شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
جديدنا
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

أخبار الأعلاف

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أخبار المحفوظات »الكنيسة الكاثوليكية


الإيمان المجتمع والتعدين الصناعة الانخراط في يوم من المحادثة الشجاعة أكتوبر 23rd، 2015

الاب Seamus في Bishopscourtاتخذت عملية التفاعل بين صناعة التعدين والمجتمع الديني خطوة مختلفة ومبتكرة للغاية في أكتوبر 9th عندما استضاف رئيس أساقفة مدينة كيب تاون ، رئيس الأساقفة ثابو ماكجوبا ، محادثة ركزت على التعدين في جنوب إفريقيا ، وبشكل أكثر تحديدًا على جنوب إفريقيا. وقد سبق هذا الحدث ثلاثة أيام سابقة للتأمل ؛ اثنان استضافهما الفاتيكان من قبل الكاردينال بيتر توركسون ، وواحد في لامبرت في لندن استضافهما رئيس أساقفة كانتربري ورئيس المؤتمر الميثودي البريطاني. تم استمالة المحادثة في لحظات الصلاة التقليدية لـ Evensong and Morning Eucharist. افتُتح الحدث في كاتدرائية القديس جورج الشهيد في وسط مدينة كيب تاون ، وتم الاحتفال بالقداس الإلهي في الكنيسة التاريخية لـ The Good Shepherd Protea ، الواقعة على حافة كريستينبوش وبالقرب من Bishopscourt ، مقر إقامة رئيس الأساقفة.

وكان الهدف من المحادثة الشجاعة هو توفير مساحة آمنة لإجراء فحص متعدد الجوانب للقضايا والفرص والتحديات التي يطرحها التعدين في جنوب أفريقيا ، واستكشاف المبادرات التي يمكن اتخاذها لمعالجة هذه الحقائق.

في كل من الصلوات الافتتاحية وخطابه الافتتاحي ، لم يخجل رئيس الأساقفة ماجوبا من الحقائق القاسية والمؤلمة التي واجهتها الصناعة وتسببت فيها. في الخدمة الافتتاحية تم تقديم الصلاة التالية. قام رئيس الأساقفة بتأليف الصلاة خلال الإضراب الممتد في ماريكانا ، وهو موقع المواجهة الكبرى بين عمال المناجم والشرطة في أغسطس 2012 عندما توفي أشخاص من 40.

كاتدرائية القديس جورج الشهيد

"يا رب نحن لا نزال نحزن ونحزن. ما زلنا نبحث عن الحقيقة الكاملة عن ماريكانا. لا يمكننا قتل وتشويه للحفاظ على عدم المساواة. يا رب ، هناك شيء ما خاطئ في هذا النظام الاقتصادي ونحن نعرفه. قد يشعر الملاك والمستثمرون والمساهمون بالألم والحنين إلى السلام. قد يجد العمال وأصحاب المناجم بعضهم البعض. قد يتم تفادي المزيد من الأذى والألم والقتل ، وقد تخدم السياسة الشعب من أجل السلام.

في خطابه الافتتاحي روى رئيس الأساقفة علاقاته الخاصة مع صناعة التعدين. وتحدث عن كيف سافر والده ، "وزير الكنيسة الداعم للذات" ، كبائع ملابس عبر مدن التعدين غربي جوهانسبرج. كما تحدث عن تجربته الخاصة كطبيب نفساني يعمل مع عمال المناجم الذين عانوا من إصابات في النخاع الشوكي.

واعترف بأن إحدى الخطوات الهامة في يوم من المحادثات الشجاعة هي الاعتراف بأوجه القصور ArchbishopMakgobaوفشل وأورد بعض الطرق التي "فشلت فيها الكنائس في صناعة التعدين". وشملت هذه "كيف التعدين محفوف بالمخاطر هو اقتصاديا" ؛ كيف لم نفهم "تطلعات الأشخاص الذين يرغبون في كسب R12,500 في الشهر (حوالي دولار أمريكي 920) للعمل في ظروف الحرارة الشديدة على التوقفات (قطع المساحات المفتوحة) على بعد كيلومترات في الأرض" ؛ أو "القيود المفروضة على المديرين الذين يواجهون ضغوطاً لا هوادة فيها لتلبية توقعات المساهمين من أجل تحقيق نتائج أفضل كل ثلاثة أشهر".

