شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر  الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
المدونة
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

آخر الأخبار

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث مقاطع الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الأخبار »صناعة الاستخراج


حدث قادم: حوار حول الأبعاد الأخلاقية للصناعات الاستخراجية يناير 31st، 2018

إن العدل والسلام ونزاهة مكتب الخلق من OMI Lacombe بالشراكة مع قديس
جامعة بول هي يسرنا أن ندعوك لحوار الصباح.

حضور الحدث أو مشاهدته عبر الإنترنت. معلومات التسجيل أدناه.


حيث: جامعة سانت بول ، 223 الشارع الرئيسي ، أوتاوا ، كندا - قاعة Laframboise

الموعد: فبراير 13 ، 2018 - 9: 30am to 12: 00pm EDT

تحت عنوان الأبعاد الأخلاقية للصناعات الاستخراجية في التدريس الاجتماعي الكاثوليكي ، يمثل الحدث فرصة لمناقشة مفتوحة حول Laudato سي يدعو إلى تغيير ممارسات التعدين في الصناعات الحديثة. في حين شجب الانتهاكات on حقوق الانسان والبيئة و نهج غير مستدام وغير مسؤول من القطاعات الاستخراجية الحالية ، وهذا أيضا فرصة ل معا إيجاد بدائل للتغيير وممارسات أفضل.

المتحدثون الضيوف هم:
السيد جيم كوني، محاضر في معهد نورمان ب. كيفيل للهندسة التعدينية في جامعة كولومبيا البريطانية (UBC) ، كندا ؛ من سيتحدث عن التعدين والتنمية المستدامة من Laudato Si ' منظور

Rev. Seamus Finn، OMI، تذكار العمدة من أجل OIP Investment Trust and consultant to the US Province JPIC الذي سيخاطب الأبعاد الأخلاقية الكاثوليكية للصناعات الاستخراجية.

أنت مدعو للانضمام إلى هذا الحدث الهام الذي يهدف إلى تغذية تفكير أولئك الذين يريدون أن يكونوا جزءًا من تحالف كبير من أجل التغيير الاجتماعي.

لحضور الاجتماع في Saint Paul ، يرجى التسجيل هنا.

للبث عبر الإنترنت ، لا حاجة للتسجيل. يمكنك الانضمام مباشرة على فبراير 13 و 2018 - 9: 30am to 12: 00pm EDT بالضغط هنا.

لمزيد من المعلومات حول الحدث أو للتسجيل ، لا تتردد في الاتصال بـ:

فرناندا دي كاسترو - مكتب JPIC
jpic@ustpaul.ca
613-236-1393 ext.2661 ، أو

ليوناردو ريجو OMI
613-236-1393 ext.2660


الانخراط في التأثير مسيرة 2nd، 2015

لماذا يقوم المساهمون ذوو الإيمان بإشراك شركات التعدين؟ 

تمت مقابلة القس سيموس فين ، OMI في الآونة الأخيرة من قبل SUSTAIN ، وهو منشور لمؤسسة التمويل الدولية ، وهي الذراع المقرض للبنك الدولي الذي يركز حصرا على القطاع الخاص. تهتم مؤسسة التمويل الدولية بكيفية إشراك الكنيسة في السنوات الأخيرة في صناعة الاستخراج. الأب شارك الفنلندي بشكل مركزي في الاجتماعات رفيعة المستوى التي دعا إليها الفاتيكان ورئيس أساقفة كانتربري مع رؤساء تنفيذيين في مجال التعدين وممثلي ديانات لمناقشة سبل زيادة احترام حقوق عمليات التعدين وتقليل تأثيرها على المجتمعات المحلية. وهو مدير الاستثمار القائم على الإيمان لصندوق الاستثمار الدولي الراعي (OIP) ، والمدير التنفيذي لمجموعة الاستثمار الدولي بين الأديان (3iG)

