بنك امريكيويأتي الحكم في الاجتماع السنوي الذي عقدته BofA يوم الأربعاء في أعقاب دعم 30 بنسبة كبيرة في سيتي جروب بنفس القرار. من بين أربع قرارات الإفصاح عن المشتقات التي يتم تقديمها ، قد يكون ذلك مع BofA هو الأكثر أهمية ، مع الأخذ في الاعتبار كيف أن سوء إدارة مقايضات العجز الائتماني (وهو نوع من المشتقات) قد تعثر في بنك ميريل لينش من BofA.

مع نسبة 30 أعلى بكثير من المتوقع من أسهم Citigroup التي تم التصويت عليها في أبريل 20th لصالح المزيد من الإفصاح عن ممارسات المشتقات ، سينتقل التركيز الآن إلى بنك أمريكا (BofA) ، حيث سيصوت حملة الأسهم يوم الأربعاء (أبريل 28th) على نفس قرار يرعاه المستثمرون المؤسسون الذين ينتمون إلى الدين والذين ينتمون إلى المركز المشترك بين الأديان المعني بمسؤولية الشركات (ICCR) التابع لـ 300. سيجري التصويت على BofA في الوقت الذي يناقش فيه الكونغرس مصير الإصلاح التنظيمي المالي ، بما في ذلك زيادة الكشف عن المشتقات المالية.

يمنح القرار للمساهمين فرصة ، كما فعلوا في سيتي جروب ، للتعبير عن مخاوفهم بشأن عدم وجود شفافية في سوق المشتقات التي ساهمت بشكل كبير في الأزمة المالية. وقد نتج عن تصويت أكبر من المتوقع من حملة أسهم سيتي جروب على الرغم من أن حكومة الولايات المتحدة ، التي تسيطر على نسبة 27 في المائة من سيتي غروب نتيجة لعمليات إنقاذ البنوك ، فشلت في دعم القرار بشكل كامل.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace, and Integrity of Creation

A Ministry of the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate

United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » bank of america


Faith-Based Shareholders Pushes Bank of America to Reverse Poor Governance Decision November 26th, 2014

7165749034_e308b91e14_z

Activists protest BofA in Charlotte, NC in 2012;
Credit: photo from Flickr JedBrandt@gmail.com;
Some Rights Reserved
.

The Missionary Oblates have joined other Faith-based investors in asking Bank of America to require the Chair of the Board to remain independent. BOA recently decided to give the title of Chairman to the Bank’s CEO, Brian Moynihan.

BOA’s action rolls back a bylaw change approved by shareholders in 2009 to separate the titles. Faith-based and other large institutional investors, including the California State Teacher’s Retirement System and the New York City Pension Funds, have called for a shareholder vote on the issue. Continuing fines and settlement payments involving the bank since the financial crisis have shareholders arguing for greater oversight of management by the Board. Giving the CEO the additional authority of Board Chair weakens the independence of the Board.

Fr Seamus Finn, OMI who is Board Chair of the Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility, said the bank’s ongoing fines and settlements show that it needs “to take a serious look at the culture of the institution.” He said it would be better if the two roles were separated.

The Oblates have joined the New Jersey-based Sisters of Charity in co-filing a resolution on this issue, and other faith-based institutional investors plan to do the same. Press coverage in the Wall Street Journal and other newspapers has analysts predicting that the bank will put the issue on the ballot for a vote by shareholders.


ICCR and IAF Community Organizers Join Forces Against Foreclosures September 16th, 2011

Interfaith Center on Corporate responsibility (ICCR) members, including the Missionary Oblates, have been working with Metro Industrial Areas Foundation affiliates to get Bank of America & Wells Fargo to take action on foreclosure issues in Prince William County, VA and Milwaukee, WI. This collaboration has produced results:

  • In Milwaukee, CommonGround, Metro IAF’s affiliate has organized successfully, forcing banks including Wells Fargo and Bank of America to commit $15.2 million to finance blight removal, a 100+ new Nehemiah homes development, and jobs in the Sherman Park neighborhood hard hit by foreclosure.
  • In Prince William County, VA, Metro IAF’s affiliate, VOICE, organized and directly confronted Bank of America CEO Brian Moynihan at the 2011 annual shareholders meeting. This resulted in Bank of America senior leadership requiring reform of loan modification practices that has resulted in 250 backlogged modifications being resolved. Bank executives also committed to negotiate on VOICE’s demands that Bank of America fund housing counselors and reinvest hundreds of millions of dollars to rebuild Prince William County neighborhoods devastated by foreclosures.

