شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر  الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
المدونة
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

آخر الأخبار

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث مقاطع الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الأخبار »قانون دود فرانك لإصلاح وول ستريت وحماية المستهلك


المستثمرون قلقون من تدخل مجلس الشيوخ مع قواعد دود فرانك بشأن المشتقات يوليو 11th، 2013

أحجار الدومينو التي تقعأرسل ثمانية وثلاثون مستثمرًا مؤسّسيًا على أساس ديني ومسؤول اجتماعيًا رسالة إلى أعضاء مجلس الشيوخ الذين طلبوا مؤخرًا من وزير الخزانة جاكوب ليو تأجيل تنفيذ لوائح Dodd-Frank للمشتقات المهمة. نظّم القس سيموس فين ، OMI (التبشيري مبان مريم الطاهرة ، ومدير مجلس إدارة مركز الأديان المعني بمسؤولية الشركات) الرسالة ، التي أعربت عن استيائها وخيبة أملها في عمل أعضاء مجلس الشيوخ.

اقرأ الرسالة (تنزيل PDF) ...

من الأهمية بمكان أن يتم تنظيم سوق المشتقات التي لا تحتاج إلى وصفة طبية ، وقريباً. تعتبر المشتقات أدوات مالية معقدة تستخدم للتحوط من المخاطر ، وكانت مسؤولة إلى حد كبير عن الأزمة المالية لـ 2008.

في الفترة التي سبقت عام 2008 ، قامت المؤسسات المالية الكبيرة بشراء وبيع تريليونات الدولارات من الأدوات المشتقة خارج البورصة المرتبطة بسندات الرهن العقاري عالية المخاطر ، والتي من شأنها أن تؤدي إلى دفع تعويضات في حالة التخلف عن السداد. "هذا النوع المعين من مشتقات OTC ، والمعروف باسم مقايضة التخلف عن السداد (CDS) ، أثار أزمة الرهن العقاري وأزمة الائتمان والأزمة الاقتصادية اللاحقة من خلال تقديم" تأمين "مزعوم للأشخاص الذين يستثمرون في الأوراق المالية عالية المخاطر. أدى هذا التأمين إلى زيادة المخاطرة والطلب والتوسع في سوق الرهن العقاري ". (المرجع: دور المشتقات في الأزمة المالية ، موقع جامعة ولاية MD)

 


دعم المستثمرين تنازع القاعدة المعدنية يونيو 3rd، 2013

نسخة fivestebrrocessانضم المبشّر إلى المكتبات الاستهلاكية الأخرى في دعم قانون أمريكي يهدف إلى منع التجارة في معادن الصراع من جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية. ال بيان المستثمرين دعم القاعدة النهائية من المجلس الأعلى للتعليم في القسم 1502 من قانون دود-فرانك يقول: "نظراً لأن النزاع الطويل الأمد في جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية أودى بحياة أكثر من خمسة ملايين شخص وساهم في انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان الفاضحة مثل الاغتصاب والجنود الأطفال والعبيد نحن نؤمن بأن على الشركات الكشف عن استخدامها لمعادن النزاع ".

رفعت بعض الشركات المصنعة وجمعيات الأعمال دعوى قضائية ضد لجنة الأوراق المالية والبورصة (SEC) في قاعدة 1502 للقسم.

أعرف أكثر…


Oblates انضم إلى مجموعة أصحاب المصلحة المتعددين المعارضة لتحدي الصناعة لقاعدة تنازع المعادن نوفمبر 19th، 2012

انضم مكتب المبشرين مكتب JPIC إلى مجموعة متعددة أصحاب المصلحة (MSG) في بيان بشأن التحدي الأخير للقسم 1502 من مشروع قانون دود فرانك الذي يركز على معادن الصراع.

تتكون المنظمات في MSG من مستثمرين يعتمدون على الدين ، ومجموعات إدارة الأصول ، والشركات الكبرى ، والمنظمات غير الحكومية. والهدف هو إعادة التأكيد على الالتزام بالقضاء على الصلة بين العنف وانتهاكات حقوق الإنسان في جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية ، في مواجهة الالتماس الذي قدمته مؤخرا ثلاث جمعيات تجارية في واشنطن العاصمة.

