شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر  الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
الأخبار
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

أخبار الأعلاف

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث مقاطع الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

ارشيف الاخبار »البنوك


المستثمرون على أساس الإيمان يقنعون شركة PNC بوقف تمويل التعدين على سطح الأرض مسيرة 16th، 2015

حقوق الطبع والنشر لين ويليس. الصورة مجاملة من أصوات الأبلاش. رحلة مجاملة من ساوثوينجز. تستخدم مع إذن.

حقوق الطبع والنشر لين ويليس. الصورة مجاملة من أصوات الأبلاش. رحلة مجاملة من ساوثوينجز. تستخدم مع إذن.

وأشاد المستثمرون المتشددون بقرار شركة PNC للخدمات المالية بوقف تمويل عمليات إزالة القمامة من شركة الفحم في جبل أبالاتشي.

ويأتي الإعلان الأخير للبنك الذي يتخذ من مدينة بيتسبرج مقرا له بعد جهد متعدد السنوات قام به أعضاء في مركز الحوار بين الأديان بشأن مسؤولية الشركات (ICCR) لإقناع مسؤولي البنك بأن تمويل مثل هذه العمليات الضارة بيئيا يشكل مخاطر مالية كبيرة ويعجل بتغير المناخ.

ينطوي التعدين لإزالة قمم الجبل على تفجير قمم الجبال لفضح طبقات الفحم الغنية مئات الأقدام تحت الأرض. ثم يتم دفع الحطام الناتج إلى الوديان المجاورة ، مما يؤدي في كثير من الأحيان إلى سد تيارات المياه الراكدة المهمة.

قالت لورين كومبير ، العضو المنتدب لشركة Boston Common Asset Management ، وهي شريك في ICCR والتي قادت جهود PNC ، إن المحادثات مع مسؤولي البنك جرت على مدار أربع سنوات وركزت على الدور الذي يمكن أن تلعبه البنوك في الانتقال إلى اقتصاد منخفض الكربون. "عند النظر إلى محفظتنا ، يعد تعدين الفحم أحد الأعلام الحمراء. وأوضح كومبير ، عضو مجلس إدارة ICCR ، أن أحد الأشياء التي نتحدث عنها مع الشركات بشكل عام هو كيفية دعمنا للانتقال إلى مصادر طاقة أكثر استدامة.

ركزت جهود ICCR على أهمية إدارة المخاطر لأن تمويل صناعة الفحم يعتبر محفوفًا بالمخاطر ، كما أوضح أوبليت الأب شيموس فين ، رئيس الاستثمار المتسق في صندوق الاستثمار OIP ، ورئيس مجلس إدارة ICCR ، الذي شارك بنشاط مع كبرى البنوك في مجموعة متنوعة من القضايا.

إن مشاركة ICCR في استخراج التعدين في قمة الجبل هي جزء من جهد أوسع نطاقاً قام به المستثمرون المؤسسيون الدوليون 80 الذين يديرون أصول بقيمة 540 مليار دولار لحث بنوك 63 على الكشف عن سياساتها وممارساتها المتعلقة بتغير المناخ.

قراءة المقال في خدمة الأخبار الكاثوليكية. القصة أيضا التقطت في CatholicPhilly.com.

 

 


JP Morgan Chase Issues How do you do Business Report in Response to Faith-basedاهمين ديسمبر 19th، 2014

القيم الأساسية البنوك

وقد رحب أعضاء مركز الحوار بين الأديان حول المسؤولية المؤسسية اليوم بإصدار JP Morgan Chase (JPMC) كيف نقوم بعمل تقرير الأعمال. صدر التقرير ، في جزء كبير منه ، استجابة لضغوط المساهمين نتيجة لمليارات الدولارات من الغرامات والعقوبات التي واجهتها الشركة خلال السنوات القليلة الماضية.

جاء التقرير إلى حد كبير من قبل المساهمين الملحة من أجل تغييرات هيكلية نتيجة لحدوث هفوات أخلاقية متعددة أدت إلى مليارات الدولارات من الغرامات والغرامات.

Rev. Séamus الفنل ، من مبان مولات مريم الطاهرة وقال رئيس مجلس إدارة ICCR ، "نحن نرحب بالتقرير ونتطلع إلى الفرصة لمراجعته بمزيد من التفصيل. يعترف التقرير بشكل مناسب بانتهاك السلوك الأخلاقي الذي أدى إلى إلحاق ضرر كبير بسمعة الشركة وتفاصيل الخطوات المتخذة للحد من إمكانية حدوث مثل هذه الهفوات في المستقبل. ويبدو أن أفعالهم لها تداعيات اجتماعية أوسع نطاقًا خارج نطاق الشركة قد تم الاعتراف بها أيضًا. يحدونا الأمل في أن ترى الإدارة أن القيمة في هذا النوع من الفحص الذاتي هي بمثابة جسر لبدء استعادة الثقة بين الشارع الرئيسي وول ستريت ".