بعض الأسئلة المطروحة في المقابلة هي: "لماذا يجب أن تهتم الكنيسة بالمواد الاستخراجية؟" ، "لماذا العدالة الاجتماعية من خلال الاستثمار؟" ، و "هل هناك طريقة لتأمين العدالة المجتمعية؟ هل هو دائمًا ديناميكي أم أن هناك بقعة جميلة؟ "

اقرأ المقال كاملا هنا…

 

 


المسؤولية الاجتماعية للشركات والكنائس 14 مايو، 2012

نشكر شبكة الإيمان والعدالة الأوروبية الإفريقية على المعلومات التالية: 

يطالب الأساقفة بزيادة شفافية الشركة

يحث الأساقفة الكاثوليك الاتحاد الأوروبي للتشريع على الشركات الاستخراجية

في الوقت الذي تحاول فيه مجموعة من الدول الأعضاء في الاتحاد الأوروبي ، بما في ذلك ألمانيا والمملكة المتحدة ، تخفيف تشريع جديد بشأن الشفافية في الاتحاد الأوروبي ، يحث الأساقفة الكاثوليكيون من جميع أنحاء العالم الاتحاد الأوروبي على المضي قدمًا ويطلبون من شركات التعدين غير المدرجة في البورصة والكبيرة المدرجة في الاتحاد الأوروبي أن تكشف علنًا المدفوعات التي تقدمها للحكومات في جميع أنحاء العالم. في بيان مشترك ، يقولون إن القوانين الأقل صرامة ستفشل في تحويل لعنة البلدان النامية الغنية بالموارد إلى نعمة.

معلومات اكثر…

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


آثار معرض التعدين في الأمم المتحدة التي تستضيفها فيفات الدولية 1 مايو، 2012

ستستضيف The مبانٍ مباركة و VIVAT International معرضًا متعدد الوسائط حول تأثيرات عمليات التعدين على الناس والنظم الإيكولوجية في جميع أنحاء العالم في شهر مايو / أيار من 8th في الأمم المتحدة. سيتم عرض هذا المعرض الفريد من 11: 00-3: 00 pm في المصلى في مركز الكنيسة التابع للأمم المتحدة. قد يكون 8th هو اليوم الثاني من المنتدى الدائم المعني بقضايا السكان الأصليين ، موضوعه هو عقيدة الاكتشاف. لقد تمكن منظمو المعرض من التواصل عبر شبكاتهم الإيمانية العالمية للحصول على قصص وصور من المجتمعات المحلية المتأثرة بعمليات التعدين. إذا كنت في نيويورك في أيار 8th ، فيرجى الحضور!

أهداف المعرض تشمل:

  • وإذ يشهد على معاناة الأرض وشعوبها نتيجة لتجاوزات الصناعة الاستخراجية ؛
  • التأكيد على ضرورة معايير الصناعة في منع انتهاكات التعدين ؛ و
  • الكشف عن المقاومة الشجاعة للشعوب في جميع أنحاء العالم لعدم كفاية معايير الصناعة الاستخراجية.

في 2: 30 ، سيكون هناك احتفال خاص بمناسبة دقيقة 15 لأولئك الذين قتلوا في جميع أنحاء العالم نتيجة لمقاومتهم للمجتمع ضد عواقب الصناعة الاستخراجية على مجتمعاتهم.

تفاصيل الحدث (تنزيل ملف PDF)


تطوير بيان عالمي متعدد الأديان عن الصناعات الاستخراجية 27 أبريل، 2012

في أبريل / نيسان انضم كل من 24 و Philippine Bishop Dinualdo Guttierez و DD و Bishop Bejoy D 'Cruze OMI من بنغلاديش إلى موظفي JPIC في حضور مؤتمر يهدف إلى تطوير بيان عالمي متعدد الأديان حول صناعات الاستخراج. عقد الاجتماع في الكاتدرائية الوطنية في واشنطن العاصمة

جاء المشاركون من مجموعات دينية رئيسية ومنظمات دولية غير حكومية رائدة من جميع القارات. وسيعمل بيان عالمي متعدد الأديان بشأن المستخلصات كوثيقة مشتركة يمكن للناس أن يستخدموها عند التعامل مع قضايا الاستخراج. تم بدء الاجتماع وتسهيله من قبل مركز معلومات البنك ومكتب Oblate JPIC.