واقترح أن تكون عملية المحادثة واحدة من "الرثاء بمعنى كتاب الرثاء في العهد القديم" ، حيث نتجاوز التحديق في السرد ونكشف ضعفه ولكن "تعريضه كأداة للقيادة ، لأنك تستطيع يقولون دعونا نمضي قدما معا دون الاعتراف بفشل الماضي ". وأوضح كذلك أن الهدف لهذا اليوم سيتحقق إذا كان كل مشارك يجلب "مخاوفهم ومساهماتهم الفريدة الخاصة في هذه المحادثة ، وما هو ذو أهمية قصوى هو أن كل واحد منا يحاول وضع أنفسنا في حذاء أولئك الذين نحن في حوار ".

وأدرج رئيس الأساقفة ماكغوبا الشواغل التالية التي كانت في ذهنه: قضايا الصحة والسلامة المتعلقة بالألغام ، والتدهور البيئي ، والتماسك الاجتماعي ، وتفاوت الثروات. ودعا العمال إلى النظر في نماذج للعمل بالاشتراك مع الإدارة وطلب من الإدارة "النظر في التباين الهائل بين الأجر التنفيذي وتلك الخاصة بالعمال".

SouthAfricaMining

خلال سلسلة من النقاشات والنقاشات الجماعية الصغيرة ، تابع المشاركون في 30 Plus نصيحة رئيس الأساقفة وكانوا صريحين ومتفهمين في ملاحظاتهم وفي استماعهم. من بين القضايا الإضافية التي أثيرت كانت المخاوف بشأن "الثروات الجماعية وعدم المساواة في الدخل" ؛ عدم كفاية نسبة الأرباح التي يتم إعادتها إلى مجتمعات مواقع الألغام المحلية ؛ ودور الحكومة وفقدان صوتهم في المحادثة (تداخل الحدث مع المؤتمر السنوي للحزب الحاكم). وشملت الأسئلة التي أثيرت للنظر فيها والعمل الأدوار والمنابر النبوية والخيالية للكنائس. دور للكنيسة في إدارة الصراع عندما ينشأ بين الأطراف ؛ "عندما تكون الأرباح المفرطة غير أخلاقية" ؛ زيادة الشفافية من جانب الصناعة ، وخاصة مع المجتمعات المحلية ؛ ووضع مجموعة متفق عليها من مبادئ أفضل الممارسات لمشاركة المجتمع.

اختتم اليوم مع عدد من التعهدات للعمل وعرضها وقبولها من قبل كل من الصناعة والكنيسة. احتضنت هذه المشاريع المحددة للغاية في المستويات المحلية لمجتمع المناجم ، فضلا عن تطوير معهد قوي قادر على العمل كمورد وحياد محايد للتصارع مع العديد من القضايا التي لا يمكن تحديدها إلا وبحثها لفترة وجيزة خلال النهار. . وشمل ذلك القضايا والاهتمامات التي تكون محلية وفورية للغاية ، فضلاً عن القضايا الشاملة الشاملة للعمل ، والطاقة ، والتكنولوجيا والبيئة الموجودة في المجتمعات في جميع أنحاء البلاد والعالم.


تعقد ورشة عمل مقبرة حول Laudato Si التبادلية للمجتمع من أصل اسباني أكتوبر شنومكسند، شنومكس

هذا الاسبوع Chava Gonzalez، OMI of the Shrine of Our Lady of the Snows in Belleviile، IL led ورشة عمل حول أحدث مطبوعات البابا فرانسيس Laudato سي. هذه الورشة واحدة في 4-part series وعرضت باللغة الإسبانية لمشاركة المجتمع الإسباني. تم تنظيم المسلسل بعد أن أبدى الأبرشيون اهتمامًا شديدًا بمناقشة الرسالة الدورية التي تركز على البيئة.

FrChavaGonzalesOMI's LaudatoSi

الأب Chava Gonzalez، OMI of the Shrine of Our Lady of the Snows in Belleviile، IL (front) with his study group.


دعوة متجددة لإنهاء عقوبة الإعدام. يوليو 21st، 2015

خلال الذكرى السنوية 10th للحملة الكاثوليكية لإنهاء استخدام عقوبة الإعدام ، جدد مؤتمر الولايات المتحدة للأساقفة الكاثوليك الضغط لإنهاء عقوبة الإعدام. مرافقة رسالتهم ، "ثقافة الحياة وعقوبة الموتأصدر المؤتمر الأمريكي للأساقفة الكاثوليك (USCCB) بيانا يقول:

"ومنذ ذلك الوقت ، تم تحقيق مكاسب كبيرة ، حيث أنهت عدة ولايات ، بما في ذلك نيويورك ونيوجيرسي ونيو مكسيكو وإيلينوي وكونيكتيكت وميريلاند وأخيرًا نبراسكا ، استخدام عقوبة الإعدام ، وسنت ولايات أخرى قرارًا بتأجيل تنفيذ العقوبة. كانت أحكام الإعدام عند أدنى مستوى لها منذ إعادة عقوبة الإعدام في 1976".