اقرأ البيان الصحفي الخاص بـ ICCR على تقرير JP Morgan Chase

 

 


المساهمين في ICCR مواجهة البنوك أكثر من الفضائح الأخيرة ديسمبر 20th، 2013

bank90wوقد حظيت جهود المبشرين التبشيريين وغيرهم من المساهمين الدينيين في ICCR بدعوة المصارف الكبرى للمساءلة في أعقاب سيل من الفضائح القانونية والتحقيقات التنظيمية ، لاهتمام وسائل الإعلام.

يسلط مقال في Market Watch في وول ستريت جورنال الضوء على مقترحات المساهمين التي قدمتها مجموعات المساهمين الدينية مع JP Morgan Chase & Co. JPM و Bank of America Corp. BAC و Wells Fargo & Co. WFC تطلب تقريرًا عن "معايير العمل" . يقول الاقتراح ، "نعتقد أن المساهمين يستحقون تقريرًا كاملاً عما قام به البنك لإنهاء هذه الأنشطة غير الأخلاقية ، وإعادة بناء المصداقية وتوفير ضوابط وأرصدة قوية وفعالة داخل البنك" ، كما كتب المساهمون في اقتراح Wells Fargo ، بلغة مماثلة للبنكين الآخرين. "بينما تصف البيانات الصحفية مستوطنات محددة أو إصلاحات جديدة ، لم يتم الإبلاغ عن الصورة العامة بشكل كاف للمساهمين."

وقد وصف الأب سيموس فين ، عضو مجلس إدارة ICCR ، ومسؤول أحد المساهمين في العديد من البنوك ، الطلبات بـ "الفوز المتبادل" للبنوك والمساهمين ، مما منحهم فرصة لعرض كيفية معالجة "القضايا العديدة". اليوم ".

أعرف أكثر. قراءة مقالة WSJ ...


أفضل البنوك الأمريكية تخيّب في دراسة المستثمر نوفمبر شنومكسند، شنومكس

bank90wبعد مرور خمس سنوات على الأزمة التي هزت العالم المالي ، سجلت سبعة بنوك أمريكية رائدة 60 مخيبًا للآمال أو أقل من النقاط المحتملة لـ 100 في دراسة مقارنة صدرت اليوم عن مركز الحوار بين الأديان حول مسؤولية الشركة (ICCR) ، والذي يمثل 300 القائم على الإيمان و مستثمرون مؤسّسون اجتماعيون يتحملون أصولًا بقيمة $ 100 مليارًا. تم تقييم البنوك الكبرى من حيث أربعة مخاوف رئيسية للمساهمين: التعويض التنفيذي ، وإدارة المخاطر ، والإقراض المسؤول والاستثمار ، والمساهمات السياسية.

المؤسسات المالية المدرجة في تقرير ICCR هي: Goldman Sachs (60 ، الذي سجل أعلى نسبة على الإقراض والاستثمار المسؤول والمرتبط بأعلى مستويات ممارسات المساهمة السياسية) ؛ بنك نيويورك (59.02 ، الذي سجل أعلى درجة في إدارة المخاطر وارتبط بأعلى مستوى في ممارسات المساهمة السياسية) ؛ جي بي مورغان تشيس (56.5 ، التي ترتبط بأعلى مستويات ممارسات المساهمة السياسية) ؛ مورجان ستانلي (55.40) ؛ Bank of America (55.35)؛ Citi (54.90 ، التي ترتبط بأعلى مستوى في ممارسات المساهمة السياسية): و Wells Fargo (50.73 ، التي سجلت أعلى درجات في ممارسات التعويض التنفيذي).

يمكنك العثور على التقرير الكامل على موقع ICCR أو تحميلها مباشرة هنا.

يقول القس سيموس فين ، مدير قسم العدل والسلام والنزاهة في مجال الإبداع من أجل التبشيريين التابعين لمريم مريم ونائب رئيس مجلس إدارة آي سي سي: "بعد خمس سنوات من الانهيار المالي الأمريكي ، بدأت بعض البنوك في معالجة بروتوكولات إدارة المخاطر الخاصة بها". ولكن لدينا الكثير من العمل الذي يجب القيام به عندما يتعلق الأمر بالإقراض والاستثمار المسؤول. ﮐﻣﺎ أن اﻹﻓﺻﺎﺣﺎت اﻟﺷﺎﻣﻟﺔ ﺿﻌﯾﻔﺔ أﯾﺿﺎ ، وھﻲ ﻣرﺗﺑطﺔ ﺑﺷﮐل ﺧﺎص ﺑﮐل ﻣن اﻟﺗﻌوﯾض اﻟﺗﻧﻔﯾذي واﻟﻣﺳﺎھﻣﺎت اﻟﺳﯾﺎﺳﯾﺔ. ما نراه في هذه النتائج هو مجموعة خجولة إلى حد ما من البنوك تتجمع في نطاق متوسط ​​إلى متوسط ​​دون أن تميز مؤسسة واحدة نفسها كشركة رائدة للمساهمين في حقبة ما بعد الأزمة المالية ".