المشاركون في مؤتمر نيسان 2012 Multifaith للصناعات الاستخراجية


ConocoPhillips يحسن موقف حقوق الإنسان للشركات أغسطس 12th، 2011

قامت ConocoPhillips بتعديل سياسة حقوق الإنسان الخاصة بها لتشمل الاعتراف بحقوق الشعوب الأصلية على النحو المنصوص عليه في إعلانات واتفاقيات الأمم المتحدة. هذا الإجراء ، الذي وافق عليه رئيس ConocoPhillips / الرئيس التنفيذي Jim Mulva وكذلك مجلس الإدارة ، هو إحدى نتائج حوارات المساهمين في ICCR مع الشركة بقيادة ستيفن هايم في Boston Common Asset Management. شارك Oblates في هذا الحوار لعدة سنوات ولا يزال قلقًا عميقًا بشأن تأثيرات نشاط الشركات - لا سيما التنقيب عن النفط والغاز - على الشعوب الأصلية.

يقرأ الآن موقف الشركة من حقوق الشعوب الأصلية:

"يتماشى نهج الشركة في التعامل مع مجتمعات السكان الأصليين ، في المواقع التي يمثلون فيها مجموعة أصحاب مصلحة مهمة لعملياتنا ، مع مبادئ اتفاقية منظمة العمل الدولية رقم 169 ، المتعلقة بالشعوب الأصلية والقبلية ، وإعلان الأمم المتحدة بشأن الحقوق الشعوب الأصلية ".

في شهر مايو من هذا العام ، أعلنت الشركة أنها ستنسحب من مشروع مثير للجدل في شمال بيرو. هدد المشروع قبيلتين غير موصيتين في المنطقة.

اقرأ بيان موقف حقوق الإنسان الخاص بالشركة ...

 

 

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace & Integrity of Creation

Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate  United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » extractives industry


Upcoming Event: Dialogue on Ethical Dimensions of Extractive industries January 31st, 2018

The Justice, Peace, and Integrity of Creation Office of OMI Lacombe in partnership with Saint
Paul University are pleased to invite you to a morning dialogue.

Attend the event or watch it online. Registration information below.


Where: St. Paul University, 223 Main Street, Ottawa, CANADA – Laframboise Hall

When: February 13, 2018 – 9:30am to 12:00pm EDT

Entitled Ethical dimensions of Extractive industries in Catholic Social Teaching, the event is an opportunity for open discussion about Laudato Si’s calls for change in the mining practices of modern industries. While denouncing the violations on human rights, environment and the non-sustainable and irresponsible approach of current extractive sectors, this is also an opportunity to together find alternatives for change and better practices.

Guest speakers are:
Mr. Jim Cooney, Lecturer at the Norman B. Keevil Institute of Mining Engineering at the University of British Columbia (UBC), Canada; who will be talking about Mining and sustainable development from a Laudato Si’ perspective

Rev. Seamus Finn, OMI, Chief for the OIP Investment Trust and consultant to the US Province JPIC office, who will be addressing the Catholic Ethical dimensions of Extractive industries.

You are invited to join this important event which aims to feed the thinking of those who want to be part of a grand coalition for social change.

To attend the meeting at Saint Paul, please register here.

For online streaming, no registration is needed. You can join live on February 13, 2018 – 9:30am to 12:00pm EDT by clicking here.

For more information about the event or to register, please feel free to contact:

Fernanda de Castro – JPIC Office
jpic@ustpaul.ca
613-236-1393 ext.2661, or

Leonardo Rego OMI
613-236-1393 ext.2660


Engaging for Impact March 2nd, 2015

Why Do Faith-based Shareholders Engage Mining Companies? 