"يؤكد إيماننا الكاثوليكي تضامننا مع ضحايا الجريمة وعائلاتهم ودعمهم له. نلزم أنفسنا بالسير معهم ونطمئنهم إلى تعاطف الكنيسة ورعايتها ، بما يخدم احتياجاتهم الروحية والجسدية والعاطفية في خضم ألم عميق وخسارة. كما نعترف بالكرامة الإنسانية الأصيلة لأولئك الذين ارتكبوا ضررًا جسيمًا ، مؤكدين أنه حتى عندما يسددون ديونًا للمجتمع ، يجب عليهم أيضًا أن يتقبلوا الرحمة والرحمة.".

البيان الكامل هنا


تنضم المزالق التبشيرية إلى جماعات الإيمان والأعمال والمجموعات الإنسانية لحض الكونغرس على دعم سفارة الولايات المتحدة في كوبا. يوليو 20th، 2015

جميعIMG_1213 انضمت منظمة "مبالغة" إلى أكثر من المنظمات المتنوعة من 28 بما في ذلك المنظمة الشريكة ، مكتب واشنطن في أمريكا اللاتينية (WOLA) في إصدار بيان مشترك حث الكونغرس على دعم إنشاء سفارة أمريكية في كوبا.

يقرأ البيان ، "إن تأسيس السفارات ليس مصادقة على حكومة أجنبية. إنه ببساطة منصة يمكن من خلالها إشراك مسئولين حكوميين في الدولة المضيفة وأعضاء في المجتمع المدني ومجموعات الأعمال. ”

اقرأ البيان هنا: دعم سفارة الولايات المتحدة في كوبا FULL HOUSE و SENATE (1)


تعهد ممثلو الكنيسة بالدفاع عن مناطق أمريكا اللاتينية بالألغام ديسمبر 11th، 2014

بفضل الخدمة الجديدة الكاثوليكية لهذه المادة ، والتي كتبها ليز ألفيس

منجم مفتوحساو باولو (CNS) - اجتمع زعماء مسيحيون من بلدان أمريكا اللاتينية 14 في برازيليا في أوائل ديسمبر لمناقشة سبل الحد من تأثير أنشطة التعدين في مجتمعاتهم ، وخاصة تلوث الأنهار والبحيرات.

"لا يوجد تعدين صناعي واسع النطاق بدون مياه" ، هذا ما قاله الأسقف غيلرمي فيرلانغ من إيبمري ، رئيس لجنة العدالة الاجتماعية والجمعيات الخيرية التابعة للأساقفة البرازيليين. لكن الأساقفة يقولون إن المواد المستخدمة في استخراج المعادن تلوث المياه الجوفية والأنهار والبحيرات في مناطق التعدين.

"لقد ثبت أن هذه المواد السامة ستبقى في التربة وفي الماء خلال قرون عديدة" ، قال الأسقف Werlang.

كان المؤتمر الذي عُقد على مدى ثلاثة أيام ويسمى "الكنيسة والتعدين: خيار الدفاع عن المجتمعات والأقاليم" ، هو الأول من نوعه في المنطقة. وحظي المؤتمر بدعم من مؤتمر الأساقفة البرازيلي ومشاركة مجلس الكنائس الأمريكي اللاتيني كما بحث المشاركون في برنامج 90 في تحديد استراتيجيات وتحالفات للحد من تأثير أنشطة التعدين.

"ناقشنا التهديدات والتحديات وعدم الأمان التي تعانيها المجتمعات المحلية والأصلية في جميع أنحاء أمريكا اللاتينية حيث تعمل شركات التعدين" ، قال مفلس الأب سيموس فين من وزارة العدل والسلام ونزاهة إنشاء الخلق في واشنطن.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


اجتماع وزارة الشؤون الاجتماعية الكاثوليكية ، فبراير 2-5 6 يناير، 2014

csmg-مونتاج-2سينعكس اجتماع وزارة الشؤون الاجتماعية الكاثوليكية في واشنطن العاصمة على رؤية البابا فرانسيس "أن تصبح" كنيسة فقيرة ومن أجل الفقراء ". ومن المقرر أن يُعقد هذا التجمع في شهر فبراير في 2014-2 في فندق Omni-Shoreham. لا يزال هناك وقت للتسجيل إذا كنت ترغب في الحضور.