وتوافق مجموعة أصحاب المصلحة المتعددين على أن جزءًا هامًا من الحل لإنهاء العنف في المنطقة هو عملية مسئولية للموارد المعدنية ، ويتعهد بمواصلة العمل نحو تحقيق هذا الهدف.

بيان أصحاب المصلحة المتعددين هنا.

 


Oblate تدعم JPIC مبادرة الكونغو خالية من النزاعات 28 يونيو، 2011

جمعت ورشة عمل حول سلسلة التوريد لصناعة الاستخراج في يونيو 20th في شمال فيرجينيا أكثر من المشاركين في 80 ، بما في ذلك ممثلين من حكومات وسط أفريقيا ، وصناعة التكنولوجيا العالية ، وشركات التعدين ، والمنظمات غير الحكومية ، والمستثمرين من المعتقدات الدينية ، لمناقشة المصادر المعدنية المسؤولة من أفريقيا. وجاءت شركات Freeport McMoRan و Dell و Microsoft و Advanced Micro Devices و Sony و HP من الشركات الحاضرة. الإيمان كان المستثمرون المسؤولون ومسؤولون اجتماعيا يشملون مركز الأديان المعني بمسؤولية الشركات (ICCR) ، وإدارة الأصول المشتركة في بوسطن ، وإدارة الأصول Trillium وأعضاء التحالف العالمي للكونغو.

نظمت ورشة العمل المبادرة العالمية للاستدامة الإلكترونية (GeSI) وائتلاف الصناعة الإلكترونية (EICC). وبغض النظر عن الفائدة العامة للاجتماع ، فقد أتاح الفرصة لموظفي JPIC للاجتماع مع ممثلي الشركات التي ننخرط في حوارات المساهمين بشأن قضايا الاستدامة.

ركزت مناقشات المائدة المستديرة على مصادر المعادن المسؤولة من جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية ودول وسط أفريقيا المجاورة. المعادن المستخرجة من شرق الكونغو ، ومعظمها من الخامات التي تنتج القصدير ، والتنتالوم ، والتنغستن - 3Ts - ضرورية للأجهزة الإلكترونية التي نستخدمها كل يوم. لسوء الحظ ، ساهمت بعض هذه المعادن في الصراع العنيف في شرق الكونغو.

تم تصميم ورشة عمل GeSI و EICC لتطوير فهم أفضل للقضايا المرتبطة بمعادن النزاع والجهود المبذولة لوقف استخدامها في التصنيع. تناولت المناقشة قانون الإفصاح عن المعادن Dodd-Frank ، و OECD Due Diligence ، وبرنامج EICC-GeSi للصرف الخالي من النزاعات. بعد ورشة العمل ، شارك موظفو JPIC في اجتماع للمستثمرين مع موظفي هيئة الأوراق المالية والبورصات (SEC) حيث ركز النقاش على الحفاظ على الحماية على المصادر ، المصممة لمنع استخدام معادن الصراع ، مكتوبة في قانون دود فرانك .

تعرف على المزيد حول أحكام المعادن الخالية من النزاعات في تشريع دود-فرانك


مساعدة في مكافحة الجوع في العالم هذا عيد الشكر نوفمبر شنومكرد، شنومكس

إليك شيئين مهمين يمكنك القيام بهما أثناء عطلة عيد الشكر للمساعدة في محاربة الجوع في العالم:

1) اتخذ إجراءات لمواجهة الوجود الهائل لأعضاء جماعات الضغط في وول ستريت في واشنطن الذين يعملون لضمان أرباحهم على حساب الناس - اتصل بأعضاء مجلس الشيوخ واطلب منهم منع المضاربة المفرطة في أسواق السلع.