بعض الوجبات السريعة الرئيسية:

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


ميا مينما كولبا أكتوبر شنومكسند، شنومكس

والد شيموسكتب القس شيموس ب. فين ، OMI مدونة جديدة على Huffington Post ، تسمى  ميا مينما كولبا.

"هناك أكثر من القليل من السخرية في القائمة الطويلة للقصص حول كبار المديرين التنفيذيين للبنوك الذين يتفاوضون على التسويات مع المنظمين الحكوميين والموافقة على الغرامات قبل الذهاب إلى المحكمة للتسوية ..."  اقرأ أكثر….

 


بالنسبة للراهبات والمحللين على حد سواء ، تعد أرباح سلع البنك لغزًا أغسطس 11th، 2013

1250-Exchange_Traded_Commoditiesتشعر الجهات المعنية بالقلق إزاء عدم إفصاح البنوك عن أنشطة سوق سلعها. الأب سيموس فين ، OMI يحاور نيابة عن Oblates مع المؤسسات المالية الكبرى مثل غولدمان ساكس وجيه بي مورغان تشيس. ونقلت عنه على نطاق واسع في مقال شيكاغو تريبيون الذي يقوم بعمل جيد لوصف هذه القضية. (اقرأ المقال)

بدافع التصميم على الاستثمار بطريقة واعية اجتماعيًا ، كانت مجموعة Finn تشعر بالقلق إزاء أنشطة السلع الأساسية للبنوك منذ عام 2008 ، عندما تسبب ارتفاع في الطاقة والمنتجات الزراعية في أعمال شغب بسبب الغذاء في إفريقيا. القضية هي ما إذا كانت الأنشطة التجارية للبنوك تؤدي بشكل مصطنع إلى ارتفاع أسعار المواد الغذائية. ... بينما يُطلب من أكبر البنوك في البلاد الإفصاح عن أنشطتها في بعض الأعمال التجارية التي تواجه المستهلك مثل الرهون العقارية ، لا يوجد شرط مماثل لهم للقيام بذلك من ناحية السلع. "

 

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace, and Integrity of Creation

A Ministry of the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate

United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » banks


Faith-Based Investors Convince PNC to Stop Financing Mountaintop Mining March 16th, 2015

Copyright Lynn Willis. Photo courtesy of Appalachian Voices. Flight courtesy of Southwings. Used with permission.

Copyright Lynn Willis. Photo courtesy of Appalachian Voices. Flight courtesy of Southwings. Used with permission.

Faith-based investors applauded the decision by PNC Financial Services to stop financing coal company mountaintop removal operations in Appalachia.

The recent announcement by the Pittsburgh-based bank comes after a multi-year effort by members of the Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility (ICCR) to convince bank officials that financing such environmentally damaging operations poses significant financial risks and hastens climate change.

Mountaintop removal mining involves dynamiting the tops of mountains to expose rich coal seams hundreds of feet below ground. The resulting debris is then pushed into adjacent valleys, often blocking important headwater streams.

Lauren Compere, managing director of Boston Common Asset Management, an ICCR partner which led the PNC effort, said conversations with bank officials took place over a four-year period and focused on the role banks can play in transitioning to a low-carbon economy. “When looking at our portfolio, coal mining is one of the red flags. One of the things we talk about with companies more generally is how are we supporting the transition to more sustainable energy sources,” explained Compere, a member of ICCR’s board of directors.

The ICCR effort has focused on the importance of managing risk because financing the coal industry is seen as risky, explained Oblate Father Seamus Finn, Chief of Faith Consistent Investing for the OIP Investment Trust, and ICCR Board Chair, who has been actively engaged with major banks on a variety of issues.

ICCR’s engagement on mountaintop removal mining is part of a broader effort by 80 international institutional investors managing $540 billion in assets to urge 63 banks to disclose their policies and practices related to climate change.

Read the article in Catholic News Service. The story was also picked up in CatholicPhilly.com.

 

 


J.P. Morgan Chase Issues How we do Business Report in Response to Faith-based Shareholders December 19th, 2014

core-values-banks

Members of the Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility welcomed today’s release of JP Morgan Chase’s (JPMC) How we do Business Report. The report was, in large part, issued in response to shareholder pressure as a result of the billions of dollars in fines and penalties the company has faced over the past several years.