لقد طور المنظمون في USCCB برنامجًا مثيرًا حول موضوع يستلهم أفكار ورؤى البابا فرانسيس: أن تصبح "كنيسة فقيرة ومن أجل الفقراء".

يتم إغلاق التسجيل عبر الإنترنت يوم الجمعة ، يناير 24 ، 2014.

لمزيد من المعلومات والتسجيل ، يرجى زيارة الموقع USCCB…

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace, and Integrity of Creation

A Ministry of the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate

United States Province

OMI logo

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » catholic church


Faith Community and Mining Industry Engage in a Day of Courageous Conversation October 23rd, 2015

Fr Seamus in BishopscourtThe process of engagement between the mining industry and faith community took a very different and innovative step on October 9th when the Anglican Archbishop of Cape Town, Archbishop Thabo Makgoba, hosted a conversation that focused on mining in southern Africa and even more specifically on South Africa. This event was preceded by three previous Days of Reflection; two hosted at the Vatican by Cardinal Peter Turkson, and one at Lambert in London hosted by the archbishop of Canterbury and the President of the British Methodist Conference. The conversation was bathed in the traditional prayer moments of Evensong and Morning Eucharist. The event opened in the cathedral of St George the Martyr in downtown Cape Town and the morning Eucharist was celebrated in the historic church of The Good Shepherd Protea, located at the edge of Kirstenbosch and near Bishopscourt, the residence of the archbishop.

The day of courageous conversation was intended to provide a safe space for a multi-perspective examination of the issues, opportunities and challenges that mining in South Africa presents, and to explore what initiatives might be undertaken to address these realities.

In both the opening prayers and his opening address, Archbishop Magoba did not shy away from the harsh and painful realities that the industry has encountered and caused. In the opening service the following prayer was offered. The archbishop composed the prayer during the protracted strike at Marikana, a site of major confrontation between miners and police in August 2012 when over 40 people died.

Cathedral of St George the Martyr

“Lord we are still mourning and grieving. We are still searching for the full truth about Marikana. We can’t kill and maim to sustain inequality. Lord, there is something amiss in this economic system and we know it. May owners, investors and shareholders feel the pain and longing for peace. May workers and mine owners find one another. May further hurt, pain and killings be averted, and may politics serve the people for the sake of peace.

 

In his opening address the archbishop recounted his own connections with the mining industry. He talked about how his father, “a self-supporting church minister”, traveled as a clothing salesman through the mining towns west of Johannesburg. He also spoke of his own experience as a psychologist working with miners who had suffered spinal cord injuries.

He recognized that one of the important steps in a day of courageous conversations is the recognition of shortcomings ArchbishopMakgobaand failures and he listed some of the ways in which the “churches have failed the mining industry”. These included “how risky mining is economically”; how we have not understood “the aspirations of people who want to earn R12,500 a month (about $920 US dollars) for working in conditions of extreme heat on stopes (cut out open spaces) lying kilometers down in the earth”; or the “constraints on managers facing the relentless pressure of meeting shareholders’ expectations for better results every quarter”.

He suggested that the process for the conversation be one “of lamentation in the sense of the Book of Lamentations in the Old Testament,” where we move beyond navel gazing and exposing one’s vulnerability but “exposing it as a tool for leadership, because you can’t say let us move forward together without acknowledging the failures of the past”. He further explained that the objective for the day would be achieved if each participant brings “their own unique concerns and contributions to this conversation, and what is of overriding importance is that each one of us tries to put ourselves in the shoes of those with whom we are in dialogue”.

Archbishop Makgoba listed the following concerns that were on his mind: mine health and safety issues, environmental degradation, social cohesion and wealth disparity. He called on labor to look at models for working jointly with management and asked management to “look at the huge disparity between executive pay and that of workers”.

SouthAfricaMining

Throughout a series of panels and small group discussions, the 30 plus participants followed the advice of the archbishop and were frank and attentive in their remarks and in their listening. Among the additional issues raised were concerns about “collective wealth and income inequality”; the inadequacy of the percentage of profits that are returned to local mine site communities; and the role of government and the loss of their voice in the conversation (the event overlapped with the annual convention of the ruling party). Questions raised for consideration and action included the prophetic and imaginative roles and platforms of the churches; a role for the church in managing conflict when it arises between parties; “when are excessive profits immoral”; increased transparency by the industry, especially with local communities; and development of an agreed upon set of best practice principles for community engagement.