في الوقت الذي نتوقف فيه عن تذكر كيف نشكر نحن على الطعام على أطباقنا ، دعنا نساعد على التأكد من أن هذا هو حقيقة للناس في كل مكان. في 2008 ، أدت فقاعات الأسعار في أسعار المواد الغذائية والطاقة إلى إنتاج 4 بنزين في الولايات المتحدة وأجبرت سكان 130 في جميع أنحاء العالم على الجوع ، وفقًا للأمم المتحدة. كان أحد العوامل المهمة وراء هذه الفقاعات السعرية هو المضاربة المفرطة في أسواق السلع الغذائية والطاقة.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


نصر كبير للكونغو وشفافية الصناعات الاستخراجية في مشروع الإصلاح المالي الأمريكي يوليو 16th، 2010

OUKBS-UK-المالية-التنظيمفي يوليو 15 ، صوت مجلس الشيوخ الأمريكي لصالح 60-39 للموافقة على قانون دود فرانك لإصلاح وول ستريت وحماية المستهلك. من المتوقع أن يوقع الرئيس أوباما على هذا الإجراء ليصبح قانونًا الأسبوع المقبل. في حين أن نص قانون الإصلاح المالي يملأ أكثر من صفحات 2,300 ، فإن العديد من القواعد واللوائح اللازمة لتنفيذها لم تتم كتابتها بعد. من المتوقع أن يستغرق هذا العمل من قبل المنظمين الأمريكيين عدة أشهر ، وربما سنوات.

تضمن التشريع حكما هاما يتطلب من شركات الطاقة والتعدين الكشف عن مقدار ما تدفعه للدول الأجنبية وحكومة الولايات المتحدة من النفط والغاز والمعادن. الحكم ، على أساس أمن الطاقة من خلال قانون الشفافية (S. 1700)، سيتطلب من الشركات المسجلة لدى لجنة الأوراق المالية والبورصات الأمريكية (SEC) الكشف عن المدفوعات للحكومات الأجنبية من أجل التنمية التجارية للنفط والغاز الطبيعي والمعادن. سينطبق هذا الإفصاح على جميع الشركات المودعة لدى هيئة الأوراق المالية والبورصات ، بغض النظر عن مكان وجودها ، مما يعني أن معظم الصناعات الاستخراجية الكبرى في العالم سيغطيها هذا القانون.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace & Integrity of Creation

Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate  United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act


Investors Alarmed by Senate Interference with Dodd-Frank Rules on Derivatives July 11th, 2013

dominos-fallingThirty-eight faith-based and socially responsible institutional investors sent a letter to Senators who recently asked Treasury Secretary Jacob Lew to delay the implementation of important Dodd-Frank derivatives regulations. The Rev. Seamus Finn, OMI (Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate, and Board Director, the Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility) organized the letter, which expressed dismay and disappointment at the Senators’ action.

Read the letter (download PDF)…

It is vital that the over-the-counter derivatives market be regulated, and soon. Derivatives are complex financial instruments used to hedge risk, and were largely responsible for the 2008 financial crisis.

In the lead up to 2008, large financial institutions bought and sold trillions of dollars worth of over-the-counter derivative instruments linked to subprime mortgage securities, which instruments would trigger a payout in the event of default. “This particular type of OTC derivative, known as a credit default swap (CDS), fomented the mortgage crisis and subsequent credit and economic crisis by offering purported “insurance” to people investing in subprime securities. This insurance fueled excessive risk-taking, demand, and expansion of the subprime market.” (Ref.: The Role of Derivatives in the Financial Crisis, Univ. of MD website)

 


Investors Support Conflict Mineral Rule June 3rd, 2013

fivestepprocess copyThe Missionary Oblates JPIC office has joined other investors in supporting a U.S. law aimed at preventing trade in conflict minerals from the Democratic Republic of Congo. The investors statement supporting the final rule by the SEC on Section 1502 of the Dodd-Frank legislation says, “Given that the long standing conflict in the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) has claimed more than five million lives and contributed to egregious human rights abuses such as rape, child soldiers, and slave labor, we believe companies must disclose their use of conflict minerals.”

Some manufacturers and business associations have sued the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) on the Section 1502 rule.

