شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر  الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
المدونة
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

آخر الأخبار

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث مقاطع الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الاخبار »الفحم


تقرير JPIC Fall / Winter 2014 Issue Now Available On-Line 17 سبتمبر، 2014

JPIC-تقرير-شعارأصبح الإصدار 2014 لتقرير JPIC في الخريف / الشتاء متاحًا الآن كملف PDF. وستتوفر قريبًا في شكل مطبوع.

يرجى الاتصال بـ Mary O'Herron في مكتب JPIC إذا كنت ترغب في إضافتك إلى القائمة البريدية.

يمكنك العثور على جميع مشكلات تقرير JPIC على موقع الويب هذا في قسم الموارد. (قم بتنزيل ملف PDF لأحدث إصدار)

 


يربط الأسقف الأمريكي العدالة البيئية بقضية مؤيدة للحياة نوفمبر 17th، 2011

قال رئيس لجنة الأساقفة الأمريكيين للعدالة المحلية إن الهواء النظيف وحماية البيئة يجب أن يكونا مخاوف جدية داخل الحركة المؤيدة للحياة.

"من الصعب تخيل موقف يوضح بوضوح هذه العلاقة بين البيئة وقضايا الحياة كتأثير الزئبق وغيره من تلوث الهواء السام على صحة الأطفال" ، هذا ما قاله المطران ستيفن بايير ، من ستوكتون ، كاليفورنيا ، الذي يرأس لجنة الأساقفة الأمريكيين حول العدل المنزلي والتنمية البشرية.

"الأطفال ، داخل وخارج الرحم ، هم عرضة بشكل فريد للمخاطر البيئية والتعرض للملوثات السامة في البيئة".

قراءة مقال وكالة الأنباء الكاثوليكية ...

 


البنك الدولي يوافق على قرض بقيمة 3 مليار دولار لمصنع الفحم المثير للجدل في جنوب إفريقيا 12 أبريل، 2010

في أبريل / نيسان 8th 2010 ، وافق البنك الدولي على قرض مثير للجدل بقيمة مليار دولار مقابل محطة لتوليد الطاقة من الفحم إلى ESKOM ، شركة الكهرباء المملوكة للدولة في جنوب أفريقيا ، على الرغم من المخاوف الجدية من المنظمات البيئية والجماعة الدينية. امتنعت الولايات المتحدة وبريطانيا والنرويج وإيطاليا وهولندا عن التصويت على قرض الفحم بسبب المخاوف البيئية غير المحسومة والآثار الاقتصادية على المجتمعات المحلية.

أيدت أكثر من منظمات 200 في جميع أنحاء العالم نقدًا للقرض قائلاً إنه سيكون عبئًا على الفقراء الذين سيرون على الأرجح فواتيرهم المنزلية ، بينما ستستمر الشركات الاستخراجية الدولية في تلقي الطاقة المدعومة بسبب اتفاقيات التسعير الخاصة مع Eskom

Eskom هي رابع أكبر شركة للطاقة في العالم وأكبر مصدر لانبعاثات الكربون في إفريقيا ، وتمثل 40٪ من إجمالي انبعاثات جنوب إفريقيا. أثار القرض مخاوف بيئية خطيرة مثل التلوث وانبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري ، وأثار تساؤلات حول التزام البنك الدولي بمصادر الطاقة المتجددة.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace & Integrity of Creation

Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate  United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » coal


JPIC Report Fall/Winter 2014 Issue Now Available On-Line September 17th, 2014

JPIC-Report-logoThe Fall/Winter 2014 issue of JPIC Report is now available on line as a PDF. It will soon be available in print form.

Please contact Mary O’Herron in the JPIC Office if you want to be added to the mailing list.

You can find all issues of JPIC Report on this website in the Resources section. (Download a PDF of the latest issue)

 


US bishop links environmental justice with pro-life cause November 17th, 2011

The U.S. bishops’ committee leader on domestic justice said that clean air and environmental stewardship should be serious concerns within the pro-life movement.

“It is hard to imagine a situation that so clearly illustrates this link between the environment and life issues as the impact of mercury and other toxic air pollution on children’s health,” said Bishop Stephen E. Blaire of Stockton, Calif., who heads the U.S. bishops’ Committee on Domestic Justice and Human Development.

“Children, inside and outside the womb, are uniquely vulnerable to environmental hazards and exposure to toxic pollutants in the environment.”

Read the Catholic News Agency article…

 


World Bank Approves $3 Billion Loan for Controversial Coal Plant in South Africa April 12th, 2010

On April 8th 2010, the World Bank approved a controversial $ 3 billion loan for a coal-fired power station to ESKOM, the South Africa-based, state owned electricity utility, despite serious concerns from environmental organizations and the faith community. United States, Britain and Norway, Italy and the Netherlands abstained from voting for the coal loan due to unresolved environmental concerns and economic impacts on local communities.

More than 200 organizations across the world have endorsed a critique of the loan saying it will be a burden to poor people who will likely see their household bills increase, while international extractive corporations will continue to receive subsidized energy due to special pricing agreements with Eskom

Eskom is the world’s fourth-largest power company and Africa’s largest carbon emitter, and accounts for 40% of South Africa’s total emissions. The loan raised serious environmental concerns such as pollution and greenhouse gas emissions, and raised questions about the World Bank’s commitment to renewable energy sources.

Click here to read more »

Return to Top