The Rev. Seamus Finn, OMI was interviewed recently by SUSTAIN, a publication of the International Finance Corporation, a lending arm of the World Bank that focuses exclusively on the private sector. The IFC is interested in how the Church has engaged in recent years with the extractives industry. Fr. Finn has been centrally involved in high-level meetings called by the Vatican and the Archbishop of Canterbury with mining CEOs and faith-based representatives to discuss ways to increase respect for the rights of, and lessen the impact of mining operations, on local communities. He is Director of Faith-Based Investing for the Oblate International Pastoral (OIP) Investment Trust, and Executive Director of the International Interfaith Investment Group (3iG)

Some of the questions asked in the interview are: “Why should the church care about extractives?”, “Why social justice through investment?”, and “Is there a way to secure societal fairness? Is it always a dynamic or is there a sweet spot?”

Read the full article here…

 

 


Corporate Social Responsibility and the Churches May 14th, 2012

Thanks to the European Africa Faith & Justice Network for the following information: 

Bishops call for increased corporate transparency

Catholic bishops urge the European Union to legislate on extractive companies

While a group of EU member states, including Germany and the UK, are attempting to water down new EU transparency legislation, Catholic bishops from around the world urge the EU to push forward and require European Union-listed and large unlisted extractive companies to publicly disclose the payments they make to governments worldwide. In a joint statement, they say less stringent laws will fail to turn the curse of resource-rich developing countries into a blessing.

More information…

Click here to read more »


Impacts of Mining Exhibit at the UN hosted by VIVAT International May 1st, 2012

The Missionary Oblates and VIVAT International will host a multi-media exhibit on the impacts of mining operations on people and ecosystems around the world on May 8th at the United Nations. This unique exhibit will be up for viewing from 11:00-3:00 pm in the Chapel at the Church Center for the United Nations. May 8th is the second day of the Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues, the theme of which is the Doctrine of Discovery. The exhibit organizers have reached out through their global faith-based networks for stories and images from local communities affected by mining operations. If you are in New York on May 8th, please attend!

Goals of the exhibit include:

  • Bearing witness to the suffering of the Earth and its peoples as a consequence of extractive industry abuses;
  • Underscoring the necessity of industry standards in preventing mining abuses; and
  • Revealing the courageous resistance of peoples all over the world to inadequate extractive industry standards.

At 2:30, there will be a special 15 minute commemoration of those who have been murdered around the world as a result due to their community resistance against the consequences of extractive industry on their communities.

Event details (Download PDF)


Developing a Multi-Faith Global Statement on Extractives Industries April 27th, 2012

On April 24, Philippine Bishop Dinualdo Guttierez, D.D. and Bishop Bejoy D’ Cruze OMI from Bangladesh joined the JPIC staff in attending a conference designed to develop a multi-faith global statement on extractives industries. The meeting was held at the National Cathedral in Washington D.C.

Participants came from major faith groups and leading international NGOs from all continents. A multi-faith global statement on extractives will serve as a shared common document that people of faith can use when dealing with issues of extractives. The meeting was initiated and facilitated by the Bank Information Center and the Oblate JPIC office.

Participants in the April 2012 Multifaith Conference on Extractives Industries


ConocoPhillips Improves Corporate Human Rights Position August 12th, 2011

ConocoPhillips has amended its corporate Human Rights policy to include recognition of the rights of indigenous peoples as articulated in UN declarations and conventions. This action, approved by ConocoPhillips Chair/CEO Jim Mulva as well as the Board of Directors, is one result of ICCR member shareholder dialogs with the company led by Steven Heim at Boston Common Asset Management. The Oblates have been engaged in this dialog for several years and remain deeply concerned about the impacts of corporate activity – particularly oil and gas exploration – on indigenous peoples.

The company’s position on the rights of indigenous peoples now reads:

“The Company’s approach to engagement with indigenous communities, in locations where they are an important stakeholder group for our operations, is consistent with the principles of the International Labour Organization Convention 169, concerning Indigenous and Tribal Peoples, and the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples.”

In May of this year, the company announced it was pulling out of a controversial project slated for northern Peru. The project threatened two uncontacted tribes in the area.

Read the company’s Human Rights Position statement…

 

 

Return to Top