VOICE is organizing a 1,000 person public action on Sunday, October 30th with Senator Mark Warner (Senate Banking Committee) and bank officials.

Watch this moving video of an anti-foreclosure rally organized by VOICE in Northern Virginia last April:

 

 

 


Faith-Based Community Organizers Confront Bank of America at Annual Meeting May 13th, 2011

Representatives of the community organizing group, Washington Interfaith Network (WIN), attended the Bank of America Annual Meeting last Wednesday thanks to proxies from the Oblates of Mary Immaculate and the Tri-State Coalition for Responsible Investment. The Rev. Clyde Ellis spoke in support of a shareholder proposal to asking for a third-party review of the bank’s troubled mortgage business.

“The mortgage modification process is broken,” said Rev Ellis. “I work with people every day [who are] hurting because they can’t get support from the broken modification process.”

Despite support from large pension funds, the proposal failed, but BOA CEO Brian Moynihan committed to have his top executives meet with WIN representatives about foreclosures in Prince William County, VA. The presence of demonstrators outside, and questions raised inside the meeting were instrumental in getting this promise of dialog.


Strong 39% Vote at Bank of America for Religious Shareholders’ Proxy Resolution Maintains Growing Pressure for More Derivatives Disclosure on Wall Street April 28th, 2010

Vote at BofA’s Annual Meeting Comes on Heels of 30 Percent Support at Citigroup on Same Resolution; More Disclosure Vital at BofA Given How Mishandling of CDOs Tripped Up BofA’s Merrill Lynch.

bank_of_americaIn the second major 2010 shareholder vote urging more derivatives disclosure, a much higher-than-expected 39 percent of Bank of America (BofA) shares were cast today in support of a resolution sponsored by faith-based institutional investors belonging to the 300-member Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility (ICCR). The BofA shareholder vote took place as Congress debates the fate of financial regulatory reform, including increased derivatives disclosure.

The Bank of America shareholder vote improves on a 30 percent support level for the same proxy resolution at Citigroup on April 20, 2010. The ICCR member-sponsored resolution gave Bank of America shareholders an opportunity, as it did at Citigroup, to express their concerns about the lack of transparency in the derivatives market that contributed significantly to the financial crisis.

Click here to read more »


Bank of America is 2nd Major U.S. Financial Institution to Face Derivatives Proxy Vote By Shareholders April 26th, 2010

bank-of-americaThe verdict at BofA’s Wednesday Annual Meeting comes on the heels of a huge 30 percent support at Citigroup on the same Resolution. Of the four derivatives disclosure resolutions being filed, that with BofA may be the most telling, considering how the mishandling of Credit Default Swaps (a type of derivative) tripped up BofA’s Merrill Lynch.

With a much higher-than-expected 30 percent of Citigroup shares voted on April 20th in favor of more disclosure of derivatives practices, the focus now shifts to Bank of America (BofA), where shareholders will vote Wednesday (April 28th) on the same resolution sponsored by faith-based institutional investors belonging to the 300-member Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility (ICCR). The BofA vote will take place as Congress debates the fate of financial regulatory reform, including increased derivatives disclosure.

The resolution gives shareholders an opportunity, as they did at Citigroup, to express their concerns about the lack of transparency in the derivatives market that contributed significantly to the financial crisis. The higher-than-expected vote from Citigroup shareholders resulted even though the United States government, which controls 27 percent of Citigroup as a result of the bank bailouts, failed to fully support the resolution.

Click here to read more »

Return to Top