شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر  الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
المدونة
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

آخر الأخبار

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث مقاطع الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيفات الأخبار »eskom


البنك الدولي يوافق على قرض بقيمة 3 مليار دولار لمصنع الفحم المثير للجدل في جنوب إفريقيا 12 أبريل، 2010

في أبريل / نيسان 8th 2010 ، وافق البنك الدولي على قرض مثير للجدل بقيمة مليار دولار مقابل محطة لتوليد الطاقة من الفحم إلى ESKOM ، شركة الكهرباء المملوكة للدولة في جنوب أفريقيا ، على الرغم من المخاوف الجدية من المنظمات البيئية والجماعة الدينية. امتنعت الولايات المتحدة وبريطانيا والنرويج وإيطاليا وهولندا عن التصويت على قرض الفحم بسبب المخاوف البيئية غير المحسومة والآثار الاقتصادية على المجتمعات المحلية.

أيدت أكثر من منظمات 200 في جميع أنحاء العالم نقدًا للقرض قائلاً إنه سيكون عبئًا على الفقراء الذين سيرون على الأرجح فواتيرهم المنزلية ، بينما ستستمر الشركات الاستخراجية الدولية في تلقي الطاقة المدعومة بسبب اتفاقيات التسعير الخاصة مع Eskom

Eskom هي رابع أكبر شركة للطاقة في العالم وأكبر مصدر لانبعاثات الكربون في إفريقيا ، وتمثل 40٪ من إجمالي انبعاثات جنوب إفريقيا. أثار القرض مخاوف بيئية خطيرة مثل التلوث وانبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري ، وأثار تساؤلات حول التزام البنك الدولي بمصادر الطاقة المتجددة.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace & Integrity of Creation

Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate  United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » eskom


World Bank Approves $3 Billion Loan for Controversial Coal Plant in South Africa April 12th, 2010

On April 8th 2010, the World Bank approved a controversial $ 3 billion loan for a coal-fired power station to ESKOM, the South Africa-based, state owned electricity utility, despite serious concerns from environmental organizations and the faith community. United States, Britain and Norway, Italy and the Netherlands abstained from voting for the coal loan due to unresolved environmental concerns and economic impacts on local communities.

More than 200 organizations across the world have endorsed a critique of the loan saying it will be a burden to poor people who will likely see their household bills increase, while international extractive corporations will continue to receive subsidized energy due to special pricing agreements with Eskom

Eskom is the world’s fourth-largest power company and Africa’s largest carbon emitter, and accounts for 40% of South Africa’s total emissions. The loan raised serious environmental concerns such as pollution and greenhouse gas emissions, and raised questions about the World Bank’s commitment to renewable energy sources.

Click here to read more »

Return to Top