شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر  الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
المدونة
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

آخر الأخبار

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث مقاطع الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيفات الأخبار »حماية المستهلك


المستثمرون قلقون من تدخل مجلس الشيوخ مع قواعد دود فرانك بشأن المشتقات يوليو 11th، 2013

أحجار الدومينو التي تقعأرسل ثمانية وثلاثون مستثمرًا مؤسّسيًا على أساس ديني ومسؤول اجتماعيًا رسالة إلى أعضاء مجلس الشيوخ الذين طلبوا مؤخرًا من وزير الخزانة جاكوب ليو تأجيل تنفيذ لوائح Dodd-Frank للمشتقات المهمة. نظّم القس سيموس فين ، OMI (التبشيري مبان مريم الطاهرة ، ومدير مجلس إدارة مركز الأديان المعني بمسؤولية الشركات) الرسالة ، التي أعربت عن استيائها وخيبة أملها في عمل أعضاء مجلس الشيوخ.

اقرأ الرسالة (تنزيل PDF) ...

من الأهمية بمكان أن يتم تنظيم سوق المشتقات التي لا تحتاج إلى وصفة طبية ، وقريباً. تعتبر المشتقات أدوات مالية معقدة تستخدم للتحوط من المخاطر ، وكانت مسؤولة إلى حد كبير عن الأزمة المالية لـ 2008.

في الفترة التي سبقت عام 2008 ، قامت المؤسسات المالية الكبيرة بشراء وبيع تريليونات الدولارات من الأدوات المشتقة خارج البورصة المرتبطة بسندات الرهن العقاري عالية المخاطر ، والتي من شأنها أن تؤدي إلى دفع تعويضات في حالة التخلف عن السداد. "هذا النوع المعين من مشتقات OTC ، والمعروف باسم مقايضة التخلف عن السداد (CDS) ، أثار أزمة الرهن العقاري وأزمة الائتمان والأزمة الاقتصادية اللاحقة من خلال تقديم" تأمين "مزعوم للأشخاص الذين يستثمرون في الأوراق المالية عالية المخاطر. أدى هذا التأمين إلى زيادة المخاطرة والطلب والتوسع في سوق الرهن العقاري ". (المرجع: دور المشتقات في الأزمة المالية ، موقع جامعة ولاية MD)

 


مساعدة في مكافحة الجوع في العالم هذا عيد الشكر نوفمبر شنومكرد، شنومكس

إليك شيئين مهمين يمكنك القيام بهما أثناء عطلة عيد الشكر للمساعدة في محاربة الجوع في العالم:

1) اتخذ إجراءات لمواجهة الوجود الهائل لأعضاء جماعات الضغط في وول ستريت في واشنطن الذين يعملون لضمان أرباحهم على حساب الناس - اتصل بأعضاء مجلس الشيوخ واطلب منهم منع المضاربة المفرطة في أسواق السلع.

في الوقت الذي نتوقف فيه عن تذكر كيف نشكر نحن على الطعام على أطباقنا ، دعنا نساعد على التأكد من أن هذا هو حقيقة للناس في كل مكان. في 2008 ، أدت فقاعات الأسعار في أسعار المواد الغذائية والطاقة إلى إنتاج 4 بنزين في الولايات المتحدة وأجبرت سكان 130 في جميع أنحاء العالم على الجوع ، وفقًا للأمم المتحدة. كان أحد العوامل المهمة وراء هذه الفقاعات السعرية هو المضاربة المفرطة في أسواق السلع الغذائية والطاقة.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


حث عضو مجلس الشيوخ الخاص بالتصويت من أجل الإصلاح المالي القوي وحماية المستهلك 11 فبراير، 2010

يجادل جيم واليس من مجلة Sojourners Magazine بقوة بأن الوقت قد حان للضغط على أعضاء مجلس الشيوخ للتصويت لصالح إصلاح مالي قوي وحماية المستهلك. من خلال التدوين حول مقابلة مع إليزابيث وارين ، الخبيرة الاقتصادية بجامعة هارفارد ورئيسة لجنة الرقابة التابعة للكونغرس في تارب ، تعبر واليس عن قلقها العميق بشأن الافتقار إلى التنظيم على القطاع المالي. كما يكتب ، "إنها تطرح قضية الإصلاح العاجلة من خلال التحليل المقنع لخبير اقتصادي رفيع المستوى ، والقيم العائلية للجدة ، والحجج الأخلاقية لشخص مؤمن."