The report was largely brought about by shareholders pressing for structural changes as a result of the multiple ethical lapses which resulted in billions of dollars in fines and penalties.

Rev. Séamus Finn, of the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate and Board Chair of ICCR, said, “We welcome the report and look forward to the opportunity to review it in greater detail. The report appropriately acknowledges the lapses in ethical conduct that resulted in significant damage to the company’s reputation and details steps taken to reduce the possibility of such lapses in the future. That their actions have broader, societal repercussions beyond the scope of the company seems also to have been recognized. We are hopeful that management sees the value in this type of self-examination as a bridge to begin to restore trust and confidence between Main Street and Wall Street.”

Read the ICCR press release on the JP Morgan Chase report

 

 


ICCR Shareholders Confront Banks Over Recent Scandals December 20th, 2013

bank90wThe efforts of the Missionary Oblates and other ICCR faith-based shareholders to call the major banks to account in the wake of a flood of legal scandals and regulatory investigations, has won the attention of the media.

An article in the Wall Street Journal’s Market Watch, highlights the shareholder proposals filed by religious shareholder groups with J.P. Morgan Chase & Co. JPM , Bank of America Corp. BAC and Wells Fargo & Co. WFC asking for a report on “business standards”. The proposal says, “We believe shareholders deserve a full report on what the bank has done to end these unethical activities, to rebuild credibility and provide new strong, effective checks and balances within the bank,” the shareholders write in the Wells Fargo proposal, with similar language for the other two banks. “While press releases describe specific settlements or new reforms, the overall picture has not been reported adequately to shareholders.”

Father Seamus Finn, a board member of ICCR, and a shareholder lead with several of the banks, called the requests “a win-win” for the banks and shareholders, giving them an opportunity to showcase how they’re addressing “the many issues of the day.”

Learn more. Read the WSJ article…


Top US Banks Disappoint in Investor Study November 22nd, 2013

bank90wFive years after the crisis that rocked the financial world, seven leading U.S. banks scored a disappointing 60 or fewer out of 100 possible points in a benchmarking study released today by the Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility (ICCR), which represents 300 faith-based and socially responsible institutional investors with $100 billion in assets under management. The top banks were evaluated in terms of four key shareholder concerns: executive compensation, risk management, responsible lending and investing, and political contributions.

The financial institutions included in the ICCR report are: Goldman Sachs (60, which scored highest on responsible lending and investment and tied for highest on political contribution practices); Bank of New York (59.02, which scored highest on risk management and tied for highest on political contribution practices); JP Morgan Chase (56.5, which tied for highest on political contribution practices); Morgan Stanley (55.40); Bank of America (55.35); Citi (54.90, which tied for highest on political contribution practices): and Wells Fargo (50.73, which scored highest on executive compensation practices.).

You can find the full report on the ICCR website or download directly here.

Rev. Séamus Finn, director, Justice, Peace and Integrity of Creation for the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate and ICCR board vice chair, said: “Five years after the U.S. financial meltdown, some of the banks are beginning to address their risk management protocols, but have much more work to do when it comes to responsible lending and investment. Overall disclosures are also weak, particularly related to both executive compensation and political contributions. What we see in these findings is a somewhat timid group of banks clustered in the average-to-below-average range with no single institution distinguishing itself as a leader for shareholders in the post-financial crisis era.”

Some key takeaways:

Click here to read more »


Mea Minima Culpa October 2nd, 2013

Father-SeamusRev. Seamus P. Finn, OMI has written a new blog on Huffington Post, called  Mea Minima Culpa.

“There is more than a little irony in the long list of stories about the major CEOs of banks negotiating settlements with government regulators and agreeing to fines before going to court to settle…”  Read more….

 


For Nuns and Analysts Alike, Bank Commodity Earnings are a Mystery August 11th, 2013

1250-Exchange_Traded_CommoditiesThe Oblates are concerned about the lack of disclosure by banks of their commodities market activities. Fr. Seamus Finn, OMI dialogs on behalf of the Oblates with major financial institutions like Goldman Sachs and JP Morgan Chase. He was quoted extensively in a Chicago Tribune article that does a good job of describing the issue. (Read the article)

“Driven by a determination to invest in a socially conscious way, Finn’s group has been concerned about banks’ commodities activities since 2008, when a spike in energy and agricultural products caused food riots in Africa. The issue is whether banks’ trading activities artificially drive up food prices. … While the country’s largest banks are required to disclose their activities in some consumer-facing businesses such as mortgages, there is no similar requirement for them to do so on the commodities side.”

 

Return to Top