The day concluded with a number of pledges for action being offered and accepted by both industry and the church. These embraced very specific projects at local mine site community levels, as well as developing a strong capable institute that could serve as an impartial resource and party to wrestle with many of the issues that could only be identified and briefly considered during the course of the day. This included issues and concerns that are very local and immediate, as well as the broader cross cutting issues of employment, energy, technology and environment that are present in communities across the country and the world.


Oblate Shrine hold workshop on Encyclical Laudato Si for Hispanic Community October 22nd, 2015

This week Fr. Chava Gonzalez, OMI of the Shrine of Our Lady of the Snows in Belleviile, IL led a workshop on Pope Francis’ latest encyclical Laudato Si. This workshop is one in a 4-part series and offered in Spanish for participation by the Hispanic community. The series was organized after parishioners expressed strong interest in discussing the encyclical, which focuses on the environment.

FrChavaGonzalesOMI's LaudatoSi

Fr. Chava Gonzalez, OMI of the Shrine of Our Lady of the Snows in Belleviile, IL (front) with his study group.

 

 

 

 


Renewed Call to End the Death Penalty. July 21st, 2015

During the 10th Anniversary of Catholic Campaign to End the Use of the Death Penalty, United States Conference of Catholic Bishops renewed push to end the death penalty. Accompanying their message, “A Culture of Life and the Penalty of Death, U.S. Conference of Catholic Bishops (USCCB) issued a statement saying,

Since that time, significant gains have been made, several states, including New York, New Jersey, New Mexico, Illinois, Connecticut, Maryland and most recently Nebraska, have ended the use of the death penalty, and other states have enacted moratoria. Death sentences are at their lowest level since the reinstatement of the death penalty in 1976.”

“Our Catholic faith affirms our solidarity with and support for victims of crime and their families. We commit ourselves to walk with them and assure them of the Church’s compassion and care, ministering to their spiritual, physical and emotional needs in the midst of deep pain and loss. We also acknowledge the inherent human dignity of those who have committed grave harm, affirming that, even as they repay a debt to society, they too should receive compassion and mercy.”

Full statement here


Missionary Oblates join faith,business & human right groups to urge Congress to Support U.S. Embassy in Cuba. July 20th, 2015

TheIMG_1213 Missionary Oblates joined more than 28 diverse organizations including our partner organization,Washington Office on Latin America (WOLA) in issuing a joint statement urging Congress to support the establishment of a U.S. embassy in Cuba.

The statement reads, “The establishment of embassies is not an endorsement of a foreign government. It is simply a platform from which to engage host country government officials, members of civil society and business groups.”

Read the statement here: Support for a US Embassy in Cuba FULL HOUSE and SENATE (1)


Church representatives vow to defend Latin American areas with mines December 11th, 2014

Thanks to Catholic New Service for this article, which was written by Lise Alves 

open-pit-mineSAO PAULO (CNS) — Christian leaders from 14 Latin American countries gathered in Brasilia in early December to discuss ways to reduce the impact of mining activities in their communities, especially the contamination of rivers and lakes.

“There is no large-scale industrial mining without water,” said Bishop Guilherme Werlang of Ipameri, president of the Brazilian bishops’ social justice and charity commission. But the bishops say materials used in mineral extraction contaminate groundwater, rivers and lakes in mining regions.

“It has been proven that these toxic materials will remain in the soil and in the water during many centuries,” said Bishop Werlang.

A three-day conference dubbed “Church and Mining: An Option in Defense of Communities and Territories,” was the first of its kind in the region. The conference had the support of the Brazilian bishops’ conference and the participation of the Latin American Council of Churches as about 90 participants tried to define strategies and alliances to reduce the impact of mining activities.

“We discussed the threats, challenges and insecurities that local and indigenous communities throughout Latin America are experiencing where mining companies are operating,” said Oblate Father Seamus Finn of the Oblates’ Washington-based Justice, Peace and Integrity of Creation Ministry.

Click here to read more »


Catholic Social Ministry Gathering, Feb. 2-5 January 6th, 2014

csmg-montage-2The 2014 Catholic Social Ministry Gathering in Washington, DC, will reflect on Pope Francis’ vision of Becoming “a Church that is Poor and for the Poor.” The gathering is scheduled for February 2-5 at the Omni-Shoreham Hotel. There is still time to register if you want to attend.

The organizers at the USCCB have developed an exciting program around a theme that takes its inspiration from the words and vision of Pope Francis: Becoming “a Church that is Poor and for the Poor”.

Online registration closes on Friday, January 24, 2014.

For more information and to register, visit the USCCB website…

 

Return to Top