قراءة مدونة واليس في مقابلته مع إليزابيث وارين ...


لماذا نحتاج إلى مراقب المستهلك 19 يناير، 2010

20090617_financial_regulations_plan_18لدى الأمريكيون للإصلاح المالي فيديو جيد عن سبب أهمية وكالة مراقبة المستهلك في أمننا المالي.

شاهد الفيديو ...


ديسمبر تنبيه للعمل - دعونا نتجنب الانهيار الآخر! ديسمبر شنومكرد، شنومكس

wallbullاتخاذ إجراءات لحماية الناس والكوكب

    - دعم إنشاء جهاز حماية المستهلك المالي
    - انضم إلى الدعوة لإصلاح المشتقات
    - قرع أجراس كنيستك - أرسل رسالة إلى كوبنهاغن!

      تعرف على المزيد واتخذ إجراءً - انقر هنا للحصول على تنبيه العمل لشهر ديسمبر

      العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace, and Integrity of Creation

A Ministry of the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate

United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » consumer protection


Investors Alarmed by Senate Interference with Dodd-Frank Rules on Derivatives July 11th, 2013

dominos-fallingThirty-eight faith-based and socially responsible institutional investors sent a letter to Senators who recently asked Treasury Secretary Jacob Lew to delay the implementation of important Dodd-Frank derivatives regulations. The Rev. Seamus Finn, OMI (Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate, and Board Director, the Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility) organized the letter, which expressed dismay and disappointment at the Senators’ action.

Read the letter (download PDF)…

It is vital that the over-the-counter derivatives market be regulated, and soon. Derivatives are complex financial instruments used to hedge risk, and were largely responsible for the 2008 financial crisis.

In the lead up to 2008, large financial institutions bought and sold trillions of dollars worth of over-the-counter derivative instruments linked to subprime mortgage securities, which instruments would trigger a payout in the event of default. “This particular type of OTC derivative, known as a credit default swap (CDS), fomented the mortgage crisis and subsequent credit and economic crisis by offering purported “insurance” to people investing in subprime securities. This insurance fueled excessive risk-taking, demand, and expansion of the subprime market.” (Ref.: The Role of Derivatives in the Financial Crisis, Univ. of MD website)

 


Help Fight World Hunger This Thanksgiving November 23rd, 2010

Here are two important things to do during your Thanksgiving holiday to help fight world hunger:

1) Take action to counteract the massive presence of Wall Street lobbyists in Washington working to insure their profits at the expense of people – call your Senators and ask them to prevent excessive speculation in commodity markets.

At a time when we stop to remember how thankful we are for food on our plates, let’s help make sure that this is a reality for people everywhere. In 2008, price bubbles in food and energy prices led to $4 gasoline in the U.S. and forced over 130 million people world-wide to go hungry, according to the UN. An important factor behind those price bubbles was excessive speculation in the food and energy commodity markets.

Click here to read more »


Urge Your Senator to Vote for Strong Financial Reform and Consumer Protections February 11th, 2010

Jim Wallis of Sojourners Magazine argues forcefully that now is the time to press our Senators to vote for strong financial reform and consumer protections. Blogging about an interview with Elizabeth Warren, the Harvard economist who is Chair of the TARP Congressional Oversight Panel, Wallis conveys her deep concern about the lack of regulation over the financial sector.  As he writes, “She makes the urgent case for reform with the compelling analysis of a top economist, the family values of a grandmother, and the moral arguments of a person of faith.”

Read Wallis’ blog on his interview with Elizabeth Warren…


Why We Need a Consumer Watchdog January 19th, 2010

20090617_financial_regulations_plan_18Americans for Financial Reform have a good video on why a consumer watchdog agency is so essential to our financial security.

Watch the Video…


December Action Alert – Let’s Avoid Another Meltdown! December 3rd, 2009

wallbullTake Action to Protect People and the Planet

    – Support Creation of a Consumer Financial Protection Agency
    – Join the Call for Derivatives Reform
    – Ring Your Church Bells – Send a Message to Copenhagen!

      Learn more and take action – click here for our December Action Alert

      Return to Top