Learn more…


Oblates Join Multi-Stakeholder Group Opposing Industry Challenge to Conflict Minerals Rule November 19th, 2012

The Missionary Oblates JPIC office joined a multi-stakeholder group (MSG) in a statement regarding the recent challenge to Section 1502 of the Dodd-Frank bill that focuses on conflict minerals.

The organizations in the MSG consist of faith based investors, asset management groups, large corporations, and NGOs. The objective is to reiterate the commitment to eliminating the link between violence and human rights abuses in the Democratic Republic of the Congo, in the face of the petition recently filed by three trade associations in Washington, DC.

The MSG agrees that an important part of the solution to ending violence in the region is a responsible mineral sourcing process, and pledges to continue to work toward this goal.

Multi-stakeholder statement here.

 


Oblate JPIC supports Congo Conflict-free Minerals Initiative June 28th, 2011

A workshop on the extractives industry supply chain on June 20th in northern Virginia pulled together more than 80 participants, including representatives from central African governments, the high-tech industry, mining companies, NGOs, and faith based investors, to discuss responsible mineral sourcing from Africa. Freeport McMoRan, Dell, Microsoft, Advanced Micro Devices, Sony and HP were come of the companies attending. Faith Responsible and Socially Responsible investors included the Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility (ICCR), Boston Common Asset Management, Trillium Asset Management and members of the Congo Global Coalition.

The workshop was organized by Global e-Sustainability Initiative (GeSI) and the Electronic Industry Coalition (EICC). Apart from the overall usefulness of the meeting, it provided an opportunity for JPIC staff to meet with representatives of companies whom we engage in shareholder dialogues on sustainability issues.

The roundtable discussions focused on responsible mineral sourcing from the Democratic Republic of Congo and neighboring Central Africa countries. Minerals extracted from eastern Congo, mostly the ores that produce tin, tantalum, tungsten – the 3Ts – are essential to the electronics devices we use every day. Unfortunately, some of these minerals have been contributing to violent conflict in Eastern Congo.

The GeSI and EICC workshop was designed to develop a fuller understanding of the issues associated with conflict minerals and the efforts to stop their use in manufacturing. The discussion addressed the Dodd-Frank conflict minerals disclosure law, OECD Due Diligence and the EICC-GeSi conflict free smelter program. Following the workshop, JPIC staff participated in an investors’ meeting with the Security and Exchange Commission staff (SEC) in which the discussion focused on maintaining the protections on sourcing, designed to prevent the use of conflict minerals, written into the Dodd-Frank legislation.

Learn more about the Conflict-free Minerals provisions in the Dodd-Frank legislation


Help Fight World Hunger This Thanksgiving November 23rd, 2010

Here are two important things to do during your Thanksgiving holiday to help fight world hunger:

1) Take action to counteract the massive presence of Wall Street lobbyists in Washington working to insure their profits at the expense of people – call your Senators and ask them to prevent excessive speculation in commodity markets.

At a time when we stop to remember how thankful we are for food on our plates, let’s help make sure that this is a reality for people everywhere. In 2008, price bubbles in food and energy prices led to $4 gasoline in the U.S. and forced over 130 million people world-wide to go hungry, according to the UN. An important factor behind those price bubbles was excessive speculation in the food and energy commodity markets.

Click here to read more »


A Big Victory for Congo and Extractive Industries Transparency in the US Financial Reform Bill July 16th, 2010

OUKBS-UK-FINANCIAL-REGULATIONOn July 15, the United States Senate voted 60-39 to approve the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act. President Obama is expected to sign the measure into law next week. While the text of the financial reform act fills more than 2,300 pages, the many rules and regulations needed to implement it have not yet been written. This work by U.S. regulators is expected to take months, possibly years.

The legislation included an important provision requiring energy and mining companies to disclose how much they pay to foreign countries and the U.S. government for oil, gas, and minerals. The provision, based on the Energy Security through Transparency Act (S. 1700),  will require companies registered with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) to disclose payments to foreign governments for the commercial development of oil, natural gas, and minerals. This disclosure will apply to all companies filing with the SEC, regardless of where they are based, meaning that most of the world’s top extractive industries would be covered by this law.

Click here to read more »

Return to Top